Home » Home & Living » Home Decoration » Figurines & Ornaments » 4807 » 18 Reviews

Kelkay 4807 Farmer Gnome Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)

44% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Don't buy this flash.

By James from Undisclosed on 03/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The many reviewers who have mentioned the overheating problem are correct. Do not buy this flash; you will be very disappointed the first time you use it if you take many shots. I cannot believe Nikon could put such a poor product on the market and not even offer to replace it to its loyal customers, of which I am one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Units over heat under load

By MTR14 from Undisclosed on 02/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have found that my flash over heats under heavy load, which interrupts shooting. For this alone, I have given this a lower rating than I would have otherwise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

could have been great

By az lighthouse from Mesa, AZ, USA on 01/07/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This flash has a lot of potental, plenty of flash power but use it to hard and it overheats fast. I aways have to keep an eye on the temprature gauge. I wish it had a small cooling fan to keep it from ovrheating. Also if you plan to use it much you will need to invest in an external power supply, it cooks the 4AA battries in minutes when you try to use it hard. I realy mean cooks them, the batteries get so hot you can't hold them. I use a quantum turbo battery pack and just keep an eye on the tempruture gauge and it does a great job. I also have a SB800 and the 5th battery makes a big diffeance I wish they had kept that on the 900. I would think a flash that is suposed to be for pro use wouldn't have these problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nikon 900 flash

By penny from north liberty ,in on 06/11/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i did not realize nikon would make junk until i bought a SB900 flash,it over heat all the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks great !!! In reality Embarrassement..

By Nikon Pro user from Elkridge, MD, USA on 03/14/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I own three SB 900, which I use with my D3s, D2x and D800. Having all these 3 in my bag I still had to reach to my old SB800's to complete a job , especially.. eastern weddings and events.. My real challenge is the speed-light shutting off due to overheating. I have send 2 of mine for repairs..unfortunately returned repaired but not to my satisfaction. I was so embarrassed once, when I was at the MD governor's mansion shooting a major event and my SB 900s went kaput (overheat)..I hope Nikon will have a fix for this unit soon ? Sorry..If I am mean..but It is my bread and butter....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT an upgrade of the sb800

By aphotographer from Arlington, Texas on 09/21/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I shoot weddings and seniors with this product. The SB900 is not adequate for this purpose. It works ok under less demanding shooting circumstances, but always stops working before I am finished shooting under professional real world use. I have a shooting partner that has 2 SB800's, that have no such limitations. I always end up using the SB800 after my SB900 dies or now most of the time, if the 800 is available, I don't even bother with the 900. This was a terrible replacement for a product that does NOT out perform it's predecessor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ugh !

By wb from Undisclosed on 09/13/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not a work horse ! We have three of these and they are all giving us the same problems. not firing and excessive overheating. I was up on a mountain in the snow, 62 degrees shooting couple shots at a very leisurely pace and it overheated in the first 20 minutes of shooting. Also we started to see that old rocking in the hot-shoe not connecting/firing problem more and more as we use them. It started out great but by the end of a busy season it was to unreliable and I had to go back to my 800's for consistency. Dumping them and Shopping for new flash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would never have thought it would work

By Charles Six from Charleston, WV on 09/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Iwas at my son's football game last night taking pictures. I use a D7000 and had a 80-200 2.8D mounted. The field lighting was dim and I was having trouble hand shooting becuase of slower shuuter speeds. I cranked up the ISO but was a little pixelated. I noticed the news paper photographer with a D300s and a 300mm 2.8 on a monopod. He pulled out a SB600 and put it on. I thought no way is that going to work so, I pulled out my SB900 and put it on. When I got home and loaded the shots on my laptop I was shocked. I could not believe how well the SB900 worked. I had players across the field with red eyes from my flash almost 60-yards away. Everything was was lit and my pictures popped. THANK YOU NIKON.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great speedlight

By RSchussel from North of San Francisco on 07/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own three SB900s. Use to have several SB600s but quickly sold them as they were very hard to program. If you can afford it the SB900 is the way to go. The programming is very intuitive and unlike the SB600 you don't need to have the manual with you. I typically get several hundred shots with a good set of NIMH recharable batteries. I know the big complaint about about the SB900 is thermal shutdown. For 99% of the people it is not an issue as they are NOT taking 20 pictures per minute over a 10 minute period. The solution is to get the external battery pack. If you are never going to use the Nikon Flash system probably the SB600 or even the SB400 will prove sufficient (they put out less light but in most cases not an issue) . But if you want a master and slave flash that is reliable and easy to program the SB900 is the way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just wow....

By idulfingz from california on 07/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everything i could possibly hope for, 100% worth the extra $


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice bells and whistles, not for heavy use.

By Kevin from Undisclosed on 05/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Overall, like what the flash has to offer in terms of features, menu. What kills me is the thermal shutdown, its not a work horse. The last two weddings with this flash and its wound up back in the bag "to cool off", being replaced by the old reliable SB-800. Pricey piece of equipment that spends more time in the bag. I've used my SB-800 for years, its never had an issue. When it does fail, not sure what it will be replaced by. Thought the SB-900 was it, but it falls short.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THIS FLASH IS THE NEW LIGHT.

By JC-PRO from Jersey City, N.J. on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The SB-900 HAS SO MANY FEATURES, THAT YOU CAN SHOOT ALMOST ANTHING. THE POWER, EASE OF THE CONTROL PANEL ALLOWS YOU TO FLOW WITH ANY CHANGING CONDITIONS. IF YOU ADD THE FAMILY ( 600 & 700 OR 800 ) YOU CAN LIGHT ANY SUBJECT DURING THE DAY OR NIGHT. IF YOU CAN IMAGINE IT, YOU CAN LIGHT IT.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

many uses

By ezio from QATAR - DOHA / ITALY - ROME on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A light tha can be used in many ways. I use expecially for macro,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply Outstanding!

By LBhunter63 from Cartersville, GA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this product for weddings, for portraits as a master with two SB 600s as slaves, and for general shooting where a flash is relevant. An outstanding product...typical of Nikon/Nikkor gear; Dependable, Durable and spot on performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great flash!

By CanadianD7000 from Edmonton, AB on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this flash for its powerful and 360 degree turning head. The flash performs very well, often using it as my commander to trigger my other flashes. It is heavy for a flash, however it is expected to be when you consider its range, and power


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't foget to turn it off!

By Fantasy Portraits from Enid Oklahoma on 03/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you set the unit to remote and forget to turn it off it doesnt automatically go to the standby mode like it does is in the on or master position. When I forgot to turn two units off after a shoot on a Friday the batteries to leak acid and destroyed the two SB900s over a single weekend. Unfortunately for me they are both just out of warranty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By DizzynDenver from Denver on 02/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first speedlight so I have nothing else to compare it too, but I love it. I've been trying several techniques and feel like I'm getting the hang of it quick. Easy to use. I love the fact that I can adjust my output power right my camera. I'm shooting with d80 now. I hope to get either the d700 or maybe the d800 if it comes out soon by the end of the year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Since 1983, My Only Nikon Disappointment

By Crafty Crew from Westchester, NY on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Yes this flash is high tech, and integrates very well with my camera. The user interface is first rate. Which is why I am willing to give it 2 stars. The worst thing about the flash is that it overheats very quickly. Even when I only use it as an optical slave flash. Thank goodness I still have my 15 year old Nikon SB-26 flash for back up. If it wasn't for the overheating, this flash would be a home run, but otherwise it's been a failure for me. I do know how to turn off the overheat function, but why should I have to. It may or not be my copy of this flash, but I do know lots of other people who have had trouble with this flash model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved