Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » BP340 » 32 Reviews

Lg Bp340 Blu-ray Disc Player - 1080p - Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby Truehd, Dts, Dts-hd Master Audio - Bd-re, Dvd+rw, Dvd-rw, Cd-rw - Ntsc, Pal - Bd Video, Dvd Video, Mpeg-1, (bp340) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 32 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (19), Performance (15), Quality (14), Features/settings (10), Style/design (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent Picture Quality

By AlanT from Undisclosed on 06/07/2015


Pros:

Picture Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picture quality was the most important feature for me and I read several reviews that had positive comments on the LG BP340 picture. Streaming was also a feature I wanted. Picture quality is very good and from what I understand it upscales standard DVDs to HD quality. Not sure if that's true but standard DVDs look very good and when I check the resolution input on my TV it says 1920x 1080/60P. It has a USB port that plays a wide variety of video formats. No Ethernet port :( Wireless streaming was poor until I upgraded the software and now it is very good and that's with my router about 40 feet away directed down a hallway into the living room. Trying to find out if it also upscales video files to HD from the USB port and DVD. The unit is a bit slow in response using the remote but its worth it to me to have the great picture. Not many smart apps but that wasn't what I was looking for. I would recommend an LG Blu-Ray player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By sghusker from Lincoln, NE on 05/26/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture. Great features. I highly recommend this Blu-Ray player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great value for the money

By fredsrv from Kansas City, MO, USA on 05/09/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think this is a really good deal for the price I paid.I like that it has the built in WIFI with Netflix,YouTube & Pandora already installed.Exellent picture quality & easy to navigate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By jabsther from Cape Cod on 04/29/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No issues with the product. Little more in price than similar other brands, but worth the price for the extra quality. Small size compared to old DVD player from 2000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would say overall rating of Good ,if on sale.

By Ron from Ohio on 04/18/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy, fast Set Up , enjoy using the USB port. The front panel Leds for Power On & Open/Close could be brighter, in case you lose the remote control. The usual complaint, it would be nice to have owners manual come with the unit. I have not tried the Wi-Fi feature yet. So far the unit is doing the main task I purchased it for, Wi-Fi feature, later on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very bad product.

By Josh Grant from Montreal, QC, Canada on 04/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very slow response, bad frequency, options are missing. This product does not worth his price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great value

By clark1385 from Panama City, FL, USA on 02/21/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this product was a great buy for the money if found on sale. So far i have not had any problems with the unit very basic and easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to install

By cossack from Sterling Heights, MI on 01/28/2015


Pros:

Easy To Install

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took about 5 minutes to install, and 15 minutes to learn all the features and operation. really great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazingly easy to install and operate

By Herb645 from Orlando, FL, USA on 01/24/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an older BlueRay that was barely functioning and had lousy streaming functionality. The LG was extremely simple and quick to install. The operational icons are simple to understand and one or two clicks are all that is required to select any feature. The wireless streaming is flawless and quick, no more reloads part way through movies or hesitations. I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleasantly surprised how well this product perform

By Elgreggo from Borger, TX 79007, USA on 01/21/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was able to operate and set up this player in a matter of moments. I was so surprised at how well it performs. I got it at a good price. It's not fancy but does the job well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got my money's worth

By Happy Mom from Alabama, USA on 01/20/2015


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased 2 of these as Christmas gifts. One for me and the other for my son. We are able to stream content and my son is able to play his DVD's on it. It's a Win-Win for us both.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By L48 from Santa Maria on 01/19/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's lightweight and very small. Not used to that part, but it is awesome to be apply to do watch a DVD or stream Netflix on my TV. We all love it. I would love to get another one of my boys room.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The price GREAT!

By Anonymous from Springfield, OR, USA on 01/09/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simple to use and very user friendly. Very much a space saver. Very happy with the overall functions. I recommend it to everyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get what you pay for

By Dink from Tennessee, USA on 01/09/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It was cheap, never owner a Blue-ray. Like the fact that it can make my TV a smart TV. Picture quality is not real good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does What I Need It To Do

By tonyman41 from River Edge, NJ, USA on 01/06/2015


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got a 4K UHD TV and I needed a player to run my DVDs and any BlueRays I may come across (usually a friend would come over with a BlueRay for us to watch). I did some comparative shopping online and found this one refurbished with warranty, etc. The price was highly competitive and I got what I needed for what I needed it for. Plug and play. No setup required just a HDMI cable and a disc. There is no big footprint so it cubbies nicely. Between the enhancement of the player and my 4K UHD, the DVDs look beautiful. I am happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Amazon instant streaming

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very limited options of instant streaming content. Hoping they update software soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lacks TOSlink Optical Audio & Coaxial out ports.

By JLGonsen from Undisclosed on 12/30/2014


Pros:

No Coaxial Out, Easy To Use, No Toslink Optical Audio Out, Poor Features

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The exterior design is nice and small, unfortunately the LG-BP340 player has minimal features & lacks sound connectivity options. Connectivity- Believe or not, you only get 1 HDMI port on the back of this unit, and that's it! No Audio optical out (TOSlink), No Coaxial out, No analog RCA out, totally unacceptable. If your TV does not support DTS surround via HDMI & audio out, then you cannot transfer & listen to the 5.1 or 7.1 Surround DTS Master Audio tracks of Premium BluRays & DVDs, you are limited to only 2 channel audio out, which is a total waste for a BluRay setup. I have an LG 5.1 Home Theater tuned by Mark Levinson, with TOSlink Optical In, but I cannot use it with the BP340 because there's just no way to connect it due to the lack of the TOSlink Optical audio out or Coaxial audio out on the BP340. On the other hand, If you have a surround receiver that supports audio via HDMI 1.3 or better, then you can enjoy true 5.1 or 7.1 surround sound with DTS Master Audio or Dolby True HD. WiFi is included, but has really weak reception, there's no LAN port on the back, my 3 year old entry level cell-phone has much better WiFi reception, an external WiFi antenna jack would have done wonders to solve this issue, but it is not present. On the plus side, you have access to NetFlix,Vudu & YouTube, you can also pair up your smarphone via web so you can input text faster when searching for online content and it works a lot better than using the included remote control. Picture Quality is also basic for BluRay, the player lacks any options to adjust the picture quality such as sharpness, deepcolor, etc. Verdict: The lack of sound connectivity options, weak WiFi reception & minimal set of features make this BluRay player a poor choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great playback

By Phil from Melbourne, FL, USA on 12/28/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great playback, easy to operate. Would like to see more Wi-Fi channels


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HMDI cable NOT included

By No HDMI cable from Lancaster, CA on 12/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Come on LG, my Blu-Ray/DVD player did NOT have a HDMI cable included in the box. Because of that, I'm giving it a low rating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy set up

By AAMY from Enfield, CT, USA on 11/18/2014


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first Blu Ray player and am very happy with it. I also have an LG tv so it works together perfect. The remote for the tv can be used for the DVD player and my LG G3 can control the player also. Pandora plays great! Picture quality lived up to my expectations. This is my third LG product and can't believe I didn't look into them before.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love It

By goofy6497 from Lothian, MD 20711, USA on 09/23/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is our first blu-ray player and I love it. It is easy to use. My husband loves that it came with Pandora. The wi-fi is great and I have no complaints about this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good wi-fi video/audio streaming

By Anonymous from Lake Tahoe, CA on 09/06/2014


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a competitors model at first, however it did not stream that well, it would stall often. A clerk recommended an LG player/streamer. The blu-ray looks great and it NEVER stalls while streaming audio or video. I'm sure LG is aware, it's time to incorporate faster CPU's so movie listings, etc, will cue right up, I have to wait for the movies to list right now. But it's great for the price point and you can't beat it, I would buy LG again as oppose to the other big player!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great BluRay

By Dick from Central Coast of California on 09/05/2014


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product works extremely well within my home entertainment system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

When matched with a LG TV it is great.

By Bill402 from Somonauk, IL, USA on 08/23/2014


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When you match this player with a LG TV the picture quality and sound are excellent. Without any reservations, I would commend this unit to anyone interested in a player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better Than Comparible Sony Player

By bbuck28 from Lancaster, CA, USA on 08/13/2014


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I feel this player is average compared to most major brand name players. I have already owned 3 other players by major manufacturers. The worst thing about this one is how slow it responds to button commands.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Player does not start at disc menu

By GeorgeD from Georgia, USA on 08/09/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When starting a movie instead of going to the menu it starts the movie immediately & I have to select disc menu to go back so I can select setup from the menu. Another instance is when I play a DVD that contains a number of episodes with sub menu's such as a TV sitcom, for example, I play a couple episodes & after each episode the player goes to the sub menu, as it should, where I can select what to do next. When it's at a sub menu I turn the player OFF. When I turn the player back on instead of going directly to the main menu or at least the sub menu the player starts playing the first episode bypassing the main & sub menu's altogether. It doesn't even go to the menu for an episode, it just starts playing from the first episode. I have to select "disc menu" to get back to the main menu. I don't like that. What's wrong & how can this be corrected?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is already outdated.

By Bob1950 from London on 08/08/2014


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The limited features and still fewer opportunities for growth is already a reason not to recommend this Blue Ray player with WiFi as anything more than a Blue Ray player. Beyond the very few entertainment apps currently offered by this product the upgrade to install additional and AVAILABLE streaming applications is a daunting task or impossible with this model. Ignoring streaming entertainment is very much a step backwards for an otherwise great, quality product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb Blu-ray DVD player

By Jack from Hanover Park, IL on 07/11/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I previously purchased an LG HD TV for our bedroom and needed a quality Blu-ray player. Needless to say, I thought of buying an LG player, because it would be compatible with our TV. And the remote controls both the DVD player and TV. After purchasing the player I connected it to the TV using one of the HDMI ports. After a few seconds the TV "found" the DVD player, and, using its smart technology, set up the necessary parameters automatically. So far, all of our Blu-ray DVDs have played flawlessly, with a crystal clear picture and sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By beth90 from St. Louis, MO, USA on 06/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have not had this product long, nor will I have the opportunity to. After a couple of weeks, it has stopped functioning as a bluray player and it now rarely plays DVDs. I thought it was a great value, but it has turned out to be a waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Device

By netta from Haltom City, TX on 06/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This device does all that it says it does.Positively the best value and price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Limited wi-fi

By Skipper63 from High Point, NC, USA on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Small Form Factor

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product only uses Netflix, Pandora, Youtube, CinemaNow, and Vudu. NO HuluPlus or other streaming of any kind. No path for upgrade to any other apps.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only good for Blu Ray

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/03/2014


Pros:

Nothing

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The blu ray works great. However I bought the unit primarily to use Netflix, which on the other hand is terrible. I have to constantly factory reset the player and sign back into everything for netflix to work. It will either not even open Netflix or it will open and say it's having trouble playing the title. Either way it's terrible if that's what you plan on using this devise for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved