Home » 39045 » 25 Reviews

Leapfrog 39045 Learning Game:the Penguins Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 25 reviews)

76% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Grows With Child (7), Good For On-the-go Play (15), Fun For Kids (18), Educational (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

My daughter's current favorite.

By Joylynn from Tennesee on 07/31/2015


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5 year old daughter really likes this game and I was very surprised that it taught her addition and subtraction. It does have a lot of karate chopping and all that but my daughter generally has a low tolerance for violence (we had to leave the Lego Movie) but this doesn't seem to bother her.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun but not challenging

By wantmoreeducation from Undisclosed on 03/02/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was hoping for more education infused moments. Thx


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolute favorite game!

By TwinBoysMom from Virginia on 02/27/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is definitely THE favorite game for both my kids. I wish it had a tiny bit more math in it but otherwise, they love it. They have played all the levels and just keep on playing them even after over two months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WILL NOT DOWNLOAD!

By uncleshane from Maine on 01/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased game, attached LEAPFROG EXPLORER and...NOTHING happened. Tried again and again and finally it said it had download to the device, BUT it was not on the device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More video game, less education

By LGDV from Undisclosed on 01/11/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was a bit violent for my kids. Animals beating each other up isn't usually our thing. I know it's a game, but I didn't realize that WAS the game when I bought it. Simple addition and subtraction skills are tested between levels, so there's that. Most of the game, though, is typical video game style (get past a kangaroo before it beats you, physically & literally). If that's a non-issue for you, kids will enjoy playing,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Seems to be a good buy

By KentuckyMom from Greensburg, KY on 01/06/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Trying to hold our 8 year old boy off from buying other more expensive electronic devices, we've been using a LeapPad for 3 years. He says the game "is awesome".


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of Play Time

By semper03 from Minnesota on 12/16/2013


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the few games my 4 year old will play over and over again. He beats it every few days, has me wipe the profile, and plays it again from the beginning. The game plays a lot like the original Mario where your character moves left and right in a two demsional world. This game is a little more 'violent' than other leap pad games in that you must punch and kick your enemies as you make your way through the level. The violence is very mild but it is there. As you make your way though the different levels you encounter different puzzles where you must learn to count, do some basic math, and recognize shapes. There is far more play than there is learning. I would estimate that there is 25% learning to 75% play. However, becasue of the replay value in this game, there is plenty of learning going on. I would recommend this game if you are okay with the mild violence.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A game so good levels are repeated for fun

By Lacy from Undisclosed on 04/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My boy is mastering his math facts, and this game really makes it fun to practice. He finished all the levels but he is still playing it all over again from the beginning. I love the additional challenge of the logic puzzles. It really gets him thinking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Favorite game

By Pinkbunny from New York on 03/08/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is hands down the favorite game of my boys who are 3 and 5. They have both beaten it a few times but seem to always want to come back and play this game. It is educational and fun at the same time. There have been times that I thought I would have to purchase another one since sometimes they fight over it. I highly recommend this game and this is a must have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

super fun

By lexxilexxi from Tacoma, Washington on 02/06/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game was a hit with my son. There is alot of karate chopping and solving educational puzzles. This game will grow with him but when he gets stuck he puts it down because he has an overload of learning shapes and numbers, which is a good thing to me. Very fun AND educational.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got to have it

By Runningbee from North Bend, Ohio on 01/25/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My grandson continues to enjoy this game each and every time he plays it. He'll shout out when he achieves another goal or clears a level. He commonly would last about 15 minutes on other game devices, he would want someone else to move past levels he couldn't achieve. Not with Leap Pad 2. He doesn't want to put it down. Love to see him so engaged.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing game! Great value for the money

By jessicalovesjace1 from riverdale, utah on 12/03/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5 year old son received this for his birthday 3 months ago and still plays it daily. He recently beat the whole game and still plays it. It is very cute game that keeps him engaged. I would recommend for any active child or who is a fan of the madgascar show. Even older children love this game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This one seemed to be a ...

By Mitsuko from Olympia, WA on 08/14/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This one seemed to be a bit more like a video game. My daughter had fun playing it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Way too VIOLENT!!

By YankeeFan from Jacksonville, FL on 06/30/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product for my 5 year old and although my son loved this game and it did have some educational attributes, it was very violent. In my attempt to overlook it thinking I was being an overprotective mom, his dad watched him play it one day as did his grandmother and I heard them both comment on how violent the game was and I had NOT said anything about my concern. After a few days he started saying how he had to stop the bad guys which was accompanied by a stomped foot, hands into fists and clenched teeth and when asked how he stopped them he said nothing of karate, just that he had to "kill them dead". Although I can appreciate that he was able to recognize the "good guys" from the "bad guys", had I been aware the game is taught through violence, I would have never purchased it. May be more appropriate for an older child but I feel the packaging was extremely misleading. I had to take the game away from him and hide it. Very disappointed in this game even though every other one purchased rior seemed so accurate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best game we have played so far

By Chrissy from Cleveland, OH on 06/28/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We got our four year old a Leap Pad for her birthday 2 months ago and this was one of the first games she got (She has quite a bit now) and this game has not disappointed. Though she did get through the levels quickly (about a week) it has great reply ability. So it's not one of those games who loses all it's appeal as soon as it is defeated, which is great! I've played it myself and was pretty amused by it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My son's favorite!

By MissMaria88 from Northern Virginia on 06/18/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old son adores this game. He owns the Spongebob, Cars, and Toy Story games but this is his favorite. I downloaded the demo for him and after seeing how excited he was about it, bought him the full game. Leapfrog, I really like your demo feature, as a mom I find it helpful to "try out" the games before buying. So far I haven't been concerned with the level of "violence" in this game. He's been playing it for months and I've never once seen him try to "karate-chop" anyone or anything. Highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The main one he plays

By Allison from Toledo, OH on 03/11/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have gotten my son a variety of different games and this one is the he always goes back to. He enjoys it the most with the action and the challenge that it gives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Learning App Not so much

By Parent from Atlanta on 01/31/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Like most of the Leappad/Explorer apps I have seen the age age appropriate level is way off. This game says it is for 4 to 7 year old's. I got it for my 6 year old who grew tired of it in about 5 minutes. Money wasted. The game in my opinion is more intellectually appropriate for a 3 to 4 year old. I don't understand their system; the difference in the intellectual capacity from the age of 4 to 7 is vast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grandson Loves This

By Betty from San Diego, CA on 01/31/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this game with the Leapster Explorer and he just loves it. It is very educational and he loves learning. He is a boy so the Ninja Penguins are fun & exciting for him.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just not right for our family (a LOT of hitting)!

By Madalynnsmom from San Ramon, CA on 01/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this game for my daughter to work on math skills on her LeapPad. I put the game in to play it before giving it to her and I am really glad I did. There is a lot of education value to the game, but I could not overlook all of the violence in this game. I guess the whole ninja penguin theme just rubbed me the wrong way and was not right for our family. I ended up putting it away and never letting her play with it. This game would be great if they could just get rid of the hitting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Game!

By mc07 from Undisclosed on 01/02/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is definitely a game for all those little boys who love action! What could be better than a karate chopping penguin??? I love that this game teaches more than the basic math facts. There are regular math problems, but imagine my surprise when number lines came up on the screen, and my child had to figure out which number came between two others! This game is great! My son was so excited to keep "karate chopping" that he happily answered all the math questions. I would recommend this game to everyone who had a child that loves action and you love that he/ she is learning at the same time! My only complaint is that the local stores only carry the cartridges, they don't have a case with them. Which obviously makes losing the game WAY TOO EASY. I'll be making all my game purchasing strait from LF, just so I get the case. Unfortunately there is no price break on those without the case... ???


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun hundreds of times over

By aDad from Undisclosed on 04/17/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter ran through the levels in a couple of days but 4 months later we still play at least a level daily. It's something we can share and has helped improve her fine motor, problem solving, and math skills. The only downside is there's not a sequel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Penguins of Madagascar - Operation Plushy

By Sam1 from Undisclosed on 03/14/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 5 year old son walked through this far to quickly as to not engage his mind whatsoever. I would tentatively recommend for much younger children even though there is a lot of "hitting and bashing" involved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buy this game!

By SharkTank from Maryland on 02/13/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We own all the Leapster Explorer games and this one is never in the box! I'm only at this site now because I'm buying 2 more copies of it. We have three kids and they fight over whose turn it is. It is by far their favorite game! In fact, my middle child hid it in the back of the couch so his siblings wouldn't be able to find it! It has improved my 6 yr old's math skills and I was surprised by how much my 3 yr old has learned. Buy it! Multiple copies if you have more than one child! You won't regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Penguins of Madagascar great game

By Roja from Florida on 12/31/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son really loved this game I saw a huge improvement in his math skills.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved