Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » 19179 » 10 Reviews

LeapFrog Peek-a-Shoe Talking Octopus - Theme/Subject: Learning - Skill Learning: Counting, Color, Animal, Motor Skills Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 10 reviews)

60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Grows With Child (3), Fun For Kids (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Well made well spent

By Xandra from ATLANTA on 10/18/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this toy for my daughter first birthday gift,she fell in love with it the moment i took it out the box. it didn't take her long before she understood the concept about it and how it worked. I also caught myself singing and dancing to the songs that plays when she gets the ball under the right shoe correct. its a fun family time game. i worth the cost and will grow with her for awhile.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My son loved this toy! Me not so much.

By iwhuff from Alabama on 12/05/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this toy last Christmas for my son who was 5 months, he didn't really learn to play with it until his first birthday and now a less than a year from the purchase date the shoes and balls are missing. The shoes should be secured so the toy could be used even if the consumer needed to purchase replacement balls. My son loves to take the parts off and throw the balls wherever but I could do without the hide and seek parts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ocean Fun

By chrissie20071 from Dartford, UK on 06/14/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This keeps this my little one busy for hours weather its switched on or not, he loves dropping the coloured balls in the top and then lifting the shoes to find them, this is great because it doesn't drop the balls in the same place every time, so it keeps the child thinking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It Grows with your child

By Rockymax123 from Linden MI on 05/31/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son max loves this leapfrog toy it is very fun and it kepps him busy when I'm doing some chores


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very disappointed

By mblanke from Kansas City on 02/12/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was so excited to see a toy that incorporated my child's favorite things; balls and Peek-a-boo. I ordered it for my son's 1 year birthday thinking it would be the quality of the other Leap Frog products I have purchased in the past. I am highly disappointed. I do not now how it got a toy of the year award. The shoes come off easily. It is not something they can play with on carpet or any uneven surface because it gets confused. There are times that it even thinks there is a ball in one of the shoes and there isn't. I would encourage any one considering this item to avoid it. I hope that Leap Frog takes the feedback that has been left on this item and drastically improves it. The concept was good, but was poorly executed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cute but...

By Izzy from Undisclosed on 12/25/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was a gift for my 11 1/2 month old for his first Christmas. It's a cute little thing but I do not understand why it does not have some sort of a base to keep all of the parts together when not in use. The holding area for the balls only holds 3 at best. Without a base below the shoes, the balls just roll around and get misplaced. Seems like a way to cut corners and get something made on the cheap rather than try to keep all the pieces together. It's cute but I certainly wouldn't have chosen to purchase this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed Leap Frog

By ProudMomma from Undisclosed on 11/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have LOVED all of the Leap Frog toys I have bought in the past, either for my classroom or gifts for kids. So, when I had my own baby I started wanting everything Leap Frog. My son got this as a 1st birthday gift and it is a sad waste of money. When you lift two of the shoes (yes they are in the right spot) it says the wrong color. The shoes also fall off so easily. It also really needs 8 legs with shoes on it to be an octopus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

limited features but sort of fun

By MsHoney from Upper Darby, Pa on 10/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The pros: the toy is very easy to use, and provides the repetitve learning features that toddlers love. My son is not very gentle with his toys as most boys arent so I love that once the balls are dropped they stay put within the body; even if the child knocks it over completely balls dont fly all over the place. The cons?: I wish that it have more variety of songs that play, and it also bothers me that the octopus only has seven appendages (eigth one drawn on the back looks more like a tail). also its very hard for my toddler to move from one spot to another, a handle would be nice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cute idea, but a few flaws

By JilliansMom from South Dakota on 10/23/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter received this for her first birthday. I was sure she was going to like it because she loves anything that involves balls. She immediately got the concept of how and where to put the balls in the top of the head and arms of the octopus. And I was right, she loved it! However, there are few flaws with the design. First, it tips over very easily. After she places the balls in the slots she figured out that she didn't have to "look" for the balls as the toy is intended. She can just lift it up or push it over and get the balls. She still continues to put play with the toy, she just doesn't look under the shoes for the balls. Second, the shoes come off really easy. I am now finding her walking around the house carrying a ball in one hand and one of the shoes in the other. And Lastly, different balls from other toys can get caught in the octopus. She has another toy that involves balls so she easily places them in the octopus and they get stuck further down. The slots at the top are big enough to let larger balls in, but further down it doesn't allow them to come through. So they get stuck in the middle. However, regardless of the flaws in the design she still continues to play with the toy and has a fun time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great concept with a few issues

By GMom from Baltimore, MD on 08/05/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Falls over easily. Reports incorect ball locations


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved