Home » Audio » Network Media Players » SP520 » 12 Reviews

Lg Electronics Sp520 Smart Tv Upgrader Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

41% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (6), Features/settings (5), Performance (4), Quality (3), Style/design (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Product worked short time and then broke

By Sandywitch from Oceanside, CA, USA on 06/27/2013


Pros:

Faulty Product

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product worked GREAT for 2-3 months, then it started to freeze up--just a little at first, then it got to where it doesn't work at all. I called your customer support and I did everything suggested, still broken. I'm really surprised, I have always had the very best experience with LG products, I recommend them to my friends. Is there anything you can do for me? I'm a single mom with limited funds. A discount on an LG replacement product for this would help me a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for me!

By Danoelise from Fort Worth, Tx on 03/07/2013


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is everything we needed to get rid of the cable company! Hulu plus, USB port, ethernet adapter. Same functionality that's included but for much less than the competition!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Audio cutouts

By Anonymous from Phoenix, AZ, USA on 03/06/2013


Pros:

Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This used to work OK and then I downloaded the latest software patch. The audio now consistently cuts out. The video is fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great item for casual use

By thePUPPETEER from Las Vegas, NV, USA on 02/22/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this product for months now and I didn't experience any problems with it. The only thing it does not read is AC3 audio files from movies. That's pretty much it. I always connect my 1TB external hdd here. Didn't have problem with the internet connection. Youtube & Netflix is great. Overall, this product is fair for its price. Thumbs up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Kind of slow and does not have Amazon IV

By Cotton_Mcknight from Austin, TX, USA on 01/27/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Style/design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I too bought this because of the price- I don't have a satellite receiver box in one room of the house, so I thought this would be the perfect, economical solution to watch TV there. It's ok- I didn't have any problems with it finding a signal, and the wireless router is probably 50 feet away (and separated by several walls#. The problem However, it was a little slow- I wasn't sure if this was a processor issue or an Internet issue, but it took a bit of time for it to access folders. The little streaming I did do on it #YouTube, playing music from my computer# was fine. There were no lags. I would keep it were it not for one thing: It does not have Amazon Instant Video, even though it advertises that it does on the box, as well as the website. Aside from being kind of annoyed by this, the fact of the matter is that I really have no use for this device if it doesn't have that. So it goes back today. FWIW, I did notice a LOT of returns #open boxes) when I picked it out at the store the other day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor thing needs help, Very Disappointed

By 64ChevyII from Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Features/settings

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1. This player does not play all types of files. 2. Poor WIFI Range. 3. It needs an update sooner than later. 4. All I can say is it's small and looks clean. 5. Good looking and easy to navigate menu.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Product, But Disappointed

By Jeepster48439 from Indianapolis, IN, USA on 11/30/2012


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Style/design, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Performs well for the streams that are supported. Only supports one of the 2 major movie streamers. Unfortunately, the one that it does not support is the one that I bought it for. Hope they upgrade the device to support more movie streams. This product would be 5-star if it had both movie streams.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Media Player

By Jay NJ from Undisclosed on 11/29/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1. The player does not play all types of files. 2. Extremely slow, it takes 20 seconds to browse files. 3. Poor wifi. 4. LG never provides updates to its firmware, not only this product, I also have LG TV that they mentioned they discontinued and not supporting any more. Please go with a different product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Network Media Player Ever

By Chuckwagon from United States on 11/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased on 11/26/2012. Amazon Instant Video has been removed. CIFS network browsing is broken resulting in constant network errors. WiFi range is very poor. Less than 7 feet away with no obstructions to the router I can only manage 3 network bars. The device has a good assortment of features and except for the issues above the other features work fine. However, the problems I've mention are key features and without them the device has very little value to me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

does what it promised

By HM Carmel from Carmel, NY 10512, USA on 11/16/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

most of the features cost money--Pandora works fine. Used to connect my portable HD plays movies AVI files fine. Also connected to my netbook viewed photos and movies in public folders. For the price good deal. Connected to WiFi fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy unless using wired network

By bootlooper from Texas, USA on 09/02/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit on sale for 29.99 which seemed like a great bargain. However I could not see any wifi signal at all. Turned off all encryption just in case that was the problem. I moved the router to within 6 feet of the device and had only one bar of signal. I would take this back and get a refund were it not a 50 mile round-trip and 15% restocking fee. I have plenty of other wifi devices that receive good signal in the same room. I suspect the device would work fine wired. Firmware is the most current version.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great Way to Add Smart to any TV

By Jeev from Shippensburg, PA 17257, USA on 06/22/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Being on a tighter budget but wanting to get all the features, I opted for a TV with almost all the latest features except Smart TV. Thankfully, the SP520 provided me with an economic way to add the Smart feature to that TV making my purchase complete. Overall good performance from the wi-fi and Premium features work pretty well. Pleased overall. And it is compact and light.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved