Home » Computers » Storage Components » Optical Drives » Cd/dvd Combo Drives » BE14NU40 » 32 Reviews

LG Electronics BE14NU40 Bdrw Dl 14x Usb 3.0 Black Mdiscext With Sw Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 32 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quality (26), Easy To Use (24), Features/settings (18), Style/design (15), Performance (24)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great

By GOhio from Hawley, PA on 08/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works well, but sometimes my computer doesn't recognize it and I have to shut it off and turn back on again to burn a disk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great and fast

By Buck from Olympia, WA, USA on 07/11/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would recommend this product for consistent blue ray burning


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Odee from Chicago on 07/07/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This device has replaced my Sony Blu-Ray player. My setup is an 80" 4K Television, connected via HDMI to my audio receiver. This device is connected to my media computer, which itself, is connected via HDMI to my audio receiver. I'm using software to play my DVDs and Blu-Ray discs and this product has been phenomenal. I'm not losing anything not using the Sony product. Full HD-DTS and the picture quality is second to none! Keep up the great work, LG.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice hardware and software package

By headhound from Northern, VA, USA on 06/27/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to install and use. Lots of useful software. The burning speed is nice and very few burning issues. Yet to try the multilayer disks but I am sure it will perform well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

As always LG prodcuts are great!

By nbtnn97 from Jacksonville, FL, USA on 05/26/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always bought LG products for PC's that I have built. I have always found that LG products surpass the quality and performance. In the past few years, I have bought 2 LG Flat Screen TVs and there performances have out surpassed any other flat screen TV on the market. I will purchase LG products in the future!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Full-featured, excellent product

By Chazz from San Francisco, CA, USA on 04/21/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Blu-Ray disk burner does it all. It has more capability than any other device. It is the fastest device out there. It works flawlessly with my Mac without any drivers. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am 100% pleased with this product

By alaskanuser64 from Anchorage, AK, USA on 02/22/2015


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have suffered with DVD burners in the past not being easy to use so was a little apprehensive when I plugged this exterior burner in and used it for the first time to make a Blu-ray disc. The first one worked perfectly as did everyone since. It is now my go to burner for DVD's also as it appears not to have the quirks of my other two devices I used to use to burn DVDs and music CD's. I would highly recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A perfect experience

By Erik C. from Connecticut, USA on 02/22/2015


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using the LG to burn data to Blu-ray discs as well as backing up my own Blu-ray discs. So far I've done exactly 50 burns and had only one coaster (which was my fault). I've never had this kind of success rate with any of the simple DVD burners I've owned over the years, so I'm incredibly happy with the purchase. Because my laptop is aging I burn at 6x speed. I just don't think my processor could handle a full 14x burn. I also added a USB 3.0 adapter to the laptop and have the LG connected to that. I'm not sure it's quite necessary, but it can't hurt. Using the blank Blu-rays as data discs, it takes almost exactly 15 minutes to burn 23 gigs of data at 6x. I also verify all the burns, which takes another 15 minutes. And the verification is always successful. The unit itself feels very sturdy and well built, and is aesthetically pleasing. I can't think of a single negative thing to say about, so if you're on the fence about buying, my suggestion is go for it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great until it doesn't work.

By Wink from Iowa, USA on 02/05/2015


Pros:

Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have had two of these units go down in less than a year. Using it for archiving and back up of old files on Blu-Ray. Was fine until one day it spun-out on a disc. Had to force eject, and from then on, it would no longer read BDR discs that it wrote. Still works for CD/DVD but not Blu-Ray. Like I said, this is the second LG (Super Multi Blue External Blu-ray Disc Rewriter) to junk-out like this in less than one year. If it happened once, well bummer, but twice is not cool. I'm looking for an alternative.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product works excellent.

By MjW from Muskegon, MI, USA on 02/05/2015


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use my burner everyday about 10-15 times. It is super fast and quiet. I love it and wound recommend it to anyone looking for a the best blu-ray burner around! Thanks LG....life is good my friends


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By cjgries from Greenfield, Indiana on 01/10/2015


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Blu-ray burner works as advertised. Plug it in and start burning. I create Blu-ray, DVD, and CD discs with Toast software. No problems in several months usage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Burns the new M-discs with no problems

By PMax from Dayton, OH on 12/02/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this drive to burn the new M-disc regular and Blu-ray discs for archiving my family VHS tapes and DVDs. I also use it for burning Blu-ray wedding DVDs for my customers. Set up was easy. Works great with Avid Studio. I can pair it with my other Blu-ray burner and copy the existing Blu-ray DVDs I already have. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

USB 3.0!

By Charlie from Glenville, NY on 07/04/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive is fast! Add to that it's MDisc capable. Overall a good product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfection in an External Blu-Ray Device

By JoelW99 from Rhinebeck, NY, USA on 03/16/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is simply a great Blu-Ray burner. It operates at full USB 3 speed and burns quickly as well. You will not be disappointed with this device!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product!

By nnmarie1964 from Albuquerque, NM, USA on 02/21/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found this easy to set up and easy top use. I did not use the software included but bought a subscription to Blue-Cloner 4 instead. It's very fast and I hvae had no problems!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Helps me replace my old desktop with a tablet

By dogbrain from Groton, MA, USA on 02/08/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although I have only been using my drive for a month or so, I have probably ripped several hundred CD's and burned a dozen disks mostly DVDs and BDs. I have found this system to be reliable and responsive to various applications. I would buy this again and recommend it. I am running Windows 8 on a Surface Pro 2


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so good, but not fully explained or tested

By Lazy J from Vancouver, WA, USA on 01/09/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit comes with absolutely no instructions. Other reviews are correct that you virtually plug and play. However, for those of us that are not tech savvy geeks, would have been nice to be told that! My primary purpose for purchase was twofold:1) My iMac does not have a disk drive, and 2) To store photos on back-up disks. Thus far I have only recorded to DVD disks and it has performed flawlessly and fairly quick. I have encountered a couple of EJECT issues. You apparently cannot eject going through the Desktop/Applications path; you must eject using the desktop icon that pops up when you load a disk. The manual eject also does not appear to override the icon function. Again, would it really have cost that much to include some basic instructions or trouble shooting? One other note: The provided bluray disk and instructions I have been able to find solely address Windows applications, so I have no idea if the bluray features of this unit will work with my Mac operating system. Once more, LG should have included instructions or packaging features addressing this! Bottom line, appears to be a good unit, but I will not fully know until I have experimented as LG's instructions/information on this unit is severely lacking!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great performance, style, & quality

By Bonsai158 from West Bloomfield Township, MI, USA on 01/08/2014


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product meets everything that was expected and more, fast and very easy to setup and use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is very easy to use

By BillO from Spring Hill, TN, USA on 12/12/2013


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is great. Easy to use. Easy to install. The results are tremendous and you can have confidence that the product is going to work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great

By Darney53 from Chicago, IL, USA on 11/27/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very pleased with the this Blu-ray player/writer, my first for my computer. Speed is excellent, after firmware update with Windows 8, playback efficient. drive is quiet. I've had no problems with this unit good buy, good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use !!!

By dknob1 from Edison New Jersey on 10/04/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These products made today are so sophisticated and hard to understand. This is not true with the LG Blu-ray writer/player. It may be at the top of sophistication and top of the line in technology but a novice like me just plugged it in and made great Blu-ray disks of the family vacation I wanted to share with the rest of my family and friends. It was easy...anyone can use it....the results are exceptional. That's why I keep on buying LG.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very easy to use

By Chase from Ohio on 09/19/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, No Book Needed, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to use, plug and use! for someone like me that finds it hard to get around in the tech world. And it is fast!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Product. Excellent

By Fernan from Poinciana, FL, USA on 08/28/2013


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this product. Its very fast and compatible.Excellent software for Windows. Best acquisicion for the low price. LG, Great job !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great with a Mac

By Cantcount210 from Carlsbad, CA, USA on 07/26/2013


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a photographer, I can capture quite a lot image files. Burning off to DVD, I have well over 500 DVD archives. Blu-ray was the next step, but I was a bit nervous due to reviews stating they had issues on a Mac platform (like it didn't work). I decided to give this LG writer a try-out. No issues at all (using Toast). Over 23GB of data written in about 7 minutes, verifying took just about 15 minutes...faster than burning a DVD on my MacBook Pro super drive (yet 6 times the data!). So, yep! I'm a happy camper!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work on my Surface Pro Windows 8

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 06/07/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased and brought home Windows 8 will load USB driver and then drop it, went on-line to find technical support - found new Firmware to add functionality for Windows 8, installed Firmware from another computer that had Windows 7, back to my computer with same errors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very goo product

By DW from West Fargo, ND, USA on 05/28/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive is a great backup solution for home or small office. Furthermore, brought to my ultrabook a great opportunity to watch my blu-ray discs. Use with USB 3.0!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so good.

By Pooch24 from New York metropolitan area, USA on 03/25/2013


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Needed a burner for my IMAC. Some people said that even though this drive does not list Mac it will still work. So...I took the chance and yes...it works just fine. No need to install software. My imac did not see it on desktop....but it recognized it when I was ready to burn from FCPX. I did get an error message toward the end of processing...but just selected "burn again" and it worked quickly...quietly and quality is quite good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best bang for the buck!

By timster from Hoover, AL, USA on 03/05/2013


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pleasantly surprised about the ease of use and performance, especially the speed of downloading my audio CD's to I tunes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good reader and burner

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/28/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It reads and burns dvds and blu-rays fast and so far it has not created a coaster.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Product

By sports9089 from DeKalb, IL, USA on 01/28/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is great to do anything with blue-ray and more! I only had one problem that took me 30 minutes to know what was going on. I know computers and have worked with them for a long time. Its wasnt big for me, but other I can see having problems. When I opened it and connected it to the computer and tried to installed the driverrs and that, that came on the cd, I ran into a problem. The cd said does not support the device. I had togo to the LG website and download a fireware update for the device! and then i was able to instal;l the driver. I should not have to do that!! It was a poor part on LG for that. Othere then that minor problem which i had no problem doing. I was thingking of the the other people that would run into this problem. Its a fantastic product and would get another one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for Windows 7! Windows 8 poor buy!

By cutting edge all day from Denver, CO, USA on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For a Windows 8 compatible device it does a poor job at it. Windows 8 can not find drivers and there for the software will not install! On my friends pc running Windows 7 it was found, installed and pay back is nice! Looks very nice! Feels light but for my PC running Windows 8 its a very fancy paper weight tell some one fix this problem. I would love to see this run and please take down the Windows 8 Compatible logo! If I am wrong show me I would love to wrong in this case!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is fast & reliable

By Gaf from Firestone, CO, USA on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Performance, Quiet, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The LG BE14NU40 works great on all of my computers. I have no coasters from burning Blue-Ray disks. Good software package is included which plays Blue-Ray Movies, burns data disks, and much more. Unit is very solid and runs quietly. The USB 3.0 cable could be a little longer, but has worked fine for me. I highly recommend the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved