Home » KDAR870 » 9 Reviews

Jvc Kd-ar870 Arsenal Am/fm/cd/mp3/wma Player W/ Usb Slot And Remote (jvc Kdar870) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

"After looking around, ...

By Craig N Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 10/29/2006

After looking around, this is one of the few products that supports USB, SAT radio, and a three line display. Unit has great features, inculding uploadable graphics, and a volume one-push mute button. A few negs.... display gets washed out in the sun, and I have yet been unabe to program the presets in XM SAT radio. Instructions were confusing.[...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good. great. awesome. ...

By Patrick K Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 08/19/2006

good. great. awesome. Definitely will stick with jvc in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"This is truly a great ...

By Susan J Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 08/16/2006

This is truly a great HEad unit, the USB works perfectly with my 20 GB Mp3 player, just make sure that your mp3 player or storage device is UMS compliant and it should work fine. The wow factor on this player is awesoem, everyone is "oooooo's" and "awww's" at it. Sound is very good, havent gotten around to trying out the preouts yet....I have one gripe with this HU, on the product page of this site it states 5V preouts....this is only for the FRONT and REAR, the sub preout is only 2 volts. I knew this before hand and didn't care, 2v is still plenty good, you dont need that much for bass anyway. The EQ settings are very nice to have and easy to adjust. I highly recommend this player to anyone who wants to use their mp3 player for amazing sound, sound is much better than using an aux input. All in all , one of the best purchases ive ever made.....and beach audio's service was suberb, got here quick and timely, no damage. A+


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All around great head ...

By Patrick K Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 08/05/2006

All around great head unit for a great price!!! sound quality is good as well as the bass response. The high voltage preamps are nice aswell.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Ive had the KD-AR870 for ...

By Donny Cruce Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 06/11/2006

Ive had the KD-AR870 for a few days now and have to report how happy I am with [...] the KD-AR870 as well. I didn't truly know what I was missing with my factory headset, until I could finally hear it with this JVC model. Very crisp highs and boomy bass in LOUD mode - even without a sub - or external amps to power it along. No humm, no rattle, no snap,crackly,pop I had grown accustomed to with my aging Isuzu factory unit. The advertising indicates AR870 is supporsed to support flash drives up to 1 Gig. Manual states support for 4 Gig flash - and I have found this to be true. I am using a Sandisk 4GB Cruzer with no problem. Just to test - I took my Archos AV700 and plugged it in via a USB cable - after a couple minutes 'file check' the music began to play ... I was able to switch between songs and folders all from the included remote. What's so amazing about that ? ... the Archos I have is a 100 Gigabyte model. That's well over the stated limit. : ) I am a happy camper. Pict works as documented - setup your mp3's in folders for each artist - plant a pict image of the singer/group in the folder and see the image displayed as their music is played.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Pros: Nice product for ...

By Debaditya M Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 06/01/2006

Pros: Nice product for the price. lots of option to upgrade the car stereo. Customisable display. Will recommend to any one. Cons: will not play from any USB stick. Will not play from 80GB external Hard Disk (laptop/5400rpm). The latest USB sticks which are only USB2 compatible like A-Data 1GB does not work but Kingston 1GB swing drive works perfectly well. Overall I am happy with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"-The display kinda ...

By Brian Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 05/25/2006

-The display kinda sucks. It is one color at a time and will not do color pics. -I have been tring for weeks to get the software that makes Pics and movies and cant get it to read the files -Awesome cd player. Reads every cd I through at it. Some pret


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I've had a couple of JVC ...

By William R Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 05/24/2006

I've had a couple of JVC CD/MP3 receivers (KD-SX9350 and KD-SX980), and have been happy with them all. I bought the KD-AR870 because I wanted an MP3 player, that would display Title / Artist, Track and the Clock simultaneously, without having to press buttons. It does that well, and looks great. Another useful feature, is one can press a button and check the time, when the unit is off. I haven't used the USB port yet, but am excited to have 4 gig o MP3 storage. The PiCT graphics are pretty much useless . The pictures and movies you can down load to the unit are all displayed monochromatic (tho one gets to choose the color), so you can put on some ok eye candy but not much more. My two nits so far are the controls. The volume knob doubles as the ATT (attenuate) button, which turns down the volume, so it's pretty easy to accidentally press the button, when all you meant to do is turn up the volume (by turning the knob). When programming the unit, the volume control is used to select letters, it's easy to accidentally press the button, leaving programming mode, and erasing all one's work. Programming the unit is best done when the car is parked, and NOT while driving (even as a passenger). Also note, the controls are small, which is going to be the case for any single DIN unit that has so many features. [...] All in all, I recommend this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I like the sound and ...

By Robert C Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 05/20/2006

I like the sound and look of my AR870! I upgraded my front speakers to a pair of Infinity 3". The AR870 interface for controls of EQ & Fader/Balance are a bit cumbersome. I still haven't found the "Shuffle" mode for the CD though there is supposed to be one for the USB files. I love the USB port! I can burn of a mix of a tune I am recording to a high variable rate MP3 and play it in the car without having to burn a CD. That is one of the main reasons I purchased this unit. Too bad it doesn't play WAV files but a 320 kbs variable mp3 gets the job done well enough. I love the remote! I am glad this unit allows fastforwarding and rewinding of the audio in mp3 files. I heard the JVC DVD mp3 player did not have that -- thus another reason I picked this unit over the DVD mp3 version. Over the unit is a hit and I will likely get another and put it in my Honda. I do notice that the "spectrum meters" have too large a latency to be useful for audio info feedback so they are pretty much just eyecandy. Looking at the faceplate with polarized sunglasses causes some of the screen to be invisible or distorted but are not without the sunglasses. Overall a big thumbs up! [...] With the up to 4 Gig(!) USB flash drive interface, which I have seen for $[...] now, this unit is the MP3 users dream. I put a mini 1/8" TRS jack on the line ins so I can plug in my laptop or other device headphone out to get surrond sound in the car. Very nice!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved