Home » Video » Televisions » Lcd Tv » 55UB8500 » 81 Reviews

Lg 55ub8500 55" 3d 2160p Led-lcd Tv - 4k Uhdtv - 3840 X 2160 - Usb Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 81 reviews)

96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (51), Style/design (41), Quality (61), Performance (54), Features/settings (49)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Love it

By DavidXYWang from San Diego, CA, USA on 08/08/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The picture is so clear, the edge is so thin and all my friends said wows. I love the 3D feature too with blue-ray. I wish I had bought a bigger (say, 65") one though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this HDTV

By Mel from Fairhope, AL, USA on 08/08/2015


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Went to buy another brand of hdtv... After seeing this one it beat all other hdtv's.... Had all the features that I needed. The picture was perfect..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful Product

By DeBrody7481 from South Williamsport, PA, USA on 08/02/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv is one of my favorites I have ever owned. The built in calibration give me the best picture I have ever seen. The 4k clarity is amazing. A bonus with this tv is the Web OS features. Easy to use. This has to be one of the best smart TVS on the market. Flawless connectivity. One of my favorite features is the multiple USB ports. Plugged a 500gb hard drive for media streaming and works awesome. Thank you LG for a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Experience

By Angel from Flagler Beach, FL, USA on 07/14/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We went shopping to replace our 46 inch TV with a new 55 inch Ultra HD version. We looked at all the name brand TV's and found the picture quality of the LG to be at least as good as the top 2 brands and and the features were superior than all, including 3D and magic remote. The best price was icing on the cake. Would highly recommend this TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LG TV

By Lar from NJ on 06/30/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is very easy to work with and very good pitcher


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Picture; but lacking something I need.

By Freddie44 from Canyon Lake, TX, USA on 06/26/2015


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have had this TV for about 3 months. Excellent picture on HD channels. However, would not have purchase had I known it did not have a simple "audio out" allowing me to connect a much needed hearing aid device in order to adjust volume I need versus anyone else that may be visiting me. Would highly recommend and rate it 5 star except for this one thing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent

By rodney891 from New York, NY, USA on 06/24/2015


Pros:

Most Bang For Your Buck!!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second LG TV but my first 4K TV ,,, nothing but LG TV's from now on best quality, best value but most important just best overall... i keep getting the most bang for my buck with LG, customer for life!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

55UB8500

By THenry from Atlanta, GA, USA on 06/21/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace another 55" LG we had for several years but lost to lightning. The 55UB8500 4K TV has been outstanding. The HDMI inputs are intuitive and it has functioned well as a "command and control" in place on our AV receiver.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 06/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this Tv. The ease of use, the ease of the set up. This Color is the Ultimate. Connect to other components, is a breeze


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

limited LG device integration

By Chriswatsonsc from Spartanburg, SC, USA on 05/20/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Many of the options that LG devices should share are not compatible with this model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value for the money

By MtgSolver from Plano, TX, USA on 04/29/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once I changed to this 4K/3D TV I was stunned about the different from my previous HD LED unit. It was much brighter, crisp and has a stunning picture. After buying this I had to replace 2 other sets in the home so I could enjoy it in those rooms also. For the price it was worth the buy....just wish it was not such a big jump in price when going to the larger sizes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best TV i have ever owned

By mack 61 from Pennsylvania, USA on 04/29/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the picture is beautiful and all the features are great everything works great i use a ps4 and denon audio equipment there nothing better be sure to check out LG


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This smart TV is a smart buy!

By Magnolia Mom from Magnolia, Texas, USA on 04/27/2015


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far the best, most efficient, television we've ever owned. It is completely user-friendly (we are in our mid-50s); if we hit a snag, LG's customer service is Johnny-on-the-spot with assistance. The picture quality is unbelievable - you keep thinking the people on TV are in your living room with you! We utilize all the apps that come with the TV - and there are a lot. This TV is like its own entertainment center! We would recommend this product to everyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best UHD 4K TV for features / cost...

By CEKirby from Hendersonville, NC, USA on 04/24/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Hdcp 2.2 Hdmi Future Proof, Quality, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I spent over a year researching 4K UHD TV's from all the vendors... I am a 30 year+ computer engineer. The features this LG 55" UB8500 provides are phenominal, especially at 25% to 50% less than other 55" UHD vendor products. The other brands or more expensive LG TV's with slightly "faster" screen responses are marginally better for significantly more money. This TV has excellent 3D, even when converting 2D to 3D (amazing in its own right!), and it handles fast action scenes in 3D well also. I even got my wife to agree that the 4K upscaling is amazing... She was satisfied with her much smaller TV previously... The menus are good and the smart remote is good even if it takes a bit of practice to get it to cooperate well. This is all great before we have a lot of UHD media to play! The HDMI HDCP 2.2 future proof built in is almost non-existent on more expensive competitors TV's... This will be critical with true UHD media in the coming months. Highly recomended!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

On the verge of greatness

By pota2 from St. James NY on 04/21/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not 100% sure if content is delivered at full 4k but picture seems super sharp. Sometimes I can see shining studio lights reflected on broadcaster's hair . Some dvr episodes show motion blur. Some shows razor sharp , some shows not so much . Very fussy to be fully satisfied but this set is pretty darn good regardless of other bench tests from comparison sites.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A superlative experience

By Mark Tallman from Rogers, AR on 04/18/2015


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I cannot more strongly recommend our LG UHD TV. We purchased our 55" UHD TV ~ two months ago. Our experience and enjoyment with this outstanding product has surpassed all expectations. My Wife could not see much difference between Standard Definition and HD on our 1080P TV. She sees a much greater picture that is obviously superior with our LG UHD. Many "industry experts" bloviate about no UHD content that is a possible future. This is NOT TRUE. Netflix has UHD content in both movies and shows, such as House of Cards. The TV brings such content to life as if you are truly there. The improved sound of UHD even more greatly enhances the experience. What's more, 1080P content such as VUDU upscales to much higher resolution. 1080i broadcasts also enhance. The software combined with auto-download/install is amazing. Words do not adequately convey my endorsement of LG UHD TV's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This TV resolution is amazing.

By latigo3333 from Miami, FL, USA on 03/21/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This set is very easy to use and picture is so clear, at 2160 with the blurays dvds, you feel the picture is alive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excelent tv

By jtedder from Decatur, AL, USA on 03/21/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is the first lg tv i have had and it is excelent great picture quality and no chargable 3d glasses needed due to you can use the 3d glasses you get when you watch a 3d movie at the theature really like the smart functions like being able to use the remote to talk into and change channel or input i would like to see more apps added but excelent tv


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

high quality product, great price

By Dep from Dallas, TX, USA on 03/21/2015


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this stunning tv for a very great price and my family is astonished at the 4K and 3D pictures, it also comes with 2 pair of 3D glasses!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More Than I Hoped.

By Westernfan from Michigan on 03/16/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I started out looking for a 55 inch or larger led without "bells and whistles". As I looked at the available standard tvs, the newer uhd tv's, and then the reports and reviews, I became more open to a currently available uhd tv. I read many reviews about the various brands and models. If the 55ub8500 delivered the results the reviews reported, I figured it was worth the additional cost. There maybe better models now or very soon for better prices, but I am glad I bought this one. Two drawbacks with it. I have a hearing problem and the speaker output doesn't help. I have set and apparenlty saved setting preferences, but find them changed the next time I go to the channel that I used before.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It delivers on the promise!

By wdascenz from Baltimore, MD on 03/14/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The bad news is that the factory settings do not begin to exploit the capabilities of this 4K TV. The good news is that once it is "dialed in," the up-scaling engine performs magic with 1080p and 1080i 2K feed. Even the 720p signal that ABC network uses is somehow "number crunched" to where the image is detailed and seamless. You do not need a BluRay player with 4K scaling as the TV's internal scaling engine is -- shall I say it? PERFECT!! Well done on all performance issues -- color tonal range -- shadow detail - clarity -- depends on very clean power -- ease of use with that really cool remote control, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture

By Kewlroy from Florida, USA on 03/11/2015


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The picture quality is great and the 3d feature is awesome. I have only watched a little 4k but what i have seen it is without a doubt the best tv I have purchased to date love this tv. The remote is easy to use and the web os is much nicer than other smart tv's that i have used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing picture

By dx2 from FL on 03/11/2015


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A superb picture with great smart features. While the integration with my Yamaha sound system is a bit awkward, the sound is also excellent. The web browser is cumbersome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful picture

By wheeleze from Undisclosed on 03/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

3D movies in your own home! I was skeptic, but this TV is an awesome addition to any home theater.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great images and colors

By luisgarcia562 from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 03/04/2015


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

100% happy whit this Tv great I love the colors features easy to use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent design

By Mike from Chicago, IL, USA on 02/27/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent TV for a reasonable price. The only correctable downside is poor owner documentation, especially for the remote. Since, due to design, the TV speakers are in the back, this TV is ideal for Home Theatre quality sound. The screen quality is outstanding in all screen formats and viewing is excellent from just about any angle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great integration into my home network

By Cwatson78 from Spartanburg, SC on 02/18/2015


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this tv so much, it is in my bedroom. It works wonderfully with the Western Digital My Cloud Drive and wireless handheld devices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ultra HDTV Can Get

By kids from Wichita, Kansas on 02/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ultra and kids equals a future job potential. The 3-D enhancement can create a future doctor or scientist that was astonished in elementary school by the wow factor and made it part of their future dreams and career opportunities from deep sea to outer space the world is there in super vision, inspiring it is awesome


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW

By MC11 from Berlin, NJ, USA on 02/13/2015


Pros:

Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased as a Christmas gift for the family. We had to wait two weeks before being blown away by the picture. Old shows like Friends seem like your watching for the first time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great 4K for the Price!!!

By Simonator from Saginaw, Texas on 02/07/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome picture on this TV. I keep watching some of my Blurays again to see the beautiful graphics!! This is my second LG tv and love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good TV

By umesh from Cedar Rapids, IA, USA on 02/05/2015


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall TV is good for money. WebOS and Cursor interaction is good. There is light sensor in TV, the TV monitor changes its brightness automatically which causes little disturbance for viewers. I think somehow the sensor is too sensitive or some adjustment needed. WebCam feature should have been given for using skype/video conferencing. Quality is good, money is comparitively high but worth. There are no much 4k and 3D contenets on internet yet. may be good in future. Nice, we enjoy watching this TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am very happy with this TV.

By PJD from Dallas, TX, USA on 02/03/2015


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have found this TV to be a great value for my first flat screen TV. Picture is great. Set up was fairly easy. Phone support helped with the set up issue I had with connecting to the audio system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Flat Screen TV

By OldFirsty from Tennessee, USA on 01/29/2015


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is possibly one of the best purchases I have ever made. Easy setup right out of the box. Cons: I wish it had 5.1 SOUND and multiple picture display option.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth owing it...

By suru3 from Victorville, CA, USA on 01/28/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love LG products. I have this TV for a month and I love the quality. I have not tired 3D yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

was dubious

By Sprice from New Jersey on 01/28/2015


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I preciously had a backlight 65 inch tv. Wanted a better quality tv. I compared all the 55 inch tvs at the store and thought the LG looked best. I was surprised at the quality and easy of use. The clarity is amazing and the remote is very easy and unique. An HD movie looks odd and something you have to get used to because it looks like a home video movie and so vibrant. I expected my wife to say not another toy but she loves it and happy I gio it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing TV with amazing features.

By Aaron34 from upstate NY on 01/25/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV is very user friendly with tons of features and very intuitive controls via the smart magic remote control. I enjoy using the TV daily and have been learning all the features as I use them more every day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV for the price

By Steve1315321 from Kenmore, WA, USA on 01/22/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV works great as advertised. Picture comes across solid and the up-converter makes my cable signal look better than the old set. Pros: Great picture, love the smart TV apps, easy to use. Cons: In units speaker is sub par, I get a pop up message every time the set is not getting a signal that I have to close.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great tv ips panel 4k need i say more

By aris from San Diego, CA, USA on 01/20/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

no complaints best tv i have ever own the resolution is better than 1080p it upconverts everything the pictures is sharper. as long as you don't have bad eyesight you will see the difference compared to 1080p. the ips screen makes this tv look great at any angle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best TV I've Ever Had

By RavF from Erial, NJ on 01/20/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this TV for about one month now, and I like it more as time goes on. Image is very sharp, great color and contrast. Makes football come to life. 4K videos from YouTube look fantastic, so real you can almost touch them. This TV has a very wide base - (46 inches), and if you are not hanging it on a wall, you need a very wide TV stand. Also, the sound quality is lacking, so I added the LG sound bar, which very nicely corrected this problem. Overall, a great TV and the best I have seen, except for the OLED TVs, which are too pricey.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By jazzleo from CA on 01/16/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality, Price, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been a loyal customer of LG and have used several products including multiple TV's, washing machine, microwave oven, refrigerator, air conditioners, mobile phone, bluetooth headphones etc. I have never faced any issues with any product as of now with approximately 10 years of use. Talking about this particular TV - this is definitely a high quality product for reasonable price in comparison to Samsung and Sony. It has got all the bells and whistles you may wish for. The picture quality and 3D is outstanding given you have the right content to play. WebOS is a refreshing platform in comparison to other systems. All in all, a highly recommended product and company as well. You have a bright future, LG!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THE BEST SET I'VE OWNED

By SJax from Saint Louis, MO, USA on 01/15/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm not a TV hopper, this being only the 2nd HD set I've owned. It stood out over the others in the showroom and looks almost as great at home. Set up was a breeze. No issues at all connecting with wi-fi or using any of the apps. I love the magic remote and find it simple to use and control. One issue...still need my cable remote for channel and volume. Would like to figure out how to fix that. I played around a lot with picture settings, still not sure if I've found the sweet spot yet. Been hoping smarter people than me would post their settings. Have watched several of the 4k vids on You Tube. They look fantastic but still not quite at the level I saw in the showroom. I'm not a big 3d fan, but am certainly impressed with the quality there also. Overall, I think I picked a great TV and am happy with it. Won't be hopping to anything else anytime soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grent ease of use

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/10/2015


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's easy to use and easy to set up. The display is crystal clear too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great definition, colors, and features.

By kbock from Lake Zurich, IL on 01/09/2015


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, 3d, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a non techie that got product up and running in under one hour and connected my surround system in another hour. Content rich and reading reviews before hand were a big plus. The internal sound does not operate when connected to external device which I would not want anyway. I also had a problem connecting with Netflix but basically use my DVD player for Netflix which is no problem. I find the color to be amazing and the 3D is definitely worth the extra cost. Everyone that views the picture has loved the quality. The picture can be customized in many ways to suit individual preference. I started buying only LG appliances about 5 years ago and have never been disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great resolution

By ckandye from Texas, USA on 01/07/2015


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Never experienced such a clarity on a television before


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4k picture, true black, excellent value!!!!

By Gk6403 from Undisclosed on 01/06/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Let me start by saying this TV is excellent. The picture is crystal clear and detail is superb. Once you get the color dialed in, which takes a few tries, you will see a huge improvement and this is what makes the picture truly superb. The auto picture setting that comes from the factory is garbage, I start with game, because I like the true white whites with sharp contrast. The true black is amazing on this TV, it is as good as it gets. The WebOS is spectacular as well. It is like the icing on the cake. For the price getting a 4k TV and feature rich WebOS you can't go wrong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome picture quality

By Karen from Houston, TX, USA on 01/06/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome picture and sound quality. I enjoyed hours of entertainment without straining my eyes. Great picture quality as it upscales video quality, the good becomes better and the better becomes awesome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really love my first UHD tv!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with my decision to buy the 55ub8500. The image quality is great and there are tons of tools to calibrate so you can get the picture just right. Ive only taken the time to do some basic adjustments to each of the presets but will definitely take the time to calibrate eventually. Switching between presets is easy with the magic remote usin the voice command "picture mode" I can easily switch between gaming, cinema, or sports which are all pretty good after some minor adjustments. The voice command is also awesome for switching between my apps like Netflix, Vudu, and YouTube. By just saying any of the apps after hitting the voice command button like saying "YouTube" Starts the app. Streaming 4k movie trailers off YouTube is cool. The web is also easier to navigate with the voice button. You can google whatever phrase you need to eliminating the need for a keyboard. Great tv really happy with it all around!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great image and features

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/01/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The image on this 4K is is like if you where in it and very clear. 3D looks like if you can stick your hand thru the screen. Dual play for gaming is great you have the entire screen for yourself on multiplayer. Smart remote very easy to use. I am really enjoying this TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Raj from Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA on 12/27/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent Product. Nice picture clarity, nice upscaling, the magic remote is wonderful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice picture

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 12/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Technology of this TV IS ahead of most cable company's. Not many things in true 4K. Very nice picture if you can stream in 4K. LOTS OF NICE FEATURES but not worth the $$$. You can get just as good of picture on other tvs that are less expensive. I returned it for one that was not 4k


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

complicated TV to utilize

By KeithHammer from Erie, PA, USA on 12/26/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very nice TV. I feel anyone that know have to set the setting on a TV would enjoy this set. It took me three days to get a good picture out of it for live TV. I had to change some setting for gaming with my Xbox One for the lag (a lot better). I use an antenna and after the latest firmware update I don't receive any programming info. I how they fix this soon. With the HDCP 2.2, 10 Bit chip, and USB 3.0 its a very nice set. I would recommend this TV BUT only for people that know how to calibrate TV's because the factory settings have very little color to them. PS. Not a fan of the magic remote


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent picture

By Melipher from Huntingdon, Pa on 12/25/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has a great picture. It is very clear and vibrant. The apps are very easy to use and there are plenty to choose from.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"55" UB8500 Smart TV could have had some basics.."

By DNetrader from Metro NYC on 12/21/2014


Pros:

What It Needs:

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Though it is a great TV by one of the best companies in the industry, it lacks some basic features. The remote though a great pointer it should have been configured as a standard remote. The functions that can be done quickly is ON/OFF, UP/DN Volume, and UP/DN Channels. Everything else is through an on-screen keypad that is not user friendly especially when it comes to typing username and password on a 55" screen in front of a crowd. It lacks the option to store account information on the TV. There no user friendly app for phones or tablet that are compatible with the TV though it says it can be used with mobile devices. So in the end research the IQ of the smart TV youre selecting, before you buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best tv ever

By Gport from New York, NY, USA on 12/17/2014


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv is second to none. The clarity and definition is truly amazing. The TV comes with a lot of usable apps. I would highly recommend this tv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

55" UB8500 UHD Smart TV 3D is amazing

By Russ from Peachtree City, Ga. on 12/12/2014


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture, tons of features, easy set up. The price was fantastic as well. Never figured 3D on a TV would be worth paying even an extra $10 for, but this one was same price as one without 3D so I ended up getting it for free, now that Ive seen it, it was worth several hundred more just for the 3D alone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great picture

By redpooch from Cave City, KY, USA on 12/09/2014


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv picture is so clear whatever you are watching is like watching in person with your own eyes. The sound is good compared to our last tv which sounded as if the sound was coming out of a tin can. The remote is somewhat hard to use, sometimes have to hold one hand with the other to be steady to get the pointer to the spot you want to go. Also I do not like having to go to tv settings to switch settings to the receiver for music listening then back to tv for regular tv. Haven't studied it more to see if there is a way around that, the instructions say the way I have it connected to the receiver with the 4k cable is the best. I still love the tv and would choose it over the others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

incredible... Remote control

By ChicoLG from Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA on 12/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wowww... At first I wasn't sure buying this amazing TV , I'm glad that I did , once I have put it together I felt in love with the TV options and features , the idea of having a quick internet search smart remote is awesome , the style is beautiful ... very extremely happy .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Features-Competitive Price

By StS from Williamsburg, VA, USA on 12/04/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product replaced another product made by a major manufacturer which failed after less than four years service. This LG television was recommended to me by an independent repair facility who said he would prefer this over my prior manfacturer's products. The unit was relatively easy to install and I could do so without the aid of outside help.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent television!

By bogeyman from Duncan, SC, USA on 11/22/2014


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv is unbelievable! .Terrific picture. the 3D is awesome! The controller is user friendly! I highly recommend this set!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing TV

By Usul1492 from Middlebury, IN 46540, USA on 11/18/2014


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TV is amazingly intuitive when you are setting it up. Once you feel comfortable with the remote and how to manuever around the functions it is easy to use. If you are a non-techie it may take a little getting used to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a wonderful TV.

By Tawodi54 from Haines City, FL, USA on 11/07/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This 55" TV is full of features and after using the Wizard for picture and sound, the end result is just the best. Clear, sharp, colorful picture with true surround sound capabilities. It remains a good value for the money and has richly enhanced our viewing pleasure. Would definitely recommend this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great tv for the money

By mike77 from Buffalo, NY, USA on 10/14/2014


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tv has a great picture and sound, it also comes with a lot of good apps. The only thing I don't like about the tv is the magic remote, it's difficult to use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW !!

By LoriP from Minnesota, USA on 10/04/2014


Pros:

Sharp Picture, Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an absolutely amazing TV ! It has a gorgeous picture, true sound quality, and easy to set up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor remote - no instructions

By unhappy from Livonia, MI on 09/30/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This may be a good TV but the remote is very hard to use and takes too many steps to make changes. The magic want remote is poor and very hard to click on the desired choice. The people in charge or the remote never had an older tester try out this type of remote. NO instructions came with the TV so I have to wander thru the menu to try and locate changes wanted. Again no instructions so I do not know what each option does and how to adjust that option. I still can not adjust the picture to duplicate a theater experience. Do not buy this TV unless you have tried out the remote and the dealer gives you an instruction manual or gives a class in how to set it up. I am very unhappy with this TV and the Dealer for recommending it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME TV

By Tallaron from Waterloo, IA, USA on 09/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has a great picture and reasonably priced. Even though there isn't a lot of content out yet regular TV looks great, colors are vibrant and detail is crisp! Glad I didn't wait to buy 4k. Only thing I'm having a problem with is some of my movies which are all mp4s won't play for some reason when streaming....it states not compatible. Love the controller and the look of the TV. So far each time they've updated it it's only gotten better. 3D is absolutely AMAZING! I can't believe how crisp the picture is and can't wait to see 3d when it's done in 4k. 3D puts you in the movie and gives it a whole different feeling. TVs last a long time so I went with 4k cause I didn't want to be sorry later when there's plenty of content out there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OUTSTANDING 4K and 3D at a OUTSTANDING Price

By timhk63 from North Carolina, USA on 09/19/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simply put this is a OUTSTANDING TV. Forget those high dollar sets from the other companies this LG deliverers all you will need. Picture quality OUTSTANDING, features OUTSTANDING, 3D double OUTSTANDING. I was a bit weary of the magic remote at first,but guess what its OUTSTANDING too. Need I say more OUTSTANDING!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1st 4k TV... I'm in Love!!!!

By 4kOwner from Beverly Hills, CA, USA on 09/19/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just received mine after a long awaited arrived! It's everything that I was hoped it would be.. The picture is so clear and crisp! I thought I was actually in the water in some tropical videos. hehe. . i'm so happy with this purchase and would recommend this tv to anyone! I love the web os setup, but the magic remote take a little white to get use to. Anyway, thanks LG for making the 4k that fit into my budget!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great entry level 4k Tv

By beemer36 from Portland, ME, USA on 09/05/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picture is pretty good, was hoping for better picture but.I think it's in,the settings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rocky start but seems to be operating perfect now.

By Giser from Oregon,USA on 08/25/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Worked perfect out of the box but within a few weeks I started to experience issues. The picture started to turn redder and darker. The blacks seemed to clip and there was quite a bit of color banding as if I were watching 8 bit video. I got on with customer support chat and after some setting changes it returned to normal. Another few weeks later the issue returned only now there was severe latent image retention. I was about to send it back and suddenly it returned to normal again and has been performing flawless since(several weeks). Fingers crossed. My only other remark to make is the remote. It's very clumsy, mostly when trying to enter text, especially YouTube.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture, love the 3D

By Negotiator2 from Plano, TX on 08/21/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All of the family have enjoyed this TV, especially the 3D feature. Even viewing a 2D movie in 3D was pretty incredible. Still learning about all the features, but am very happy so far with this set.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Clarity

By Marci4 from Staley, NC 27355, USA on 08/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This LG tv is everything we were looking for. It has amazing clarity and its Smart TV feature gives us unlimited access to the internet and programming we like. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best for the money

By milo426928 from Lawton, MI 49065, USA on 08/04/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has been a great purchase works and looks great wish it had some more apps like hbo or shotime but 4k Netflix is awesome


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great 4K Smart TV

By steve from New York, NY on 08/03/2014


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a 4K TV but was very skeptical of "Smart TVs". I am a software developer and have been disappointed by similar "smart devices" in the past. When I saw LG was now using webOS, I read many reviews and went to the store for a demo. I was very pleased with what I saw, and have since purchased. I've had the TV about a month, and everything has been very smooth, from initial setup, configuration, and use. Works great with all my devices - HD cable, PS4, WiiU, AppleTV. The included apps are nice, though I am looking forward to more 4K content. The Netflix app included supports 4K and there is more content every month. Biggest improvements I'd like to see are - 4K youtube support, more 4K apps, and better support for video off of USB devices as it's a little cumbersome today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OUTSTANDING PICTURE QUALITY!

By Jim18 from Bethlehem, PA, USA on 07/29/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an incredible set. The quality of just regular HD television programs is amazing. I really didn't believe it would be that different from my old HD set but boy was I wrong! And it does everything well. Although it took me a little bit to figure out how to connect to different things (the cable box connect takes some working around), the connections to Netfilx and Amazon and others are amazing. AND, the 3D quality and realism is so much better than I dreamed of that we just continue to be amazed. The 3D seems even better than in the movie theatre, which I never expected. And, our grandkids use it for various xbox games for which they and our son claim is amazing also in its clarity and sharpness. So, in every way, an amazing set. (Haven't had a chance to check out 4k yet but I'm sure it will be great too considering how great the blu-ray movies are)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4K

By Goosehunter5 from Michigan, USA on 07/28/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best TV i have ever owned the 4K is amazing and so is the 3D easy to use and easy to set up the app's are awesome there are a lot of app's to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing TV

By Hard8 from Georgia, USA on 07/16/2014


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this TV for PC gaming cause I wanted to play at higher resolutions on a bigger screen and this TV delivers. 1440p 1600p and 2160p at 60fps are all available for PC gaming. The SmartTV features are all there any app you can think of is there and they work great. I love the magic remote it's very responsive and lightweight. The 2D-3D conversion is great and so is the 3D it uses passive 3D which is the same 3D used at your local movie theater. Blu-ray movies look amazing this TV will upscale your 1080p movies to 4k and it's great. This TV does have HDMI 2.0 and HEVC which supports 4K streaming from Netflix etc. This is a great TV with great value this is a MUST BUY


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD TV

By desaz from Ocala, FL, USA on 07/09/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Grate picture , easy to use & set up . Only one problem speekers no good , they need to be in front


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is great! Just missing one small tool

By MPRO from Ottawa, ON, Canada on 06/26/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Small detail: There should be a way to bring up the current bit rate and video resolution status while streaming online content. (ex: Netflix or YouTube) This would ensure your watching true 4K content as well as ensuring your internet connection can keep up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great tv but a couple minor flaws and one big one

By Kontemporary from Nampa, ID, USA on 06/25/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV looks fantastic, I love my 4K Blu-ray player hooked up to it it looks great. Beautiful design, which is really important to me so when I saw that this tv on LG's website it had virtually no bezel, it had me hooked. Also on the box it shows the TV has almost zero bezel and also all the stock photos competitors use on their websites they show the same thing. When you get it out of the box, the pictures ends about half an inch from the bezel. But my biggest issue is that I have four components hooked up to the tv through hdmi, to my understanding hdmi can also carry a 5.1 surround sound signal through the tv. When I hook things up through my the tv it sends all of the audio to my receiver through an optical cable. I only receive a stereo signal. So this means the tv dumbs down the surround sound signal it receives to a stereo. Very annoying, this tv would be much better if they came out with an update for it to be able to pass the full surround sound through it. With all that said the image is sharp and crisp, it's nice that they have multiple video presets so you can change it to cinema or even two that I like are the expert modes since things look more realistic and not just bright. Not a big fan of WebOS myself, wish there was a dedicated menu not just overlays. The sound from original speakers are not bad but would absolutely love to use my surround sound. Also one more small thing, the tv boots up quick, but you can't change inputs till it's done loading about eight seconds after you turn it on. Another thing that should be fixed if possible through an update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The features on this TV are Amazing...

By Bildo from Myrtle Beach, SC, USA on 06/08/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best 3D TV I have ever had, It is only my second one but it is the best one...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love TV, Don't Love Remote

By boatpup from Benicia, CA, USA on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Odd Remote Control

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

TV is very clear and crisp. The verbal "power on" feature is handy. The remote control, however seems lacking. The funny shaped thing rolls right off the table. Old style station buttons would be easier than the "/Q MENU" button where one has to use the cursor to select a station then wait several seconds for the channel to change.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved