Home » Video » Televisions » Lcd Tv » 50LN5400 » 48 Reviews

LG Displays 50LN5400 50in Class 1080p 120hz Led Tv [] Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 48 reviews)

97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quality (36), Easy To Use (36), Features/settings (26), Style/design (22), Performance (30)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By Wild Wally from Harvard, IL 60033, USA on 08/20/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got a great deal price wise on this model, very easy to set up, nice clear picture, and would recommend to anyone looking to buy this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great price

By lindalu from Pensacola, FL, USA on 08/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the LG 50" and loved the price, picture quality Sound needs improvement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Panel FAILED at 13 Months

By Woodsman from Cincinnati, IA, USA on 07/24/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Awful! I purchased this TV and 13 months later, the panel malfunctioned. Service shop could not repair it. There are others who have reported short panel life for this LG TV. I will not ever purchase an LG TV again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased with this purchase.

By SueQ from KY on 02/25/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this tv since Christmas. We got a really good deal on it. It has been worth every cent. I've heard good things about LG products...I now believe it. Very nice tv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful TV

By BK from Vail, AZ on 12/10/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Spectacular viewing -- such an improvement over our old model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

50" LED LG television

By whitewashman from Rosholt, WI 54473, USA on 12/03/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Can't say enough good about this purchase. Excellent price, beautiful picture. Didn't need a smart tv, as our blue ray player has that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall I really liked it

By nochnik from Los Angeles on 11/15/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I liked that menus are user friendly. Picture quality is very good and lots of options to choose from. Sound is excellent. One thing it has only two HDMI ports so if you have more than two devices to connect to it you'll need either receiver or an HDMI hub. Recommend it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this TV

By reclaimerroger from NE Ohio on 10/18/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have only owned this since august but so far love it. If it lasts it will be perfect as far as I am concerned. Great picture, good sound, good features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PERFECT TV FOR US

By TONY from Westmont, IL, USA on 10/04/2014


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wanted a non smart LED TV. This was the perfect choice. Easy to set up. Clicked the cinema viewing and that was it. Great price was a bonus


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value for the money

By Anbu from Austin, TX, USA on 09/30/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros 1. Excellent Refresh Rate for Playing games. 2. Good Clarity while playing 1080p videos. 3. Light weight and easy to assemble and shift from one place to another. Con's: 1. Design could have been better(Stand and Finishing of the product) Overall: Good value for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Video quality is high, audio is average

By Jman34 from Jacksonville, NC, USA on 09/22/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this tv about 2 months ago. We have watched 30 or so movies, Streamed redbox, amazon, and other streaming programs. The video is great: it has several different video modes that can be switched to find the best mode for the show you are watching. The audio quality is average: about 80% of the time, we do not turn it up past 40 (out of 100), but occasionally when streaming or watching a dvd, we have to turn up the sound to 75 or greater to hear all of the better sound features. Love our tv!! Got it for a great price!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good picture

By TimY from Cumming, GA on 09/19/2014


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good picture, great sound quality, works well for a master bedroom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good TV, Short on Features

By AK47 from Chicago, IL, USA on 08/30/2014


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picture quality is above what I would expect and is very viable, especially for the price range. I purchased in the price range knowing I didn't need a smart TV as I would be using a Chromecast anyway. Sound quality is also subpar, which is what is expected for a form factor like this. What I didn't know to expect was there being no RCA or AUX output to my stereo system. In addition, It could really use another HDMI or two. Keep in mind, If you are looking to improve the quality of the sound, the ONLY output is an optical jack.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TV had everything we wanted.

By Al1006 from Noblesville, IN, USA on 08/29/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great picture quality, easy to operate, good price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great product at a great price

By propwriter from Weaverville, North Carolina on 08/22/2014


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Vibrant colors, good sound, overall, an excellent TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Everything is working good,so far.

By Bob from Pine Grove, PA 17963, USA on 08/16/2014


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think all these products work good at first. Let's see what happens when it is 10 yrs. old. My TV is working great, couldn't ask for better. The only thing I don't like is the way it changes the screen size for HD, I didn't buy it to have the screen go small.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture

By JW2408 from Houston, TX, USA on 08/03/2014


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our bedroom is 23 feet long and we needed a good tv without paying a huge price. We found this LG 50" LED to have a great picture, easy to use features, and super easy to hang on our wall. Will recommend to our friends!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome picture!

By AAMY from Enfield, CT, USA on 07/15/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first LG TV. Without a doubt, I am impressed! The picture is as great as it claims to be. Set up is easy and controls are simple to navigate. I researched many televisions before purchasing this one. I have no regrets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product for My Needs

By CajunJ from Frisco, TX, USA on 07/04/2014


Pros:

Quality, Price, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son reviewed numerous TVs and then purchased this one for me. He found it had the best features and performance for the price. I was so impressed by the picture that I went out and purchased a 2nd one for use in another room. I find the picture quality excellent for the price. It is a Quality built TV. You can spend a lot more and get the super HD TVs but this one is just great for what I watch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best TV Ever!!!!

By fencman1 from Castlewood, VA on 06/21/2014


Pros:

Value, Customer Service, Features/settings, Satisfaction, Quality, Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have never owned a LG product or a TV quite this nice. I love it and it has turned me into a TV junkie. Now that I have had the pleasure of this fine product, I am now and forever a LG person. LG wil be the only TV I will buy for the rest of my life. I did not think that the quality and ease of this product would be as great as it is. I just can't get enough. It is so great that I added a DVR so I can record shows that I would not of done before the experience and clarity of the picture. I have pushed this product to my friends and family to the point some of them have made a LG TV purchase. Thank You LG for the excellence in a well built and designed product. It is apparent that you care about your comsumers having nothing but the best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good tv for the price.

By renegade from IN on 04/23/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good picture quality, nice and sharp. Guide is easy to read- other tvs were too small to see across the room. Remote is easy to use. Sound is good, but not great. Overall, a good value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Sharp Picture, Excellent Price

By FLFELLOW from Cape Coral, FL, USA on 04/12/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very pleased with the quality of this Model 5 LN5400. Picture is Sharp and have no issues with it. The sound is less desirable and hope LG with improve it. I attached a Home Entertainment sound system to it and now sounds great. Would recommend this TV !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like sitting in our own theatre

By nemrac from Canton, Ohio on 04/10/2014


Pros:

Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We replaced a Magnavox 32" tv with this set, and it was like bringing our living room into the new age. It adds new crispness to our dvd movies and even a new vibrancy to our programs and movies on vhs. Needless to say, we are thrilled with our entertainment hours now. Enjoying it a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture and value for the price

By Outstanding picture, sound, and a great remote from Arnold, MD, USA on 04/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is easy to set up, has a great picture and sound. Compared to other brands with the same screen size, this product is the best value and has the best performance. An internet search also indicated that this TV also has the best rating. I highly recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent TV for the value

By crakadune from Denver, CO, USA on 03/09/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First HD LED tv and the image is sharp and clear. The value for the price is the amazing. Easy to setup and use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome buy

By tammytomb from Oak Grove, LA 71263, USA on 03/05/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i love my t.v. the best buy, in every way. great picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful picture at an affordable price.

By FRED from FAIR OAKS, CA on 01/29/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was amazed at the quality of the picture. Although it isn't a smart TV, my laptop computer has an hdmi output, so I am able to access the internet directly through my laptop. TV controls are easy to use. Pleased with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LIGHT, SUPERB RECEPTION, LOW PRICED

By Tampa 1 from Tampa, Florida on 01/25/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This television is lightweight, has superb reception, was low priced & stylish. I'd buy 4 more for the bedrooms. .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture, Mediocre Audio

By uncleH from Rural Wisconsin on 01/18/2014


Pros:

Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been enjoying this television for a little over a month and have been very pleased with the quality of the image! Setup is easy: read the manual, it saves time. Great image in a very bright room once you go through the picture setup. Built in speakers are mediocre at best, but then most will probably use a sound bar or other surround system. Overall we are very happy with the television! Recommended


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture

By bobzani from Cicero, IL, USA on 01/11/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture, easy to set up, and perfect size for my living room. I was slightly disappointed with the sound quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great picture and simple to operate

By irwin from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 01/06/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

right out of the box up and running perfectly. chose not to get a smart tv to keep things simple with my system, which is controlled by a universal remote. using "standard" picture setting and it is perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this is a great TV

By up north tommy from silver cliff wi. on 01/02/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV was easily set up and has the best picture of any TV I have ever purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great color

By mombangle from Alabama, USA on 01/02/2014


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this tv just after Thanksgiving 2013. I have really enjoyed the larger screen and the color is great. I have waited a long time for a large screen tv and am enjoying this one much. LG has a good review and it seems to stand up to the reputation of quality. Very Pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We are on the field!!!!

By Mimi from Wilomington, NC on 12/31/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this TV just in time for end of football season. Love the Panthers and we are on the field with them. The picture in unbelievable, sharp, clear and vibrant color and HD. We are so pleased the this set. Great job LG.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This 50" has a Awesome Picture, Great Quality

By Dodgeman09 from Jasper, IN, on 12/31/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This 50" has a Awesome Picture, Great Quality features and the sound is so real. I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The most informative instructions i have ever done

By tv hound from Abiquiu, NM 87510, USA on 12/30/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, 30min. Install

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

ease of assembly and instructions were so clear and precise it was easy to do and very fast.The lg product synced with my dish network remote so easy i enjoyed the process instead of getting frustrated as in most products. I will buy lg products from now on because of their forward thinking on installation and operation.The sound and picture are the best i have ever seen. I'm sold.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome TV, especially for the price

By bob86 from Chehalis, WA, USA on 12/29/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an awesome TV! This blows my old LCD TV away. Only downside is it only has 2 hdmi slots. I bought a splitter to solve that problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This TV IS EXCELLENT

By Tim from West Branch, MI 48661, USA on 12/26/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

GREAT PICTURE, COLOR IS BRIGHT, AND CLEAR.I THINK THIS A VERY GOOD BUY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent picture quality

By Rik from Danvers, MA, USA on 12/07/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

With proper picture setup this set gives an excellent picture. Easy and fast setup and nice design. Only negative would be audio quality. Need to add a soundbar at minimum.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LG LN5400 50" HD LED TV

By Bands from Midlothian, VA, USA on 10/25/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the largest HD TV that we have bought. It was easy to set up. We are still fine tuning the picture options but we are very satisfied with the picture. We did purchase a premium HDMI cable vs the standard that we had. It did make a difference for watching footall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THE BEST TV EVER

By terry2 from Cape Cod MA on 10/10/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have only had this tv since August but I can tell you that set up was so easy. The color is excellent. Real to life looking. Great value for the money. We are so happy with this tv and would recomment it to everyone. Have only pros for this WONDERFUL TV. In September as a gift we were given an LG Blue-Ray player and am so happy with both LG products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just a great product, really enjoy

By NaperDon from Naperville, IL, USA on 09/14/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had two other LG flat screen TV, and still do, and am really happy with each of them. The 50LN5400 is even better than the other two (i.e. better picture, better motion control) as well as larger. The others are 32" and 47".


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wonderful TV, 1st HD

By duck from Denver, CO on 08/31/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After 7 weeks, a pixel line went black; LG replaced the screen quickly and well. Very nice TV; we like the features and picture. Definitely reccomended. I think a very good value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A really great value.

By jola49 from Belle Vernon, PA 15012, USA on 08/22/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv is absolutely a stunning addition to my living room. Every one that see's it can't believe that it was that affordable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This TV is a Quality product.

By JB1 from West Salem, WI, USA on 08/16/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The LG TV has the best picture/sound of all the TV's on display. The manufacturing quality stands out above the rest. Thanks, LG, for a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy to set-up

By scuzzy from Marshfield, MA, USA on 07/26/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Do not do anything to this set it is perfect the way it is now


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this TV!

By Slick from Bayonne, NJ, USA on 07/10/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first new TV in 20 years. After being very satisfied with LG Mobile Phones for the past 6 years, I knew that their products were top notch. I have had this new TV for the last month and have been very happy with my decision to buy another LG product. Thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By beman340 from Orangeburg, SC on 06/30/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you don't want or need internet through your TV or 3D TV, this is a great buy. The picture and sound quality are first rate. I sit about 14' from the TV and the 50" set fits my den just right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved