Home » 21301 » 30 Reviews

Leapfrog 21301 Leapreader Reading Writing Sys Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 30 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Educational (28), Fun For Kids (28), Grows With Child (25), Good For On-the-go Play (24)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Fun for my 6 year old

By nlsxm from Miami on 09/14/2015


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my daughter who struggles with reading. It's not that she is no smart, she just found reading boring. Leap Reader has done wonders on her. She now looks forward to reading and tell you the truth, I never thought that I will see such a day. I got her the Cinderella book as book # 2 and that is her favorite so far. Once she is up to speed with that book, then will move on to the new options.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pre Kinder Activities

By Cartoz from Newport Beach, California on 03/07/2015


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our precocious 3 1/2 year old is enjoying the 4-6 year old books...interactive, fun and educational. There are so many options on each page, she won't tire of this for a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

leapreader

By malachi31716 from Decatur, IL on 02/26/2015


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this product. Once my grandson settles down, he will have hours of learning and fun at the same time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Item for Independence

By BuggyandSparky from Xiamen, China on 01/07/2015


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter has been using this pen since she was 2. Now she is almost 4 and we are on our second one. (First one was stolen) and she is able to use the features of sounding our, pronouncing, and so forth the words and the books are getting more advanced. Thank you Leap Frog. I would like to see more memory capability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My granddaughter loved ...

By Vicars from Dallas, TX on 12/31/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My granddaughter loved this product. She used it alot while they were with us over Christmas. I would say it was her favorite.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped working

By 3xmom from City of Angels on 12/30/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The product started off great but one day it just stop holding a charge. I think it might have worked 6 months or so. I have a lot of books so I'm a little perturbed about having to buy another one but I guess I will. Let's hope I have better luck next time!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is amazing!

By Nannieof5 from New Jersey on 12/13/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product for my three year old granddaughter. She loves it. She not only likes reading the books, she also likes the writing products that we purchased to go along with it. I love that they could either read the entire page or read word by word. I had to purchase one for her two year old sister because she loves it too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product is junk. Stopped working after 4 months.

By My3Babes from DC Metro Area on 11/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Let me start by saying that I love the idea of this product, and my daughter LOVED her Leap Reader, using it almost daily. (My older son had a Tag Reader which he also loved.) She got it for Christmas last year and by April the thing stopped working, conveniently after the 3-month warranty. After checking forums online, the defect seems to be common and there appears to be no fix last time I checked. So it basically lasted for 4 months. Now I have all these books, and we can't use them, and I don't trust that a new one will last any longer. This thing would be fantastic, if only it worked.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LeapReader

By JessicaNMyles from Undisclosed on 10/20/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son got this for his 5th birthday. He loves it! He has always been a little above average when it comes to learning. He is a quick learn and loves to absorb everything he possibly can. So this has made his birthday that much more fun. He uses it while in the truck to occupy his time. The only "down-side" I can comment on is it's a little confusing trying to switch between modes using the forward and backward buttons. Also, it takes a while to charge but I'm ok with that because LeapFrog was upfront about that in the Parent Guide.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Educational / Fun

By Taiwo from NJ on 10/13/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Besides educational features, you can also download music to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The leapreader is a much ...

By jonofcolumbus from Madison, WI on 09/24/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The leapreader is a much loved toy in our house. A very engaging alternative to television.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By LoveLeap from Allen, TX on 09/22/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this for my 3 and 4 year old boys and it's been such a great learning tool for them. They enjoy all the different books and I've noticed a huge improvement in enthusiasm and reading ability once we got this product. They get to interact with everything on each page which they love. We've actually bought the learning system twice since the pen accidentally broke from dropping it. Only suggestion I would like to see is an option to buy the pen individually rather than having to have to buy the whole learning system again since we already had the books that came with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MORE MEMORY NEEDED - Not everything fits on it.

By jase from Charlotte, NC on 09/20/2014


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We like this. However, adding and syncing books and activities takes forever...way too cumbersome. And the memory capacity of the device is a shame only 200MB, of which much of that is taken up by the device itself. In days when memory is so inexpensive, an 8GB capacity would have been nice, with all items preloaded. We ordered most of the educational items and books that work with the device, but can't fit them all on there! Not happy about that. But, we really like how they work and so do our kids.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

leap reader

By quaw205 from Plainview, MN on 07/25/2014


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this for my grandson as his sister has one, with batteries. We had a hard time charging it and thought it did not work. After 2 days it started making sounds and working. Perhaps a time for charging could be added to the instructions and what will happen when it does get charged. It is hard to explain to a 3yr.old why he needs to wait.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

brakes easy

By 3lizabeth from Undisclosed on 07/24/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really enjoy using the reader will do it all day long with different books. I only wish that it was put together better to withstand frequent use, the first one i had only lsted 3-4 months before the (push) tip had issues and no longer works, will only read the last book out loud. so we are hoping for better out come. Warrenty is only for 30 days.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good

By AlwaysMommy from River Valley, AR on 07/22/2014


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter loves her "Pen" as she calls it. She is learning all kinds of new interesting facts. She is proud to be able to tell you little facts. I am very glad I got it. Although I did have a little bit of trouble with downloads, but not too bad. So, all around happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love This Product

By DC84850813 from Lithonia, GA on 12/26/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm so happy that the leapreader reading and writing system was created, my son is 5 years old, and he was having trouble with letter sounds and building words. Now since we purchased this product we cant get him to stop spelling words. So pleased and I love the vast library. I have told all my friends about this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best device yet!!!

By jtjtjP from North Carolina on 08/06/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We own almost all of Leapfrog's products and this pen is by far the best purchase made! The writing guidance is amazing and is teaching my 4 year old to be a much better writer (initial reason for this purchase!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another great Learning tool

By AmyatPK from Upper Peninsula, MI on 07/26/2013


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Learn to Read: The LeapReader functions largely like the Tag Reader when using books from that collection. You can play games on the pages of the books, sound out words, spell words, answer comprehension questions, and listen to the book as a whole or page by page. Learn to Write: I have never used Mr. Pencil, so this is a first in our house. I love the paper that is included for kids to practice writing letters. The LeapReader actually make marks on that special paper, but not on the books or anything else, almost like magic! You have to be careful that you do not use the paper stacked on top of each other otherwise the marks made on the top page transfers through to the pages underneath. I am looking forward to holding short Pre-School Mornings with my 4 year-old when school schedules start again for the big kids. Of course, as I was looking through the material, the almost second grader wanted to try out the writing pages claiming she needs the practice. The Learn To Write Letters workbook incorporates a story with different motions of writing letters working though the simpler straight-line skills, to the zigzag and on to the squiggly motions. The skill progression is perfect for young children to learn proper technique and avoid frustration in the process. Learn Through Listening: The best feature of the LeapReader is the ability to download up to 100 audio books, music, and trivia games from the LeapReader Library (some titles not available until the end of 2013). Included with the review material was the Magic Tree House Book #1: Dinosaurs Before Dark by Mary Pope Osborne. As we happen to have the book in our house, my kids are currently occupied listening to Mary Pope Osborne read her book to them on this foggy, cool summer day (awesome)! The learning songs have a fun beat that parents will tolerate and kids will learn from " punctuation and blends were two song topics that stuck in my mind. The trivia facts appeal to any person (of any age) interested in the subjects - I look forward to browsing that portion of the LeapReader library as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Reading and Penmanship

By Marta28 from Minnesota on 07/26/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is 6 going into the first grade this fall and this has been especially perfect during the summer when its so easy to forget everything you had learned during the school year. Personally, I like how I don't necessarily need to take a lot of time to sit down and work with him on it because the directions are very clear and easy to follow. Plus, it's fun which sitting with mom and a piece of paper and a pencil probably wouldn't be. I also like how the leap reader will read audio books. My son will often listen to a story as he's going to sleep which is just a great added benefit or he will listen to the music. It's similar to the Tag, but much more advanced because of the writing integration. His penmanship was something that definitely needed to be improved and I feel as though by practicing and having the automatic feedback from the leapreader he's improving. Definitely recommend!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Every Child Should Have One!

By Anonymous from Hyannis Port, MA on 07/24/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a family who already owns a few of the LeapFrog family of products, I couldn't wait to get my hands on the LeapReader Reading and Writing System. This is a perfect learning toy for my four-year-old son. He loves it and is excited to use it, he often chooses this over screen time. (YAY!) I love that the device is rechargeable via USB port, instead of using batteries. This cuts down on the expense of batteries, saving money is so important. We are practicing writing letters and LeapFrog included amazing paper with the unit. There is a guide directing you on how to properly draw the letters and the unit talks you through it. The paper is "magic" in that the writing doesn't show up on other surfaces. No mess and no worrying about cleaning up writing off of other surfaces. The device is a bit bulky for my son, but I realize that it is designed for ages 4-8; there is plenty of room to grow with this device. I'd recommend this to any parent, grandparent, or friend wanting to buy a quality educational toy for a child aged 4 -8! Disclosure: I received a complimentary LeapReader for review purposes. All statements and opinions are my own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and educational for my kindergartener

By DinaL from Georgia on 07/23/2013


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5-year old LOVES everything about the LeapReader...especially the fact that it really writes. There are so many great books, with hours of fun activities. (I love the special paper!) He's played with this nearly every day since receiving it, so it's definitely a hit! Can't wait to try it on a trip next. I know it will make the car ride move along faster!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Education & Fun, wrapped into one smart little pen

By LifeSongsOfABusyMom from Eastern Shore MD on 07/23/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

LeapFrog has done it again! The LeapFrog LeapReader took the Tag reader to a whole new level. My 5 year old absolutely loves that she can not only sounds out each word, read along as the pen moves across each sentence, or have the story read to her, but now she can also write with the LeapReader's special paper. She's able to correctly make her letters and words, and as a mom, I just love that! The big bonus for her is the downloadable ebooks and music. She loves to use the LeapReader pen as a pretend microphone as she sings along to the songs downloaded onto the LeapReader. She can also plug in her headphones to listen to stories or music without disturbing others. Reading, Writing, Music, Games and above all FUN!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Reading, Writing and Listening Tool

By MarinoBambinos from NYC on 07/22/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My family loves the Tag reader - and couldn't wait to test out LeapFrog's LeapReader. My five-year-old daughter has been using it for a few weeks now and I think that it is a phenomenal reading and writing tool - and an amazing update to the TagReader. I am most excited about the LeapReader's simultaneous reading and writing guidance. My daughter learned to read and write this past year in Kindergarten, however, she has been writing many of her letters with improper stroke order. The LeapReader's learning paper guides the child with arrows and red x marks to teach proper stroke order. Children are encouraged to first trace letters and then write them on their own via carefully prompted audio. My daughter thinks that handwriting practice is incredibly fun and I have seen her writing improve as a result. Although my three-year-old son is below the recommend age level, I have been using the LeapReader with him as well. In the "Learn to Write Letters with Mr. Pencil" book, portions of the book work on tracing straight lines (which are the foundation for writing letters). He is doing well with tracing the lines and I have seen his confidence soar. I'm incredibly excited about teaching him to write with the LeapReader. I'm also happy that the LeapReader only writes on LeapReader specific paper, as my son would use it to write on other things (like the furniture), if he were able. The options for Reading the Page, Reading the Entire Story, or sounding out specific words make it the perfect device for siblings of different ages. We continue to discover cool components in the LeapReader, including a music player and trivia games. The tunes are catchy and incredibly educational (they sound out letters..etc). I have also been able to add audio from our favorite Tag books including The Interactive Human Body, Leap and the Lost Dinosaur and Get Ready for Kindergarten. The storage capacity is great and the built in rechargeable battery is the greatest improvement. Best of all, I can always count of LeapFrog to facilitate learning in an incredibly fun way. I feel good when my children are using their products because I can clearly see results. I reviewed the LeapReader free of charge, however all opinions are strictly my own and not influenced by LeapFrog.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LeapReader Reading and Writing

By DanaL from Tennessee on 07/21/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this product free from Leap Pad in exchange for my honest review and opinion of the product. I think this is just wonderful! LeapPad did it again! They created a fun and entertaining way to learn to read and write. I love that the pen has 150+ songs and stories stored in its memory! You can use this pen to read or write. The directions are clear and easy to understand. This will definitely help your child learn to read and write!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The LeapReader is amazing!

By KandaceMichelle from Chesapeake, VA on 07/18/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the LeapReader for my son's 6th birthday because he was always taking my 4 year old daughter's Tag. I love that it has more space on it than the Tag, but I do not like that the files for the books take up more room on the LeapReader than on the Tag. For example the Brave book only took up 2MB of space on the Tag but on the LeapReader it takes up 9MB of space!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Special Needs Kids!

By ColoradoMom from Denver, CO on 07/10/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I received the LeapReader, I was a bit worried that my autistic five year-old wouldn't be able to to understand how to use it fully. I was pleasantly surprised when he grabbed it, turned it on and dove right into a book like he had used the LeapReader for years. His favorite feature is the ability to store music on it, as music is something he is drawn to. We are working on letters and writing in his therapies and I love the paper that came with the pen to write and practice tracing on. Having the guidelines there to work on his letters is wonderful and being able to use something he views as a toy to sneak in some extra therapy time makes me one very happy mom. I do wish the memory was a bit larger as I can see him filling this up with all of his music, leaving little room for the books I want him to work on, but I'm sure we can make do for now. Another thing I love is how it's rechargeable. We go through batteries like they are nothing with toys these days, so it's refreshing to have a toy that is rechargeable, cutting down on waste and costs of batteries. All in all this is a great toy for any kid, but especially helps my autistic son.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for my struggling readers!

By HamMom from Bellingham, Wa on 07/01/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While all my younger kids (ages 3-10) love this product, I like it most for my struggling readers. I love the fact that the pen will "read" the difficult words for my kids. My struggling readers love that they can read the books "all by themselves". For my strong readers and my 3 year old, they love the games and the interactive portions of the LeapReader. This is a great product at a great value!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

use your space wisely, 256mb goes as fast as 32mb

By SAHMtomy2boys from Durham, NC on 06/28/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I thought that 256mb would take forever to fill since we were upgrading from the old 32mb Tag pen. But the file sizes are much much larger for the same books that we used to fit on our old pen. Additionally, 55 of the 256 is not usable space, so you have only 80% of the memory to use for your files. For example, we fit the entire 4 sets of phonics books on the old style tag pen, minus one. So that took up just around 28mb or so, since a few mb are needed to run the pen's software. On the Leapreader, it takes up approx 70mb (2.5 times the size). With memory card costs lower than they used to be, it would be expected to see more onboard memory to allow for really enjoying all that leapfrog has to offer for the system. Although this is a significant increase in memory over the old version, it is used up just as fast so in a way you aren't able to add much more on here than the old, maybe just a few more things. It's about the equivalent of having 2 tag pens. Knowing the size of the audio files for the original tag pen, I really thought I was going to fit a ton on here and didn't expect to see the drastic jump in file sizes for the same exact books. That really changes things a bit because I was trying to downsize from 2 tag pens to 1 leapreader. Overall, I'm still excited to fit a majority of our books on here but we will still need to keep one of our original tags for the older books and for anything that doesnt fit on the leapreader. The rechargeable battery is a nice feature. We recently got a frog eye charger which will be great for recharging the leapreader on the go. We played around with the pen for a few minutes and it works fine with our books as well as the new writing books. Just wishing there was audio support for the entire Tag library as most of our books were classics that were recently discontinued.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice improvement over the Tag Reader

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 06/27/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We received the new LeapReader today and it works great! The only thing you should be aware of is that it is not compatible with some of the older (and out-of-print) Tag books. The software did not let us download or transfer the audio for several of the books that we already had including Handy Mandy, SpongeBob, and Pet Pals Sticker Story Time even though they are listed on the compatibility list in the FAQ under the support page. For books that are not listed in the Connect software (and it only lists the in-print books), it tells you to touch the book you want with the LeapReader and then connect it to the computer. But when we did that with those out-of-print books, it displayed a message saying that those books are not compatible. So you still need to keep your old Tag Reader if you have older books. But it does work with the Tag books that they are still selling.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved