Home » Computers » Storage Components » Optical Drives » Cd/dvd Combo Drives » GE24LU20 » 42 Reviews

Lg Ge24lu20 Dvd-writer - Black, Silver - External Double-layer - Dvd-ram/r/rw - 24x 8x 16x (dvd) - 48x 32x 48x (cd) - Usb - Lg Electronics Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 42 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (32), Quality (27), Performance (26), Features/settings (22), Style/design (16)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Extremley Fast

By Ken1S from Idaho Falls, ID on 08/15/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product! Writes DVDs Quickly. I was hoping for a USB powered, but it requires an External Power source.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product!

By DripPan from Michigan, USA on 08/04/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I ordered a laptop without a CD writer/reader because it is seldom used and another item to get broken on the laptop. I do take it along sometimes if I think I'll need it but most of the time I leave it at home and use it when needed. My personal thoughts on the matter is CD writer/readers were very important for backups and such but with USB drive with much more storage space, the CD writer/reader is seldom needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Heavy Duty USB Reader/Writer

By tgrue2 from Firestone, CO on 07/15/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had various CD/DVD writers but this is great heavy duty one that was priced right. Have used it now for a few months with no issues. Highly recommend this item.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

speedy burner

By Tonkkids from Thomaston, GA 30286, USA on 03/03/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This burner is QUICK!! Easy to hook up and straight forward operation. Burns DVD super fast. Don't let the 24X fool you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features for the price

By maiznblueguy from Cary, NC, USA on 02/26/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive has a great package of features for the price. I use it for viewing instructional DVDs and data storage. Purchased it because my new laptop didn't have a DVD drive (becoming very common). The only issue had was getting the driver loaded. Windows 8.1 is very deficient when it comes to drivers and add ons. While the previous versions of Windows were pretty much plug and play for adding accessories, 8.1 expects you to buy all addins, drivers, etc. If your LG drive doesn't function right away, try it on another computer, chances are it's a Windows issue not the drive!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent - Just what I expected

By Bill from Cleveland, OH, USA on 02/05/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only been using this drive for about a month, but so far everything is working fine. Reads and burns fast ... with no errors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't do what it is suppose to

By Marcy from Atlanta, GA, USA on 01/03/2015


Pros:

Disappointment

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this for use with my mac mini. While it will download program cds, that's all it does. It will not play dvds or cds or burn them. I'll have to buy a different product for that. Don't waste your money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Plus & Play on my iMac and Mac Pro

By Evad from Newmarket, NH, USA on 09/19/2014


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was concerned based on some reviews. However, I plugged it in and it plays DVD's and burns DVDs/CDs from my Macs. My Macs talk to it and it obeys commands..like open tray when I want to burn a DVD. I close the tray and my Macs tell me a disk is ready to burn. It talks back Fantastic product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent burner with super fast speed...

By Blain from Beach Park, Illinois on 09/06/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has worked everytime I used it. The burn speed is outstanding, had no issues so far and worked on every brand of disc used. Very good buy...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid

By Charlie from Glenville, NY on 07/04/2014


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bough this unit for the MDisc capability. It has more than met my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Misleading

By Zach185 from Indiana, USA on 06/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When I bought this the employs who helped me buy this product did not know that this product does not support Memorex discs. This information is not located on the box either. I feel mislead by this product that I bought. It is a nice product I like that is it is a nice external disc drive to use, and it makes you feel like you have the most powerful machine in the world hearing it burn the disc. This is just my personal preference. Just remember that they do not support Memorex, and it does not warn you on the box. I doubt any store employee knows of this issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome external dvd player.super fast.

By Rob from Raymondville, TX 78580, USA on 04/22/2014


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome dvd player twice as fast as my computers drive.super quiet..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By Blondie from Birch Bay, WA, USA on 04/12/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

At last! Now we no longer have to worry about getting discs stuck in our computers! Easy to use, works like a charm! Highly recommend!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No support for this product, ie: Software Download

By wowmiclong from Georgia, USA on 02/08/2014


Pros:

None

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was very impressed initially with this external drive but the third time I came to use it in a VERY important project with my laptop that doesn't have a DVD drive (the reason I purchased it in the first place.) It did NOTHING when set up and plugged in....I have spent and ENTIRE DAY trying to find software to either reinstall on my laptop or drive but IT EXISTS NOW WHERE and LG sight after regerstering my product mentions the software CD in the manuel but there isn't any further information or help. BEYOND FRUSTRATED....and has ruined my timeline for completion of this extremely important project...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By Ken from AZ on 12/25/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had it about 4 months now. Only use every now and then, not every day, but it has worked perfectly. Was easy to set up, has been easy to use. Has worked well, been a good product, the price was fair and it appears well made so I think it was a good buy, good value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LG wins me Over AGAIN..!

By Jason from Chatsworth, Los Angeles, CA, USA on 11/05/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So easy to install that your up and running in under five minutes.! multiple drive speeds for reading and writing make it mistake proof.! very good looking piece of hardware to complement the rest of your system, and so easy to use with drag and drop burn capabilities.! I'm so loving my LG products.! Of which I own many, Big screen TVs, DVD players, Mobile Phone, and Computer drives.! Good Job LG..!!.Looks like I'll be with you for along time to come. Jason


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The disc drive has performed to my expectations.

By Wise Nan from Springfield, IL, USA on 05/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The internal disc drive on my computer failed and it would have been very costly to repair, not to mention the inconvenience of shipping my computer off for repairs. The LG external drive I purchased was much more cost effective and it works great! Very easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product and software.

By UncleBob from Dixon, CA 95620, USA on 05/30/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I find that transferring files to a new unformatted cd is easy. I like the way the software works. It is so easy to use and I do recommend this product to any who would use cd read/write! Great!! Thanks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like the performance for the price

By LovingLife from Tulsa, OK, USA on 05/16/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this drive for about 3 months now and it has performed flawlessly. I was worried about compatibility because I had problems with other drives before, but to my surprise it integrated seamlessly with my computer. Great drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DVD-RW

By Buzz Q. Lightyear from Texas on 04/23/2013


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this drive to replace a dead internal drive. Installation was simple and quick. USB connectivity allows me to use with laptop and small footprint allows me to take it on the road with me. Great drive at a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

By JERRY P from Bakersfield, CA, USA on 04/10/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings, Good Price, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

EASY TO INSTALL, WASY TO USE AND QUITE FAST. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR AN EXTERNAL DVD DRIVE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Buy Optical Drives, LG is only good on TVs.

By Tester1 from Pennsylvania, USA on 03/15/2013


Pros:

Don't Buy It., Worst Burnerdrive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is my third time I buy an Optical Drive from LG, and it seems that they will never improve on cd or DVD writers. They don even are giving supports to download the software disc, nor to update firmwares or Drivers. I will return this Drive, it can't read or write any disc. Never again....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality item that set up & works out of the box.

By Tester1 from Traverse City, MI, USA on 02/15/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This item was so easy to put in service, I wasn't sure it was ready to use. Our Mac computer read it and loaded the software from the site. It has worked flawlessly since we purchased it 2 months ago. It is used daily many times in our business. Faster than expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Dual Layer burning feature failed to recognize

By Jeremy The Excellent Reviewer from Huntsville, AL, USA on 12/31/2012


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The Dual Layer burning feature failed to be recognized by the operating system Windows 7 64 bit. The product burns all other disc formats correctly, but DVD DL is not recognizable within Windows 7 64 bit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very user friendly.

By Inept computer user from California on 10/31/2012


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had no technical problems. Was easy to set up; no complicated procedures to operate. No real explanation needed; the menu was clear, concise and the options did what they said they would do. Excellent choice for a DVD writer to add to your computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product is flawless at this time

By Mr.SJ from NJ on 10/24/2012


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Lots of features.Truly Plug&Play.And with Labelling capabillity,makes it flexible & easy to organize your information.Uses NEATO or other label paper for printing custom designed labels from templates.Supports multiple CD,DVD formats with an easy GUI for video,photo,data & Blu-Ray.Uses Explorer-based views for easy selection,drag,drop,burn,etc. plus disc image backups.Has video,YUTUBE,very nice family templates with Webcam capture.Product in use for 3 months and is recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

External DVD Burner

By Tcoyote from Mesa, AZ, USA on 06/11/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive is much better than the HP Drives I have purchased in the past, both with a computer and replacements.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DVD Burner!

By tkp from Corpus Christi, TX on 01/03/2012


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this drive for a couple of years and has been working great. I had a few problems at first but found out it was the cheap media I was using and too high of a speed. I am using Verbatim DVD-R and burning at 8X. Very, very few problems now. Highly recommend this drive!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FANTASTIC

By Mr.Tblatnik from Northern Kentucky on 10/26/2011


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This CD / DVD Burner was the best I've ever owned. The quality and ease of operation are second to none.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By shdwpoet2 from Undisclosed on 09/26/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Worked right out of the box! Compatible with every type of software and hardware I've paired it with. A great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!!!!

By jjtopel from Fort Collins, CO on 09/19/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love The New Lightscribe Feature. I installed the free lightscribe Software from Lightscribe.com. everything works great, No problems with anything.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By Danny from San Juan ,PR on 09/17/2011


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchase the product because needed a fast Lightsribe burner to burn 80 dvd's fast. The GE24LU20 is not just fast it's resolution when burning the disc face it just great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

lightscribe functionality? ha

By deepblue from Undisclosed on 02/01/2011


Pros:

Weight As A Doorstop

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Go ahead, I dare you to try and find a driver on this website. This drive is HUGE and LOUD and when you try to use it to print a label, it cycles and cycles and locks up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard to get the CD/DVD out

By JAS from Vancouver, WA on 12/14/2010


Pros:

Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great external burner. It works fast and is very quiet. My only complaint is that if the burn fails it doesn't eject the CD/DVD. The manual eject does not work. I had to unplug the drive and restart my computer to get it to eject.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value for the money

By supermanindy from Minnesota on 07/06/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this drive because my cpu drive wont write any more. I had it hooked up and working in a heartbeat. It is very easy to use, sits easily on my computer desk, and is compatible with Windows 7(my OS recognized the hardware immediately and installed; it did however, cause a problem when I inserted the actual installation CD because the hardware was already installed, but it was easily fixed). I love the lightscribe feature and use it all the time instead of writing on the discs. That featrure was a MUST for me because I have it with my other drive that doesn't write any more. It burns very fast. I love it! "Life is Good" again!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I haave tried many ...

By DonH from Ottawa on 06/26/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haave tried many external drive and I have never had one perfform so flawlessly good. Also the lightscibe works better than my other sources.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not only are LG optical ...

By flightmedic02 from Cleveland, Ohio on 06/24/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not only are LG optical drives the best looking, most reliable, fastest and hands down the ABSOLUTE best for system builders like myself, they always come with prebundled software for burning and DVD playback! Who could ask for anything more? I only recommend the use of LG brand computer components when LG is a choice. I hope LG expands to other product lines with computer components in the future!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This has been a Godsend.

By Mars from Wisconsin on 06/22/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Cons:

Size

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought a netbook, & completely missed not having a cd drive. I love my netbook, but there are functions right now that I could not do because of not having the cd drive. This external one is lightning fast, quiet & a real time saver. It's a great plug & play that was super easy to set up. It is a little bulky, but my netbook is small, so together they take up about as much space as a full laptop. Plus I don't get that horrible feeling like I am going to break the drive like you do with the one's on the full laptops. It is a little pricey too in my opinion, but you know what they say you get what you pay for. You will not go wrong getting this cd drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice!

By Mack from Portland, OR on 06/21/2010


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Worked right out of the box! Very fast, surpasses the internal device, and does more. Compatible with every type of software and hardware I've paired it with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does it better, faster

By Jerry from Florida on 06/16/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Outstanding performance and ease of use. My other burners started having problems (eject button, etc.). This unit far exceeds my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

movies

By pac from Undisclosed on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great. Very dependable. I count on LG products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly Recommend

By daddyopps from Undisclosed on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this to use on two of my laptops (WinXP and Win7 pcs). Hooked it up, Windows automaticly detected and was up and running in less than 5 minutes. This unit immediately was able to use the burning software already on my pcs. Able to play movies, play music cds, etc. Could do everything without using the software disk provided. Very quiet operation, nice design and of course is fast. Faster than internal dvd drives that the pcs came with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved