Home » Computers » Multimedia Devices » Video Cards » Video Processing/capturing Modules » ST600_12 » 18 Reviews

LG Electronics ST600 Lg [new] St600 Smart Tv Upgrader, Wifi, Dlna Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Quality (8), Style/design (10), Easy To Use (7), Performance (7), Features/settings (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Does what it's designed for..

By LVChuckster from Las Vegas, NV, USA on 07/26/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everyone compares this to the new smart TVs and Blu-Ray players. This is designed to upgrade the older generation "dumb" TVs and gives them the features that the newer ones do. That, it does, but considering this is about 5 years old, it's not the latest technology. But it does allow you to stream Netflix and have other features off of your first or second generation TV. Most new TVs have them built in and that is always better. But this brings your old TV from just being a monitor for your game system to be a usable media device again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No internet video

By Kintaro from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 11/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Don't waste your money this product is not supported and not upgradeable will not play video on web.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this product--great features

By beasterling69 from Houston, TX, USA on 06/24/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best purchases I have ever made....I can now watch Netflix, Youtube, Amazon Prime, etc all on my television set.....I just bought another one for the lake house.......have been raving about it to all my friends.......Plus it is an LG product....my washer/dryer are LG and love them!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Remote control very difficult to use

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/24/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the writing on the keyboard is very slow, using arrow keys and selection. prefer to connect a wireless keyboard /mouse to enable easy operation


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

reaction time very slow

By sarge from hudson,pa on 03/07/2013


Pros:

None

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

To move the cursor is to hard on this to move,its just touchy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice product

By komari6 from United Arab Emirates on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Performance, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Lg App, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i like product because company update framework each time and make it easy and very nice features i enjoy when use product with my family


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Limited Access to web content

By Longball1960 from Ohio, USA on 03/13/2012


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unfortunately, Adobe Flash Player is not a provided app, nor can it be installed on the ST600. I have found that the major TV Networks and a great number of other online content providers require it, in order to view their content. The remote control is difficult to use and the unit does not permit a wired or wireless keyboard. If you only want to view online content from those who LG provided a link (Netflix, CinemaNow, Vudu, Hulu, YouTube and a few others and view DIVX files, this unit works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By reneday719 from Undisclosed on 01/25/2012


Pros:

Quality, Style/design, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the product is great, and very high quality. it has more features than any other product like it. the only problem is the mouse for the brower is difficult to use and it hasnt have all the apps i would like.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Things Come in Small Packages!

By Casper from Phoenix AZ on 01/12/2012


Pros:

Small And Compact, Style/design, Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Features/settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My brother gave me the ST 600 Smart TV Upgrader for Christmas. This small device performs a myriad of wonders, however, it does not replace the computer and the consumer has to understand that fact. The remote is small which is nice and I am not interested in web browsing or checking E-mail. I leave those features to the computer! This ST 600 allows me to streamline movies crystal clear utilizing the VuDu application, I can check the daily weather on AccuWeather, and I can enjoy looking at my photos on Picasa Web Albums. I'm satisfied with this product and there is no other settop box upgrader that is going to outperform the ST 600. With the excessive gingerbread on the competition, it's bound to foul up your TV reception in some way.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LG Smart TV not good

By Dave1960 from Florida on 01/06/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the unit so I could surf the internet and watch video. After wrestling with trying to get a Flash player installed I found out that Flash is not supported on the LG Smart TV. To me without a flash player the unit is worthless. Most sites use flash for their videos. Also manuervering is difficult and using the screen keyboard is time consuming. I assume this unit is only good for paysites like netflix, which I don't have. I used to believe that LG produced great products and have recommended them for over a dozen years but not anymore.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where's the Hulu Plus?

By gtucker from Undisclosed on 11/30/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I updated my device right out of the box tonight. Still cannot find Hulu Plus in any of the app stores tho the support forums say that it is available via Premium Apps. The web browser is poor, overall responsiveness of the box is poor, too. The selection of LG Apps is not necessary; nothing of value there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Some futures to be perfect

By DanSims from Canada on 10/28/2011


Pros:

Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's work find and I am please of that, but the first thing it's frustrating, it's we can't put a keyboard on the USB port. The interface is probably linux and is't not a real problem to put this future. The other thing is the Flash plugin update you didn't made, and it's available for the linux OS. It's a asset for this kind of product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks great in a landfill

By reviewthis from Undisclosed on 09/28/2011


Pros:

Style/design

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product will offer only disappointment. It does not have Hulu Plus and the web experience is basic due to the outdated Flash Player 8. It does offer Netflix and Pandora, but so many other devices that cost much less and have a better interface are available. The software update didn't add any upgraded features, in fact, this "upgrader" is a downgrade when compared to the competition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well, nothing is perfect

By wallapatrick from Undisclosed on 08/28/2011


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works as expected, though the browser is not nearly as useful as I had hoped. Response to the remote control is rather sluggish compared to using a PC based browser. The center button which is the 'enter' button also acts as a touchpad, and this makes controlling the browser difficult. Anyone accustomed to browsing on a PC is likely to find it very frustrating and I don't expect to use the browser at all. Otherwise all the features I've tried worked as expected, and this devices makes a great addition to my TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product since last Update

By PaulTheDane from California on 08/21/2011


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance, Style/design, Features/settings, Lg Remote App Keyboard, Dlna Support

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thank you team for the update to my ST600 this week. It now supports most of what I wanted this box to do. Netflix, YouTube, HuluPlus, VUDU HD, Pandora, etc. all work SUPER. However, a couple of highly desirable features to add would be: 1) ability to play VOB files over the network or via USB. The extra step of having to convert my DVDs to MKVs is a hassle and I lose subtitles in the process. 2) Ability to use the LG Report Android app to enter text with the keyboard in other Apps besides the Browser would be most awesome. 3) Either adding VUDU Apps Premium option or adding a Flickr and Vimeo Apps would be much appreciated. 4) Make it possible to upgrade Flash player so it could play more Flash content on the web. Thanks for an awesome little box, with tons of capability... especially for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ST600 set box thingamajig

By Fred from Colorado on 08/01/2011


Pros:

Netflix

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Works with Netflix, Hulu & Pandora great. The internet part stinks. It will only work with Flash Player 8 (not 9, 10 or 11) and Adobe no longer provides version 8. Brilliant! LG should update their box to work with the latest tech. I'd even be willing to pay LG $3-$5 a month to provide a much more competent system. Also, the "magic mouse" is a joke. It reminds me of the function of the mouse on my 486DX computer with Windows 3.0 back in 1991. They need to add a real keyboard. If you want to surf the net with the magic mouse you'll soon see it magically disappear as you throw it out the window in frustration.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent

By Kouyate from Undisclosed on 06/30/2011


Pros:

Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its a sweet little box that does pretty much everything you would want. It could really use a keyboard for Netflix searching and the internet browser.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool Idea Needs Refined

By LG Buyer from Austin, Tx on 04/26/2011


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the product don't get me wrong. I have internet connection of 17 down and 2 up. Netflix is great on it. Setup was easy. I think the only real usuable apps are the weather and Netflix. All the other services are other movie channels that are pay per view and radio services. I bought this box thinking that we would watch Hulu Plus and Netflix, but once out of the box, we realized the Hulu Plus was not an option. After talking to support, they informed me that the Hulu Plus app will not be available until July (beginning or end?). I thought I would use the web browser function to use Hulu Plus but the browser does not support that version of Flash. I am particularly disappointed because the graphic and video of the product show Google Maps, Facebook, Hulu, and a few others that are not available now. Hopefully they will get all these on there soon. The app store as of this date is pretty limiting, so I am hoping that more is to come. The remote is not the easiest thing to use, but it is workable. I haven't gotten to try playing media from my desktop yet. I am especially anxious to find out if I can play tv shows I bought with the Itunes store. We will see. I also do not know if you can plug your ipod in and play music or videos off of that. I will find out tonight. I do like the picasa app and the youtube app. I find those pretty cool. As far as recommending to a friend. As long as they make all the things they advertise available I would say yes. If the above mentioned items are not up by July then probably no.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved