Home » 19186 » 34 Reviews

Leapfrog 19186 Chat & Count Cell Phone Violet Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 34 reviews)

67% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Not Engaging Enough (8), Good For On-the-go Play (19), Fun For Kids (19), Educational (7), Grows With Child (10)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

This product is amazing for young children!

By MyaRie from Williamsburg, VA on 09/18/2015


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son LOVES this toy! I got it for him when he was 1 year old, he is almost 3 now. He quickly learned his counting 1-10 & enjoyed having little conversations on it. It really is a great learning device. Its great for keeping kids occupied on long drives or when going to bed he would listen/watch it and count along while he dozed off. The light made it convent for him to use while going to bed as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grow-a-long

By Lolarae from Walnut Creek, CA on 10/25/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I gave cell phones to each of my 2 year old twin grandchildren. They immediately knew to hold them against their ears, and loved pushing the buttons. In the future they will enjoy learning from the phones and interacting mpre with them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great replica of a real phone

By gigi21 from Los Angeles, CA on 10/17/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great toy for those little ones that love to play with mommy and daddy's cell phone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another great product from LeapFrog

By SE2014 from Tennessee on 09/27/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 year old loves this toy! He already knows how to count to 25 so this toy is fun for him. He counts along with it and it is helping him with conversational skills too. My 16 month old likes to say"hello" to it as well so he's learning more of the conversation skills with it but they both are having a ball with this toy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun device

By lancer from Venice, Fl on 09/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Grandson enjoys listening, but still too young to speak but the device should be a good learning tool


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value!

By MunchkinsMom from Undisclosed on 09/19/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not only were my kids fascinated with this toy, but it is extremely durable. Ours got submerged in the water multiple times, dropped from decent heights many times, and never even thought about stopping working. I had to change the batteries and that was it. 2 1/2 years of solid use by two toddlers...this device is amazing. It is a great learning tool that I loved seeing my kids play with. Amazing Value. Definitely should buy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decent product

By dcprincess from PA on 08/23/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is pretty good. Wish it was more like the prior version. Great for pretend play, especially if you have two. Teaches numbers by sight and verbally. Would recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cute phone

By littlevillagemommy from Chicago, Il on 04/15/2014


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I thought my baby was going to like it, but it turned out he doesn't really care for it. I got it for him because he would love to play with our cell phones but it wasn't good enough for him. hopefully he will like it by the time he is 2 years old.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very poor sound quality

By MirandaDay from Bluff, Durban, South Africa on 02/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

very disappointed @ how soft the volume is - for this reason, my child hardly ever plays with it would have expected better from a branded toy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quit after one month of use

By Neese38 from Saint Marys, GA on 01/24/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

There is obviously an issue with this product. It is adorable and my twin girls love it; however one phone has stopped working ( dead, will not even turn on) after less than one month. Like others, I have noted some corrosion in the battery compartment. I am trying to locate a receipt from Christmas so that they can refund my purchase price,.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not to happy

By Lapardue from Louisville, Ky on 01/05/2014


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Loved this phone for my 14 month old daughter, when it died and I went to replace the batteries they had corroded. Now the phone won't work at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ENDED UP BEING A DISAPPOINTMENT

By LisaF from CAMP LEJEUNE NC on 07/12/2013


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son received this toy cell phone as a birthday gift and LOVED it, until it stopped working out of the blue...and yes I tried to change the batteries. Even with new batteries, it did nothing. (The screen on these toys could use some updating too. It is a little hard to see.) I really hate that this happened, since my son actually loved playing with it. Obviously from reading some of the reviews on here, this problem is not uncommon. A replacement would really be appreciated!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor product

By lsand from al on 02/23/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This phone stopped working after a month of use. It had no sound whatsoever. I would expect better quality from LeapFrog.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok but not Amazing

By PetalsMom from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My child is 17 months old and got this as a gift. The screen is very dark and hard to see in low light. It does help with her number recognition. She likes it and enjoys that it talks to her, more like a cell phone than other toys.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped after 5 minutes

By BGBMom from Sherrill, New York on 12/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this phone for my 21 month old son. For the 5 minutes it worked properly he loved it, then it no longer had any sound. we did all the trouble shooting suggestions nothing worked. Very disappointed this is the first time I have every been let down by a Leap Frog product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The idea of such a phone ...

By Philip from Undisclosed on 12/25/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The idea of such a phone is very good. However this item has three very big minuses: 1. The display brightness is not adjustable and it is to pale by default, 2. sounds are barely heard from the speaker and there is no option to make it enough louder, 3. the item is too heavy for children.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

so disapointed

By GeeGee from Erie, PA on 11/16/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

my siter in law purchased this phone as a gift to my son under assumption that it will interact with the toy she got him for Christmas last year. Scout pops up on the screen but the phone does not actually interacts with Scout. From the box, I got the same assumption... I really thought it will actually interact with Scout, but it does not... Very dissapointed... My one year old still enjoys the toy, but it could have been so much better!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too dull a screen

By Helen from Undisclosed on 11/13/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this phone for my daughter because it was said to be an educational product. I agree it is BUT you can hardly see what's on the screen. I wish it were lighting up. She does not seem to enjoy it. It is also bulkier than I imagined. Please do something about the dull screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Did not meet expectation

By Anonymous from Al on 09/14/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this for my 16 month old Granddaughter because she loves to talk on cell phones. I was very disappointed as I had expected more from Leapfrog. You cannot adjust the brightness on the screen so it's barely visible. I thought you could record messages for child, you cannot. Also I thought you could connect to the Learning Path & add features which you cannot. Just an average phone and she already has several of these. I thought I was getting her something better. Very disappointed. She has the Violet dog which is entertaining but she lost interest pretty fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This one's a winner.

By Lucky from Undisclosed on 09/13/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Every child is different. For our child, this has been the perfect toy! Whenever I'm heading to/from daycare with her (only 8 min each way), she gets bored and starts stripping off her shoes, socks, tossing toys, etc. I keep trying to keep her engaged, but she hasn't quite learned to talk yet (songs don't have that much interest yet), and loves having something in her hands. Nana got her this phone for her 1st birthday. She absolutely loves it! Not only does it keep her engaged for her short car trips (so I don't have to re-dress her when we get to our destination), but it also keeps her from grabbing for our phones. The other day when I brought her home, she kept pressing the #4 and saying f-- before the phone said "Four." If she doesn't know her numbers through 10 from this thing before she's 18 months, I'll be surprised. My only complaint is that I can't call it when it's gone missing. :) (My daughter likes putting stuff in/under other things. This is the perfect size to find it's way under a couch cushion, down the stairs, in her toy car, etc.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

product features could be improved

By grandmanina from Las Vegas on 08/13/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

wished the screen would light up better. not very visible. been looking for a play phone for a long time and this came the closest. love leap frog products just a little disappointed with the screen on this one as child loses interest as lighting is important as well as noise on toys.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's ok.

By DonMom from Round Rock, TX on 01/09/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I thought my son was getting a lot more for the money I spent on it. I wish it had colorful lights, the screen and pictures are so dim you can barely see it. The songs arent anything that peaks his interest. It's no different than any other phone you could buy for much less.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Both of my kids love this

By lukesmama from Tracy, CA on 11/27/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My mother in law got this for my 15 month old daughter because she loves to talk on the phone. However, my son (who is almost 3) loves this! He plays with it in the car and it keeps him occupied at the supermarket. We have only had it for a few days so I haven't seen everything it does but felt compelled to write a review after he showed me the numbers on the phone! He can already count but after having this phone for a few days and playing with it in the car, he can actually identify what the numbers look like. I was very surprised! For the price and educational value, I would definitely recommend this toy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and portable!

By UnserMOM from Tell CIty IN on 11/10/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my son love anything to do with phones... he has had play phones before but this one teaches him numbers and how to count.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME!!!

By Jenilee from Jersey City, NJ on 06/28/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son got Scout when he was 6 months old and the first time he heard him say his name, he was AMAZED. We take Scout everywhere and my son never gets bored. We love that Scout knows his favorite foods, color, animal, etc. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My kids love it! I mostly love it.

By KrissyPoo from cleveland, ohio on 03/08/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I looked everywhere for a phone for my son so I could finally not have to battle for my own! This is one of the few that looks like a current cell phone and has the lovely voice of dear, sweet, wonderfully unannoying, playful Scout! My kids love it but I wish it did a little more. I wish it had lights of some sort so that you could see the animation on the screen or the numbers on the buttons while driving at night or in lower lighting. Especially because the blue light up tag is one of my sons favorite features of Scout's! I also wish it had more songs, but the songs it does have are cute. Too bad you can't switch them out like you can on the Scout puppy and customize the name so Scout can call on the phone. Basically I wish it was more like the brilliant My Pal. Still my kids love it and it is the best option out there, just wish it had a few more features. But my kids love it and its a toy for them so isn't that all that matters anyway? But if anyone from Leap Frog happens to read this and decides to update the phone please let me know! I love all your products :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scout is amazing!!

By anna from Seattle, WA on 01/31/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son got it for his first Christmas, he was 11 months old. He still plays with it all the time. He loves to hear his name and dances all around the house to the songs. Plus, i can change the songs on it so he doesn't get bored with the same songs over and over again. It's also great for when we are traveling since it plays bedtime music. I never have to pack his music again! This is probably the best gift he has ever received and i am planning on buying one for my niece's first birthday, (a Violet, though)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME!

By emmilou1988 from Prattville, AL on 01/22/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was bought for my son by a friend for his first Christmas when he was 10 months old and he absolutely LOVES it! We set him to play bedtime music for 10 minutes every night and he falls asleep loving on scout's ear. He gets excited to hear the puppy say his name every time!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must Have!!

By Funmommy from illinois on 12/29/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best phone!! My daughter 15 months finally will leave my phone alone. We have every phone on earth and this one truly engages her!!!! She also loves that she sees scout ( we have violet and she is a favorite toy too!!! ) I only wish this phone was around sooner!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly Recommend!!!

By MissouriMama from Missouri on 12/25/2010


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son LOVES this phone. He carries it with him wherever he goes. I highly recommend it for little ones, especially for little ones that like to try and take off with an adults cell phone. My child totally leaves my phone alone now because he has his own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scout is awesome!

By rothlandermama from Yorkton, Saskatchewan on 11/22/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter is 22 months old and got Scout (the store was out of Violet's) last Halloween because she was too young for candy. She LOVES him! If we traveled and didn't have her aquarium for bedtime we took Scout, and she plays with him in the car & cuddles him to fall asleep! Now that she's older she will squeeze his paw to play music and dance around the house with him, she's even learning to spell her own name because of the song "Let's Sing A Song About You!" Scout is fantastic, every child this age should have one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Item

By JaxonsMom from NY on 11/17/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My sister in law got this as a present for my son for xmas he was about 18months and he LOVEDD it and still does... since then I have bought it twice for other babies who also love it... and i have had ours for over a year now and it is still working great, and haven't changed the batteries once.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good counting tool

By Felyon from Hope Mills, NC on 11/04/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This toy is great for learning communication skills, and learning to count.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

was cute for a month

By Chris from Undisclosed on 10/19/2010


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Mine stopped working a month after Christmas even though we tried putting new batteries and everything...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved