Home » Video » Televisions » Lcd Tv » 49UB8500 » 32 Reviews

LG Electronics 49UB8500 Lg 49 4k Uhd / 120hz Webos 3d Led Plus Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 32 reviews)

96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quality (27), Features/settings (24), Style/design (17), Easy To Use (22), Performance (23)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Very nice TV

By zTruth from Langhorne, PA, USA on 07/21/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very nice TV. Beautiful colors. Fairly easy to use. Nice features


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Now this is a Smart TV.

By firemanprice from Saint Petersburg, FL, USA on 07/08/2015


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has everything you could want. Top specs and it looks really good. Smart TV, 4k, 3d, voice controlled just to name a few. Friends who came over couldn't believe the picture quality. It's the quality you see at Best buy. No regrets or remorse at all with our purchase. Great job Lg.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great television

By equestriancolt from Molalla, OR 97038, USA on 06/20/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price and quality I think this stands right next to Samsungs upper class televisions. I am impressed with the picture quality. Also I play a lot of ps3 and ps4 games this has helped my gaming immensely. The perfect picture and clear images has made playing games a lot more fun. I really enjoy all the features this television has to offer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Ultimate.

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/24/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Color was beatiful in the store, and at Home. This the TV is BRILLANT, color, features and the set up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stunning Picture

By Ben from South Carolina, USA on 04/14/2015


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As the words express it, stunning. Right out of the box, the clarity is unmatched. Love the remote and the "Smartness" of the TV. When I watched the first 3D movie I was blown away. Truly unblievable......... Do not hesitate to own one of these.............


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superior Side Viewing Angle

By Steve from Saint Louis, MO, USA on 03/25/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After owning one of the first Plasmas over 10 years ago, I wanted to move to HDMI connections, but did not want to give up good viewing on the sides. After a lot of research and reading reviews, I found the 8500 was noted for a superior side viewing angle. Great picture, even in the day in a room with very large windows. All the other features just add to the value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

49UB8500 U4K

By c2367 from Long Beach, CA, USA on 03/22/2015


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has 3D but most likely never use it. Really do know why the put this stand on it, has feet that are at both ends of the unit so it requires a large TV stand or you must wall mount. The LG 47" I have has a base stand in the middle that is much nicer and it can move side to side, do not understand why LG went to this style. The 1080 47" LG I have had for 3 or 4 years now seem to have a nicer picture that this 4K. The 4K has a lot features over the older LG I own. I wish the remote would be more user friendly due to the lack of buttons it makes it harder to get to settings to adjust. The legs in the TV could be just a little higher so when you add a sound bar in front of the TV the sound bar would not be in the way of the screen and the remote sensor. The Internet browser is very basic and does not show your home page as you would see it on your computer. The Miracast function has a hard time to connect, it seems to connect and function fine but after many tries and time. I have tried to do adjustments to tune in the picture so it would look as good or nicer the my older LG 47 1080 but maybe I just haven't got it. I like the very thin frame around the screen that this 4K has. Make sure your have or get a good surge protector to protect from power surges that shorten the life of your TV. I have had good luck with my 47" 1080 LG and hope for the best with this new K4.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent 3D Television

By BABJ from Kittanning, on 03/13/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use my TV for the internet and watching movies and playing games with my Xbox and Playstation 4. The WebOS is great and work very well. The only downside to the TV is the remote but LG does have app for the IPad which works well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Picture

By capzak from South Lyon, Mi on 03/03/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has the best picture. It seem like you are right in the picture. I can not believe the quality. This is my first LG TV and I would recommend to any one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent TV and support.

By Dick from Seymour, TN, USA on 02/20/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV has an excellent picture and functions are easy to use and set up. I highly recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I HATE the magic remote

By starmonche from overland park on 02/10/2015


Pros:

Remote Is Horrible

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this TV with the intention of using it as a monitor for my new gaming PC. I set everything up the way I liked and turned it on...and...HATRED. You canNOT initialize the TV past the welcome garbage and change inputs without using the magic remote. There's a navigation nub on the back of the TV but you're not allowed to progress into the menus until the remote has been initialized and you've answered NOYB questions like your zip code and other nonsense. I begrudgingly connected the magic remote and hate it even more because you really can't navigate with its buttons unless you hold the remote completely still since it acts like a Wii. (I bought a TV to use as a monitor and NOT A WII). I will never buy LG again. And that's too bad because the display is nice (other than the ridiculous fluff and stupid OS tacked onto it). The remote sucks and I hate it and you jerks made a pisspoor decision forcing it to be part of the setup. Not to mention that it's gotten itself disassociated several times for no reason. Just let me power on and switch inputs with a button. Shove your stupid remote...well you know...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture and great buy

By PC46 from Henderson, NV, USA on 02/07/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is a great pic if you are seeking a quality UHD picture at an affordable price. Excellent user interface with a tremendous variety of options. Attractive frameless design fits any room and decor,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I liked this lg products and will recmond to my friends It's beautiful tv,colors are bright video game are exellents and truly deliver excellence. Lg is consistently updating the firmware adding more features. And the great price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A joy to have

By Frishman from Fair Lawn, NJ, USA on 01/20/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've done thorough research before deciding which television I wanted to purchase. The main draw for me was the combination of Passive 3D with 4K, which takes away the significant drawback of split resolution with Passive 3D up to now. I must say following everything I read, I did not expect 4K to be noticeable, but it's astounded how different it is when compared to HD. It is starkly noticeable and a joy to watch, I've been watching simple nature films which I normally don't watch because of how beautiful it is. 3D is spectacular but you have to keep at level height to the TV, otherwise you will experience some ghosting. Other than that, I am absolutely pleased with this product. Great job, LG!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great picture and features

By danny from Bakersfield, CA, USA on 01/10/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV has excellent picture,features the best I ever had. The 3-d is very good. The only think I wish it came with is a keyboard.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV at a great price

By MJK from Michigan, USA on 01/07/2015


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everything is great on this TV except that at this point of time there is not an Adobe flash player for this TV. This only affects watching some content on the web. All other functionality of the TV is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very happy with my tv i like the picture

By buster12 from Columbus, OH, USA on 01/03/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very great sound @picture I like the size does not take up much room on tv stand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Features, Quality, Unbeatable Price

By Al2008 from San Diego, CA, USA on 12/13/2014


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Most Notable Features: 3D (variable settings avail.), 4K picture quality, WIFI option, WebOS, Antenna TV program information availability, multiple HDMI inputs Quality: I have to emphasize... the picture quality is AWESOME!!! At first there were 'lags' in some object's that were moving fast at certain scenes, but after going thru some adjustments and updates, I have not seen the 'lags' anymore. The sound is great, its not surround sound but the quality is decent (no echoing, pitch/ tone are balanced). Angle viewing is pretty decent (only min. changes in picture quality) - hence I opted for flat and not a curved screen. And based on comparison with other TV manufacturers, this TV has a higher overall quality than the others. Price: Based on its quality and price ratio, this is one of the best that is out in the market. You may find some that are cheaper, but make sure it has the features that this TV has or at least the ones you're looking for. Cons: Pertains to all Smart TV's -- the ability to download other TV/ Movie streaming apps, although this TV already has an array of the most popular ones like Amazon Prime, Hulu, Netflix, Youtube, etc. And no numbers on the remote (so if you're scanning Antenna TV channels, you have to scan thru each and everyone in your list in order to watch a particular one). And also with all the MANY features (based on my personal experience of switching from a SONY picture tube type to this) there is quite a learning curve in order to learn and use ALL the features - not really a complaint/ just a heads up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome TV for a great price

By OscarHugo from Minneapolis, MN on 10/16/2014


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is great, hopefully they will come out with more 4k content soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT picture - POOR Firmware

By KenSch888 from Tennessee, USA on 09/16/2014


Pros:

Great Picture, Poor Wireless, No Flash Support

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We mounted the LG 49UB8500 on the wall in our bedroom. The picture is absolutely fantastic. If you aren't going to use the wireless connection this is one of the best sets we looked at. I only have sight in one eye, so I can't review the 3D, but the option to view a 2D movie in 3D sounds interesting. The LG 49UB8500 upscales a Blu-ray or HD DVD to about 3000, which is noticeably better than my 1080 Plasma TV. The LG 49UB8500 has four (4) HDMI inputs and three (3) USB inputs, more than enough for me. I downloaded and installed the latest firmware from LG. The problems start with basic wireless reception degrading whenever the set is turned off and back on (ours goes from 28Mbps to 2.5Mbps). You have to go to setup, release and re-establish the wireless link to bring back the speed. This is apparently a "feature" of LG TVs which is not planned to be removed. BTW - A laptop in the bedroom is downloading at about 30Mbps throughout the room.- There is NO Flash support, so most WEB sites don't work or only partially work. And that's a BIG NEGATIVE. Some of the more common video apps are also missing. The remote is a point and shoot type and takes A LOT of getting used to. The manual selector (not using the remote) is PAINFUL to use and almost useless. The Firmware needs to be overhauled and should not have shipped in such poor shape at the cost of this set. If you only want a television with a GREAT picture, this is the set for you. If you want to stream video or use the WEB, this set leaves a lot to be desired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm Still Learning

By ImEntertained45 from Austin, TX, USA on 09/15/2014


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product caught my eyes while on vacation because I was looking for a larger 3D TV. The picture is what made the difference of just regular 1080p. I'm still trying to learn all the features or the magic remote. I'm still trying to learn how to use all of the apps on the home page. It does do some automatic actions that have worked like using a Harmony one touch button function.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is an excellent value

By Stew from Undisclosed on 09/06/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

From what I've seen this product has very good 4k display though there is not much to choose from.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic picture, a bargain at this price!

By cellhead from Wisconsin, USA on 09/04/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The picture on this tv is amazing, so crisp and clear, vibrant colors, 3D is very good, including simulated. Not a big fan of the Wii type remote, would have preferred a traditional universal one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This Television Is Unbelivable

By Craig from Undisclosed on 09/03/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Performance, Picture, Edge To Edge Viewing, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am 60 years old and thought I would never be able to navigate through the 4k smart TV. But LG has made this so simple. The picture is like no other. We looked at several different brands of TV's and bought the LG HD 4k. No matter what angle you sit in the room the picture is crystal clear like you are looking out a crystal clear window to the outdoors WOW what a picture! ! ! So all you do is point and click and have the TV world at your fingertips. I know we will have many years enjoyment from our new LG 4k TV. And it looks wonderful in our armoire in our Condo living room. Thanks LG for a wonderful product! Best, Craig from Ohio


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy for the money

By dman59 from Colorado, USA on 08/30/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture and like WebOS very much. Received a defective product in that the software would not update automatically (or manually). After a few weeks (tech scheduling issues) a tech came out and replaced the main board and viola, everything updates and works perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value compared to other Vendors offerings

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/21/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

TV has excellent HD picture qualities and set up with wireless was a breeze. The smart TV features are great but just make sure you get your wireless working first and download any pending software upgrades. The only thing that should be done to this unit is get rid of the ugly stand. it distracts from the product and takes up too much room if your sitting it on something instead of hanging.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overwhelmed!!!!

By bonnie1952 from Pasadena, MD, USA on 08/20/2014


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I fell in love with the picture at my local big box store but when I got it home, I could not believe how special it is. I did not know it was 3D w/glasses (my Grandson who is 8 yo, just flipped!) The picture quality just keeps amazing me. The magic remote is so cool, I sit up all night watching any thing and everything on TV. Got to get some sleep. I admit, it is expensive but soooooooooooo worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous product

By ibbirdbrain from Columbus,Ohio on 08/17/2014


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I went to pick out my tv, I had a whole different tv in mind. This was my first HD flat screen and I couldn't wait to get one. While standing at the check out counter, I was looking around and this tv caught my eye. The picture was Brilliant and I had to stop what I was doing to go look at it. I was totally mesmerized by the clarity and beauty of the picture. I instantly changed my mind and actually spent twice as much as I had planned on and I've never regretted it for a second. The set up was so easy, even a caveman could do it ;) Now, I'm so excited for Buckeye football to start so that I can actually feel the field as I watch the game. I know I will feel like I'm actually there on the field.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

new and improved

By MattieRoxie from Pittsburgh, PA, USA on 08/13/2014


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Quality, Best Picture For Crispness

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What i like most about my LG Smart TV is that the picture is so crisp. It is like you are there in person watching events, it brings the excitement into your living space.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bye Bye Plasma

By Energyatwork from KS on 08/09/2014


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well i have had my LG about 6 weeks and i think its an awesome TV. I wanted another Plasma but when compared to this TV i simply could not justify the extra money for a new Plasma, quite simply this TV is amazing value. I am really a Movie guy rather than cable so there are a lot of features that i will not use, but what i do use is awesome. The internet connection is a bonus because among other things it means this TV is future proof to a degree because the software updates.. I loved my old LG Plasma but this really is better. I used the TV speakers before connecting my Yamaha Sound Bar and they are really great for TV speakers; perfect for my 15 foot square front room. Thank you LG for another great product!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

make sure you have good internet and connections

By jrick45 from Houston, TX, USA on 07/19/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

didn't think i was gonna like this tv at all till i exhausted all the wireless avenues, finally got smart and ran an ethernet cable and fell totally in love with this TV it's awesome, nothing compares!!!!!!!!!!!! Not saying it doesn't work wirelessly just not in the room i'd put it in wasn't getting enough for it to stream soon as i got past it i've no complaints at all love it!!!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV Great Price!

By IanT from Missouri, USA on 06/23/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best TV I've ever bought. I love the way it looks in my living room and think the smart TV features really add to my viewing experience. I can't imagine ever going back to any other brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved