Home » Computers » Storage Components » Backup & Mass Storage Devices » Storage Servers » Nas Servers » N2R1DD2 » 12 Reviews

Lg N2r1dd2 Network Storage Server - Marvell 88f6192 800mhz - 2tb (2 X 1tb) - Rj-45 Network, Type A Usb - Lg Electronics Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Style/design (8), Quality (8), Performance (5), Easy To Use (5)

Cons:

Features/settings (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

AVOID!

By audio from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 01/05/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This device was, when purchased, as servicable NAS. After the latest update, however, it is UNUSABLE as a full featured network storage device. There is no support for basic features like RAID1 or JBOD. From what I can see, there is no way to map two drives at the same time. As a result, only one of my 3TB drives are being used. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! IF YOU HAVE AN OLDER VERSION OF THE FIRMWARE (2660 or prior) DO NOT UPDATE TO THE NEW FIRMWARE!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible device for Mac Users

By Network IT from San Francisco on 08/26/2012


Pros:

Terrible, Malfunctions, Difficult

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have two laptops, one Mac and one Windows. First, it is impossible to install and administer this NAS from a Mac so I had to use my very old windows machine. Second, you have to be wire connected to the NAS in order for the NAS detector to detect the NAS. Worse, the detector rarely detects the NAS. For the life of me, I can't figure out why the LG NAS detector can't find the NAS in 99% of the time even though windows explorer can find it on the network but the latter can not administer it. And that's the upside. The downside, my Mac can't even see this NAS on the network, wireless or wired. It's just a hideous piece of hardware. It's been extremely frustrating because of the countless hours I've spent on trying to make it work with Windows and Mac to no avail. Heed my warning, avoid this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mac Users Avoid !!

By rellis from Charleston, SC, USA on 07/16/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not a Mac friendly product. To use with OSX Lion you have to install the new interface and firmware which requires you to re-format the disks and the process can only be done from a Windows machine. Those that don't have a windows machine get half a system which isn't recognized by the finder, cannot burn a Bu-Ray disc and requires you to purchase iSCSI as a separate product. There are much better products which actually work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beware don't buy if you use Lion

By Gino from Ohio on 11/10/2011


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit a week before Lion was released to the public. One of the main purposes of purchasing this unit was to use Time Machine to back up my 3 Macs. LG has been known to have good technical support and promised an update in September. Here it is in the middle of November and the firmware is still not available. When talking with Tech Support on live update I was informed once again that they were working on it but the newer units have an updated firmware. When I pressed harder, it is the lower end units and not this current model. Lion being out for 3 months now you would think a firmware would be released by now


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Unit

By Rich from Illinois on 10/29/2011


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit is solidly contructed, fast, quite and a breeze to use. My primary use of this product is to stream movies to my home theater, which it does smoothly and reliably. My only sticking point is what appears to be a missing feature, the external USB ports cannot be used for attaching additional storage as advertised. They can only be used for backup. Disapointing as this is one of the features that I considered when selecting this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sweet!

By RhettLR from Little Rock, Arkansas on 11/06/2010


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 1st NAS unit & I am thrilled with its' performance and feature set. I purchased this unit primarily for media storage with backing up data as a 2nd overall need. The unit was nicely packaged and setup was a snap. All menu driven via web browser, I had it up & running with firmware updates within 45 minutes. Now, my computer no longer needs to be on to access my media and I with the DLNA feature set, it allows for access to my collection from a wide variety of devices without tedious configurations, etc.While the documentation is weak, the web interface makes up for what is lacking in the manual the only other "con" is that the web based file transfer software doesn't like any file over 2 gigs but you can use Explorer or any good file management software like PowerDesk to get around this shortcoming. I would / will definitely buy / recommend this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisfied customer

By CA-MV from Mountain View, CA on 07/24/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the smoothest installs of any peripherals I have. Used it for a month and have had zero problems. Pretty quiet too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value... just one thing

By exfordguy from Clinton Township, MI on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Offline Backup (see Review)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far this unit has performed flawlessly running in full RAID mode. Configuration is simple, and we've had no reliability issues at all. One feature I would like to see is the ability to do a direct backup of the system volumes to an external (USB or eSATA) hard drive. I am doing it manually now using a workstation on the network, but would like it to be done internally to the NAS unit, to protect against accidentally deleted or corrupted files.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not bad

By andicole0 from UK on 05/03/2010


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Plug the box onto the network and install the supplied software - quite simple really. Only niggle at the moment is that I can't seem to access the Blu Ray writer from the host PC to write data not on the disks in the device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs Work

By Skelly50 from EO, Nu Joisey on 04/26/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Features, Quality

Cons:

Settings, Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was impressed with this unit as soon as I took it out of the box. This unit is of quailty build and extremely attractive and has many bells and whistle to make it a worthy addtion to a network, but LG has made the fatal flaw, poor documentation. The unit's documentation is woefully inadequate. This unit is not plug n' play out of the box and trouble shooting this unit is very difficult without more precise information. Another problem is there aren't enough RAID support options that will allow backups to have both speed and redundacy at the same time. If LG can improve and clarify the documentation and add support for more RAID configurations they would have a top of the line piece of hardware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Storage Solution

By Jtmrnd from Houston, TX on 04/18/2010


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Bittorrent, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Flexibility and ease of use are the name of the game with the N2R1DD2. You can set its drives to Raid 0, 1 or JBOD, burn backup DVDs, connect an external hard drive and more. The storage options are virtually limitless. Add to that the ability to connect remotely to the drive and set up BitTorrent downloads, and you've got one great product. Couldn't be happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By BoomerTN from Knoxville, TN on 03/16/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Quality

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the N2B1DD2 to use as a backup device for a PET scanner which produces 20-50 Gbytes of data per study. Unfortunately the Windows 2003 Server Edition is not able to mount the NAS share (works with XP or Linux). This is a definite problem and the support access from the LGE website is not usable. The only thing I could find that seems to work is this review so I'll try to put my concerns here in hopes that someone from LGE will see them and reply. Its clear that the device uses embedded linux as the OS and the disks seem to be ext2 or ext3 formatted. However the only mechanism that allows me to access the system is Samba which doesn't provide linux file attributes (executable especially). While my primary use of the device would have been with Windows Server 2003 I would almost be happy if I could get native NFS access. Seems like something fairly simple to implement. I'm not adverse to trying experimental software with features like NFS and Windows 2003 access (I don't understand why Windows Server 2003 doesn't work with this device?).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved