Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » 19143 » 13 Reviews

Leapfrog 19143 Text & Learn - Theme/subject: Learning Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 13 reviews)

53% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play (7), Fun For Kids (6), Grows With Child (3), Not Engaging Enough (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

text n learn

By robbiesmom from Gastonia NC on 12/30/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this toy was a awesome thought however the customization doesn't work at all. the games don't interest my almost three year old son. my 5 month old seems to be the only one that enjoys the sounds it makes but even the sounds are distorted even after changing batteries. this was a disappointment. i wish i would have bought something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what I thought it was but still very fun.

By Princesshami225 from Harrisville, PA on 12/25/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's not what you think when you think of everyday texting but it's still a great gift and does what it should for a small child I suppose. I bought it for my one year old who LOVES to text on mommy's phone but he'll grow into it and it's defiantly a durable toy that it will survive and he isn't rough on his toys anyways when there not to be rough with but he loves it talking to him and the music he plays. :D


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great toy for on the go

By Rockymax123 from Linden MI on 05/06/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this toy beacuse my son and his sister love to play with them in the car. When they were taking their naps I started at it and then the next day I Brought them Chat and count cell phone


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth it

By Cara from Newaygo, MI on 03/08/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My daughter got this for her birthday and she has already stopped playing with it.. We cannot see the screen that is the main problem. There is not really alot to keep her entertained with it. It doesn't give clear directions for a 4 year old to under stand what to do. Especially for the price it's not worth the money you spend for what you get and for the fact you cannot see the screen. Even with a light on because then you get a very bad glare.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Disappointed

By LeapFrogCustomer from Houston, TX on 01/30/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Similar to some of the other reviewers, I was extremely disappointed in this LeapFrog product. I have purchased many LeapFrog products (Leapster, along with about 30 games, Learn & Groove Guitar, Fridge Magnetic sets, Books, etc.) this was by far one of the most disappointing. I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my 4 yr. old son. The other reviewers are correct - there are really only 2 "games" - the letter bubble game (pressing letters) and the map game (pressing the arrow keys). The description seems misleading, as I like some of the others thought that you could spell words (only through the "send Scout a message). Also, I don't understand the purpose of the customization (via the "Parent Mode"). I entered my son's name and the device never referred to him in any of the modes/games. I wish I never purchased this and could return it. So disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No sound after less than a week

By Anonymous from Kentucky on 01/08/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My son who is autistic loves this toy and it was actually helping him learn. It is sad that after only a week from Christmas, replacing the batteries with known good non-rechargable type, the sound no longer works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Much better than equivalent toys by other brands

By Jess from East Hampton, NY on 12/05/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My baby is 14 months and too young to fully understand all the options of this toy, but she loves it to pieces and is great to keep her entranced while I'm showering, cooking dinner, etc. Each letter has a different character/song and she loves just hearing the letters and seeing the different characters. It's cute and encouraging -- as opposed to some equivalent products (not by Leapfrog) which seem less loving. She loves this and the Leapfrog cell phone on long car rides too and has never grown bored of either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought this product for ...

By MamaBird03 from Undisclosed on 10/26/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this product for my almost 3 year old son. It worked properly when we tested it at the store. As soon as we got home it started making distorted noises and not all the buttons were working. After about a week it has stopped working all together, we have changed the batteries several times, yet it still won't work. I have many LeapFrog items and this is the first time that I have been disappointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cute idea

By javamama08 from Oklahoma on 08/26/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We got this for our lil guy for his 3rd birthday. He likes it well enough but it doesn't hold his attention as well has the leap laptop. We sit together and do the alphabet and play the few games that are available. I guess for leap frog, we were expecting a little more. We love most of our other leap frog products and video's. They are great learning tools. This one just hasn't lived up to our expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for the car

By justonemommy from Undisclosed on 06/06/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My older son got this as a gift. He likes it a lot. He plays the games sometimes so much I have to pull him away to eat his lunch or something! I like that he is learning. It is pretty cute. Easily transportable. The reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because I wish it had a backlight so it can be seen in the car at night and also I wish there was more games. Overall a fun toy. I would recommend to other parents. Thanks Leapfrog!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE!

By Chrissyelaine from Undisclosed on 06/02/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was given to my 2 year old. He loves it. I have sat down with him several times trying to go through his alphabet, but he wasn't quite getting it. Within a week or two of playing with this toy he knew ALL his letters in the alphabet. He will play with this toy for a good amount of time and holds his attention, plus it makes me feel good because he is still learning his letters. I really couldn't imagine him playing with it when he is older, but it was perfect for him now at 27 months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My expectations were too high, I guess.

By 2cutekids from Undisclosed on 12/29/2010


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This toy is more simplistic than I thought it would be based on the description. It only holds my 3 year olds interest for a few minutes at a time. The description really makes it sound like there are many activities, but there are really just a few simple activities. The main function is that when you push a letter button, it says the letter and one of the phonetic sounds. You cannot push more than one letter at a time, so there is no ability to type words. I guess this is what I was really hoping that it would do for my 3 year old who is starting to show interest in reading. There are really only 2 games. The "bubble" game will be good for her to learn her way around the keyboard, the second "map" game is just ok. My daughter loses interest in pushing the arrow keys very quickly - I think it is because the graphics are not very clear so it is not very much fun. Like the Learn and Chat Phone, this toy is a disappointment. I have heard other kids relaly enjoy them, but so far they are too simplistic for mine. I was really hoping that these 2 toys would engage them enough to leave my phone alone...that it does not.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent toy!

By AGINVT from VT on 10/23/2010


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter received this when she was 2 1/2. She did not play with it at first, but within a few weeks of picking it up, she could identify ever letter and their sounds!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved