Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » 19174 » 33 Reviews

LeapFrog Lettersaurus - Theme/Subject: Learning - Skill Learning: Letter Recognition, Song, Sound, Name, Color, Music, Alphabet, Word, Spelling, Motor Skills, Music, Math Question, Listening, Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 33 reviews)

48% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Grows With Child (10), Fun For Kids (20), Good For On-the-go Play (11), Not Engaging Enough (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Little Girl Gift

By Red714 from Pennsylvania on 09/03/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We got this for our grand-daughter's first birthday. We liked that we could personalize it, to a degree, by indicating the first letter of her name in the alphabet letters. We also liked the bright colors, lights, size and durability of this toy. We believe it will be a terrific teaching aid along with being just a lot of fun. We are pleased with our decision to get this for her.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Word that starts with the letter X is incorrect

By Francis from Undisclosed on 08/22/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's a great learning toy except when you press the letter X. The word it used is EXIT which does not start with the letter X. Hope you can still get that fixed/corrected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

just one problem

By bea17 from Thurles on 06/12/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter loves this toy but when it is giving you words that begin with a letter it says X is for exit...but E is for exit. Should have said X is for X-Ray.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

incorrect spelling

By mom82 from Undisclosed on 05/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter enjoys this toy, but I am a little disappointed that the person who programmed this toy thinks that the letter x is the first letter of exit. I thought it was just mine that was wrong but I checked other ones in the store and they were wrong as well. Leapfrog has always had good products but this is very disappointing. Check your spelling Leapfrog!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exit does not begin with the letter "E"

By MamiTrice1108 from Undisclosed on 01/15/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I think this is a fun and educational toy and I love that I could customize it to recognize the first letter of my son's name. However once my 14 month old presses the letter "X" according to lettersaurus , this is the first letter of Exit, followed by the sound of a door shutting, I find it slightly less educational. I'm not sure who was involved in the engineering of this product but the word "xylophone" accompanied by a short tune or the word "X-ray" accompanied by zapping sound would have made much more sense. Other than that I find it enjoyable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun toy

By Kimbelry from Rifle, CO on 10/14/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this toy for my son. My son is only 3 months but loves to hit the buttons and go for the glowing horns on the head. However, my only complaint is the X for exit?! I got this as a gift and when I looked online it looks like this has been a problem for a while. What ever happened of x-ray or xylophone? They didn't need to use 'exit'....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

X for EXIT?

By Ayken from Edison, NJ on 09/18/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 14 month old baby started playing with this. It's fun and she dances with the music. I was about to give this a good review until my daughter presses the button.. A " alligator " so ok, so much for apple and then , X " EXIT" ??? This company need to change this error, its teaching them wrong information. Hence, a fair rating.... This is my first leapfrog product, now i don't know if i would still purchase from this company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never disappointed..

By emilymud from Fort Worth, Tx on 03/02/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First I want to begin my review with the fact that as a TEACHER who has been in the classroom the past 7 years I love LEAP Frog and their learning toys. I have taught Kinder and First grade. Leap Frog has done a great job of understanding how children learn letters and sounds. My daughter got this toy as a gift for her 1st birthday. It is a cute and lighter version of the alphabet caterpillar they use to have. I love that you can make it tell the FIRST letter of your child's name. We mostly have enjoy the music mode...as my daughter likes to sing and dance. But she has recently begun enjoying the letter mode too (14months old now). My take on the X letter and all the complaints I have seen. If you know how children learn letters and sounds then you realize using "exit" to go with x is a good choice. X is a letter that is mostly heard in the middle and end of words...it is not a letter sound you hear that occurs at the beginning of most words. Thus to hear X with exit is the common sound pattern. Again I teach and know that each letter must be introduced in a specific way...allowing children to recognize that sound. I have no issues with the X nor do I think my child will learn incorrectly the sound for X! Thank you Leap Frog for your great work on educational toys...we love them in our house (and classroom)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get the letters righ t

By Slingo from Connecticut on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Like everyone else x is not for exit. You think that with all this negative response for the same problem you would fix it. Think of all the ones you don"t sell because of this problem. My son loves the lights and music but my daughter is learning her letters and sounds and I can't let her play with it because that part is not right. Please fix this problem or take it off the self..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

X is not for Exit

By Mama1976 from Bisbee, Az. on 01/04/2013


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Really?! This supposedly educational toy teaches kids that Exit starts with X. Why? Would it really have been that difficult to program it with the word Xylophone, or any other word that actually begins with X. Poorly done. I am very disappointed. The only reason I even rated this product fair in the fun category is that my daughter loves the music part of the toy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

seriously misleading

By MicahsMom from Undisclosed on 12/19/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

First of all, X is not for exit. Period. I think we can all agree on that. Also I am disappointed that you cannot program the dino to say your child's name as the advertising on the package would make one believe. My grandmother bought this toy for my son and had the packaging not been thrown before we heard the "x" thing, this dino would be GONE. That said, how hard is it to print out instructions for programming and put them in the package? Instead I was directed to LeapFrog's website and only found the instructions by looking it up on Google. LAME. My son does enjoy this toy, especially in music mode because he likes to dance. That's about all this toy is good for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

X is not for Exit

By JaxonsMommy from Tacoma, WA on 11/25/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This toy is very boring and slightly lame compared to other leap frog toys. My son received this for his 1st birthday about 5 months ago and has played with it MAYBE twice. It's not stimulating enough and the buttons blend in so he doesn't even really know they are there. And my biggest issue... X is NOT for EXIT!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the British accent, hate X for exit

By ladyrudie from Kent, UK on 11/17/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Its a really shame as this should get a really high score but the x for exit bugs me beyond belief. I would not recommend this product due to this fact. X should be x-ray, can't see why that isn't used instead of x for exit. X-ray is used by teachers teaching phonics. Your argument would stand up if all the other letters didn't say words that began with that letter. Also programming it to say "I" is the first letter your name leads everyone to thinking all letters follow the same rules. My daughter plays with it at the moment as she is only 1, but it will be hidden soon as she is starting to talk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

x for exit

By Katrina from louisville, ky on 08/13/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My son received this toy as a present for his first birthday. I will say that he enjoys playing with it, his favorite song is the alphabet song and when you push the head it sings. But the other day I was trying to engage him in the alphabet and was disappointed to hear "X- Exit". We then decided that this is not an appropriate toy for him to learn from due to the fact that it is not accurate. We were excited to receive a Leapfrog toy due to the reputation of quality learning toys, but this toy is a disappointment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cute, colorful but....

By Mummylovesherbabyboy from Australia on 07/30/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My son got this for his 1st birthday, I was super excited I love leapfrogs toys he has so many but my son just keeps pressing the glowing part on it's head to make it sing the alphabet song mostly he likes the flashing lights. The songs are cutesy and fun and I wih it could be personalised further with him pressing the first,second,third,fourth etc letters of his name, but for me the x is a big let down, but exit really I understand it makes the x sound but my four year old tried to argue with my 10 year old that exit did indeed start with x because the dinosaur said so.... but also every two minutes it says push a letter button and it gets stuck on the letter l or the letter m all the time, even if it hasn't been played for several hours, it freaks me out especially when it goes off in the middle of the night and you go to turn it off but it either stops right before you turn it off or it was never switched on to begin with....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

X for Exit

By chrissie20071 from Dartford, UK on 06/14/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I think this product is brilliant quality and good for what its meant to be used for which is basically learning letters sounds and colours, and it has plenty of things for a child to press and listen to but the one thing that REALLY lets it down is the fact that every letter has a word associated with it that actually starts with that letter, were as X doesn't which i think would become very confusing for a child learning new words and sounds, as the lettersaurus indicates that Exit is spelt Xit, leapfrog really should have used a word like x ray.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Music fun.

By farnjeni from Pocatello, Idaho on 06/04/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My son likes the toy so far. My problem is the buttons get stuck and the toy emits a loud high pitched beeb until you stop it. My second problem is the fact that it says you can personalize the toy to learn the first letter of my child's name, when I get on the web site on the list of toys to personalize the lettersaurus is not there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

X for Exit!

By CSH227 from St Albans on 05/17/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Thought this toy was excellent until my husband returned home and started playing with it and pressed the letter X and it stated Exit as the word! The packaging is misleading and not a true reflection of the product, i.e. 'push its letter to hear a name, sound and A WORD THAT BEGINS WITH THE LETTER'. Very confusing for a child. I purchased two, one for my daughter and another for our godsons first birthday but thankfully I only purchased today therefore will be making a quick trip to return them to the shop tomorrow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

product concern

By avie from Ph on 04/16/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

a nephew of mine received a Lettersaurus as a presence and because we find it educational and my child tend to like it we bought another one, the toy is really good it just we just find out that the letter X has an erroneous concern and will surely confuse a child with it's X - exit, due to this I don't let my child play the said portion of the toy anymore, hope you can address this concern for the benefit of the children who really are enjoying the said toy. Do want to recommend with my friends but double-minded due to said concern.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not impressed

By Sandra from Norristown, PA on 04/15/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received this toy for my daughter for her first birthday. I really liked it at first until I started looking and playing with it more. I do not like the fact there is a color pattern on the front and by the letter "M" it stops. then "N-Z" there is no pattern in the color what so ever. I would have rather this toy teach my daughter the pattern it started with from "A-L". Also, when i switched the the letter learning part. The "X" for Exit really bothers me. For a leapfrog toy to be teaching my child that exit starts with an "X" does not impress me. I love ll leapfrog toys, but this one... not so much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cute toy

By TNMom1 from TN on 02/07/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love all LeapFrog toys we have so far. In reference to several other reviews, I like that the "x" uses the word "exit." My son is only 15 months old and saying the letter x and then a word that doesn't use that sound wouldn't make sense at this point. This one word on one toy is certainly not going to harm his ability to learn to read or write. I like that it has three settings. Right now my son loves music so that is his favorite setting, and I'm sure as he gets older the colors and letters will be more interesting. It would be fun if it said his whole name like Scout does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Son Loves It!

By Berr1 from Undisclosed on 01/15/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son loves this dino. He laughs and danced every time it sings the alphabet. I love the words associated with each letter, even the X. I'm not relying on this toy alone to teach my child word structure, sounds and spelling so I'm not worried that he'll think the word "exit" starts with X. That notion is easily corrected and explained when he actually starts spelling about 3 years from now! Children need to have the sounds learned before they can spell, which is what this toy promotes. Just my opinion as a Preschool and Elementary grades teacher, but both myself and my son LOVE this toy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Letter X

By Moni from Maryland on 01/13/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The Letter X ruins this toy for Leap Frog. No place on the box does it describe the toy as teaching the child sounds. If it did, i believe parents would not have a problem with the letter X. This is truly a disappointment for me by this Leap Frog product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Duh...

By farrahsmommy from Cola, SC on 01/02/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I agree with everyone else...X is NOT for EXIT! The X in xylophone may not be the most common sound an X makes, but at least the word starts with the letter (which follows the pattern Leapfrog set forth with all the other letters). I do not understand Leapfrog's logic here (see first customer review of this product for details).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Learning Tool with Fun in mind

By Shar from Melbourne, Australia on 01/02/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The dino is adorable! My 10 month old absolutely loves getting rewarded for pushing his buttons! I have a sister who teaches reading recovery at primary school and she is overjoyed at the word and sound LeapFrog chose for the letter "x" The english language is one of the hardest to learn and I would much prefer my daughter to be able to know what "sound" the letter makes rather than just knowing a word that starts with that letter. (ks) for X is great! At least when she reads words and sounds them out, she'll be able to know that it makes that sound instead of "z" like Xylophone would have them believe. Kudos to you LeapFrog for making an absolutely adorable toy that keeps my daughter involved and she has fun with. She rolls around the floor with it, pressing buttons and giggling and dances to the ABC song. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Letter Sauars

By Sherri from St.Catharines Ontario on 12/27/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son gets a kick out of the head of the Dino, When ever it lights up he starts clapping his hands, Thanks LeapFrog for such a great learning toy!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Xit

By PeanutsMomma from Undisclosed on 12/26/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 10 month old son just got this as a Christmas present. My first thought was how cute of a toy it was! Not only did it sing him the letters and it worked with colors as well! With so many new toys this Christmas we finally got around to playing with the letterasuarus today. I wanted to hear what each letter was before I programed his name in on his letter and was pretty suprised by the variety of words and sounds with each letter....UNTIL we got to X. Last I checked EXIT does NOT begin with X. That ruined the toy right there. =( And I still can't find where to program the toy at!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and Cute.

By Kimster from Tucson, AZ on 12/26/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 17 month old daughter was given this toy for christmas this year. She loves all the music and singing and like to press the buttons like every baby does. My only wish is that when it comes to the personalization, you could enter the childs whole name, not just the first letter of their name. But aside from that, it is a fun toy and my daughter is fully enjoying it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

meannoyed if you turn the ...

By Donsy from Undisclosed on 12/25/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

meannoyed if you turn the toy off and then press the letters L & M silmultaniously and then turn it on while holding them down it will give u instructions on how to personalise it to the first letter of your childs name my daughter got this for xmas today and i have personalised hers this evening once she went to bed. hope this helps


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Proper instructions to personalize???

By MeAnnoyed from Undisclosed on 12/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this toy which is really cute but there are two problems. ONE, its says that I can personalize the toy to say the first letter of the child's name but I go online to do so and cannot seem to figure it out let alone, the website on the instructions to personalize it (leapfrog.com/personalize) brings me to an error page. Second. X is not for EXIT. X for Xylophone would have been more appropriate, kids are fast learners and hearing that word repeated under X would not have been too hard. Just my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Malsmama from Phoenix, AZ on 08/18/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son received this as a birthday gift and absolutely loves it. He has been carrying it around pushing the buttons. It has lots of great music and a great teaching tool for abc's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My son loves it

By Ajay from Undisclosed on 07/19/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

He dances to the ABC song, barely talking but managed to spit out " my dinosaur" he's so cute with it. Aint put it down all night. well worth the money to see him happy. Easy to carry around. Like that he will not only learn letters but colors too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cute with one flaw!

By Misty from Georgetown, Tx on 07/08/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have owned the caterpillars in the past and loved them. So I thought my twin boys would love this dinosaur. It is great . . . except for the x. All the letter buttons say the letter with one press of the button, say the sound with the second press, and say a word that starts with that letter on the third press. But for x, it says "exit." I know it's not a huge deal, but I wish there was a word that starts with an x in that spot rather than exit. No, my kids won't go dumb because of it . . . but it is rather annoying!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved