Home » Computers » Storage Components » Optical Drives » Cd/dvd Combo Drives » GP08LU30 » 22 Reviews

Lg Gp08lu30 Dvd-writer - Monochrome - External Double-layer - Dvd-ram/r/rw - 8x 8x 8x (dvd) - 24x 24x 24x (cd) - Usb - Lg Electronics Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quality (16), Performance (20), Easy To Use (20), Style/design (12), Features/settings (11)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Evoid this product if you have Windows 8.1

By pierluc from Quebec, QC, Canada on 08/09/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This driver is very noisy while playing/burning CD or DVD. With Blu Ray the sound is correct. It's provide with Power DVD 9. This program is not compatible with Windows 8.1. If you buy this product, your will have to buy PowerDVD 14 Ultra. Also, the firmware of this driver need update to work correctly on Windows 8.1. Best thing to do, buy a newer model of LG driver!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid blu ray player - Great bang for the buck

By moviebuff from Annapolis, MD, USA on 01/22/2014


Pros:

Value, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this baby as a Christmas present to myself. I wanted to watch blu rays on my computer but did not have a player. This player is a great value. It was easy to install and set up with the provided software. Plays most of my blu rays, but would not play The Hobbit. Not sure why. Also plays regular dvds well. I used it to burn a few cds and it did a great job. All in all, a great product for a modest price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Going to get the Blue-ray version of this drive!

By dujaa74 from Springfield, MA, USA on 12/05/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Reliability, Quality, Style/design, Dependable, Performance, Awesome, Consumption, Easy To Use, Power

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of LG's best products! Has continued to work with all my O/S upgrades currently at Win8.1 This has been a lifesaver and after all this time packing it around it still works like the day I 1st turned it on. Very low power consumption too on my tiny Acre One 8" mini laptop. It runs off only one USB port! Never have I needed the twin (2nd) USB power on the pigtail. I love not having to use more cables or DC power adapters with my portable devices. I only registered this external DVD drive to brag about it 2+ years after the fact. LOL :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product with features for the price

By cpuman from Indiana, USA on 07/30/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for the lightsribe feature and the Blue Ray player was a bonus. I have had zero issues with the install or functions of this drive. This is the 5th LG drive I have purchased and have never had an issue with any of them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has great features

By Bud from Missouri, USA on 07/11/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Great Product

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this because I wanted to watch movies on my desktop. I was very impressed with the quality of picture and sound from a small and compact player. This does a lot more than just playback movies. It can burn discs as like the internal bay drives in your computer. In my computer I cannot play Blu-ray DVD movies because, It only has a analog flat screen 22 inch wide screen pc monitor. But you can purchase an HDMI connecter that will plug in to a USB port that would allow you to connect it to your HDMI TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Drive Works Great

By Ravewonder from Calgary, AB on 06/27/2013


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product works great, firmware on my drive is from 2011 have had no issues with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does every thing advertized

By johnekio from Moreno Valley, CA USA on 04/17/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed on home built computer. Comes with Cyberlink10 Suite. Set computer for automatic updates and LG has come through. Running Windows 8. Plays Blu-ray with 3d option. So far no complaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I don't know why they discontinued this.?.?.?

By Austin from Mena, AR 71953, USA on 02/14/2013


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Portability, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an awesome burner, I have not had any trouble using it, though it burns slow "slower burn speeds are better". I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great portable burner with light scribe technology and Blu-Ray Burning capabilities to boot.!.!.!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT

By wolf121 from texas on 11/01/2012


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great little drive have used over 500 times to back up my movies and burn data discs, watch movies, just keeps going, i feel i'll have this for years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exellent value for the money

By jackeisen from San Francisco on 12/14/2011


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found this drive very easy to use and it does an excellent job. Be careful of the requirements to install this drive. This box does not have the necessary software to operate all the functions on the box. I had to purchase the software separately. I would recommend this drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Volksweizen from Sandy, Oregon on 11/18/2011


Pros:

No External Power Cord, Easy To Use, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very inexpensive burner. I like that it does not require a separate power cord. A little noisy, but outstanding for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool product

By firereviving from New York, NY on 10/25/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The size is small and very light, and it doesn't need a power adapter. Works fine. Finally I can enjoy and create my own Blu-ray disc!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great External Drive

By BillnSA from San Antonio on 10/16/2011


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this to upload OS for miniPC. Found it to be quiet, easy to use and solid performer. LG burning tools software included is a pleasant surprise; made burning CDs simple. I haven't used the lightscribe feature yet but intend to. Overall great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only Writer I'll ever use

By dbaxdevilsfan from Rochester, NY on 10/10/2011


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a great investment. Works beautifully, nice and slim (doesn't take much space), great price. Plus, LG is a reliable brand. Won't buy anything else


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not bad external Drive

By lrsmith from Florida on 10/06/2011


Pros:

Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had issues with installing, but that was because I was connecting to the PC thru a powered 7-USB hub. Once I plugged directly to the laptop, everything was fine. It's unfortunate two USB connections may be necessary. I haven't tested this unit much so far, but from what I've seen the software is very user friendly. The unit is light, sleek, with minimal footprint. Overall a good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great gift

By tlp from Undisclosed on 10/04/2011


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have burned a lot of DVDs and always wanted to start burning Blu Ray. My wife got this for as a gift and it is great. Easy to use and burns quickly and accurately. I have always used lightscribe, so tthe addition of it on the LU10 was just an added bonus. I recommend this to anyone from novice to expert.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Greatest External Optical Drive

By Haliboat from Point, TX on 09/23/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Compact, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once I received drive in the mail, I had it installed, up and running within minutes. Setup was a snap. Copied my first Blu-Ray disk with no issues. Optical drive is compatible with just about every CD format on the market


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best ext DVD burner so far

By kcone from Kansas City MO on 09/21/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used this burner for CD and DVD copying. Works great. It is quick and has quiet mode. Plan to use lightscribe in the future. Software is very easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No fan belt.

By Bsn from VA on 09/20/2011


Pros:

Direct Drive, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am glad to have found this CD drive. It has a direct drive, no belt like the internal drives. Just when you need the CD burner to burn your favorite music the belt breaks. Not with this one because it has no belt. The ease of installing and operating this device is great. Just plug and play. Lightscribe works and use the flip side to burn with correct CD format. Like my Portable Super Multi-Drive GP08.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Easy to Use

By SBP from Undisclosed on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not a computer geek. I just want my equipment to work and I don't want to have to become a techie to use it. This device plugs in easily, I can burn cd's, read them and it's that easy! Before I owned it, I did not have any idea how often I would use it. A very good investment!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LG Super Multi DVD

By Jim from Loveland, CO on 04/26/2010


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for use with my netbook. It is light and plays every kind of DVD even those from places like Thailand and Vietnam. Great item for the price and quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent burner

By blackdog from Lubbock TX on 04/14/2010


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far, after months of use, I have had no problems burning DVDs or lightscribe. (approx 40 DVDs) Some Notes though: 1: You need to have 2 USB ports, I have a powered USB hub, so not a real problem, people having access to only 1 USB may have issues. 2: Very light, you have to hold the unit in place to close the drawer. These are the only 2 drawbacks I have found for the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved