Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » BD590 » 55 Reviews

Lg Bd590 Bd Player Bd-re, Dvd-rw, Dvd+rw, Cd-rw - Divx Hd, Divx, Mpeg-4, Mpeg-2, Vc-1, Avchd, Mkv, Mpeg-1, Xvid, Avi, Wma, Mp3, Ac3, Aac, Jpeg, Png, Lpcm, Bd Video, Dvd Video, Video Cd Playback - 250 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 55 reviews)

92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (41), Features/settings (46), Performance (42), Style/design (28), Quality (46)

Cons:

Value (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Best BluRay Out There

By surefire69 from Lancaster, CA, USA on 07/02/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this BluRay player/recorder!!!! Too bad LG discontinued it. Love the ability to use the media library for recorded TV programs, movies, and songs!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

250GB

By Sparky from Middleton, ID on 10/24/2011


Pros:

Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been very pleased with this product, never had any trouble with it. I would and have highly recommend to anyone. We simply love the fact that it is wireless with such great clarity, and the easy use of the all of the other features. Simply put, very satisfied!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HD not user friendly

By Al_Largo from Largo, FL on 10/04/2011


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased my BD590 April 2011. Use it and enjoy it frequently to play DVD(s) and watch Netflix movies and (older) TV shows. I have not been able to download anything to the HD. Probably need to read the manual again. I thought the BD590 was going to be like a DVR but so far that has not been the case.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the Player

By Robert from Indianapolis, IN on 10/03/2011


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the built-in storage and the networking features. The only way this would get better is if it had 3D!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality product

By curly from Oregon on 10/01/2011


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product because it offered more for less money. It has performed admirably providing all that I expected. The BD590 is compact, easy to set up and use in an attractive package.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Wireless Media Player

By Gizmo from Saint Charles, MO on 09/17/2011


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit is not just another blu-ray player, this unit will wired or wirelessly connect to your network and you can browse other computers using the built in network browser. I have a media server that I use to serve up any media I choose to view on my server from photos, music and movies right to my HDTV via the HDMI cable. I don't own a blu-ray disc yet but I haven't seen one I want available yet or just too lazy to look since I love playing with this unit and all it's features and functionality. I haven't even gotten to netflix and pandora and tons of other streaming media. Combine the 250 gig hard drive so you can play direct from a disc source instead of wireless which can sometimes due to normal interference cause issues streaming the data wirelessly. All in all this is an outstanding unit and you wont regret your purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Research Paid Off

By Techfan from Tulsa, OK on 09/17/2011


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I did extensive research on this product before purchase. Compared to similarly equipped Blu-rays from other manufacturers, this is the best Blu-ray player that you can buy for the money. It has all of the functions that I wanted except full internet access which requires an additional device. Pros: fully functional, 250 GB internal storage, Wi-Fi capable, home computer sharing, NetCast enabled, and great quality upconvert on regular DVDs. Cons: difficult to interface with functions through hunt and peck input screen controlled by remote, finicky on wireless interface with home computer (looses connection if another wireless device is used nearby) Overall: pleased with the purchase and would buy from LG again, but would like to see NetCast add more features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Blue Ray from Cincinnati, OH on 09/16/2011


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Features are very good for viewing various sources of movies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only One Problem

By Anonymous from Philadelphia, PA on 05/07/2011


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The BD590 Blu Ray seems to be mainly fine and while only utilized 3 times, it had one repetitve issue with Vudu - It has no sound on the HDX setting and Vudu says it iwaiting for a LG update to allow the processing of 5.1 audio. They don't know if, or when, such an update is forthcoming; accordingly, I have exchanged the unit since even the BD690 makes no mention of processing 5.1 sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

By Far The Best Bang For The Buck

By Glued2TheTube from San Antonio,TX on 02/25/2011


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Rips Cds On To Its Internal Hd, Quality, Style/design, Converts Mp3 Sound Into A Pseudo 5.1, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned the BD590 for about 2 months now and it has opened up a world on my HDTV that is comparable to the best Streaming Video, CD Rip & Store, Blu Ray Player, and DVD upscale Players on the Market. I can just insert a CD and rip it to the internal drive and it will play back in psuedo 5.1. All DTS and Dolby decoding takes place in the player so you don't have to have a ridiculously high dollar receiver (although I would recommend one with at least 2 TOSLink inputs). I'm an electronics geek so I follow C|Net on the Internet and now I can watch their shows and reviews on the TV with no stutter or lagging. I also have a subscription to NetFlix and I use the player to play movies, although NetFlix only streams out 2.1 sound the BD590 converts it into a psuedo 5.1. One thing I ABSOLUTELY have to mention is that it takes the Eagles "H*ll Freezes Over" DVD and the 5.1 sound and video are EXTRAORDINARY. BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK, HANDS DOWN!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First BluRay

By PKP from Undisclosed on 02/05/2011


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The product overall is very good. Easy to set up with the wireless, the menus structure is easy to follow. The wireless streaming from netflix works great. It connects to my home network PCs (windows 7) and able to play videos and music. My only dissapointment (and it's a big one) is that it cannot play .wtv video format. Windows media player records hi-def programs in .wtv format and was hoping to play this but I cannot. May be there will be driver updates in the future? I played my fist BluRay - it had trouble starting (the start of the video was stuttering) but got thru it and worked flawlessly after this, hopefully this will not occurr often. The video clarity was amazing. Overall the product is good


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By tstrings122 from Lynn Haven, FL on 01/15/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product, fast to load, easy to navigate around, fair pricing, and the wireless is a breeze, hooked up to my wireless system in no time and NO hassels, unlike the past ones I've had that seem to always have a connection failure somehow or another. Performs it's own updates effortlessly. Plays just like it should, very good quality pitchure. This has no hassels to operate at all, an amazing machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SMART PURCHASE

By JOE from Gainesville, VA on 01/04/2011


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Streaming Capabilities, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My choice and purchase of a BD590 was the correct move. It was exceptionally easy to setup and operate. I looked at sever other Blue Ray players and found the BD590 the best overall in ease of operation as well as features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice unit

By HillRat from Souyh Bend IN on 01/02/2011


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thanks LG for such a nice unit and a great Value. Loads and plays quite fast compared to other players I own. Forward and Back features respond very quickly. Overall functions are user friendly and unit Has a great picture. I am very pleased with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player

By Norrie from Undisclosed on 12/30/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my BD590 Player. Spend more time with it than I do with my Dish system. Netflix, Vudu, Pandora, UTube and weather. Ready to cut back my satellite service and just use the LG Blu Ray player and special features. This is the best electronic purchase I have ever made.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD590

By tlock1 from Riverside, California on 12/22/2010


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The player works beautifully, does all that it is advertised to do. I bought two of them. My only complaint is with the LG software update servers. They are inadequate to handle the demand. Took me over a week to get one of my players to update over the internet. Finally accomplished it, on a Sunday night at 11pm. My only guess is that no one else was trying to update their players software at that hour on a Sunday night! I also tried to download the updates manually from their website and install using a cd or usb drive and was not sucessfull. The update website could be more user friendly. Updates are not adequately identified!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD590

By TOMTUNE from BRIDGEPORT,CT on 12/18/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everything works great! The only issue I have is with VUDU. When I try and sign in the player says the serial number has already been used and will not let me use VUDU.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't Play Certain DVDs

By Anonymous from Los Angeles, CA on 12/08/2010


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this Blu ray player because it got excellent reviews. The Blu Ray player was easy to connect. It is very easy to use and has lots of features. HOWEVER, I have had a lot of problems playing DVDs on this. About half of the DVDs I try do not work on it, and I get an error message. The DVDs are store bought DVDs and play in my other DVD players no problem, so this reader doesn't seem to read certain DVDs. Very disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD590 Remote

By stargazer111 from Las Vegas on 10/29/2010


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall: Excellent! Although, the Remote Control buttons, (e.g., SCAN, SKIP; and, stop, play, pause), would be much more user friendly, if they were individually designed to be different from each other. As they are the same size and/or shape - it makes it difficult to discern which button is being activated. Especially in a dark room. Compliments on the self-intuitive menus and interface with the home entertainment system; and, easy setup with the wireless router.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow! What A Blu Ray...

By Lil' Missy from Biloxi, MS on 10/13/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Is There A Bad Feature?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can't say enough great things about this blu ray player. It is the fastest with the BEST capablities ever. I love just listening to Pandora thru it. I never thought I would see the day...Best picture, with beautiful color. Even regular DVDs look great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the Blue Ray

By tigger81762 from VA on 10/02/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great machine love the easy to use. The WiFi is great for live HD movies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Bluray Player

By safetyguy from Illinois on 09/16/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first LG bluray player and I could not be more happy. It is an awesome player with excellent video quality. I have not used the media feature yet with the 250 gb hard-drive but overall I love this player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD590

By KCX2 from New Hampshire on 09/06/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Hard Drive, Dlna, Quality, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have just replaced a BD300 unit (purchased extended warranty) with this BD590. The quality of picture, speed of access of DVD's and Blu Ray disks is very good. The additional features for, Netflix, CinemaNow, Vudo, Music ID, network DLNA and hard drive is excellent. It's a pity LG does not supply similar software for OS X as they do for Windows support. Also the remote supports very few TV's which is strange, but my Home Theater remote linked to it fine


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs better instructions

By gfc from Portland, OR on 08/06/2010


Pros:

Quality, Add A Best Feature

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although we have had quite a bit of audio and video equipment this has a little to be desired. The instruction manual is not all that helpful. If you want it to do more advanced features you must read it and try to decipher what it means. The fact the HDD has only one real playlist is disappointing. We expected that we could have several for different occasions. Finding the shuffle mode was a bit difficult but it is there. As far as picture etc it is great. It amazes me that with cell phones that have full keyboards that they cannot seem to come up with a remote that has one. Spelling things out is tedious. We would also like a feature of being able to change the titles since the database sometimes comes up with weird titles. ( one CD came up with Chinese). One Jack Johnson CD is not that old and came up with the wrong title. One of the reasons we got this model was the song storage. We didn't get quite all we wanted. Although we have connected to the internet and can get U-Tube the picture doesn't seem to be as strong as on the computer. We are planning to get Netflix and hope the bugs are out by the time we sign up. This unit is much harder to work than the radio with hard drive we have in our vehicle. That was so self-explanitory that we never had to open the manual to rip, make playlists and sync to our Nano. We cannot seem to move songs or pictures directly from the computer or the Nano either. The computer is almost new with Windows 7 so should be able to sync with no problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product, but...

By bgilla from Boston, MA on 08/04/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the BD590. Its a terrific blueray player. Its a terrific networked media device -- VUDU, Cinemax etc all work well as does the DNLA access that allows me to play home movies or view photos from my PC. I bought into the hard drive feature because I liked the idea of having a digital music library acessable via my living room remote control playing through my expensive high-fi system. The ripping of CDs works very well and is completely idiot-proof, but that's where the limitations arise... The music library managment features are rather limited -- only one playlist! A much more significant irritant is that having invested the time to rip 100+ CDs, LG does not provide a practical means for moving these digital audio files back to your PC (iTunes Library). The DNLA access does not work from LG to PC. I cannot even use a USB external hard drive for backup of the LG. The only option provided for moving files off the BD590 hard dirve is to use a USB memory stick. Given the 100+MBs of music I currently have on my BD590, a memory stick is simply too small. The inevitable conclusion is that having conceived of a great innovation, hard drive BD player combo, LG failed to really think through user needs for such a device. Yes we need more than one playlist. Yes, yes, yes, we do need a practical means to backup the music files created on the BD590 hard drive. Recommendation: you really may not want to purchase the hard drive version of this product until LG makes better use of this high-potential feature. Other than that, its a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Player

By chag97 from Olathe, KS on 07/29/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this to add to home theater. Set-up was a breeze. User interface is very intuitive and the network connectivity is excellent (have it on a GB network with hardwire LAN connection). Had some initial issues with connecting to a shared drive for music access, but resolved that after working though the manual. BD video quality is outstanding and the only missing feature is 3D capability in the future. Otherwise, it is well worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent quality and it holds up to 3 year olds!

By manthas24 from Altoona, PA on 07/26/2010


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Gives excellent quality AND it has held up to my 3-year olds 'helpful' use. That says something about the manufacturer AND the machine. Definitely a buy for any family - even those without 'helpful' kids!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Blu-Ray

By Jim from Southern Indiana on 07/24/2010


Pros:

Flexibility Of Menu, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Extremely please with this unit: Ease of installation, firmware updates and very impressive picture quality. Works very well with my LG, THX certified TV. This is my 3rd Blu-Ray (with 3 being other brands) and I am now a convert to LG


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best LG product I've owned.

By 2112 from North Carolina on 07/19/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 3rd Lg DVD/Blu-Ray player I've owned and it's the best yet. The features for this price can not be beat. The gui is great and YouTube videos look the best I've seen on a player like this. The remote is well thought out even though I use another custom remote for all my components. So far I have no complaints about anything.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player

By B from Texas on 07/13/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Style/design, Network Connection, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great Blu Ray player. I had it set up and ready to go in just minutes! The network feature is great and allows you to browse file shares for music, pictures and video files. I also connected it to my Netflix account very easily.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding

By Santa from Zephyrhills, FL on 07/10/2010


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just purchased an LG HDTV and figured I might as well get a Blu-Ray player to go along with it. After doing extensive research and being happy with other LG products I decided on the LG Blu-Ray player. This unit went well beyond my expectations. The quality of the picture with standard DVDs and the ease of updating the software with the WiFi connection as well as downloading the movies was impressive to say the least. The usage was extremely easy and self explanatory.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Unit

By JA3 from Idaho on 06/28/2010


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Performance

Cons:

See Above Comments

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an LG flat screen TV and the BD590 works almost seamlessly with it, when a disc is loaded the Blu-Ray player automatically turns on the TV and links with it, when the TV is turned off, the player also shuts down. I particularly like the way the BD590 up-converts, with this player there really doesn't seem to be a difference between a regular DVD and a Blu Ray disc. On the negative side, if the player is shut off with a disc still in it, when you power up the program goes back to the beginning, making finding the point where you left off difficult. I mentioned that starting the player also turns on the TV, well almost all of the time, there are times when it has to be done manually, I'd like to have some consistency here. Another negative is - If you unload the player while the TV is off, when the disc drawer closes it automatically turns on the TV, not a great feature since it takes a few seconds for the TV to come on and unless you are aware that this might happen the TV could be on for quite a while. The unit does connect to the internet quite well, but it isn't apparent which features are available from the units embedded menu, even when logging on for any updates to the firmware, so if Pandora, Picasa and Roxio are available, there's no way to know unless you go on-line and look at the latest product literature, a poor way to service customers. Finally, I have heard of sequencing problems with LG TV's and DVD players and haven't experienced that problem while viewing movies, however with one disc, there was a mismatch between the picture and the audio, but it only happened when I went to the "director's comments" section. Overall I'd give the BD590 between three and a half to four stars, since the former top of the line player shouldn't have any of these problems, but the negatives are manageable and it is, for the most part, an exceptional unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blu Ray and More!!

By JetSetter from Louisville, KY on 06/17/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Quality, Features/settings, Hd Movies Thru Wi-fi, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The remote control is intuitive in its design and the player itself operates at a fast pace. The machine is absolutely loaded with fantastic features. The ergonomics are clean and simple, yet elegant.I have really enjoyed watching HD movies thru the wi-fi feature! I would recommend this awesome product to all my friends and family.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good player needs refinement

By Nunyafb Izness from Metro Kansas City MO. on 06/16/2010


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Better Playback Features For Other Than Dvd/br, Features/settings, Lacking Playback Of Standard Video Formats, A Bit Slow To Bootup, Layout Confusing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this player for several months. Generally I like it. Missing features storing last point of play for more than the last disk used in player. BIG MISSING FEATURE support for additional video formats such as WMV in this day and age not supporting ALL major video formats is sad. The DIVX player is sub-par there is no ability to jump ahead with predefined advance/backup, I.E. jump ahead/ back 30 seconds or 2 min. Manual is difficult to understand. Setup was easy which is good because manual will not help you much. Networking was strait forward having access to advanced wireless settings would improve performance. DVD playback is above average. I'm sure this will be found to be picky but the buttons are (in my opinion) in the wrong place. to eject the drive the button is to the far right but the drive is on the far left and the power button is on the far left, I can't tell you how many times I was going to eject the drive and then powered the unit off instead adding insult to injury the buttons are not well marked again in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Feature rich player

By aravind from Alpharetta, GA on 06/16/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a great idea to include hard drive in the player. I hate changing CDs that we watch often (like cartoons and kids programmes). With this I have stored all my media content to hard drive. Also this player offers more netcast options than other products. For this price, they could have provided more hard disc capacity though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Blu-Ray Player

By Tom from Undisclosed on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this player. It was easy to hook up, even the wireless feature and its easy to operate. The wireless internet option works great but I would highly recommend the fastest wireless router you can obtain if you plan on placing the player at a distance from the router. The Blu-ray DVD playback is crystal clear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD590 Is Awesome

By big tuna from Los Angeles, CA on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My BD590 has all the features I need with performance that surpassed my expectations. the picture quality is fantastic. The features of the player are easy to learn. The Wi-Fi capability and video stream make for a versatile unit. I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

590 is a great upgrade!

By Paul from Belmont, CA on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had two of the 300 series top-end Blu-Ray players, and wanted a third (for internet access). The 590 was the new top-end, and I'm very pleased. It's faster, same easy user interface and setup, and the storage is occasionally useful. My home network and media server are a little slow for streaming video, as is my internet connection, but most of the time it works fine, and is very convenient. I highly recommend the BD590!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am sooooo happy!

By LJK from Simi Valley, CA on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haven't owned a Blue Ray before and I have been extremely happy with the performance and best of all the ease of use of this unit. The movies look great and putting music on the hard drive is a breeze. Thanks LG for a wonderful interface and a beautiful unit. Hope it holds up over time. Worth every penny.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great.

By gr8lukn from Illinois on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had this model for a few months and love it. Great quality video. Features are great also.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best by far

By jetmech58 from michigan on 06/10/2010


Pros:

High Quality Picture, Consistent Performance, Compact, Easy To Use, Attractive Design, Easy To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Home Theater

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love it planning on buying a second one


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What's not to Like!

By 1redmini from Winston-Salem, NC on 06/09/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Wonderful picture and quick operation. Using wired internet connection and love the services available - quick, simple and great looking. Haven't used the harddrive yet but I have greeat plans.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but no multichannel audio output

By BrianH from Canada on 05/19/2010


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Cons:

No Proper Audio Output, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This player has excellent quality video But this does not has 7.1 audio multichannel output to make use of older receivers. One has to purchase the new receiver which supports HDMI. Other than this issue overall quality is good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Blue Ray

By MAP from Missouri on 05/12/2010


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is no substitution for quality. The BD590 is all about quality. It is easy to use and has a nice group of features. It is expensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed by NetCast and Media Library

By VTPhotog from Burlington, VT on 04/29/2010


Pros:

Quality

Cons:

Difficult To Use, My Media Library Videos Have No Preview, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you're familiar by the NetCast version that comes on LG LH50 TVs you be very disappointed with the version that comes on this player. While it has been redesigned to look nicer, many features have been removed. There's no preview for videos or thumbnails for photos. It's a huge step backward. When playing blu-ray movies the controls are confusing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No more cable

By CTSteeler from Undisclosed on 04/17/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the greatest audio video purchase I have ever made. Was a bit pricey. But, all considered it is a blast


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great player for consolidation

By Joe-Avg-user from Massachusetts on 04/15/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

An absolutley great player that allows me to consolidate into a single unit the devices I use most. My entire CD collection and more is on the hard-drive. I use it to watch DVD's;great picture, watch netflix and listen to music via the net. Its great!!! What could be better(with software upgrade) 1) It would be great to have multiple named playlists (I could only create 1) 2) It would be great to have a HD backup utility 3)It would be great to have parental control for You-tube (and not the others) Otherwise a great player


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy setup

By Larry from Mechanicsburg, PA on 04/15/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was able to take the player out of the box, plug it in, connect the HDMI cable, and start exploring in a few minutes. Setting up the internet connection was simple. Never cracked the manual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD590 Excellent purchase

By Bluebirdusa from California on 04/14/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This player has been terrific. I especially like the network feature which works great and was so easy to set up. Well worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very happy.

By gadmire from fort worth tx. on 04/01/2010


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

after owning the player for a week my wife and i love it.we are pleased with its features and ease of use.the unit is very easy to set up and integrate into my home network


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player

By davidp71 from Ma. on 03/26/2010


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had originally bought the 570 and loved it, while a week into owning it, decided I wanted the extra features, so I exchanged it for the 590. This player has all of the same features of the 570 but a few extras I like much better, like the onboard 250GB hard drive, upgraded power cord, larger display counter clock and the option to rip cd's and store them to the harddrive....LOVE this player but the only complaint I have is the price. This player should be around 329-349 at most. Had a VUDU set top box and sold it. Player has all you will ever need built into it. Highly reccomend this player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can be better

By MAC from Birmingham, AL on 03/25/2010


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Blu-Ray is my first and I love it. All the included apps Netflix, Pandora, Vudu, Cinemax... it just goes on and on. But I do feel left out of the loop with the included Media Home 4 essentials app. forgive me for being a Mac user. I just feel that at least a little considertation should be given to us.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LG BD 590

By Dave from Albuquerque, NM on 03/20/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fantastic piece of equipment!! Sooooo easy to set up!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

woe>?

By Anonymous from texas on 03/03/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Style/design

Cons:

Value, Difficult To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i really like this product its easy and got the speed and the smoothnes its has somthing unusully thanks lg


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD590 Blu-Ray

By TheGM from Orlando, FL on 02/26/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my fourth Blu-ray player and my first from LG. I am very pleased with this unit. The basic features, playing movies, works flawlessly as expected. What is really unique is all the other capabilities of this player. The Neflix integration works very well and so does the VUDU app. This unit also allows me to share media on my Wireless network from my PC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved