Home » Video » Televisions » Lcd Tv » 50LN5700ob » 41 Reviews

LG Electronics 50LN5700ob Lg [new] Ln5700 50ln5700 1080p, Smart, 120hz, Dual Core, Direct Led [open Box] Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 41 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Features/settings (29), Easy To Use (30), Quality (36), Performance (32), Style/design (21)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

50LN5700

By rickbrod from Eastern PA on 11/08/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great tv. Quick start up, good picture. More features than I need. Has been reliable for over a year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

accidental damage?

By Rachie from Roeland Park, KS, USA on 08/04/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think this product is awesome! I just worry about if something happens and the screen gets damaged because i was not offered any accidental damage protection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has a great picture.

By Charlie from Virginia Beach, VA, USA on 07/09/2014


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has a great picture and the features are easy to access using the mouse.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This TV is Amazing

By Birdie from River Oaks, TX, USA on 07/05/2014


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The easy to follow guide made set-up a breeze. The quality of the picture blew me away. The Smart TV features are awesome. The style, with the narrow bezel, is very chic. I put this one in the master bedroom and now I'm hoping to get one with an even bigger screen for the family room very soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Features!

By PRPhome from GA on 04/22/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wonderful resolution! ;-) yet LG could improve on fine details and quality of the physical material used...the base is not sturdy enough for a 50" TV...;-(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture

By Bobkat from Conway, MO. on 04/13/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not so easy to set up using standard remote. Did not come with Magic Remote. Need that to do many of the functions. Other reviews complained about the sound but we find no problems with the sound. We are quite pleased with our new LG TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value

By Karen from Guyton, GA, USA on 04/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All in all a good tv for the price. We appreciate all the features. We did expect a clearer, crisper picture. We would have also liked it if the tv could swivel in the base a few inches for better angled viewing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleasantly Surprised

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/06/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has a beautiful picture and runs my Amazon Prime app flawlessly using my wireless router. The picture is equal or better than my Panasonic plasma. The remote is of course difficult to use when you are typing in passwords, e-mail addresses, etc, but that is not the strongpoint of a TV remote. So I temper my review notes in that regard. This TV is a very pleasant addition to the living room the picture is spectacular....Thank You , LG I am a very happy customer(so far, of course!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV

By HannahsMom from St. Louis, MO, USA on 04/01/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have only had this tv for 2 months but would highly recommend it. It was easy to set up and use. We did not buy it for the Smart feature but because it fit in the space we have; stand fits on a narrow mantle. Great picture as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV to Own

By Terri2000 from Danville, KY, USA on 03/27/2014


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My LG Smart TV is great! Quality picture and easy to use Smart features. Great value for price. Would definitely recommend LG products to friends and family.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent smart TV

By packers from Tampa, FL, USA on 03/20/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

An excellent value-excellent picture and sound. Looked at many TVs at this price point and this one has the best sound quality by far. Only quibble is that switching between inputs is not as easy as it should be.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture Colors

By Pentgutt from Bergenfield, NJ, USA on 03/01/2014


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Colors are amazing and is really smart tv easy to use and search browsing . Fast to stream movies love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Picture!

By bwpage10 from Fort Worth, TX, USA on 02/23/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I actually went to the store to get a different smart TV, but I saw the 50LN5700 sitting right next to my original choice, and the picture on this one blew my other choice away - Not even close! I went a little higher on price and bought the 50LN5700, and I am very happy I did. The 50LN5700 shows details on TV shows and Blue-Ray discs that I had never seen before, and it even makes regular DVDs look much better and sharper. It has a very good black level hich makes for a great contrast. It was easy to unbox and set up, everything worked as it should. It's several months later and the picture quality is still catching my attention every time I turn it on, and I can't say anything more positive than that!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MUCH BETTER THAN EXPECTED.

By Lynneya55 from New York, NY on 01/28/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was a little overwhelmed by the variety of options in the smart TV category. This particular model has the respect of not only its users but of the print media as well. Even so, my expectations were muted because I was leery about color/picture quality. This TV is much, much better than expected. The colors are vibrant. The screen has a small border which gives the whole view experience much more continuity. The other question I had was how hard is it going to be to hook up to wifi. It was a breeze. The TV and the router found each other with little prompting. Streaming has been seamless. And, the built in apps are terrific. They all offer great variety of programming. In fact, I will be removing my cable box in a month. It's that good. I highly recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Product

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/22/2014


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far so good. Nothing to complain about. Really enjoy Netflix. Easy to setup and adjust.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My second LG. Both have been great!

By RisaK from Marshall, MN, USA on 01/14/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy operation, great color, dependable and reasonably priced. What more can you ask for?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV, great price, no issues what so ever

By Chuck from CA on 01/07/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great TV, works as promised, no issues, very SMART TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy with Choice

By SteveTLH from Tallahassee, FL, USA on 12/25/2013


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am known for having constant buyer's remorse. Not this time. The television is all that I expected and desired. Yeah, you definitely need to add a sound bar or other speaker system but I knew that going in. The set-up was quick and simple and that includes joining it to my wireless. I have listened to Pandora and watched Amazon Instant Video without any issues. I played with surfing the web and it is okay but the browser could use some work. I think the picture quality is awesome. The worst part is the remote. I tried the magic remote but did not like it. So I. Am stuck with two remotes, 1 for TV and 1 for the STB. Actually it is 3 because the sound bar has one. I used to only deal with one. Sigh.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Picture!

By Mark from Lake City, FL, USA on 12/12/2013


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this tv for about a month and the picture is incredible. Easy to use menus with the WIFI, Very happy overall. The only drawback is the sound it appears the speakers are facing down so the sound is directed to the floor., plan to purchase a sound bar along with it. Still a great deal even with that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is not my 1st LG

By Hoot from Marion, OH 43302, USA on 11/29/2013


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Perfect picture, good looks and a smart TV. Simple to set and figure out. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product at an Excellent Price

By Noman from TX on 11/26/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first LG Tv and i am really impressed with the overall picture quality & features that are available


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy with my LG

By lattampa from Tampa, FL, USA on 11/18/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this TV In October. This is my 2nd LG TV , but the first Smart TV. Thus far I enjoy the features of the smart TV, the sound quality is good although when streaming movies, the sound is not that great. The picture quality is excellent. I haven't tried some of the features yet, but so far I am very happy with my LG smart TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this TV!

By BandB from Pennsylvania on 10/31/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our new TV is wonderful! The picture is bright and there is so much depth to everthing. Our DVD movies are even better!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TV is excellent, except for the remote

By Rich3483 from Bethel Park, PA, USA on 10/19/2013


Pros:

Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with the TV, the only complaint I have is with the sensor for the remote. I also purchased a LG Sound Bar NF3730A. The only place to put the sound bar is in front of the pedestal of the TV. Because the sound bar is too high, it blocks the remote sensor for the TV and I have to stand up to use the TV remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value

By Rich1r from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 10/16/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This television has almost everything you need. The only thing missing is the magic remote, which you have to purchase individually. Highly recommend this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what we wanted!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/12/2013


Pros:

Price, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Smart TV with all the right features. Price was great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value for the price

By Steven007 from Cherry Valley, CA, USA on 10/06/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this as a replacement for a 10-year old flat screen. Picture quality is excellent among it's peer group. Saw the 47-inch on display in a retailer and was impressed with picture quality on Blu Ray. Easy set up. Good access to HDMI ports though the RCA ports could be better located as they interfere with TV bracket. Remote is easy to use and sound quality for TV speakers is surprisingly good, plenty of volume control.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My LG 50LN5700

By slotdoc48 from Quincy, IL, USA on 10/04/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is great. The only problem I have is that it DOES NOT contain an audio out(L and R) connection for my wireless headphones to hook up to. It does have a Headphone Out jack, but you have to change the sound settings to headphones to hear it, no one else watching will be able to hear it then. Otherwise, we love this Smart TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE THIS TV!!!!!

By HillbillyHomeboy from Iowa on 10/04/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am thrilled with everything about this TV. The picture is excellent. The features with SmartTV are very nice. The apps run very fast - Netflix and Amazon Prime work great. There is nothing I would change about this. I am enjoying every moment that I use it. Setup was quick and easy. It's my first big-screen TV so it has taken me a little while to get used to such an excellent picture. Cable, DVR and Blu-Ray output are all stellar. Watching HD programs from my cable is very enjoyable. Almost makes you want to watch commercials, too. (Almost.) You cannot go wrong with this LG TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great TV

By Anonymous from Reinbeck, IOWA on 10/01/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love the clear picture size is perfect easy to set up great quality


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV. Good Picture Quality. Sound OK

By CDMc from Asheville, NC on 09/25/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV was very easy to connect to HD cable box. It took a while to get the settings, like Wi-Fi etc, set up because I had to "hunt" for the correct place to make the setting. Once you learned how to navigate, things were much easier. The only real problem that I have run into is the lack of detailed instructions on how to use the standard mouse - they may in there, but I haven't found them. All in all - I'm very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features and easy to use

By STinGA from Atlanta, GA on 09/20/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced an older LG 37" with this 50" and the additional features available in this television are incredible. The picture quality is superb and the SMART features are an added bonus that we are really enjoying. The sound quality from the onboard speakers are very good compared to the previous model that we had but we still opted to utilize the optical audio connection and connected it to a stereo system. We use the standard remote that came with the television but downloaded the available LG app to our smartphones which makes it a snap to navigate the SMART TV menus and other controls. We are still working with the settings to get to our perfect viewing preferences. So far, no problems with the TV and we do not regret upgrading to a larger and more up to date model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing tv

By snyguy from Iowa, USA on 09/18/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv is great. I'm still figuring out all of the cool things that it can do. The picture is amazing! The only thing that I don't like is the sound. It is a little tinny. We may just add a sound bar to cure that. Overall we are very happy with our purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

simple to use great picture quality

By brybec from Lafayette, IN, USA on 09/10/2013


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this for 1 month and we are still finding new features. Best tv we have ever owned. simple to use and great value for the money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture Quality

By Ptownsoundguy from Portsmouth, VA, USA on 08/25/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has performed great. I was able to set-up the TV very easily. I am very pleased with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best tv for the money that I could find

By 1L1T from Tucson, USA on 08/21/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

LG has raised the bar with this model. Picture quality is outstanding, smart tv options are extensive as well as user friendly, the magic remote greatly enhances smart tv functionality, and the over-all value of it all still leaves me satisfied and smiling;-). Thank you LG for giving me the most bang for my buck with the 50LN5700! Keep the great products coming!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has a very good picture

By boone50 from Roxboro, NC, USA on 08/12/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is the first LG product that I have bought. It has a very clear picture. The sound is good for a flat panel tv. Was surprised at that. I do have a AV receiver hooked to it if I want surround sound, but have to admit have not used it. I subscribe to Netflix and it is a breeze to get into Netflix to watch a movie. A lot faster than the way I was accessing Netflix through a dvd player. the built in wifi works excellent. No complaints with this tv. Easy to acces the smart tv funtions. would recommend You try and LG product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More than just a TV

By Dukes' lowrider from Santa Monica, CA, USA on 08/09/2013


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Watching my friends LG for awhile, it was time to upgrade my 42" plasma for a larger size one. After check many models out, I chose the LG LN5700, for the quality of the picture and the many options. Using the smart apps (via lan cable) we enjoy the ease of using the internet for YouTube, Netflix and more. There is one app we have not use yet, skype we you need the LG camera to use. The only problem we have is the low volume of the speakers, thus time to buy a new sound system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Steph from Kokomo, IN, USA on 07/20/2013


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this TV, best TV that I have ever owned! Love the apps and easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent picture

By Triding from Melbourne, FL, USA on 05/19/2013


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best TV picture I've ever had. Love the ability to serf the web using the TV. There are so many features I've not had time to explore them all. Great TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great value

By Anonymous from Miami, FL, USA on 03/21/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

for the price it is agreat value crystal clear video


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved