Home » Computers » Storage Components » Optical Drives » Cd/dvd Combo Drives » GP60NB50 » 14 Reviews

LG Electronics GP60NB50 Gp60nb50 Dvd-rw Dl 8x Ultra Ext Slim Usb Black Retail Sw Mdisc Mac Reviews
LG Electronics GP60NB50 Gp60nb50 Dvd-rw Dl 8x Ultra Ext Slim Usb Black Retail Sw Mdisc Mac

LG Electronics GP60NB50 Gp60nb50 Dvd-rw Dl 8x Ultra Ext Slim Usb Black Retail Sw Mdisc MacAdded to our catalog within last 30 days

Browse all of our Data Storage devices, from Blu-Ray & DVD drives to Network Attached Storages, and find the one that's right for your media storage needs.

LG Electronics Model: GP60NB50

$38.30

957 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 14 reviews)

42% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (6), Quality (4), Performance (4), Style/design (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

NOT WORKING ON WINDOWS 10

By ARRIGHI from DUBAI on 10/07/2015


Pros:

Style/design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

not working on windows 10 which has been release more than 1year ago


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

refuses to read commercial DVD movies on imac

By QNH from Wisconsin on 04/21/2015


Pros:

Useless, Defective

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this for the MDISK capability. The drive writes DVDR media with no problem, it looks nice, and it is compact. However, I've tried 30+ different commercial DVD movies and I get a read error message with every single one of them. The same DVD movies play perfectly and read correctly with my other 3 external DVD drives. Only the LG is completely defective in being able to read DVD movie disks. I hope they release some firmware that can address this problem, but so far I've been forced to keep a second NON-LG external drive attached for reading disks and only use the LG for writing. The drive is defective in design or manufacture, I don't know which.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Plug and play

By DReviewer from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 03/24/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As many of the other reviewers of this product mention, I too went to search for a driver. After wasting time doing that, I realized that when I restarted my computer, it just magically recognized the device and when I inserted a DVD, or CD, I was able to burn them to my computer. It seems to work on my Windows 7 and Mac operating systems just fine. I have a MacBook Pro without a built-in CD/DVD drive, so this works nicely. I am running OS X Yosemite 10.10.2 (mac) and Windows 7 in Parallels and have been able to burn discs nicely. I would advise forgetting about the usual driver headache that we come to expect when we get new devices and if your computer does not recognize/"see" the device in Finder (mac) or Explorer (windows) when you first plug it in, try a restart and try to plug it in and start playing with it! Sometimes we like to complicate things that do not ask to be complicated...at least that was my experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Sure Why All the Bad Reviews

By Thomulus from New Orleans, LA, USA on 03/12/2015


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm not sure why so many people are rating this low. Probably because the most likely people to rate a product are those that are dissatisfied. Being in the tech field I know just a little about electronics. I have a MacBook Pro that doesn't have a DVD drive so I needed an external drive and this one showed Mac compatible and it was very very reasonably priced so I gave it a try. The drive hooked up and worked right out of the box, ready to use. I have used it with single layer and double layer DVD's and it burns both just fine. It definitely isn't the fastest drive out there but again for the price you get what you pay for, if you wanted a faster drive you need to pay for it. I've had the drive about 6 months and no issues whatsoever. I've burned data, iso images and movies all with no issue. I gave it 3 stars under features just because of the speed. It's small and easy to transport and definitely doesn't deserve the low ratings. If you have a Mac this is a go to burner for a decent price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Same problem as everyone else, won't load software

By BryonyMacG from Undisclosed on 01/04/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Got a new laptop for Christmas, with no CD drive. I just wanted a simple CD/DVD drive, and this looked like a good product, small and unobtrusive. According to the documentation, it should be compatible with my laptop. Tried to install it, and had the same problem as everyone else. My laptop recognizes the drive, but when I try to install the software, it gets caught in a loop, then gives me an "installation failed" warning. I will be returning this to the store tomorrow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

product did not function as advertised

By zd10001110101 from CA on 11/05/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

good value product, unfortunately it did not function as advertised. my brand new laptop detected the drive, but when I put the driver installation disc in it just looped. returned product and replaced with same model, i had the same issue. upon looking online, i saw other people had some similar issues. i tried a few tricks and finally got it to install the software from the disc after many attempts. i would not recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

User Friendly and fast DVD Writer

By cubanprince from Branson, MO, USA on 09/20/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a Sony VAIO TAP 11, now if your familiar with this laptop/tablet, it doesn't have a CD-ROM wish it's a problem if you need to use the system recovery CD. This product worked perfectly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a easy to use portable DVD-RW

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/24/2014


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a computer with Windows 7 professional 64 bit and have had no problems at all with it recognizing the player. As soon as I plug it in it is a matter of seconds and it is ready to use. I have had no problems at all with this player and have burned thousands of music and movies with it. I would recommend this to all and would purchase a second one if I needed to. The price was more than reasonable also. For me it would be easier to just get one of these to use rather than try to replace the one in my computer if it ever went bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Drivers available.. no use if you can't connect

By Uhappy Camper from Indianapolis, IN, USA on 07/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this a few days ago. Won't recognize the LG.. without it recognizing you cannot load the drivers. Thought I could go to LG website and get the drivers and they are not available??! How do you have something that is a current market item and have no driver support? Horrible!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is a failure and customer pays.

By Jano from Sun City, AZ, USA on 05/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Laptop read this two times last summer and since I've tried using it three times and computer can't find it. Until reading other reviews did I realize it wasn't a driver or something along those lines - its the dang product itself. Now, too late to return. I was so leary of buying another one of their products but sure hope the SP60 works for a long time. Aggravating!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD burner works GREAT

By Pete from Penna on 03/21/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this external DVD burner quite often when a computer I am working on does not have a DVD drive, so far is recognied right off, write speed is OK, works on wins 8,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best bang for the buck!!

By PRAXIUS from Virginia Beach, VA, USA on 01/14/2014


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Haven't had it long, but it was plug and play right out of the box and so far it is a very useful tool for my schoolwork and play. would recommend this to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Connection

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This device will not connect correctly to my laptop! It doesn't have a consistent connection and turns on and off. Then when I do get somewhat of a connection... it won't play just a regular dvd. What was the point of buying this?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless

By Stephanie2664 from Golden Valley, AZ on 08/07/2013


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not detected on my Win8 laptop, failed to install drivers on my Win7 laptop, then no longer detected. No useful support documentation in the box. No useful support found on-line. Wasted time and effort for what seems to be a nice DVD burner. Will be returning it to the store tomorrow. (GP60NB50)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved