Home » Video » Televisions » Lcd Tv » 42LN5700 » 86 Reviews

LG Displays 42LN5700 42in. Class 1080p 120hz Smart Tv Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 86 reviews)

95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Features/settings (59), Quality (63), Easy To Use (57), Performance (57), Style/design (34)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great TV for the price

By Bob123 from Kansas City, MO, USA on 12/16/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture and features. I have used this TV as our main TV for viewing for over a year and have had no problems. Easy access to the applications and simple navigation with menus. Speakers are a little lacking, but we use external speakers for sound so no problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Smart TV Features out there

By rmretired from Grayslake, IL, USA on 09/12/2014


Pros:

Smart

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this TV in Jan 2014 for its smart features. I did an in depth comparison with all the sets this size, and was not disappointed in this TV. I especially like being able to link to my computers and show all the family pictures located in multiple spots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love all the features this TV has

By chaz65 from Shelby Charter Township, MI, USA on 09/07/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

From the day this Tv was installed in my home I cannot believe how many new features I find on it.The sound and clarity are excellent also. Good Job LG


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice TV

By Bunbury from Dominican Republic on 08/22/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this TV great image quality and gorgeous design, the only con. i have is the firmware cant be updated from 4.00 to 5.00 and don't know if that for my country or for the TV version i have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great tv

By Melli from California on 07/17/2014


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv is perfect for me - low energy use, good internet for Netflix, nice screen and picture, and a really good price. Overall thumbs up!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the Best TV's I've Owned, Ever!!

By Roger32 from Windham, CT, USA on 05/05/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simply love this product! Great Apps! Great Clarity & Motion response time!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really like the WiFi feature.

By Juiceman from Auburn, MI 48611, USA on 04/25/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Paired this up with a Smart Wireless Router and together the two work fantastic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TV is great, but the sound could be better.

By Debbie from Ballwin, MO, USA on 04/20/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picture is great, HD is awesome. The apps are easy to set up and use. I never had a TV that didn't have to be hard wired to cable, internet, etc. but this one works perfectly everytime.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't beat the performance of this TV!

By MominPA from Bucktown, PA 19465, USA on 04/16/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is DEFINITELY the best buy of TV out there. Picture is awesome and surfing the net, and all the features are terrific. We are thoroughly pleased with our first LG - and will look at their larger ones shortly due to our experience with this one. Thumbs up LG!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This television has amazing features!

By Roscoe from Franklin County, MO, USA on 04/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this television! It is easy to set up to the network. It has a great picture and the sound is fantastic! I enjoy streaming movies and music! The television has a lot of nice features and is a great asset to our home! I use this television every day. The performance is amazing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome picture, sound quality could be better

By Marc from Bridgton, ME, USA on 04/13/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv is exceptional in all aspects except the sound quality is lacking. I had to buy additional speakers to compensate. The internet function is phenomenal and I've gotten rid of my prime cable channels and saved money now that I can stream movies from the net.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV

By Jim from Lincoln, NE, USA on 04/12/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best TV we found. Picture is fantastic, smart features are better than others we looked at. Can't go wrong with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dissappointed in product performance

By Connie from Lincoln, NE on 04/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this TV two years ago and last week I was watching it and went to change channels and the screen went blank and I had no sound. I proceeded to take it to our TV Repair person and upon checking out the TV, found that the mother or main board was bad. This is after two years of occasional use. If we had been using this product more often, it probably would have gone out with in the first 9 months. I don't call this a very good product and would not recommend it to anyone. This is really sad, because we liked the features that this TV had, but the product its self is of very poor quality and NO I WILL NOT BUY LG AGAIN!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great smart tv.

By cstack62 from Bensalem, PA 19020, USA on 03/19/2014


Pros:

On Timer, Features/settings, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to set up. Amazing picture quality. I really love this TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This was a great choice of TV

By Boston Suburbs from Newton, MA, USA on 02/27/2014


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love the 'smart' features and have enjoyed being able to stream netflix, watch youTube clips, etc. Set-up was surprisingly easy given our novice technological experience... Great tv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best smart tv of 2014

By MsCellaneous from Encino CA on 02/25/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We replaced our 2004 LG 42"Plazma with this new LG smart 42" plazma and what a spectacular difference! So easy to use all the fabulous new features. Love this smart TV. LG rocks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture and apps

By Ivo from Alameda, CA, USA on 02/12/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this Tv a couple of months ago and so far I haven't been disappointed. The image quality is crystal clear, the home theater connects easily through the simplink system, has all the apps I need, the price was reasonable and it's super easy to install. I only have 2 problems with the Tv: 1st, when navigating using the browser to catch shows in, let's say, ABC or NBC, the videos can not be played. I guess is a matter of not supporting the formats. 2nd, the remote is very unresponsibe, I tried changing batteries but still having the same problem. Basically, you have to be very close to the Tv and it lags. I purchased another remote (with keyboard and touchpad) and it has helped. Overall, I recommend this Tv. Good quality for a reasonable price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good picture, excellent features, great value

By Cubsfan from Chicago, IL, USA on 02/05/2014


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price, this tv has many great features and a good picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture.

By Bosco38 from Cincinnati, OH, USA on 02/02/2014


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv has the most clear picture I've ever seen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great smart TV with lots of apps

By SOORAJ G from Henrico, VA 23294, USA on 02/01/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV is great for Netflix, watching cable channels. The sound and picture quality really makes the TV worth the price. Crackle app seems to be a little dysfunctional (with a black screen that covers and doesn't show the menu items). In all other sense, the TV is a great option.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really like the features

By D-Train from Columbus, OH, USA on 01/21/2014


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife and I how we can sync our phones and tablets to the tv to view our home made videos. We also like how we can login to Netflix to watch movies without having to hook up a game system in our bedroom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture

By Pat51 from Edgerton, WI 53534, USA on 01/21/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Beautiful picture, fun apps just wish you could add your own like HBO Go


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture, easy to setup right out of the box,

By MichaelA from Sodus, NY , USA on 01/17/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It was a breeze to setup, it has a great picture. Setting up w/ cable box was easy as well as off air channels and DVR. haven't gotten to the network side yet but soon. The pictures are sharp and clean and the audio was very good even with out a sound bar and woofer, next buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This tv is a good model for a bedroom or den

By Butch from Delaware, OH 43015, USA on 01/16/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We just recently moved and purchased 4 new led smart TV's. We have watched them all now for about 3 months. This TV gets a great picture, but the other top models in our home give it great challenges. Our sizes range from a 32 inch to a 61 inch. All of our models were near the top of the ratings. This TV does well in all of the areas, but falls down with the remote control. One item that is nice in a bedroom is a quick set for the sleep control. This is a pain to use on this remote. You have to go to apps, settings, sleep timer and set all. This is was to much hassle. Also no backlight on the remote.Good quality but ease of use is difficult. Like I said I have others to compare with. This is a good quality TV for the price, most all viewers will be happy with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

UN Frigginbelievable TV !!

By BamBam from PA on 01/16/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I bought this TV I was looking for the latest technology, and I shopped around. I guess I bought at just the right time cuz I got a great deal, BUT most of all when I put that TV together and turned it on well TV will never be the same again! This TV is so full of extras that appear as you learn how to use it. It just automatically hooked ITSELF up to my network ... ask a Q or 2 and it was done ! I got the Magic Remote too and its a trip making accessing all the apps a snap. Buy this TV and I guarantee that it will change TV for you too .... did I mention the fabulous picture !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great features and functionality

By Cooker from Salem, WI 53168, USA on 01/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am impressed with the picture quality, as well as all the "smart Apps" you can access. The ease of setting up an external audio device was quite easy, after reading the directions


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like the color quality.

By Kennedy from Wilmington, NC, USA on 01/14/2014


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has served every need I have for such a product. The colors are vibrant and sound is clear. The model was a very good value compared to the other brands on display at the retailer when I purchased it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An amazing new world for my family...and so easy!

By Johng from Old Town, ME, USA on 01/10/2014


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The picture is incredible. The iPad app we use as a remote makes navigation easy. The choices are amazing! And even without a TV connection, we have a whole world of Internet watching AND communicating, at our fingertips. One potential problem (we're watching it) There seems to be a darker area on the right screen edge, running from the top to the bottom of the screen. It doesn't interfere with any picture but is visible when the screen is blank.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We love that we can connect to the internet.

By bunning44 from Decatur, IL, USA on 01/09/2014


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is our first smart TV. It has taken us a while to utilize the remote that came with the TV. We will probably look into purchasing a magic remote sometime in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent picture

By trout 23 from Pasadena, CA, USA on 01/09/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The picture is great. The TV was easy to set up and the user interface easy to understand. Everything looks great on this TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OVERALL GREAT TV

By jay22 from New york on 01/08/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent picture in all lighting environments and at all angles. Great overall quality. Plenty of apps. Ease of use Great pricing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Like Smart!

By kennyg from CT on 01/04/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son told me to spend just a little more for Smart. Glad I did! All this can do blows my mind!! Good job LG!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really like this product

By Ergee74 from MN on 01/01/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've owned this TV for about one month. So far we've really enjoyed it. The picture is more clear than other TV's I've watched that were more expensive. The LG software update has been impressively active, meaning there actually "are" updates for this TV. Periodically when watching Netflix, there will be a micro-second, "flash" on the TV. I don't know if this is from Netflix or the TV. I haven't seen it while watching traditional TV though. So, I am keeping an eye on it, but think it might be more of a Netflix issue, that said, I have been very, very, happy with this TV and the quality of it. I'm slightly radical when it comes to checking on products before I buy, but would buy this smart TV again, in a heartbeat. It has exceeded my assumed level of satisfaction.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This TV is awesome!

By tonik from Hurricane, WV, USA on 01/01/2014


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this TV. Extremely user friendly and very easy to set up. Quickly connects to your Wi-Fi, phone, etc. Great selection of apps available and even allows you to stream movies from Amazon Prime!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the Smart TV Features

By BoDid from Cape Eliz, Me on 01/01/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It was simple to add the TV to our network and start enjoying online content without another controller/box being involved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture; Affordable Price

By dfb48 from Jackson, TN, USA on 01/01/2014


Pros:

Style/design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Our Plasma set died, so after a search, we bought this set based on clarity of picture, price (about one-fourth the cost of our plasma set and size. It fit our entertainment cabinet. We have the set in a large room, but it is clearly viewed by everyone watching. I like the ability to access the internet sources of programing like Netflix and Amazon. I can easily move into and out of these menus. I am highly disappointed in the sound. The speakers are in the rear of the set and it sounds like the audio is coming from out of a well. Volume has to be jacked up big time to be able to hear distinctly. Some sort of sound bar - extra cost - is going to be essential to fully enjoy movies or music. That will pretty much kill any price advantage there might have been. The remote is ok although I believe it could have been labeled more clearly. I have to say the Smart TV feature is somewhat of a waste. Entering website links, login and password detail, anything requiring keyboard entry, really, is very cumbersome and frustrating. Talk about a place for a REMOTE! And the internet screens are not full screen. Very disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a great picture!

By DIM64 from Hamburg, PA on 12/30/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is our second LG TV, but our first smart TV. We are very pleased with picture quality on both, but especially on the new 42"! The depth of picture and sharpness of detail is, at times, amazing. In use now for over a month, it still gives me an "oh, wow!" reaction. Even old black & white programs from the early 60s are remarkably sharp and clear. Our internet use on it has been limited thus far, but set up was easy with wi-fi, and picture quality on this is great, too. The downfiring speakers create a nice room-filling sound, but coupled with our surround sound system makes for a most enjoyable mini-theatre experience. But it's the picture quality compared to others I shopped that made this LG the hands down winner! Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture depth

By jimchardy from Medford, OR, USA on 12/28/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoy most of the features of this Smart TV but I think LG should have included a "Magic Remote" in the box if that remote is as good as LG claims. I would also have liked to have the wi fi connection process simplified. I found out, after many frustrating hours of problems with wi fi connections that clicking on the "YOU TUBE" icon then clicking on any YOU TUBE video is a fast, simple method of establishing a wi fi connection and have not had that issue since. The picture quality is unmatched by any brand I have compared it with and most icon connections are very intuitive, once one figures out the process.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY EASY TO USE!

By JohnHoz01 from Birdsboro, PA, USA on 12/26/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first "smart" TV, and although I'm no techie, I had no problems setting up or using the features on this quality product. I especially like the vast array of picture settings, enabling me to get the exact picture I want. The only con is the remote control, its very good quality but can be a little time consuming typing text. I may purchase an LG Magic Remote to alleviate this minor problem. I am really enjoying my new viewing experience!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exactly what I wanted.

By Henstruck from Punta Gorda, FL, USA on 12/25/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I researched the features and could not find a competitive quality TV at the price. I would like to see a full range of apps, such as you find on many tablets, but no Smart TV does. My LG, however has all you really need.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Met all specifications I had reviewed online

By Jim from Muncie, IN, USA on 12/24/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was not up to date with the latest technology and I spent time inline reviewing all spec's for what I wanted. This TV met all and exceeded some. It has true led lighting, more than adequate HDMI and USB ports. It auto connected to the online sites and was quit easy to configure with my movie sites. I purchased the LG sound bar 2 days later and an LG Blu-ray player 2 weeks later. My only negative is the TV remote does not work with all options of the sound bar and the Blu-ray player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Anonymous from Thornville, OH 43076, USA on 12/16/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good picture, easy to use. I'm quite happy with this TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My first LCD TV

By FB from Michigan, USA on 12/13/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have nothing to complain, the SMART function is a great feature. Handling with the remote control control is a little slow. Viewing pictures from a camera via the USB port is also slow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

average at best, not a good value for the $$$$

By pgiengr from Fort Myers, FL on 12/10/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

have had several minor issues since TV was new. LG support has been nonexistent. Was even told I would have to pay for support when TV was 4 days old! Not worth the money or aggravation when compared to other brands


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The picture is the very best!!!

By KJA from Greenville, MI 48838, USA on 12/06/2013


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased this TV hoping for a better picture than we were currently receiving on our VIZIO. Wow, what a difference!!! This TV not only has the best picture but all of the features are superb!!! We now can watch our Netflix, switch to local channels and watch our Dish TV without any hassle! We purchased the sound bar that goes with it and my husband who is hard of hearing can hear so much better and we do not need to have the TV blaring all of the time. Better sound quality and better picture with great features!!! Yay!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

perfect tv

By rebel from Undisclosed on 11/23/2013


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this tv its a great buy.. was perfect for what we was looking for.. strongly recommend it to others


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a very Good Buy

By santanu from Oaks, PA, USA on 11/19/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it is really worth the price and a true "SMART" tv with a smart price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture

By 4000K from Phoenix, AZ, USA on 11/17/2013


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The hi def picture is unreal. It looks like you are watching it live almost 3-d like.Sharpness is absolutely amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Everything about it is great.

By Charlie from Iowa on 11/16/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very pleased with the TV. It was extremely easy to set up, the picture is great. We have had several friends tell us what a great picture the TV has. All features are easy to follow and I really enjoy checking my emails while watching TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great TV with stunning picture quality

By Barney Rubble from Fredericksburg, VA, USA on 11/16/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has a plethora of features and is a remarkable value. I especially like the WiDi capability, a feature that is only now becoming available on some other mainstream TVs. The color rendition is superb, although it takes some tweaking to arrive at the proper settings. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV and Easy to use

By Georgia Jane from Marietta, GA, USA on 11/08/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm still learning all of the features, but the picture is so good, I feel I'm in the room with the actors. I'm amazed at how easy it was for me to set up and connect to Netflix without my son's assistance. Loving our TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

beautiful picture

By nancylynn102 from ketchum, ID on 11/01/2013


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has a great picture and I love that I can connect to the internet and view my e-mail, Facebook, etc. It is great for viewing photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding product

By Johnabne from Hope Mills, NC on 10/22/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this TV with an add on home theater system for my grandchildren. The setup was a dream come true. I usually have problems getting everything to work. Not this time. Out of the box and watching Netflix!! 15 minutes, tops. Yeah. The kids are loving it and I will be getting a 60" for myself. See the reviews for my BH6830SW theater system for the same results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV Value

By WJTiger from Columbia, SC, USA on 10/10/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very satisfied with my choice of the LG 42LN5700. The price was great and the features are state of the art. The TV interfaced with my existing Home Theater with no problem and the new style enabled me to increase the screen size from my previous TV to fit in my cabinet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid performer and easy to integrate.

By OpaGrease from Kansas City, MO, USA on 10/08/2013


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV gives an excellent display and ease of use. The features I miss are I would have liked it to come with the magic remote included and a second optical audio out port. But I've worked around these issues and, other than that, I really enjoy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use!

By Anonymous from Mississippi, USA on 09/29/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Already owned this model for 2 years so I wanted the same tv for my bedroom. Easy to use. Love accessing Netflix and Amazon. Definitely recommend this model. Great picture and sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's like I'm in the room with the characters

By mdmenzel from Calgary, AB, Canada on 09/20/2013


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not that I am an expert, but I have never encountered such a good picture on a HDTV so small. The high definition is almost 3d-esque. It's like I'm in the room where they're shooting the TV show or movie. Fabulous. 5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely a snap to set up and enjoy

By Bob15 from MA on 09/10/2013


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not only is the product fantastic but the set up and operations learning curve is simple.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture!

By Donny B from Champaign, IL, USA on 09/04/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is the perfect blend of size, picture clarity and easy to use functions! Love the internet connection option. Can access Netflix, Hulu and YouTube without another device or connection to modem with an ethernet cable. The different functions are extremely easy to use as well. Has the technology to be cutting edge without being too difficult to operate. Even my grandmother could operate the high tech features. Paired with BluRay, it has an amazing picture. And also paired with a quality HDMI cable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Good Television for the Price

By birdman24 from Honolulu, HI, USA on 09/03/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A good television for the price, picture quality was good,hook up was easy. I like the smart features on it. the only drawback was the sound , like most televisions now the speakers are in the back of the television so the sound is a little soft sounding. I am looking into getting a sound bar so it should help the sound get a lot better. besides the sound the television is worth purchasing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SmartShare is HORRIBLE!

By RVD from Undisclosed on 08/30/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Of course a TV with these specs looks great. I had to turn off TrueMotion because it gives my wife motion sickness but the picture is crisp, the refresh rate is great. (The screen is very reflective tho so make sure to turn off your lamps). If the only thing you ever plan to do is watch TV, this would be great. Except, why would you buy a "Smart TV" if that was all you wanted? LG has made the worst possible decision starting some time in 2012 and continuing into 2013 models. They have abandoned the fabulous MediaLink app for SmartShare to view videos streamed from a DLNA enabled server such as PLEX or Windows Media Server. With this new interface, you can painfully navigate through a file system slowly and unresponsively. You no longer get any features supporting nice titles or screenshots or anything. It's like using an iPad for 6 months and then getting dropped into Windows 3.11. Please bring back MediaLink or at least give SmartShare the same featureset (and fire whoever designed it's disastrous interface).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LED smart LG TV 42LN5700

By Indranil from Ibadan, Nigeria on 08/28/2013


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Generally LG promote its smart TV product in their showroom advertisement that seems to viewers is 42LN5700 model smart LED TV it is only made for upper class computer savvy people in the society. But if interested buyer keenly notice the TV, it is as easy as to operate by villagers & old aged men in home too. 42LN5700 smart Light Emitting Diode TV saves money as it act to some extent like computer. 1) You only need a Wi-Fi router with modem/LAN to connect TV Wi-Fi to start browsing & as we 90% are not sotfware engg. We only need to check e_mail, facebook, site searching is enough for ordinary life which easily possible by 42LN5700 model TV. Not required to buy Laptop/desktop computer. LG smart TV buyers are double benefited with this feature. 2) Ready "App. box" saves time to find & play to choose program with Wi-Fi enable. 3)Picture -In - Picture option makes second viewer happy if the prime viewer busy with internet in TV screen. 4) USB read by TV is automatic & fragment songs/ movies separately for viewers to save time of leisure. 5) If you stop watching movie in middle. It starts at same point even you switch off LG Smart TV 42LN5700 is special feature to avoid irritation. 6) 10+10 watt sound is enough for home pleasant with nice twitter & possible bass effect. 7) No heat generation at back of LG 42LN5700 TV. 8) Only 17 Kg. weight that helps to carry in international flight with flight allowed weightage rule (1-23 Kg to max 30 Kg with a single passenger). I've some opinion to make more advance (not Cons):- 1) wi-fi password need to restore in TV automatically by option of users. 2) During net surfing screen minimize option should be added to save internet bites. 3) During net surfing screen brightness/contrast is not possible to control that effect eyes. This option must add to the TV Overall Features, Quality of pictures & app styles are splendid. "Lucky Gold makes Life's Good"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The incredible detail in the picture; ease of use

By RonBill99 from Plainfield, IN, USA on 08/26/2013


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV was easy to setup and connect to our wireless network. We especially enjoy the incredible detail in the picture and the functionality of the SMART TV features. (We did purchase the "Magic" control and it works well, too!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best TV I've ever owned.

By Bob46 from Coral Springs, FL, USA on 08/21/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy install. Netflix access excellent. I watched PGA Championship and could count the blades of grass from the divots! Cannot wait for college football season to start..Roll Tide!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great picture in stylish smart TV package

By mike39 from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 08/13/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the TV for it's picture quality but have found the smart TV easy to use. Installation was easy and the style of the cabinet is great. I also appreciated the 3 HDMI ports. Plugging a thumb drive in make photo shows a snap. Connection wirelessly with my local network computer is easy for access to all my other pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Picture and Sound Quality

By Steve from Jermyn, PA, USA on 08/08/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has excellent picture and sound quality, and a ton of features. The smart tv options are very useful. I don't like the layout of the remote. The smart tv button is placed way too close to the up arrow on the directional pad, and I hit it by accident constantly. This brings you into the smart menu screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the TV

By 1caterer from Pembroke Pines, FL, USA on 07/16/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love the features and how the programs look. We love it. Also like being able to see our family pictures from my laptop. Being able to network using home wireless network is also great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We really like this TV

By T C from The Villages, FL, USA on 07/09/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I did quite a bit of comparison shopping before I bought this and thought that it offered the best value for the money with the features that I wanted. I am very happy with the decision. It was easy to set up and the picture quality and sound are great. The one question that I had, LG support handled right away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great screen visibility

By Sterling13 from Fairfax, VA, USA on 07/09/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Visibility

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our living room is split between two sitting areas since we had to combine our existing furniture from two apartments into one condo. We needed a tv that could be seen from all sitting spaces and hopefully even the dining room since we provide respite for a child with special needs. We currently have the tv mounted on the wall so that it is less accessible for the wonderful yet touchy and impulsive child. So far we have had no issues with visibility from any seat or the dining room even though none are at a straight view. It was also very easy to set up and getting to use the Smart aspect is relatively easy if you have ever set up a new laptop. It will even connect to your computers or phones that are on the same wireless signal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent picture

By chargrill from Chicago, IL on 07/08/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The good: great picture, excellent motion tracking, nice SmartTV features. The less than good: The speakers. They sound clear enough, and there are decent "equalizer" effects, but I'm used to having a television connected to a fairly high-end audio system. As such, the speakers on this television lack the oomph I'm used to. But it has an optical out for connection to an audio system. Which I found necessary. The bad: One primary intended use for this television is to be connected to my (MacBook Air) laptop via its mini-display port to the HDMI input on the TV. I only hear one channel through the TV speakers - it's as though someone tipped the balance all the way to one side. I'm pretty sure there aren't any "balance" settings on my computer once I set the audio out to be via HDMI. I suppose it could be a bad (brand new) cable and not the TV? The really bad: Remember that optical out for connecting to a sound system which I mentioned above? I'm unable to play purchased music from my laptop through the HDMI and out to the LG sound bar I have connected via the optical cable due to Audio Copy Protection (ACP). I guess it's not the fault of the TV, but given that through the speakers I'm missing an audio channel, this gets to be pretty annoying. Especially given that this was one of my primary intended uses for this particular television.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not bad ..... not the best

By arlequin from warren pa on 07/02/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

sound: good enough. voices tend to get drowned out and with the clear voive on they get tinny or too loud. works well with my ps3 and smart sound on. night wanna grab a soundbar for movies and tv. picture: clear. takes awhile to get the settings right, for me at least. diagonal movement is pixelated, but other motion looks good.blu rays look great apps: run kinda slow.. web browsers nothing to write home about, it might be better with the smart remote , I couldn't tell ya. the settings cant be changed if your watching Netflix through tv(you get a simplified version if you press the "q.menu" button,, took me awhile to figure that out). games are nothing special. not even cell phone game quality but if your bored enough you might try it. network: connects to media centers easily and has an android app for a remote and game controller. on screen keybored is nice and smooth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this TV!!!

By surefire69 from Lancaster, CA, USA on 07/02/2013


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced my old Sony TV with this one and couldn't be happier. The colors are crisp and clear, love the wireless features and Internet content. Wish it came with the smart remote. Setup was a breeze.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow a great TV!!!

By BarryGood from Houston, TX, USA on 06/27/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to set up ..easy to use for my e-mail..would tell others to buy..great video streaming.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Alot of research this is the best!

By JHG from Colchester, CT, USA on 06/22/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I research about 6 months for a new tv. I specifically could not go bigger than a 42" so this review is for this size tv and below. This LG I purchased has a fantastic picture. I also use an antenna instead of cable and the quality is beyond belief. The remote is easy to use and the Smart features are also pretty easy to get around. The TV is also very easy to set up. I had it for about two months and I can't think of any issues with it. If you are thinking of purhcasing it..GO FOR IT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW!!

By frank from Bayonet Point, FL, USA on 06/17/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Features/settings, Smart Tv, Easy To Use, Sound, Picturte, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my wife and i were going to get a run of the mill LED tv. however once we saw the LG smart tv with all its features we were sold. i got it home and it was very easy to set up. once we started watching this tv on our HD channels we were blown away. this tv is awesome and i cannot imagine watching television on a lesser tv again. we are getting a 70 inch for the living room and LG will be our brand, a LED and smart tv. don't sell yourself short, get LG, get LED , get 3d and get a smart TV. it is well worth it. one minor criticism is the remote needs to be backlit


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best TV I have ever purchased

By Cessna from Spartanburg, SC, USA on 06/11/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased my LG Smart TV about one month ago and it has far exceeded my expectations. I have relished in being able to browse the internet, check my email and watch my favorite TV programs all simultaneously. This is without a doubt the best purchase that I have made in a very long time. Please let me know when I can purchase the Magic Remote which will make my LG even more enjoyable. Thank you LG!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent product that totally met needs

By Rich from Chicago on 06/07/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This 42 inch LED TV is incredible for its features and value. The picture is clear and the colors are vivid. TV shows and DVDs come alive on the screen. I've hooked it up to two DVD players and a surround sound system with minimal effort. I was not prepared for how far LED technology had come. I did quite a bit of online research to narrow my choisces and then wen to a big box store to view them. LG won hands down. I recommend this model to anyone looking for a feature loaded LED TV at a good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall Excellent Smart TV

By nebulon4 from Perrineville, Millstone, NJ 08535, USA on 06/06/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Smart Tv, Performance, Usb Keyboard Works, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picture Quality is excellent. Smart TV features are easy to use especially Netflix which gives impressive performance. One drawback is the model i purchased DID NOT include the magic remote (even though all of the advertizing on web shows it. This was a major disappointment as the magic remote is needed to control a FIOS set top box. Other brands include an led blaster to directly control the set top box. If I had realized no magic remote was included i would have considered other similar brands. I would recommend the set as long as it is the model with the magic remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product for the Money

By Clirion from IL on 06/05/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been very pleased with the Television. The access to the smart functions has been easy. The picture can be tweaked to your preference. When I had a question about the SmartShop, it was answer promptly by LG. This Television has worked well and I am extremely happy with my decision to go with this LG product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm getting the New LG Sounbar Unit to go with it!

By Zreo21 from Florida on 05/26/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, You Need The Magic Remote For Games To Work!, Performance, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I connected the unit to a DirecTv Dvr: reciever,and a Netgear N600 Dual Band Gigabit Router: Powered up,and the LG 42LN5700: Automaticaly scanned,and Processed my Network without a hitch! I was up,and running in about 20 min: The TrueMotion: at 120Hz is Just Grand! when Streaming NetFlix,and all other steaming services: You feel like your right there behind the camera,and actually there with the actors in reality: I'm going purchase the New LG soundbar model with (ARC) connection as soon as i can,for a perfect Match:


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV. Would purchase again.

By RJJL from Florida, USA on 05/17/2013


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was replacing a 14 year old 42" rear projection TV that fit into a custom made entertainment center so, needless to say I needed a TV that would fit into that space. The old TV I had was great and I had that brand TV for nearly 40 years and planned on purchasing that same brand. When I saw the picture on the 2013, 42" LG Smart TV, I was sold! The picture is amazing! The salesman then started to explain the various "smart" functions and I was definitely sold. Never needed a router until now. I'm in the process of purchasing a router and a new keyboard exclusively for the LG. Definitely recommend purchasing one to a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great features and user friendly

By tnt from nj on 05/14/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

first smart led tv we purchased. we love it. set up was relatively easy. picture is great. sound is through surround sound system which is great as well. app use also very good. we are not at all disappointed and would readily recommend this tv to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By Don Eddy from MI on 05/13/2013


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had this model for 3 months. It was easy to set up and the SmartTV features are useful. Picture is great. Sound quality is less than I expected but overall I consider this a good buy with good quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is a great value for the money

By C-man from Fishkill, NY on 05/09/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second LG TV purchase in the last three years ( the other being a 55 inch 3D for my home theater). I feel that the picture is better than the other comparable makes with the same size picture and is easy to self-calibrate. I would recommend this television to anyone. Since I use it in the bedroom, I do not have it hooked into an outside sound system, so the sound is a bit weak. It does however have the capability to be part of a home theater system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By laxtraveler from Long Beach, CA, USA on 05/08/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this T.V so is my wife, We did the right thing buying it and I will recommend it to anyone whose wants to buy one.. overall a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This tv has the best picture quality

By pieman from Mount Vernon, OH 43050, USA on 03/25/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quality and performance what more can you ask for in a tv.Ease of setup and adjustment make for a very rewarding experence.Thanks again for making my purchase a good one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved