Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » 21201 » 9 Reviews

LeapFrog Tag Junior Scout Book Pal Learning Toy - Theme/Subject: Learning - Skill Learning: Alphabet, Counting, Social Activity, Question, Word, Listening, Reading, Vocabulary, Rhyming, Spelling, Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

33% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Educational (5), Fun For Kids (6), Grows With Child (3), Good For On-the-go Play (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

No way to know if this is fun or educational!

By Becca2 from Midland, TX on 09/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My son just became interested in this recently, he is now 2 1/2, but it rarely works! I have had to plug it in to the computer and re-save the books each day, sometimes multiple times a day. This can be very annoying for a toddler and extremely frustrating for momma! I should also mention, if I hadn't had an old Windows based computer this item would be completely worthless to me as I have not been able to get LeapFrog Connect to work on my Mac computers for longer than one sync. I wouldn't waste my money and time on another Leap Frog product! Will be looking elsewhere for educational toys in the future!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustratingly low memory

By elijahj from Virginia on 08/05/2015


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The kids love this product, but it seems very poor design to include only 8MB of memory. I can buy an SD card that could easily hold all the books available on leap reader for a few dollars, but this product can only hold about 4-5 books at a time. So if your children like to read a large variety of books like mine do, you will spend more time on the computer loading and unloading books onto it than your kids will actually using the product. Unfortunately this is the case with next pen too. It also only holds a handful of books.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not enough memory

By bagofbagels from Florida on 07/16/2015


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We asked Grandpa and Grandma for this gift and now I feel bad about it. The concept itself is fantastic and my 3y/o loves it! However people buy us more books to use with it, but if you notice, there's only 8MB of memory!!!What!?! We now own several of the "sets" and you can only do one set at a time--so when she wants to read from both sets, I can't let her! :( Then I have to connect the Leap Jr. to the computer, remove one set, add the other, etc, etc, etc. You get the picture--it ruins the novelty, the love of the books, and the toy itself--when a toddler doesn't know which books they can/can't read--well, it's not going to last long. It's too bad, because we really like the idea and it's so easy for her to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LeapReader Junior is fun

By Nanaof6 from Derby NY on 02/15/2015


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I really like the product BUT it has one draw back. You can only have 3 books installed in the leapReader. If you want another book you have to remove one. I was disappointed with that because I ordered several books. That said I really like the product otherwise. I only purchased the LeapReader Junior because I love the LeapReader. Buty 3 year old grand daughter has trouble with the pen shape of the LeapReader. The LeapReader Junior isuch easier for her to handle. I would recommend it if it held more books in its memory.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst website ever

By gcgc from d on 12/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

impossible to find audio download location but very easy to find something for sale. big joke


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great toy but needs more memory

By Momof3girlies from Jurupa Valley, CA on 12/26/2014


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought as a Christmas gift for my 14 month old daughter. She enjoys making Violet talk by rolling her over the pages, which helps with her reading skills as she is already learning to follow along with the words on each page. I am very disappointed in the lack of memory on the device itself. Can only upload TWO books at a time. There are so many books available for it, having to hook it up to the computer and switch them out often seems like a hassle. Also, making it rechargeable would be awesome as I can see this model running thru batteries pretty quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

8 mb of memory - You're kidding, right?!

By Disappointedagain from Ohio on 04/20/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is so totally unacceptable. There is only 8 mb of memory which only allows for two books. That's right folks - forget downloading all of the other books they advertise, because none of them will fit onto the toy without constant deletion of previously purchased books. Which means the books you buy you have to delete over and over again. Leap frog, you do realize that its 2014 - right? Salt to the wound, includes the speakers being cheap - while the sound quality is audible, it is poor. It certainly is not of the quality you'd prefer for this type of toy. The only thing that makes this toy fun is that its a good concept. Massive fail!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Its okay

By Cowgirl12 from Undisclosed on 03/31/2014


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Child used it to 2 days and didn't like it but like to play with it But my aunts child tried it once and he loved it so much I would recommend this to a friend!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

8MB of memory

By BusyDad from Indiana on 03/16/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is fantastic. It is durable and educational. BUT it has only 8MB of memory. That's only enough for 2-3 books. I bought two of these so that I could store some of our books on one and other books on the second. But I still spend time every day removing books and replacing them with others. Flash memory is so extremely cheap! Plus, unlike the other Reader products, the LeapReader has plenty of space inside to install additional memory. Examples of how small 8MB of memory is: 1.) I bought a computer 2 decades ago in 1994 that had 8MB of RAM. 2.) I bought an 8MB flash memory USB 13 years ago in 2001. 3.) The CALCULATOR I use at work has 4MB of memory. I wouldn't mind if LeapFrog charged more money for more memory. Why not sell an upgraded version with 256 MB? Again, flash memory is CHEAP! Great product. I couldn't recommend it more highly! But this product will continue to get a one star review from me for all the time that I have spent every day switching out books constantly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved