Home » Video » Televisions » Lcd Tv » 42LS5700 » 38 Reviews

LG Electronics 42LS5700 L.g [refurbished] 42ls5700 42" 1080p 120hz Led Tv W/smarttv Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 38 reviews)

97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quality (28), Easy To Use (26), Features/settings (25), Performance (25), Style/design (21)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Awesome features... but many don't work

By Alex of Orlando from Orlando, FL, USA on 05/21/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this TV September 2012 and was pleased at first. Shortly after I noticed the Youtube app did not stream videos properly. I had a 45Mbps internet connection at the time and all of my other devices worked just fine using the same ethernet jack. I dont need Youtube.. I can live with that. Now it has been over two years and the internet connection across the board is unstable (I now have a 60Mbps internet connection and a new house with an awesome network). All internet based apps are unstable. It seems the internet connection drops after two minutes of use and does not automatically connect (WIRED!). I have done a factory reset, I have set a static IP, I have initialized the apps, I have most recent software, It just wont work. The punch line is it works fine with my local network. I can watch videos from my computer using Smart Share. The hardware works, the software does not. I now have to use my dvd player to stream Netflix :( It seems in this case as time goes on and standards change on the internet these LG apps I have become less and less stable until they wont work at all. I have 5 years experience as a Senor Web Developer, an Information Systems and networking degree, and have troubleshooted this to the best of my abilities... Please help me fix this LG


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV in every way

By JonnyJr. from Clinton, MT on 01/04/2014


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first flat screen and smart tv and I like it VERY much. Easy to set up and great picture to start off with. Sound is hands down better than anything else in the showroom that I listened to. Smart features make Tv time much more interesting--watching movies on youtube for one example. Netflix movies load in seconds. I consider myself lucky I checked out LG before I bought another major brand!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic picture quality!

By Rkshap from Ohio, USA on 12/13/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall a very nice TV. The picture quality is fantastic it is very easy to use and has great features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sweet Tv

By Red from Frederick, MD, USA on 10/27/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this Tv I have only had it a little over a month and it blew all my expectations out of the water.I would recommend it to a friend. With the 120hz refresh rate it is a super clear picture and has way more features than I expected . Also, streaming Netflix & Hulu is so easy. Other than that the Tv is very streamlined in design . So it doesn't take up much space.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD

By Nick from California on 08/22/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has good feature, and software gets updated automatically. Nice HD quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this is a great

By tampadijon from ellijay , ga on 05/11/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

have become addicted to the quality of this tv. we really enjoy the life like icture that it provides. we also have an older lg and it is still preforming like new as well ( several years old). the wi-fi feature is truly amazing and make use of it connected to our lap top to view our videos and pictures. the setup was one of the easiest that i have run across. i would recommend this set to everyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Product has a Great Picture

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/01/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV has a excellent picture. I is probably the best picture I have every seen on a TV. Netflix loads up programs extremely fast. I would recommend the TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is more than I bargained for!!

By jgrady007 from Shaker Heights, OH, USA on 03/28/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent choice for what I need. I watched programs on Netflix by computer and now to see it on my TV is the best. Granted the Netflix on the LG Smart App is different, it is still easy to manage. My last TV was an old Zenith console and this has been the best upgrade, Especially since I am not a fan of cable TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has a great picture

By Ret from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 03/27/2013


Pros:

Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this TV in February 2013 and overall this is a great TV with an exceptionally clear picture. It is light weight and easily movable. My big complaint of this TV is that when watching Netflix it is not Netflix friendly as far as watching a Season(s) of a TV show. The way this TV shows Seasons and episodes is not by a list by Season but by one big long picture frame and if you want to go from Season 1 Episode 4 to Season 5 Episode 2 you have to scroll through all the frames to get to the season and episode you are looking for. This does not make watching a TV show enjoyable. It also does not Auto start the next episode. If you do not care about Netflix I would highly recommend this TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Features and Good Picture Quality

By Ankit4 from Fremont, CA, USA on 03/26/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent Features and Good Picture Quality at a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture. Outstanding TV

By bgissen1 from Atlanta, GA, USA on 03/20/2013


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this TV to replace a competitive brand that had an unsatisfactory picture. Have been very satisfied. My only issue has been that the remote/pointer/mouse takes a little getting used to. Family and friends have commented on the excellent picture. Overall an excellent product. A fan of LG.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best tv I ever owned

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 03/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv is Great I'm so pleased with all the features and the picture and sound are unbelievable. I will never buy another brand beside lg and it will def have the smart tv feature. You can tell that this is one of the best tvs on the market .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV, easy to set up and use

By DW from Pataskala, OH, USA on 02/20/2013


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this TV to replace our old HDTV which I didn't think needed replaced but my wife shamed me into replacing as she said it was time that we entered the current decade in technology. So went along with it. I wish that I had listened to her a lot sooner. First of all it was incredibly easy to set up (and I'm a low-tech man in a high-tech world#. I was impressed with the quality of materials, down to the loc-tite on the screws for the base. The picture is incredible, the Smart functions are easy to use and the sound is good. It's so easy to move around from input to input. A really useful feature is the ability to sync mobile devices such as ipads. The magic remote is very user friendly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the products features

By Jo from Middletown, MD on 02/19/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use, Internet Capability

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my tv, love the fact that I can easily get the internet on it, the picture is clear have no problems with it, just love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Clearest picture

By Scota465 from Buffalo, NY, USA on 02/15/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love how sharp the picture is on this TV. Being able to connect to the internet through the TV is also a great feature that I have used tremendously.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

high quality

By L-boog from Maryland, USA on 02/15/2013


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this tv shows quality pic. with cable and just regular tv , being a smart tv i can steam movies from vudu , sound is good BUT I need a LG sound bar then i would be most happy.... TY LG


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PICTURE QUALITY IS GOOD

By lanett61 from Chester, PA, USA on 01/29/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My granddaughter's love that I can link my cell phone to the tv and watch Youtube videos. The picture is so clear I didn't need an HD cable box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the tv

By willy61 from Kokomo, IN, USA on 01/27/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

tv was purchased for the wife as a christmas gift seriously condidering purchasing a second to replace the tv that i always watch. improvement in picture quality was that good


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has some great features

By ladymo from Norfolk, VA, USA on 01/15/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Pro's: The energy saving feature. I dim my room lights and the TV adjust to the room lighting also, being able to access my Netflix right from it, is so much better than having to go through an other device such as my PS3. Con: Still trying to get use to the picture quality, compared to my plasma it's just not as crisp but still is very good!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT TV AT A GREAT PRICE

By BETTS from Pennsylvania, USA on 01/08/2013


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the picture and audio quality of this tv. Its taking the place of my 32 in. LG in the bedroom and the difference is unbelievable. I really like all of the features it offers and would recommend this tv to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture but I'm not in control

By Benanov from Westminster, MD on 01/03/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this set about a month ago. The picture is amazing, and the "Just Scan" feature makes it great as a computer monitor. Turning the settings to "game" makes gaming possible - while there is always some post-processing, the game mode actually reduces a good bit of the lag. I have no complaints with the sound, even though I'm just using the built-in speakers. They're adequate if not a little quiet. As a TV, this thing is great. I'm frustrated with the "smart" portion - I can't remove any of the pre-installed apps; and every update requires an acceptance of a ridiculously long EULA just so I can change the input settings! I just love having to read 27 pages of legalspeak before I can switch to the second HDMI port. (There's a workaround - press the "help" button and do it from there - but it's convoluted) I've tried turning off the TV's network connection but it attempts to be "helpful" and remember the last working setting. I wanted the "smart" portion so I could avoid having to build an HTPC. I think the smarter option would have to been purchase a dumb output device and built the computer myself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

we really enjoy this television

By nutsntwigs from Tampa, FL on 12/24/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a great choice for us. Not too confusing, easy to program and hook up. We are very happy with it. The picture is clear and the sound quality is good too. I would definitely recommend it to others. The price was a determining factor vs. the features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really Enjoying This Smart TV

By NatsFan1 from Washington, DC, USA on 12/20/2012


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is everything I had hoped for! Love the Smart TV function, but haven't explored all the options yet. Two complaints: >The remote needs redesigning. The cursor doesn't hold on the screen very long and is difficult to maneuver. Because of the odd shape, it's difficult to hold (although it looks as if it should be easier). My hands are average size for a woman. > I do see screen lag on fast moving shots - somewhat pixelated, if that's the right word. I do think it's a great buy and fits the bill for me!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A grea TV for the Money

By Tom Orlando from Orlando, Fl on 11/28/2012


Pros:

The Remote, Quality, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thios TV is awesome. The picture and sound quality are so good. THe remote control is very easy to use. Recommened t to a friend and he got one!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smarter than me tv

By MargieL from Manchester ct on 11/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome what great features of email Facebook watching net flix . Easy to navigate from different features. The detail is amazing very easy to learn. Smarter than me tv!!! Clear sound and amazing pictures


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like the Quality of this product

By Bill from Palmer, PA, USA on 11/15/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very pleased with both of the LG TV's I owned. They are easy to use and have the feature I was looking for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has everything you can ask for

By Kitty from Boston, MA, USA on 10/11/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has great color as well loads of smart features. The magic remote makes it a breeze to operate all smart features as well as navagation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a Superior TV the LG LS5700

By MacDaddy4122 from CA on 09/18/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This televisions is far ahead of its time, the picture sound and the design are far ahead of competitors .Watching television is now enjoyable with this television you feel that you are part of the action. It's affordable and in the reach of all television fans.The superior and quaility of the unit is noteworthy.Once you watch television on a LG product you well never go back to the standard brands.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous TV, App Store Needs Work

By scoii from USA on 09/11/2012


Pros:

Quality, Price, Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a fantastic television. The price on Amazon was great (~$800), the picture is crisp, and the remote and interface are intuitive. I recently downloaded the Android app that allows me to control the TV via my phone, which is also cool though lacking some of the actual physical remote functionality. My only complaint is the application store lacks quality titles. A lot of games that would be well suited for the Magic Remote are nowhere to be found. The only game that is bearable is too simplistic to keep our attention for long (Catch the Apples). I read somewhere that some new games and features are coming soon to the application storefront, but for now it is a little light on content. I also recently tried using the internet browser included to view content from NBC online (Sunday Night Football), but it identified an updated plugin was needed. When I attempted to update the browser, it said updates were not allowed. That is another area that could be improved - provide a browser that allows viewing live content or at least can be updated (i.e. a full web browser). Aside from that the TV itself is fantastic and worth every penny (and eventually I do expect the applications to catch up).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture , sound , and smart features

By Wpwolfe from Ct on 08/15/2012


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Cons No Pandora . Remote Rolls On Flat Surface

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It has been a long time since I found a tv I was impressed with . I purchased two other TV and returned them due to them not delivering on features advertised .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Color; Great Resolution; Great Value

By GatorGrub from Longwood, Florida on 08/11/2012


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed our 42LS5700 LED HDTV in less than one hour. I used HDMI cables for the Cable Box and DVD, and Optical Audio cable to the Home Theater Receiver. I have had to tweak a few settings solely on personal preferences. I found no issue with the TV based speakers, and use them most of the time except for movies, music programs, or DVD. This is a Great HDTV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome TV !

By Drummer64 from Maineville, Oh on 07/01/2012


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is truly a plug and play set. Yet it has features to customize all settings by the user. Vivid colors and true to life images are only the beginning. Very easy and user friendly to do anything. And the wi-fi options are amazing. Perhaps LG should change the slogan to Life's Great. Really love this TV !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall a good buy

By madcya from Ulster Park NY on 06/22/2012


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

searched for quite a while before picking this one, picture is great, apps are so-so, the remote feels a little flimsy and not that responsive, but overall I'm very Happy so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Christmas Gift

By DannyG24 from Tyler, TX on 06/07/2012


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 42" SMARTTV was a Christmas gift, wow what a great picture and I love the Smart Functionality and according to the gifter, it was a great value


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Image

By fjb from Holbrook, NY, USA on 05/20/2012


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to setup. Great image. Has plenty of HDMI ports for all my hi def equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lg is impressive

By sjb from Hartford, CT, USA on 05/07/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the LG 5700 42 inch , because i loved the way it looked in the store. When I got it home even better. For the quality, and price you cant do better then lg. the only gripe I have is I wish I could turn on and off the True Motion feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best TV

By Sticky1234 from Revere, MA, USA on 05/03/2012


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is best TV in the market. A+++ LG Number # 1 ever


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this is the best tv on the maket

By bobbo from south jersey on 04/30/2012


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have compared this tv to many others and the competiton just cant compete with this awsome tv. the high def is so clear its like looking out your window and the speed of it keep the high intensity scenes from blurring. its a easy set-up and use and with the LG home theatre system there a perfect match. I recommend this to everyone i talk to about buying a tv and 2 of friends have recently purchased them and they are thrilled to death that they did. This is abosolutly the best out there


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved