Home » Computers » Storage Components » Optical Drives » Cd/dvd Combo Drives » WH14NS40 » 23 Reviews

LG WH14NS40 Internal Blu-ray Writer - OEM Pack - BD-R/RE Support - 10x Read/14x Write/2x Rewrite BD - 16x Read/16x Write/8x Rewrite DVD - Dual-Layer Media Supported - SATA - 5.25" - LG Electronics Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 23 reviews)

82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Features/settings (7), Quality (18), Easy To Use (16), Performance (17), Style/design (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Worked great until it didn't anymore

By tobar from Green Bay, WI, United States on 10/04/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Starting getting read errors, thought it was the discs but read fine on another WH14NS40 and other BD manufacturer. Kept using hoping just flakey discs, eventually became too unreliable to use for valuable data. Drive was 9 months old with not a lot of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well... it's a great ...

By MrJn from Polska on 09/05/2015


Pros:

Performance

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Well... it's a great piece of hardware, but added software is uninstallable- it just loading and nothing happens after that. I would never say that LG will disappoint me like some cheep NoName producers. Add something that works or add nothing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent BD Rewriter

By Steve from Atoka, TN on 07/22/2015


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this to replace a failing DVD R/W in a computer. It installed easily, runs like a champ, and I've had zero issues with it. It's a great burner and an excellent value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so good. No errors even on cheap media.

By wb from Undisclosed on 06/04/2015


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far movie playback has been flawless. The few data discs that I've created have burned correctly (verified by third-party data copy/move/verification software in addition to the burning software) and are working as expected despite being on cheap house-brand 4x BD-R media. One of them was even created at 12x write speed by accident and is fine. Hopefully the drive lives up to reviews of it and its' 16x successor, so far it hasn't let me down at all aside from cost of related software (which it was clearly labeled OEM, so not the drive at fault).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO DRIVERS = Retractable Coffee Holder :(

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/29/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It maybe the best BD burner of the world, but without drivers in the package (and sry I don't give an heck about if it a oem or not) when we buy a product it must come with all it needed to the said product to work properly period. So the driver are not in the pack, what is worse, they are even not here too only 4 versions of the Firmware but no drivers at all, even if I find some others driver it a big guess, it maybe work or not but for sure not to it fullest extent. I'll return this product tommorow and find go find something decently packed with all the nessessary included :(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Gilbert from Waipahu, HI, USA on 05/29/2015


Pros:

Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A very well made, fast drive and very reasonably priced drive. I would purchase the drive again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best BD Drive for the Money

By James1957 from Grand Rapids, MI, USA on 03/31/2015


Pros:

Features/settings, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive is quiet, responsive and fast. I am now able to enjoy BD Disc's as well as CD's and DVDs without having to worry about if my drive will play it or not. As for writing, its quick, accurate and reliable. It has no problem working with my creation software or my player software. The Audio and Video output are Top Notch. I don't know if I'll ever use the M Disc feature, but it sure is nice to know its capable of reading and writing those disc. Overall, this is the best money I've spent in a long time, I can't say enough good things about this performer. Kudos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love this BD writer

By The Orig Fred from Eastern USA on 01/10/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

bought it on the recommendation of quite a few members of an audio/video forum and it's proven to be exactly as they've described, quiet, reliable and a workhorse. i use it to make copies of movies, both dvd & blu-ray, and the quality of the copies is perfect - it will burn low quality or the economically priced blank BD-R discs other BD writers i tried wouldn't. a happy user


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poorest quality LG product I've ever used

By Axel from California, USA on 10/28/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit ran great for the first couple of months. It started running slowly and I didn't use it for the next 3 months. Now it has taken more than 2 hours to start burning and still hasn't started. It takes 45 minutes to read one of the disks it has already written and took less than a minute to read, 6 months ago. Of course, by now the warranty has expired and to make things more difficult, this was given to me as a Christmas present, so I have no receipt. If you purchase one of these units, keep testing it so that you can return it before the warranty wears out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product works very well

By LGMCN from El Mirage, AZ, USA on 05/04/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product works very well. The only problem I had with it was the fact that it did Not come with any software. I purchased it as a stand-alone OEM unit. I was able to Burn and Read Blu-Ray Discs as well as normal/regular DVD's. I have Not had any problems with it. I have software that I can use with it, but I am still looking for the best freeware for it. Next time I think that I will pay more for the Non-OEM version so that I can begin using it right after I Install it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Blu-ray Drive

By D Tucker from Merrillville, IN, USA on 02/25/2014


Pros:

Performance, Features/settings, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive was easy to install into my computer and it provides and good picture with either DVDs or Blu-ray discs using Power DVD. The drive loads fast and has very good playback quality. I have not tried burning discs with it yet. I even ordered a second one for another computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Far, So Good

By freedom325 from Oregon, USA on 02/19/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Quality, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently built a custom computer and used this as my optical drive. I love it! It looks amazing. I have had no problems and it runs like a charm! It reads every type of disc I have put into it perfectly. No complaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ease of operation and use. Great Product

By Saipanman from Thailand for the present on 01/31/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to install and use. Writes and reads Blu Rays as advertised. Compact design and simple to install. Great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect

By Spockva1 from Fredericksburg, VA, USA on 01/28/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed in seconds, fired up right off, software installed in a breeze, burner works perfectly and burns quickly. Reads at blazing speed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Blue Ray Writer

By Burn _Master from Middletown, NJ, USA on 01/15/2014


Pros:

Style/design, Easy To Use, Features/settings, Performance, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Blue Ray Writer burns every type of disc with no problems. I burned a few BD-R discs and they come out perfect. I also burned a few video's on DVD+ and CD-R music discs. The writer reads discs very fast. This Writer does not have any Multi- Media burning software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Plug and play simple

By Jcihula from Cleveland, OH, USA on 01/07/2014


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took less than 5 minutes to install. Simply opened up the computer, plugged in the cables, and closed it back up. Although it would have been nice to have the power cable included. Booted up and the computer found it right away. It has been working flawlessly for ripping Blu-rays - about an hour for a disc. Great product for a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BEST OPTICAL DRIVE OWNED BAR NONE

By THUSHINC from New Mexico, USA on 10/04/2013


Pros:

Performance, Easy To Use, Quality, Style/design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WAS JUST GOING TO GET A DVD BLURAY PLAYER COMBO DRIVE FOR A RECENT BUILD BUT CAME ACROSS THIS DRIVE AT A CHEAPER PRICE COULDNT PASS IT UP AND IT HAS SURPASSED ALL MY EXPECTATIONS


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best product for the price

By Ra1madden from Aurora, IL, USA on 08/19/2013


Pros:

Style/design, Features/settings, Quality, Performance, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It was a direct plugin and replaced and dvd drive. The drive works without a flaw. The price was what attracted me and the brand is one I trust. Each of the products that I own that are LG work great and I would not hesitate to purchase some of their products. Blue Ray is the way to store a great many photos that can be displayed anywhere. Keep up the great work guys. and thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Value

By Robair from Mechanicsburg, PA, USA on 08/04/2013


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have not burned any Btu-Ray DVDs as yet, but it has performed very well on standard DVDs. I also own an LG side by side refrigerator/freezer. Excellent unit. I have been suggesting LG products to friends for several years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great BD drive

By Michael from Tulsa, OK, USA on 04/22/2013


Pros:

Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only one complaint about this drive. It really isn't about the drive itself. The software that I tried to install to test everything wouldn't install. I had to purchase my own Cyberlink software. Which cost more than the drive itself. Other than that no cons.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best thing in optical since optical came out

By yochanon from Huntingdon, TN 38344, USA on 04/11/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Style/design, Performance, Quality, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The storage capacity is amazing and perfect for me and my movie and music collections. It was awful having to spend and spend on hundreds of CD's and even DVD-DL's for this. Not only is the storage capacity fantastic, this thing works beautifully out-of-the-box on Linux. This is another main important feature for me since I will not ever use Microsoft's OS's ever again. It's fast, quiet, and even the eject button is much nicer and easier to hit than any other similar device on the market. This thing simply made life easier for me and the price was extremely nice too since I live on a pittance of a disability check and can't afford these things just any ol' time I want one - cheap or not!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Optical Drive I have ever owned

By Mike38 from Minnesota, USA on 02/24/2013


Pros:

Features/settings, Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive does it all quickly and efficently. You can't go wrong selecting this for your burning disc needs and play back. It's rock solid and dependable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well for me

By JW from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA on 02/09/2013


Pros:

Quality, Easy To Use, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this product several times since installing it to read and write Blu-ray disks with no problems. I could not ask for more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved