Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » 19139 » 21 Reviews

LeapFrog Scribble and Write Game - Learning Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 21 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fun For Kids (18), Grows With Child (11), Good For On-the-go Play (16), Educational (7)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

This product is perfect for kids learning to write

By ldizzle712 from New York, NY on 01/04/2015


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product is perfect for children who are learning to write. great learning experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scribble & write

By Butch from New York on 10/20/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great for little ones they learn and have fun doing it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Need to apply a lot of pressure to write

By miichelle from New York on 05/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 3.5 year old daughter got really frustrated with this toy -- I had to repeat to her to write down hard to apply the strokes. The sheet on the writing surface would sometimes lift up on its own, erasing what she just wrote which also got her upset. I had high hopes for this toy to encourage her to learn to write but I think it was more discouraging and frustrating for her.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great learning product

By RJklosangels from los angeles on 05/26/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great educational product to help kids to write correctly!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for bilingual kids too

By LeapfrogFanatic from New Jersey on 03/24/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I know ESL teachers using this product for bilingual kids successfully. My kids love scribbling the lines and shapes. I thought with leappad this product won't be useful any more. Boy, I was wrong! Both of my kids love it even after they've learned all the letters and numbers!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for kids with fine motor issues

By Ekatarin from Capital District in Upstate NY on 03/07/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My just turned 5 yo has gross and fine motor troubles and is really delayed with writing/coloring, etc. He LOVES this toy. Gets easily frustrated on Level 2 but is doing great and stays with it on the Level 1 setting. Once he gains more control of the stylus we'll move to Level 2.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Leap Frog Product

By 3XGIRLS from USA on 10/10/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent tool to teach your young ones to practice their pens man ship. I was surprised at how well my daughters do at tracing exercises after using this product. Not only does it help in writing but also with identifying. No ones ever to old to improve the legibility of their handwriting!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sticklers beware!

By KBoss from California on 07/29/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have two of the 2009 version of this product and my kids still play with it. It's a perfect laptop device for kids who love interactive toys. As a mom, there is one thing that really bothers me about it (and has since the day we bought it) but which may have been corrected in the newer model: When the child says "Push the paw button when you're done" he pronounces it like "buddon." I hear more and more people saying the word "button" as if it has d's instead of t's and it's just plain wrong. If this toy is supposed to be a teaching tool--even if its focus is writing--it should be teaching correctly. (I really hope the newer version has fixed this). But, although I'm a stickler, I would still recommend this product to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow

By Rachel09 from Cleveland, Oh on 01/16/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My3 yr old son received this for Christmas. He loves it. It has helped him do much better in Pre-school. Some say it might be to advanced but it is really up to the child. It is very helpful for the child considering what they need to know for kindergarten. I would recomend it for anyone who wants their child to have a head start for school.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is fun!

By curly31 from El Mirage, AZ on 01/14/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Scribble & Write has accelerated my daughter's ability to write letters and draw shapes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scribble & Write

By Diane from Florida on 08/01/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Probably a little advanced for a three-year old's coordination but definitely a toy they can grow into. The buttons are also a wee bit small requiring more manual dexterity than that age has on a general basis. But a really unique toy that is fascinating to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very useful!

By Ashie from North Carolina on 07/24/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son got this for his first birthday from his grandmother, I was a bit skeptical since it's a toy meant for older toddlers.. but once I saw my son learn how to hold the pen and actually draw--I was amazed. I can't wait to watch him grow with this toy--he is already trying his best to hold the pen and draw the shapes (he is 15 months old now) Just because the toy is made for older toddlers, it doesn't mean that only older toddlers should be exposed to it! He loves the toy, doesn't even chew on it. He turns it on all by himself. I'm thankful for this toy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grandson loves it.

By Papa from irvine, Ca on 07/22/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our three year old Grandson took to it like a duck to water. He loves it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3 Year old writing all the letters!

By MommyTesters from San Diego, CA on 03/19/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I admit I was skeptical when we first got this product, but it also came highly recommended from a good friend who runs a daycare. In the package it does not seem all that impressive or engaging compared to other Leapfrog products. HOWEVER - once we got it out of the package it was a different story entirely! Having gotten a background from the Talking Letter and Talking Words Factory products she is all amped up about writing the letters that she now knows. She immediately took to this toy and started tracing the letters - not perfectly mind you but she just turned 3. She does get frustrated occasionally by this toy when she is not tracing something correctly but for the most part it is giving her great confidence and improving her fine motor skills a lot. After just a couple of weeks she can now imitate the letters she learned on paper with a pencil. They are not perfect by any means but for a 3 year old it's pretty impressive! We recently took this on an airplane and it was worth its size in the carry on bag for entertainment value. I plan to make it my go-to gift for 3 year old birthdays from now on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great learning toy!

By Jan123 from Florida on 01/28/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, this was a great learning toy. My son was able to select which feature to use by himself since the first day! He was about to turn four at that time, and it was great to have this feature so that he could play all by himself. Both the game setup and alphabet-writing feature were fun for him! We love the LEAP FROG products!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but far from great...

By Altutor from New Jersey on 09/15/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My wife and I liked the idea of having an interactive teaching method for writing letters and shapes. Our daughter, at 3, knows her alphabet and her shapes, but we wanted a tool to help with writing and drawing. This was perfect...until we started teaching her how to use it. For a 3 year old who is trying understand the concept of following the lines, the letters do not stay up on the screen long enough for her to grasp. I would probably clock the picture on the screen in at about 30 to 45 seconds. This is a learning tool. The letters/pictures should consistently be on the screen until the device shuts off or the mode changes. Just when I am getting into showing he the idea of following the lines, the picture shuts off. I have to then press the the letter on the keypad again, which initializes the whole process over again. It throws off rhythm to my teaching. The programmers should have given an unlimited time to each letter/picture. The time that is allotted is more suitable for a grade school child who already has the concept of writing letters, not for a beginner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for letters

By justonemommy from Undisclosed on 06/06/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 year old got this as a gift. He knows all his letters and we wanted to work on writing skills. He is still learning with this. I do it with him to get him to understand to follow the dots. I think this will help a lot as he gets more familiar with it. We plan a road trip in a few weeks and this is going with us as it is easily transportable. My son likes the music it makes and he likes being able to erase. I like that the pen doesn't detach and get lost. And I like that it is "lit up" so it can be seen at night in the car. I would recommend to other parents. Thanks Leapfrog!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome toy for children with OT issues!

By Nathansmommy from Buffalo, NY on 03/29/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this toy! My son is 5 with some delays (mostly speech & language, and some fine motor). This toy is PERFECT! It reinforces the 9 pre-writing shapes OTs focus on (--, l, t, /, \, O, square, and triangle), as well as fun things like smiley faces. Lower case and Upper case letters are also taught. It keeps my son's attention, and is a fun toy to bring in the car as we're always on the go! I highly recommend this toy for pre-schoolers & kindergarteners, or anyone who needs some extra practice on handwriting!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I had been struggling ...

By j8783b from Michigan on 01/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had been struggling with teaching my 3 year old how to write letters. She received one of these for her birthday last week and loves it. We take turns drawing, and she plays with it in the car, on the potty, and takes it everywhere. Within days she's drawing shapes and letters in other media. Like on my phone, and with crayons and things too. I don't know how well this will grow with her, but for right now it's exactly what we needed. And she's doing it independently, for the most part.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Excellent Product

By MommyMonster from Rome, NY on 12/28/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product for my daughter's third birthday because she was already able to identify the individual letters of the alphabet and she loved using writing utensils. I thought that this educational toy would be a great way of getting her started writing the letters. I never imagined that within just a few weeks she would master the art of writing letters, thanks to the toys step by step guidance of both upper and lower case letters. I love the product and so does my daughter. I only wish that the product also dealt with the writing of numbers as well. Thank you Leapfrog for not only making learning easy and affordable, but fun and exciting too. This is not my first purchase from this company nor will it be my last and so I fully recommend this and any other Leapfrog product to any parent who truly cares about their childs educational growth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TRAVEL TIME

By 2KAYS from RALEIGH,NC on 12/10/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

MY DAUGHTER HAS Scribble & Write LEAP FROG SHE GOT IT FOR CHRISTMAS 2009 AND SHE LOVES IT. WHEN WE TAVEL SHE PALYS WITH IT, EVEN AN INFANT COULD PLAY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved