Home » 39042 » 33 Reviews

Leapfrog 39042 Leapster Explorer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 33 reviews)

69% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fun For Kids (21), Grows With Child (17), Good For On-the-go Play (20), Not Engaging Enough (5), Educational (11)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I just love all the ...

By Mariam from maryland on 04/22/2015


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just love all the LeapPad games. when my boy was 2 years old he knew all the planets names and where it locate from the sun and he was able to recognize them from just looking at the picture. he knew all about the planets from Wall-E app. i have at least 25 game for my leappad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Shows a picture of the characters

By mamal from Crittenden, Ky on 08/02/2014


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This game was disappointing to my grandson. The picture showed the characters but Jesse was not in the game. He likes anything Toy Story and we have collected numerous toys, games and dolls for him. He enjoyed what the game had but really wanted Jesse and other characters included. So for the price I was also disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Will not work!

By Mteal from GA on 07/31/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I downloaded this game for my son and it will not work! Not happy to have spent $25 on a game that my son was begging for and now he can't even play it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Muriam from Syracuse, Ny on 07/26/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old grandson loves this game when he comes to visit it is the first game he plays and enjoys it very much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this was fun for my grandson

By hayhay from Portland. Oregon on 06/29/2014


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hayhay play with this over and over.he really like it its age appropriate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TOY STORY- Pre-Engineering Skills

By POPPYSUGARGIRL37 from LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA on 04/01/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WHAT A WONDERFUL GAME!!!! My children are learning Pre-Engineering skills. I never knew that you could have so much fun putting electrical wires together. AMAZING!!! This is one the best game I have purchased and downloaded.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Learning with Toy Story

By MIMI2010 from Siler City, NC on 04/01/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While this game does seem more challenging for my 3 year old grandson than most others, he still enjoys playing this and has learned a lot from it. It is one that he needs help with sometimes, but he is progressing and understanding more and more. Not a reader, but beginning to recognize words and sounds- from this game, Scout Phonics Farm and Wallykazzam.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My son is obsessed

By mzbridget from Chicago, IL on 01/29/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A bit tricky at first, but my 4-yr-old son figured it out and loves this! The graphics and voices are true to the original Disney characters. My 7 yr-old daughter thinks it's fun too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Kids dont play it or like it

By koco from Atlanta on 10/28/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My kids says the game is too hard. They don't see any fun in it and they want to move the cowboy around the puzzle not have it controlled by the game. It was a waste of money because they don't play it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great game

By Amyrn from Undisclosed on 10/04/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My grand child loves toy story. This is a great game. He is only three he will grow to be able to play it better. Overall this is our first Purchase of leap frog products. Gave a four Star rating because hoping for more apps Similar to apps on iPod. Would love to See a mr potato head, talking tom, and Mouth off apps for leap frog.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disney-Pixar Toy Story 3

By sap1 from TX on 09/24/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 year old grandson loves this game. He was able to listen and follow the directions and figure out what to do in the game and is enjoying playing it many times over.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very well worth the buy

By stanfordmom from seattle, wa on 08/30/2013


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 yr old son LOVES this game. When we sit and play I'm able to teach him how to pronounce words using the phonics based activities. He gets lots of practice and he doesn't even realize that he's learning while having so much fun. I'm glad we've added this game to his curriculum. Buy it when you can. It's great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

toy story3

By Aaronjr from Undisclosed on 06/06/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my son loves woody and is starting to learn and sing along!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

toy story app

By cori from alexandria, LA on 05/13/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

kinda disappointed that this was convoluted and not easier for preschoolers. I would like to see one developed for the younger level and maybe this one made harder for older kids. They tried to make it okay for both and it just wasn't that great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Such a awesome game as my ...

By Anthony121108 from New Jersey on 05/06/2013


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Such a awesome game as my son says... He loves it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of fun.

By lovemyboy from MI on 02/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is a huge Toy Story fan, so this game was an instant hit with him. He is 3 1/2 years old and he learned how to do many things on his own. I have helped him with some of the challenges, and there is plenty for him to still learn. I love that he is learning as he plays. I do wish they had an advanced level as he starts to master the game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun but not enough diversity

By Chloe from Stanwood, WA on 02/08/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My son is 5 years old and chose this game. He has really enjoyed it but I don't think there is enough diversity in the lessons on Phonics. Like the description it is a lot like a board game but a never ending board game. There are little games intermixed but I still anticipated more. From my 5 year old's prespective, and one of a child that is a little insecure of his accomplishements, he doesn't like that the narrators voice keeps telling him try again and makes an "Aaa!" sound when he makes an error. I think this is a sad complaint and silly but this is my review and our experience and I believe that is what this form is asking. Overall I love the Leapster and am so glad we have it. So glad I bought a second one for my nephew.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great game

By nattyb from Undisclosed on 02/05/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Keeps my kids interest, and love that it will grow with them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a big fan

By Cnsouthbay from Los Angeles, CA on 01/18/2013


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Really hard to follow the game board. The Rex game advanced from pictures to full words after my son did well. Too much of a jump. He can't read yet. And I still can't unlock the Buzz Lightyear game after hours of play. What's the fun without Buzz?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not good for a non-reader

By Cille from Undisclosed on 01/12/2013


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought this game (premium price!) because my son adores Toys 3, but he quickly tired of it because he could not follow the complicated rules. He is 4, not a reader yet, and there was requirement with this game that you fit letters into word spelling, which was way beyond his level. While this game might be suitable for a reader, my son isn't there yet. The age guidance on this game is not appropriate. I noticed that the sounding out part that counts the sounds of words seemed inaccurate for some of the words, which might confuse a young one when he does start to learn to read. I removed it from his LeapPad2.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good for 1st graders

By Macy from Undisclosed on 12/15/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this was purchased for 3rd grade, and it is for 1st grade. it is too easy unless you're in 1st grade. it is boring, too easy, but O.K. i got through it easy. it is perfect for kindergarteners or 1st graders.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase!

By Mom850810 from Wise VA on 11/24/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this for my sons birthday! He loves this game! He loves all the characters! Great game for someone who loves Toy Story!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A lot for the buck!

By MommaS from Wellington, Fl on 11/23/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There are many activities in the game, can keep entertained for a long time, and the activities are all educational; problem solving, math, alphabet, reading. My 3 year old has progressed on the game tremendously over the past year. I would highly recommend for 3 and up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 3 year old daughter ...

By Peanutpants from Wisconsin on 10/22/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 year old daughter plays this all the time. It's her favorite game, and she gets excited to play it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toys

By TexSunQT from Texas on 07/29/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old likes playing this game and is learning so much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonder why this game shows up as an ebook on learn

By angela4808 from Morehead, KY on 02/05/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son loves this game. He has already played an hour in a 24 hr. period. I am just wondering why it is showing up as an ebook? It makes me wonder if it is correctly publishing the data from the game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

his favorite

By five0 from NY on 01/31/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3.5 yro son has no trouble playing this game..... he spends at least an hour entertained by this game and the game and feaures cause him the least amount of frustration compared to the others. The game is easy for him to comprehend ... he actually enjoys sounding out the words and in one day has almost mastered learning how to count the sounds. While he is playing.....I can actually get something done.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Game

By EmBC from Undisclosed on 12/31/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Both my 5year old and 3 1/2 year old love this game. Its engaging and the instructions are easy to understand. This game suites curious children who want game that will continue to engage and challenge them. My daughter loves the Roller sling and Buzz Cannon My son loves Alien tap and sounding out the words. My kids also love the Spelling mode as they can play together even though the older one always wins. This Game saved my opinion of the leapfrog games as the other one we have is dreadful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not the best but still better than some other game

By gapeba from Jacksonville, FL on 12/29/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my kids got this game this Christmas. They love Toy Story movies. They like to play this game, it is entertaining enough. Another reviewer was disappointed, that the spelling mode is locked when you first play the game, but this is a common feature to many games, that some modes are locked and you need to play first other modes to unlock them. I would say we have better games than this, but also much worse games.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed

By dina from Undisclosed on 12/17/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought our son the Leapster Explorer for his 5th birthday with the Toy Story 3 Game. When you first put in the game the "Spelling Mode" is in grey and you can't select this. I found it very frustrating that for the money spent on system and game neither comes with adequate directions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not fun, or educational!

By Mommyof3Munchkins from New York, NY on 09/15/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My kids hate this game, this was the first one I bought my son and we were all disappointed with the education level & entertainment level. My older daughter also tried playing it, and even though she understood it, did not like it. I would NOT recommend it anyone. It's junk!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really disappointed

By MEZMom from IL on 08/14/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My girls loved playing the original Leapster version of this game, so when I bought them Explorers, this was the first game that I bought. The game was very boring for my girls and they stopped playing it at all. They were disappointed that it wasn't as fun as the other Toy Story game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Educational!

By melbel from Arkansas on 02/05/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love that my daughter can have hours of fun while learning!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved