Home » Computers » Storage Components » Optical Drives » Cd/dvd Combo Drives » BH14NS40 » 37 Reviews

LG Internal Blu-ray Writer - BD-ROM/DVD±R/±RW Support - 12x Read/14x Write/2x Rewrite BD - 16x Read/16x Write/8x Rewrite DVD - Dual-Layer Media Supported - SATA/150 - 5.25" - LG Electronics bh14ns40 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 37 reviews)

94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (29), Performance (24), Quality (26), Style/design (11), Features/settings (21)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

works great!

By Tailmon from Giddings, TX 78942, USA on 07/11/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Reasonably priced Works great for BlueRay Was an easy install and hook up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best blu-ray player for me

By Perfilnet from Caracas, Venezuela on 10/28/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comes with software, is very easy to use, good performance and quality but the best is the Style/Design. I like this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid performance

By Audio/video editor from White Lake, White Lake Township, MI 48383, USA on 04/08/2014


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Great Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very affordable and reliable blu-ray burner and player. I have trusted LG for a long time and used LG sometimes without knowing it as it comes as standard equipment. I was delighted to find this burner at the great price I got. Haven't made me a blu-ray coaster yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blu Ray burner

By danhay112 from Crystal Lake, IL, USA on 01/06/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Blu Ray burner works great and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a burner like this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Look at this one with your eyes open

By twocircles from Auburn, AL, USA on 01/02/2014


Pros:

Style/design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Yes, it comes with beta software that you are supposed to upgrade (for $30) to get the most current copy. Crashes frequently. After 6 mos. mine has quit reading dvds and will only read blu-ray. Consider other players before choosing this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is smooth

By Philbo96 from Beaver Falls PA on 11/02/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product at a reasonable price. Flawless performance so far. Would highly reccomend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent multifunctional burner

By PeterRCT from Connecticut, USA on 10/26/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The BH12LS38 is an excellent blu ray burner that also provides LightScribe support. I can burn cds, dvds and blu ray discs as well as LightScribe labels. Installation was easy as was updating of firmware thanks to the LG website. Drivers downloaded automatically. The included software although a few versions behind current retail is useable for most required operations. All in all a great multifunctional drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good

By fgj from fgh on 09/10/2013


Pros:

Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

was a little more money - certainly more than a dvd . but - this is the story - old installer cd - ~nasty~ has 20+ errors with cd / dvd burner - with this drive -- one error . so - if you are seeing cd / dvd errors ... buy a new drive


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Priced Blu-Ray Drive

By John from Newmanstown, PA, USA on 08/01/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Price, Style/design, Comes With Software

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first blu-ray drive. I found it easy to install on my windows 7 system. Have about a month now and watched several movies both regular and Blu-Ray with excellent playback quality. Drive is very quiet and performs well. Came with Cyberlink Power DVD 10 and other cyberlink software. Did not use all of the features yet but I'm confident they will work fine. Very pleased with my first Blu-Ray burner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good ODD for the money, firmware somewhat lacking.

By John from Illinois, USA on 07/25/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this drive to be able to burn blu-rays as well as watch an occasional movie. Drive installed easily and no compatibility issues. Drive came pre-bundled with Cyberlinks Power DVD 10 which does play but not burn blu ray discs so expect to have to upgrade to Cyber links 11 or above. Drive had some issues playing newer blu rays, codecs are a little out of date and LG has been very slow updating their firmware for this drive. All in all a good drive and if you can find it on sale, snag it but if you can afford too, by a newer version.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First LG-Blu-Ray writer for me

By tigerose from Bradenton, FL, USA on 07/23/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy installation, and recognition. Durable quality by look and feel. Burns discs including Blu-Ray quickly and quietly. No issues - happy with purchase


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well balanced ODD works with all media.

By MackRB from Bessemer, MI 49911, USA on 07/17/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works well with CD/DVD/BD and is very economical and easily operable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So good I bought 2

By AZ-J from Scottsdale, AZ on 06/18/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive is fast, rugged, and works great! It has the needed features a modern drive should!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Combination of features and price

By tkreate from Kentucky, USA on 06/17/2013


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the Quality and Features I was able to get for the price of the Drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Another great product from LG!"

By mattvs2004 from Pleasant Hill, CA, USA on 05/05/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first LG drive and I know I made a good choice. The price was affordable and the drive itself performs admirably. It runs quiet when burning and playing back Blu-rays. Couldn't ask for a better drive. A+.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this drive installed easy

By ffjimbo from Cleveland, OH, USA on 04/30/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

win7 recognized the drive and installed drivers, runs great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Value and reliable ODD

By DCal2722 from Seattle, WA, USA on 03/24/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned a number of LG BD-RE Drives going back to the WH10LS30 and most recently the 14x BD-RE Drive and I have had Excellent results with all. I still use the 10x and a 12x writer on a regular basis and I have rarely had failed writes. Considering the price that I have paid and the ease of installation of these internal Blu-Ray writers I am confident in my recommendation to anyone looking for long term, large capacity storage. I am also a Movie Buff and I have an extensive collection that I have created "Back-Ups" for that I use for regular viewing and providing I do my part in the process the result is always flawless. LG is absolutely my choice for Blu-Ray Drives. Another aspect of this experience is the fact that LG regularly provides Firmware updates for their products that improve the function and add to the abilities of their BD-RE Drives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to insall and easy to use

By jhboston from Boston, MA, USA on 02/26/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit was a no muss no fuss product to install. I think the most difficult issue was to get the old unit out. The drive works like a charm. I have many other LG products throughout my home, including a washer and dryer. Each and every LG product is of high quality. I would look toLG first when I am purchasing a product that they make.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Functioned as EXPECTED

By Triker from Citrus Heights, CA on 02/15/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

From the simple installation to the results of burning my first blu ray disks, LG has, again, proven to be the preeminent manufacturer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An over-all exceptional product

By Macforbais from Central Ohio, OH, USA on 01/27/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this product for a month. In that time, I have created more than 60 disks. I am using it to make blue ray movies from my family vacation videos. It is very easy to maneuver through user menus and obtain the end product you are seeking. The SLI technology adds to the ease and speed with which this product works. This is a must have to anyone who wishes to create incredible discs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Value, Good Performance

By gkrevvv from Alexandria, MN on 01/10/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Plugged in to replace a dead BDRom drive. Worked immediately, no changes needed. So far I've used it for playing BDs and DVDs 2-3 hours every evening for about a month. It's quiet, solid, and works great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By Jay243 from North Carolina, USA on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own 3 of theses units all work well. I bought them because of the features such as Blu-Ray and M-Disc compatibility. Just hope that they continue making this type of unit!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply the best bluray burner in the market

By Papo from North carolina on 12/11/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design, Features

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent product at a excellent price.does what you need and much more.recommend this item! Stop looking and buy now.you will be glad you did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome out of the box

By Jacob1013 from Bigelow, AR 72016, USA on 12/10/2012


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first Blu-ray burner and I couldn't be Happier for the purchase. LG rocks This house!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast

By Htos1 from United States on 12/06/2012


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

2nd try at this review thing(1st was "rejected" for being "something")Great product,I like it.(Hope that's not "offensive")


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excelent product. Really like it at the first use.

By phmdus from San Jose, CA, USA on 11/10/2012


Pros:

Quality, A+++ Product!, Features/settings, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the third Blu-ray Disc Rewriter I bought, and the LG BH14 is the top one that won my love. Really like it when compare with the other two (not from LG). Will replace the other two that I bought before, as soon as I can. Really like the product at the first use. "WOW!" was used for this LG BH14 so many times.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice drive

By gswonsn from Atlanta, GA on 03/28/2012


Pros:

Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this drive for a couple of months now and must say I have been very pleased. I have successfully burned several Blue-Ray discs as well as single and double layer DVDs. I have enjoyed watching my Blue-Ray movies without a hitch. I can't comment on the supplied software as I have Nero 10 Platinum installed and that is the software I have used to watch movies and burn my discs. All in all I must say that is is one of the best LG products I have purchased. It does exactly what it is supposed to do without any hesitation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid drive

By Sean from Springville, UT on 03/06/2012


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I only got this particular unit because it was the only one the store had. Lucky break for me. This drive is great. I've burned several types of media with it so far without problem, but where this thing really shines for me is in it's ability to extract audio CDs! I listen to a lot of audio books because I drive a lot for work. I hate bringing my original CDs because they are a bit bulky, and they are expensive to replace if damaged, so I like to copy them to my MP3 player. Unfortunately, I have one particular series that doesn't like to rip very well, about 3 of every 5 CDs has huge problems ripping the last 1 to 3 tracks, leaving the resulting files unusable - until now! This drive will certainly slow down with these problem tracks, but the resulting files still sound perfect! To LG I say "THANK YOU for building such a reliable drive!" I will certainly buy LG equipment again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy this piece of junk!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/10/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am on my third drive now after the first 2 quit reading discs. DO NOT BUY! you have been warned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Product

By ford_q1 from Chicago, IL on 01/09/2012


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent product, needed a good reliable bluray/dvd/cd burner/player and this was exactly what i needed. Easy installation of hardware & software, under 15 minute install time of everything. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a product with these features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Always LG here

By Doc from Indianapolis IN on 12/04/2011


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Features/settings, Quality, Speed, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned several drives like this over the past 4 years. My last two purchases have been LG. No problems with any of their products. I have three of the LG 24 inch monitors as well. This drive as well as previous LG drives have all been top performers. I use LG for all my DVD BluRay writers and always will, until someone can show me a better product for the money. I have LG drives in all (4) my computers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One size (almost) fits all!

By kep2 from Undisclosed on 10/28/2011


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product fits efficiently in my computer. Good buy. Included software is great for my BD/DVD/CD rewriting needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Theeee Besssst . . . . . Love It :-)

By Dantheman from Newark, New Jersey on 10/28/2011


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Am In Love With This Great Product Of Yours, It Does Everything It Say's It Does, I Got It To Upgrade My Gateway SX2841, It's Like Having A New Computer Again, Thank's Keep Up The Great Work LG , LIFE GOOD . . . . Even Better With That "CINEMA 3D TV PLEASE"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great addition to my PC

By uncledroid from SLC, UT on 10/26/2011


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Haven't had a single problem since day one. I would recommend to anyone who wants a great blu-ray player/burner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great buy for the price

By k4chevy3831955 from Undisclosed on 10/18/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned blue-ray now for two years and have had no trouble at all. Would buy others from LG again!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One GREAT BD drive

By daddyjames from Lawrenceville GA. on 10/12/2011


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Nice Front Button, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I ordered this so that I could burn Blu Ray discs. It has proven to be one GREAT burner. I am sure it will be useful for many years to come. It includes litescribe technology which is a must nowadays. It is durable and yet light weight installed in seconds. One great burner for the cost. BRAVO


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I realy like my ph.

By tco1998 from Undisclosed on 09/19/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The LG phone I have is the Rumor and it's worked great ever since I received it no problems at all . I would purchase another if needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved