Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » 19232 » 16 Reviews

Leapfrog 19232 Read With Me Scout Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 16 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Educational (14), Fun For Kids (14), Good For On-the-go Play (11), Grows With Child (9)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Violet - read me with scout

By Subaekyang from El Cerrito, CA on 01/22/2015


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent educational toy for toddler. Great for education


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great step-up from My Pal Scout

By PROUDPOPS from Houston, TX on 01/06/2015


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We received this as a Christmas gift from family. My 4 year-old thoroughly enjoys "petting" and listening to Scout read the included stories. I expect to be replacing quite a few sets of batteries with this toy, which I consider a positive as Read With Me Scout successfully engages my son everyday. The only issue I see is that there doesn't seem to be any way to upgrade or purchase additional stories for Scout to read. My family trashed the box along with any instructions as Read With Me Scout was a present left by Santa Clause.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grandson loves it!

By Sissi from Atlanta, GA on 01/04/2015


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this for my 2 1/2 year old grandson and he is enjoying it. He hasn't quite understood he can do it himself, but I feel certain he'll get there. I believe it will be the perfect gift for him as he grows into that "I can do it myself" stage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

has great features

By happygram1 from WV on 01/03/2015


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

can't really comment because was a gift to my grandson and haven't had chance to interact yet but his mommy is very pleased with it! will update as soon as possible!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for toddlers

By Melo84 from new your,ny on 01/03/2015


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this item. I bought two for my niece and nephew they are in love and eager to read. I plan on buying two more for my friends kids


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful item! Very ...

By Sydney2011 from Virginia on 11/21/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wonderful item! Very educational and easy for a 3 year old to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING

By BHoward from Fort Myers on 10/18/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Read with me Scout is excellent. One of the most interactive toys that I have ever used. I especially like the pet and hug feature, and of course the kiss feature. It allows you to give love when you are scared at night and have a cute little friend to be there and to comfort you. The stories are entertaining as well, with a giggly sound track and soft fur. Also, the battery lasts INCREDIBLY long. Cleaning may be a little difficult and Read with me Scout also has been known to turn on at night if bumped wrong, So bear this in mind, multiple button presses may be necessary in order to get to the song that you want. Stuffing may also need replaced or refluffed after a lot of snuggles. Not a bad thing, but those four things but enough to drop features down a point. I brought this to the hospital when i was overnight, and it was cuddly and available to give me lots of snuggles, although shut off. I look forward to cuddling this cute puppy nightly, and in my opinion, is possibly the best toy leapfrog has. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great toy thats a cuddler too

By Jaderae from Texas on 08/25/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We loved our my pal scout, and my pal violet so it was no surprise we also love the read along Violet. The stores are just the right length for our 2 year old, she loves to read along. It teaches her so much, colors, following instructions, basic songs and counting. We love the bed time settings too and the music is perfect. The only con I have is when you are choosing the story. It tells you about the cover and helps make sure you have the right book. I usually have the book first then hit a button.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cute and Educational

By AJ75 from Undisclosed on 08/11/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Read With Me Scout is a great way to make reading fun. The toy is adorable, and the voice is soothing. The experience is interactive; kids have the option of choosing which book to read. Scout also stops periodically to ask the child to point out some aspect of the story. I am pleased with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Read with me Scout

By LovingMother from Undisclosed on 07/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I read a review by another Mom that is exactly what I have experienced. I thought the toy was broken because every time you tried to read a new book it would start with the weather book. It asks the same questions over and over and the sleep mode does not work. Not a good quality product. Skip it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Scout is Awesome but wish it had more books

By Mommy2Three from Kansas on 01/07/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 year old got one for Christmas this past year. He was so excited because he still loves his "My Pal Scout". After we opened it and everything he had the books read within 20 min. Wish the books would have been a little longer or had more books to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2nd defective one

By JakeH from Ohio on 01/05/2014


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

On this one the collar buttons don't work at all .... the previous one we had issues with the front left paw not working at all. Our son loves his original Scout and was excited to get a Reading Scout ... seemingly a big swing and a miss with this particular toy. It will be going back (again) and we will invest in some learning games for the LeapPad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poorly Programmed in my opinion

By Marthim from Undisclosed on 12/30/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I hope that we are using it wrong. However, it does not work as advertised. You can not do anything until it sings through the songs and reads half of the weather story. Every time. My daughter never gets to a new story because she is tired of hearing the same half of the weather book, but it takes too long to be able to change it. Also, on the sleep time setting it is supposed to turn off talking features so as not to wake the child while cuddling. This does not work, and that setting does the exact same things as the reading setting. I thought we had a defective one, so we exchanged for a new one. It does the same thing, so must be the programming.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent toy

By Maritza from Maputo, Mp on 12/25/2013


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter was so happy to receive in this Christmas time this toy. She loves it so much. It is interesting, how it awake the reading desire in the child as my daughter recently made 6 years old. Hours of fun!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cuddly Educational Toy that Promotes Reading

By TeacherMomma from Undisclosed on 07/18/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Violet has quickly become one of my son's favorite toys. Besides being educational and promoting reading readiness, Violet is very soft and cuddly. Even when he is not reading the books with her, he loves to have her come on his adventures camping under the dining room table or exploring the cave under the bed. I have found it is very rare to have an electronic and educational toy that is also cuddly. As far as the educational aspects of this toy, I started off a little skeptical. Many toys that claim to teach reading comprehension do nothing of the sort, or they have one set of questions that the child hears every time they read the book. Read with Me Violet has many different questions, and I have not had the same experience reading a book with her yet. The questions she asks encourage the child to make connections to their own feelings as well as asking the child to look closer at the book and interact with the pictures and context of the story. I like that Violet reinforces the correct answer after she asks it most of the time. I did find it a little odd that when she asks you to pat her back if you feel happy, she will not accept any other answer before moving on in the story. What if the child is not feeling happy at the time? Other than that, I felt that the educational portion of this toy was very well done. As for ease of use, when I first introduced my 3 year old son to Violet, I handed her to him with the books. I showed him how to turn her on and off (that's always his first question), and showed him how to choose which book he wanted her to read. Then I let him explore on his own. He was quickly able to follow her directions and even started answering some of the questions verbally (something that he doesn't usually do with inanimate objects like TV shows). He was also able to easily figure out how to turn the page and answer questions using the sensors. Overall, I think that this toy definitely does what it advertises. I would definitely recommend this toy to other parents who want to encourage their child to love reading, especially if they are not a family that reads together every day. As a teacher, I would love my students to come to me with the experiences they get from playing with this toy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice idea, but needs some work.

By Ellinida from Florida on 07/05/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 3 year old loves anything with Scout. He already has a My Pal Scout (which is a great toy and one of his favorites), and when he saw Read With Me Scout at the store yesterday he desperately wanted to take it home. However, ours doesn't seem to work as well as we would like. To turn the page of the story, you have to pat it's head precisely on the star spot, not too soft or too hard, and if you pat it too many times then it goes and does something else. (Even I had some trouble getting it to work right, so this does not seem to be a toy my child can play with independently yet. He needs my help to facilitate and he needs me to help him with getting the patting right. I realized afterward that you can also pet instead of patting, but we'll try that this weekend.) Also, I wish there was an option to lock the story mode so that if my son picks up Scout to hold him while reading the book, Scout doesn't stop reading. Also, Scout will change stories if my son pushes the buttons on his collar during a story, even if he didn't intend to change the story. When that happens, you have to go back to the story you were reading and start it all over again. I am trying to teach him that some of these motions will cause Scout to stop reading, but I don't know if he gets it yet. I also wish squeezing Scout's paw continuously wouldn't cause him to change songs non-stop (my son does sometimes does this with My Pal Scout, too). You also have to be very careful not to get this Scout wet or dirty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved