Home » KDDV6200 » 12 Reviews

Jvc Kddv6200 Usb Dvd Cd Receiver Sat, Ipod Ready Divx 200w (jvc Kddv6200) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

An atypical installation

By Mountainman Verified Purchaser from Richford. VT on 03/07/2007


Cons:

Complex Controls

Pros:

Nice Features, Versatile Media

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought a JVC KD-DV6200 to replace the broken boombox in my solar-powered log cabin in northern Vermont. My criteria was 12 volt operation, DVD readability, and MP3 playback. The KD-DV6200 has all of that and more. I'm quite pleased with it. One thing I was concerned about was whether it would work well with eight ohm speakers. All the on-line information I found had the usual car stereo four ohm power specs. The specifications in the User's Manual say the amplifier output impedience is good from four to eight ohms. The unit powers up in a demo mode where the display alternates between the current track timing and flashing advertising of the unit's features. This doesn't matter if the unit's power leads are connected as recommended with the +12 volt line directly connected to the battery because then the unit remembers its settings but in a fully switched installation like mine it's pretty annoying to have to turn demo mode off each time I turn the unit on. I think the IR remote is too small and the way that one selects tracks is awkward. If I want to play track 238 of a DVD full of MP3s instead of pressing [2][3][8][Go] I have to press [+100][+100][[+10][+10][+10][8] while holding down the [Shift] button. But these are minor quibbles. The unit sounds great and the USB key ability is fantastic. The unit uses a lot less power when running off of a USB key than a disc. A friend wants to get a stereo for his truck and I'm recommending the JVC KD-DV6200.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

As good as it sounds but better

By Daboyzny81 Verified Purchaser from Homestead, FL on 03/01/2007


Pros:

Attractive Design, Easy Controls, Nice Features, Easy To Install

Best Uses:

Small Cars

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This radio is perfect for people who are looking for all the perks without the pocket hurt.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does everything except make drinks

By madtowncpl Verified Reviewer from Madison, WI on 01/02/2007


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Pros:

Attractive Design

Best Uses:

Cabin Crusisr Boats

This is one amazing unit! It has virtually everything we wanted for our boat. With the USB we can play music while cruising over the big waves and not have to worry about CD Skipping. The DUAL ZONE support allows us to watch a DVD down in the cabin of the boat while others simultaneously listen to their favorite music on the deck. Or we can pipe the sound from the LCD's TV tuner straight through the speakers on the entire boat. It can play virtually any kind of disk you can imagine. I can't think of much that it can't do. We didn't purchase it necessarily for the sound quality as it is a boat, but we have no complaints. It is one of the best purchases we've ever made.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"A lot of bang for the ...

By William Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 10/23/2006

A lot of bang for the buck. I chose this unit because for the price it was the only one(except JVC's Kddv4200) that could play mp3's from a DVD. The only things I had a problem with is the difficulty navigating through folders and files, the lack of playlist support and the long disk load time whenever you turn it on. All pretty minor complaints really. The sound quality is excellent. The display is a little too bright but I'm sure it can be adjusted. It's a very complicated reciever and the manual is difficult to follow. It took me an hour to figure out how to get out of demo mode. Overall I'm very happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"This might be helpful ...

By Radek Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 10/03/2006

This might be helpful for those of you that want to buy this for the video aspect of the player. Unit is indeed a good balance between music and video for the price and the brand you're getting. Unfortunately it is not perfect, but paying around $ [...] who would expect it to. Plays all .AVI, .MPEG, DIVX. No chapter search, but it resumes from last position. If you get in and out the car a lot thats a great function! Great skip protection. MP3 on DVD disk access time is OK, it does take a while but having all the music on one disk far outweighs the time it takes to start the music. If you want to take the full advantage of the player get a screen, it opens up music browsing and it makes it a lot easier to find what you want. Sound is much better then my stock system. Dual zone works great, I use it to play photo album, screen saver, or music visualization and play music off of usb, radio,or external input. Video quality on playback is excellent for all formats. Negatives: If you use the USB option, the external screen is disabled so you can only browse through the display on the player. USB only supports music. Dont loose the remote! You need it to get to everything. The display on the unit is very old fashion scrolling display, but it shows what you need to know. Remote is hard to use at first while driving, youll need to memorize the button layout. Overall this unit in my opinion is one of the best on the market if youre looking for both music and video playback with DIVX. I record a lot of TV shows in AVI format (around 350 Mb for 1 hr show, you do the math for one DVD disk). Dont buy lower brand players if you want AVI playback as they skip, have video/audio sync issues, and have no resume function. Trust me Ive tried many of them and wasted a lot of money. If youre buying a unit strictly for music with MP3 playback, look for another JVC unit with a better display and sound. [...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This reciever is perfect. ...

By Kevin R Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 07/07/2006

This reciever is perfect. It does everything and works beautifully. I can fit almost 300 songs on a usb gig stick and plug it into the this unit. The display is clear and easy to read. I really enjoy the versatility of going from DVD to CD to USB to MP3 and XM (xm via the line in port). Although this is XM ready, nobody makes the XM adapter. I look forward to the future release of the Terk XM adapter that this radio is designed to use. They tell me it should be available by the end of July. If your looking for a reasonably priced DVD / MP3 etc. This is the one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"i love this receiver it ...

By jess f Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 07/04/2006

i love this receiver it has it all, the usp thumb drive plug in is in my opion the best feature, easy hook up, so go get hookup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I really like this ...

By t boosted Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 06/29/2006

I really like this player. I looked around for quite a bit to find one that had all of the same features, of most importance to me was the USB slot and GigaMP3 functions, but the DivX support is also pretty cool. Now I just have to get a monitor to actually view the DVDs. The thing I like most is all the outputs that are supported. I was able to replace my separate EQ/Crossover setup since the Kddv6200 has separate front, rear and sub outs. I'm even thinking of using the extra two outputs to fake some 6.1 surround once I get the monitor setup. I can't speak on the quality of the built in amp since I have external amps for my system. I suggest you go the bi-amped route as well if you're really into sound quality. I'm still playing with the USER programmable EQ to get the tonal balance just right, but out of the box the presets are pretty close. My only complaint I have was already mentioned by another reviewer ... it seems like it takes an awful long time to search a new GigaMP3 DVD before it starts playing tracks. I mean it takes a couple of minutes sometimes from when the DVD starts to process before you actually get some sound coming out. Even if an mp3 was in the middle of playing when you turned the car off, the next time you turn the car back on it takes a few minutes to pick up where it left off. This is annoying for shorts trips, but not a big deal if you're going to be in the car for a while. Once the track starts to play, I haven't had it stop on me, yet. Overall I give this a 8 out of ten. Great support of many audio and video types, but a bit slow on the processing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"The unit is working ...

By Derrick Fisher Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 06/10/2006

The unit is working great! I'm very very happy. The last dvd player i owned for my car was a boss dvd player and they are terrible. Every cd plays well, mp3, dvd mp3. I haven't had the chance to play a movie yet but I'm very satisfied & all my friends love it. JVC is the way to go for good quality and a good price. [...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"This is an absolutely ...

By madtownjumper Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 05/24/2006

This is an absolutely amazing system! It can do virtually anything. I installed in the cabin of my boat and love it. I can watch TV in the cabin while simultaneously playing music up on the top deck. Although I don't recommend it, the CD player doesn't skip while boating over choppy waters. Playing Mp3's while under power makes much more sense. I also wired the system directly to the audio output of my LCD TV so I can get audio from the TV to all of the boat speakers, top and bottom. The DVD remote control allow for 2X, 5X and 10X fast forward and rewind as well as slow motion too. I've also hooked up a power inverter to the unit so we can watch DVD's or just watch TV out on the water. We love this JVC unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Great stereo so far, ...

By Ryan H Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 05/05/2006

Great stereo so far, love the fact that it plays a dvd worth of MP3's. Especially since a blank dvd is a lot cheaper than buying an Ipod. Definately would recommend for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Overall, a great product ...

By Michael H Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 04/04/2006

Overall, a great product for the money! Only negatives I see so far are: rather slow search times with .mp3 folders; no stop/play/pause button on deck itself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved