Home » Video » RC897T » 57 Reviews

Lg Electronics Rc897t Dvd Recorder/vcr W/ Digital Tuner (lg Electronics Q78259) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 57 reviews)

73% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Features/settings (43), Performance (30), Quality (34), Style/design (29), Easy To Use (31)

Cons:

Difficult To Use (11), Value (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I WAS EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH IT

By DUNKER from COSTA MESA, CA on 03/01/2014


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

HAD ONE FOR ABOUT THREE YEARS AND WORE IT OUT RECORDING ON DVD& DUBBING FROM TAPES! IT WAS SIMPLY SUPER AND I WANT ANOTHER ONE AGAIN!!! WHERE CAN I BUY ONE AND HOW MUCH DO THEY COST? MODEL1080P RC897T


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good Machine

By Jay33 from Dripping Springs, TX on 02/03/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a little slow to respond to commands and it hangs up once in a while. When it hangs, you have to turn off the power. But it has been a good machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Somebody is confused ...

By Olga from Madison WI on 01/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

... and I think it's whoever wrote the description of this product. I've owned an RC897T for a few years now. 1) It does NOT have a digital tuner. In fact, it does not have ANY tuner. 2) You can't use it to stream anything. And 3) BluRay? Um, no. All this is good for (and it's not wildly good), is to digitize a stack of old VHS tapes. In 4x3. You'd need an external tuner to record from the TV. Maybe the wrong description was put with the picture and the RC897T story?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost Perfect

By Tom_929 from Brooklyn, NY on 01/05/2011


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First, let me say that this is one of the best DVD/VCR combos I've ever owned. DVD playback and recording are flawless, and VCR tapes (especially the first four Lexx movies) looked great (as great as VCR tapes can look) up-converted to my LG 47LX6500 TV. There are only two reasons I am not giving a full five stars: 1. No HDMI, Composite or S-Video inputs (your only option is regular video and L/R audio). 2. The USB input only works with USB 1.1 devices. USB 2.0 flash drives simply will not work. I even tried a few USB hubs to no avail. If anyone has a solution to this problem, please let me know.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT HAPPY

By BJSMAGIC from WALTON. NY on 10/26/2010


Pros:

Style/design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

CONNECTING ANTENNA TO RC897T ANTENNA IN AND ANTENTA OUT TO TV ANTENNA IN. PICTURE IS ON THE TV, TURN ON RC897T VCR AND TRY TO DO THE SETUP AND YOU DON'T SEE THE SETUP? NOW IF YOU ADD RF COAXIAL CABELS AND GO INTO YOUR TV INPUT YOU CAN SEE THE VIDEO SETUP. NOW IF YOU TURN OFF THE VCR YOU WILL HAVE NO PICTURE AGAIN, YOU HAVE TO GO INTO THE TV SETUP AGAIN TO THE TV ANTENNA AND YOU GET THE PICTURE AGAIN. NOT IN THE OWNER'S MANUAL? CONNECTION AND SETTING ON ANTENNA OR CABLE TV? WHY DO I HAVE TO KEEP GOING BACK INTO THE TV INPUTS WITH THE ANTENNA IS IN AND OUT TO THE TV? NOT HAPPY


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

RC897T - 1st Time Buyer

By Marcb from Grand Rapids, MI on 10/23/2010


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good quality product. Visually impressive. Easy to use. Only complaints - too long to start up, DVD draw seems to take a bit longer to open than my previous model and #1 complaint is I have to initialize the DVD-RW disc every time after recording. Nice to know that you are speaking to someone in the USA when calling customer service


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Like It !

By Puxter from Undisclosed on 09/08/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great. I'v used it to copy my old V H S tapes onto D V D ' s


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Digital Tuner and Recorder

By Clod from Elmer, NJ on 07/21/2010


Pros:

Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am old-fashioned and live in the country, so we do not have cable, just receive our signal via antenna. I used the timed record for recording world cup soccer games and the machine worked great. Only problem is it is very tempermental with power surges. Even with a surge protector any power surge will kick off the machine and it needs to be reset. The troubleshooting section in the guide book really doesn't address this issue clearly. There needs to be some improvement in that feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Except the remote

By LA1Joe from Los Angeles on 07/19/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

one of the few DVD/VHS recorders left at a good price.good quality recording, but a little more complicated to program than needed & it would be nice if the display would stay on during FF or Rewind. The remote is a little weak from distance in a large room.The instructions were easy to follow and the service agent was very helpful when I ran into a problem not in the manual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

junk

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 07/19/2010


Pros:

Add A Best Feature

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have not had this for one year with limited use (less than once a week) and the vcr does not work


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good Product

By FelixS from GA on 07/10/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A bit more than like products from other companies, but overall very good. Received as Christmas present, has been very reliable so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent digital tuner. ...

By m from Pensacola Beach, FL on 07/04/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent digital tuner. The timer is easy to set up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It does what I want it to do.

By Hunter from Danbury CT on 06/27/2010


Pros:

Performance

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm sure it's a great product. It is functionally rich, but it is so rich it becomes cumbersome to operate. I can get it to do what I want, but not without the instruction manual- and even then I have to futz around with it (repeating the same things over and over to get it to go.) I wish it were simpler. Example: I'm old, and "dubbing" to me means adding a voice track to something already recorded, not copying from one medioum to another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good product

By JimVery good from Buffalo, NY on 06/25/2010


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a machine to dub tapes to DVD and vice versa and this is an excellent machine. My one problem is that it was a bit difficult to hook up and I had to have a store technician come out and doit. He did it in 3 minutes. Other than that, I am very satisfied with it.Would definitely recommend it to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for the electronics novice

By senior1 from Undisclosed on 06/24/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Performance

Cons:

Features/settings, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Setup wasn't too bad but operation hard to program. System takes too long to initialize when I want to record a show. Also a delay once 'record' is stopped for the unit to finalize. Fast-forwarding is erratic when you want to go to a specific segment of the program. The instruction manual is too long, too hard to understand. Needs to be written in step-by-step procedures. Probably simple for a teen to twenty something.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy Menu

By grasshopper from Northern CA on 06/24/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Black & White Menu Is Tough On The Eyes., Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use for recording from tape, except when it stops at commercials for erroneous copy protection. The USB feature is a great asset.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD VALUE

By graciela from Oklahoma City, OK on 06/16/2010


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Features/settings, Style/design, Value

Cons:

Confusing Instructions, Audio Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I find it has a lot of great features all compacted into one product. Overall I really like the product and find it's not too hard to use; however, I think it could be simplified (especially the manual instructions). One flaw (and I don't know if it's just my DVD recorder) is that on certain commercial DVDs (like the newest Star Trek movie) for some reason when I play them, the DVD player has a horrifically, really loud buzz. It plays through the entire movie and is extremely disconcerting and annoying. Like I said, it's only certain DVDs, not all; perhaps, it's the way certain DVDs are made??? Anyway, overall I like the DVD recorder/player and would recommend an LG and would buy another one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My First LG Product

By ny_smitty999 from Albany, New York on 06/16/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was easiest DVR/VCR combo I have ever installed. Everything when great and the product worked the first time. It is a great looking and has all the feature I wanted. I'm not the most technically inclined person but had no problem setting it up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK Product

By makakilo from Honolulu HI on 06/16/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit was easy to set up and operate. Menu not exactly intuitive but good enough. I have recorded several shows off an analog cable and am not impressed with the quality of the resultant DVD picture. Maybe there is a menu selection to up the pixel count. Both the DVR and VCR display high quality pictures when playing pre-recorded media.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy With Our Choice

By Jasons Granny from Grayslake, IL on 06/16/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Being in the "over 70" population, we were looking for a video cassette player/recorder. They are no longer out there. So we bought the LG RC897T Multi DVD Recorder + VCR. Couldn't be happier with our choice. When we needed help with some of the features we called the 800 number and they were SO helpful. Haven't used the VCR feature hardly at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DVR-VCR combo

By Gumski from Bridgewater, NJ on 06/16/2010


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Cons:

Slight Background Noise

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great device to dub vcr to dvd


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD RECORDER/VIDEO CASSETTE RECORDER

By Anonymous from Cincinnati, Ohio on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Quality, Performance, Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoy this recorder very much. It is very reliable and I have had no problems with it. It is easy to set up and operate. This is my first LG product and I have since bought another lG product. I bought a dehumidifier and it was easy to set up and is very quiet operating. I will consider buying another LG product in the future if need be.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's okay

By Raspberry Queen from Kentucky on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This VCR/DVR is not the easiest to use. I wish when I select the "display" it would stay on until I click it off. It stays on only a few seconds. It makes it difficult to find a program when I rewind or fast forward. The machine doesn't play tapes taped on another machine very well. There is static on the tape.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Think I got a bad one

By LIZARD from Lincolnville, PA on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Cons:

Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm not sure if I got a faulty one or if it's supposed to work like this. It's very loud. When you delete a recorded show off the dvd, and then rerecord over it, sometimes the deleted show comes on in the middle of the newly recorded show. I used to be able to rewrite on a dvd 10-15 times, now I can only do it 2 or 3 times, then I have to throw away the dvd. They aren't cheap. When you fast forward through the commercials, it gets really loud and makes funny noises and doesn't move at all. May be I should take it back, I haven't had it that long.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SAME OLD THING

By OLD TECH from NORTHERN CALIFORNIA on 05/16/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

IT LOOKED GOOD FROM THE OUTSIDE,BUT WHEN YOU PLUG IT IN IT'S JUST LIKE ALL VCR SYSTEMS.YOU SET THEM-YOU SET THE CLOCK,YOU SET THE CHANNELS,YOU SET THE TIME YOU WANT TOO RECORD!! BACK AND FORTH YOU PUSH THE BUTTONS TOO SET OVER & OVER AGAIN. (AND) IT STOPS,FREEZES AND CAN'T REMEMBER A THING..WHILE SETTING UP OR WHILE RECODING OR WHILE JUST WATCHING TV.. WHY?? CAN'T THIS BE UPDATED, JUST PLUG IT IN AND IT WORKS..THATS WHAT YOUR OTHER DVD PLAYERS DO...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Yes, More time will tell, but...

By So Far Satisfied from Los Angeles, CA on 05/07/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Very Quick Finalizing Of The Disks, Easy To Use, Quality, Very Easy To Step Forward/back To Set Start Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using a different brand of equipment for quite a while and the LG DTV was suggested to me. I bought this piece to compliment the DTV. The other units I have had lasted about 2 1/2 years each, with my usage. Once I hooked it all up I was astonished by the quality. I tested the conversion features by copying 4 old classic movies onto DVD. They turned out exceptional. I did read some of the other reviews and was surprised. Withe the bad ones, I respectfully disagree. I work in the criminal legal community and most of the survailence tapes, witness interview tapes, and the defendant interview tapes, are furnished to us in VHS format. I convert these very bad quality tapes to DVD and then break them up for presentation to a jury. So my work "requires" quality. So far I see an exceptional amount of quality in this new LG system. At this point I am thrilled with these pieces of equipment. The final verdict is still to be seen, becuase this is a new system for me, however, I am very confident that I am finally in the right place. The quality of my work is very important. I don't sit around watching movies all day long. I have a different agenda. I'm glad I made the switch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks nice and works well.

By Bani from MI on 05/01/2010


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was lucky enough to get this one on discount. It looks fantastic as do most LG electronics I've seen. Thankfully it has worked fine and aside from a bit of noticible slowness I haven't encountered the problems some others on here speak of. I'm happy with the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

don't copy your tapes to DVD with this!!!

By nikki60 from Arizona on 05/01/2010


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Vcr Quality Is Mint

Cons:

Features/settings, Quality Of Dvd Created From Tape At Any Speed, Value

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Because NO ONE makes simply a VCR recorder anymore, I had to buy a product like this when my last VCR recorder only bit the dust. I then burn DVDs, editing out commercials. I already have a DVD burner, but decided to try this product's transfer capability. The picture quality of the DVD created, at any speed, is horrible. I will use this to make the VCR tapes, but must continue to rely on a separate burner to create the DVDs. I've been doing this transfering for 6 years with all different brands of VCRs and DVD burners. This was the first LG of either of these I bought. It's the last one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would not recommend

By craze from Caroga Lake, NY on 04/29/2010


Cons:

Doesn't Operate As It Should

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My TV reception was better w/ the digital to analog converter box than w/ the digital tuner in the RC897T. When I attempt to record on some of my tapes, that I have previously recorded on w/ this unit, I get an invalid tape message, even though the tape IS recordable. When I schedule timer recordings that are not consecutive, the unit usually ejects the tape after the 1st program, so that I don't get the subsequent programs. I am not very pleased w/ this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Available

By MrVideoMan from Roseville, CA on 04/28/2010


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use

Cons:

Boot -up Time, Value, Noise

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best DVD burner VCR combo currently available, however it has a few flaws that should be fixed. The biggest problem is the boot-up time, it takes longer than windows XP to boot up, and if you ever turned on a PC you know what I mean. The second concern is that the dvd player is very noisy, and if a disk is left in there it is constantly making a lot of noise, this concerns me that it will wear and fail prematurely, but I have no proof of that yet. Now that we have those out of the way, it records DVD's very well, it is easy to use and quite simply marvelous at doing the job I bought it for. I have burnt several disks and people think they are professional quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Digital Tuner Great

By Biglefty from Paradise, CA on 04/27/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Qam Tuner, Quality

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The analog and digital tuners make a great package. My only problem with this unit is when trying to advance a VCR tape to a desired time. The time display on screen is far to short to allow performing this task.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Close to a perfect 10

By Anonymous from Tyler,TX on 04/26/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For function and price, the RC897T almost made a perfect 10. The problem was that the device did not behave as the instructions described when copying a video tape to DVD. However, after much trial & error, I discovered the correct command sequences and made my own instruction sheet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

difficult to follow

By luckyone959 from Ohio on 04/26/2010


Pros:

Quality, Style/design

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My experience with this unit has been poor as I find the user manual does not explain all the necessary functions conveniently. I have had difficulty dubbing VCR to DVD. Have had the DVD drawer to stick from time to time. I have had to take the case apart to get a VHS tape removed as it was also stuck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Remote Hard to Use

By PaulM from Dallas, TX on 04/26/2010


Pros:

Style/design

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The DVD player seems to work well. The signal is clear. The remote is very difficult to use. It is confusing to carry out tasks that should be simple. The layout is poor. I feel frustrated every time I try to use it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT WORTH IT

By LG EXPERIENCED from GLLEN ALLEN, VA on 04/26/2010


Pros:

Quality

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

THE PURCHASE OF THIS RC897T IS ONE THAT I REGRET HAVING MADE. I HAD HOPED TO USE THIS TO RECORD TELEVISION PROGRAMS AS WELL AS MOVIES BROADCAST OVER THE CABLE NETWORK TO WHICH I SUBSCRIBE. UNFORTUNATELY, I SOON DISCOVERED THAT WITH THE MULTITUDE OF COPYRIGHT PROTECTIVE CONSTRAINTS, I FOUND THE PRODUCT PRACTICALLY USELESS. THIS IS WHY I RETURNED IT PROMPTLY TO THE MERCHANT FROM WHENCE IT CAME. I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best features for all-around recording and play-ba

By Robbie from Heavener, Oklahoma on 04/26/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has standard and digital tuner, which most DVD-DVR and VCR recorder/players don't have. I found programming channels into this device to be easy even without the instructions. Easy to set up for timed recording. The remote control also was easy for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By Jay from Ohio on 04/26/2010


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Cons:

Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our old recorder bit the dust and this one does a great job with additional features that I am enjoying. Moving old VCR tapes to DVD is easy and will let those memories last much longer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Bang for the Buck

By microd17 from Syracuse New York on 04/15/2010


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this unit for seven weaks . Had to replace old vcr , I should have done it sooner It was quit easy to set up easy controls , Great piture, even made old vcr tape look better. NO CONS


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outdated

By high hopes from New Hampshire on 04/15/2010


Pros:

Features/settings

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Inconsistent Performance, Outdated Technology, Limited Channels

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this with our new HD TV. Doesn't get all the channels the TV gets so we have to be watching the program on the TV to record. The cable guy said that it weakens our signal if we go through the player to the TV. Frequently doesn't recognize DVD disks (disks are clean and work fine on all other players). Was unable to set chapters when recording from a VCR to DVD. At the time of purchase there were two high definition player options, now there is only blue-ray. It would be nice to upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy we purchased this!

By mare from Atlanta, GA on 12/05/2009


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced our older, tuner-less DVD/VCR ... easy to setup, beautiful picture, great price, quality machine! Wish we'd purchased this sooner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It Doesn't Get Better Than This

By LennyG from Lexington, SC on 12/01/2009


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was only looking for a way to get some of the old tapes onto disk. I had no idea there was a product that would make all of the videos look better as they were being copied. This is no exageration. My ancient tapes even show better on the old TV. Thanks LG.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Multi-tasking Product

By Deputy S from Indianapolis, IN on 11/18/2009


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use the combo VCR / DVD to convert all of our home VCR tapes to DVD. Some of our VCR tapes are 8mm movies converted to VCR. Other VCR tapes are SVHS originals recorded in our old camcorder. Many different picture qualities in the different formats and ALL are handled excellently by the multi-tasking LG. We had a different brand DVD recorder for 7 months (THE LG IS MANY TIMES BETTER IN OPERATION AND QUALITY). Our Digital Camera is even better NOW when transfered to DVD in our LG!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loved it, has big issues now!

By Fentfoto from Boston area on 11/07/2009


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When I first got this it worked fine and did everything I needed. Then strange things started to happen. 1) Would not record to DVD, multiple shows without dropping time of each additional program recorded. 2) DVD drawer would open partially then close again with no time to load. 3) Now after a year the DVD drawer will open partially and close again randomly by its self.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great machine. ...

By aws from Undisclosed on 11/07/2009


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Features/settings

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great machine. It is a little slow turning on but it records great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's just ok

By Mike from Washougal, WA on 11/06/2009


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Style/design, Easy To Use

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit because I have had good experiences with other LG products and I needed something that would play/record VHS and DVD, and be able to receive digital TV signal. I like the channel edit screen with the signal strength bar and it is easy to set up. It records to VHS and DVD very well and it is easy to delete shows from DVD without a long drawn out process. I am however disappointed that the clock does not have an auto set feature. Nor does it have a feature to turn DST on and off. In all I have been happy with it and would definitely purchase another one in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nicest 2 in 1 I've ever had

By sugarboots from Monroe, GA on 10/31/2009


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings, Style/design

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a Titanic collection and all my videos are on VHS which makes this player perfect for me and the DVD upscale is awesome when playing standard DVD's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Customer Support

By bmonte from Washington, DC metro area on 10/28/2009


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit (new) at a super low price because of all the features it has. I record off-the-air and wanted both the NTSC and ATSC tuners. It also works well for dubbing from tape to DVD. It originally seemed very "picky" about the DVD's it would read and record. This got worse over time. When I emailed customer support they provided a mailing label to return it to LGE for repairs under warranty. The whole repair process took one week from the time I shipped it until I received it back from repair. It now works perfectly on all the DVD's I have, both pre-recorded and blank (including my DVD+R DL's). This is a top quality machine and I would have given it 5 stars had it not needed the repair. I gave it 5 stars for value since I got it for a great low price. I would have preferred the VCR section have an indexing and search function like my old VCR's had; but hey, I don't use the VCR much since the DVD-RW's I use with this machine record superior video from my local HD broadcast channels anyway. All these DVD/VCR machines are complex and take patience to learn how to use; if programming your old VCR or setting the time on your old VCR was beyond you (remember the blinking time display?), approach this one with caution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

can't schedule weekly recordings

By skate_philly from Upper Darby , Pa on 10/28/2009


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's nice to I schedule a recording of a show onto DVD. However, it can only record one time. It would be better to set up a weekly recording, instead of re-entering the info again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Recorder

By rjh from San Diego, CA on 10/27/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Quality, Features/settings

Cons:

Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second LG DVD recorder I have owned and I have been very happy with both. It is simple to use; one button recording and one button VHS-DVD dubbing. Worked great for transferring my VHS-C home movies to DVD. One of the best purchases I have made.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall, a very good product

By kazbels from Abingdon, Maryland on 10/14/2009


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality

Cons:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this DVD/VCR for about a month, and like it so much I bought 2 more. I've successfully recorded VHS to DVD, and recorded TV shows for later viewing. Picture reproduction for pre-recorded media is great; the VHS leaves a little to be desired, but that could be because I'm recording over material. I do have some issues. I wish captions on programs I've recorded would be displayed; I never had this problem with previous DVD/VCR's. The manual is also poorly written and poorly organized. The material about recording to DVD is scattered throughout the manual. I'd like the ability to display tape count. A previous machine had the ability to fast forward a tape based on time; would like to see that on this. Still, it fulfills my needs. I would say for some functions, it's easy to use, for others, it's difficult.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what I execpted

By Anonymous from Oklahoma on 09/10/2009


Pros:

Performance

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this product for almost a year and have still yet to get it to record my VHS tapes to DVD. Someone should design a better VHS &DVD system because this one does not work. I would like a replacement because this one does not work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better

By cep from Chicago, IL on 09/01/2009


Pros:

Dvd Picture Quality

Cons:

Features/settings, Vcr Picture Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

VCR playback picture is horrible. It is too blurred for the technology of today. The dvd playback picture is excellent. But I purchased this model to use both. This is the first dvd product that I have purchased that does not retain the location on the disc. Having to start over and find the place that I left is frustrating. It also doesn't retain the set-up selection. Unacceptable. It is unfortunate that there are so few dvd recorder/vcr combinations to select from. Most electronics sellers offer one or none. Also don't like the inability to display vcr counter or the time on the tv screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LG is an okay DVD recorder

By ZZZ from Boca Raton, FL on 08/31/2009


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use

Cons:

Value, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hello everyone This is my second DVD recorder. My first one worked very well and I used it to transfer all of my home movies to DVD. It worked for about 3 years and then died. This LG DVD recorder works well but the resolution is not too good even though I am using a HDMI cable to my new HDTV. The unit is a good machine but the closed captioning does not show up on the recordings whenever I record any programs. I cannot resolve this issue no matter how hard I have tried. I would use this for everyday recording but not for special events. Thank you


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed

By techmom from New Jersey on 08/27/2009


Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the 2nd LG product my husband and I have bought and it is the 2nd one to disappoint us. Every time we turn on the DVD player, it says "reading" for up to 5 minutes. We often have to turn it off or remove the DVD and begin again to watch it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good enough

By Scrivener from Los Angeles, CA on 08/19/2009


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this combination DVD recorder and VCR because I desired the ordinary functions of a VCR combined with a digital-television tuner. So far, I've tried it as a DVD player and as a VCR for time-shifting TV programming. As a DVD player, it seems to work just fine; as a VCR, it does record reliably, but the output picture has a vertical jitter worse than I've seen on any analog VCR. The loss of video resolution when going from an HDTV broadcast to VHS tape and then translating back to HDTV is severe, but I expected that. Its clock needs to be re-set once a month, because it runs fast and there's no automatic resetting feature. Still, this machine is good enough for my recording of the Nightly Business Report, five nights a week. Whenever I can buy a good hard-disk-based video recorder that does not involve a paid subscription service, this machine gets mostly retired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fills The Bill

By bajajim from Carson, CA on 07/21/2009


Pros:

Quality, Features/settings, Style/design, Performance

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product based on my feature needs and reasonable price. The user manual for this product should be re-done because it is a bit chaotic and the index is sorely lacking specificity and completeness. One prime example is the instructions for inserting your favorite channels into the "FAV CH" Que. There is absolutely no mention of this feature in the index. The "Reference page" for the remote (page 59) explains the features of the remote control however item #14 makes no mention of the "FAV CH" feature. The only place I could find any mention of this feature was on page 19 which directs you to pages 50-51 where there is a brief description of how to use this feature. This machine is loaded with features which, if you can discover how to use them using the inadequately written user manual, can enable you to make professional quality recordings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Customer Service

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 07/10/2009


Pros:

Quality

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased one of these units this past December and I still can't figure out how to record either a DVD or VCR. I can play each from a prepared medium but not record. Is there an "easy" procedure? Thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved