Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » 39046LF » 160 Reviews

LeapFrog Explorer Learning Game: Mr. Pencil Saves Doodleburg - Theme/Subject: Learning - Skill Learning: Writing, Drawing, Color, Art, Animation Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 160 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fun For Kids (115), Good For On-the-go Play (85), Grows With Child (64), Not Engaging Enough (7), Educational (61)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

My daughter loves this ...

By CookieBean from Delaware on 07/29/2015


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter loves this games. She's 2 and plays its after daycare every day. She's tracing letters and shapes so easy. I recommend this for everyone


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not much educational value for price

By AZmommaof2 from Mesa, AZ on 06/03/2015


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

So I bought this game (in cartridge form) for my 5-year old (then 3) because it had SO many great reviews. He was using the Leapfrog Explorer back then, but now he's got the LeapPad Ultra and this game is pretty much useless now. This is why: With the older devices, this game allowed you to draw shapes (via kid-friendly tutorials with the game's characters), doodle and color. With the LeapPad Ultra and newer devices, you can do that without the need of a game. Furthermore, the "color the town to help save it" theme doesn't quite "grow" with a child. So, OK game, but def overrated. PS: I'm gonna mark that it's "fun for kids" in case your kid has a LeapFrog device older than the tablets, in which case, it is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must have for Pre K- K

By KendallGirls from Independence, MO on 03/19/2015


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great app for my daughter as she is preparing for school. I was very happy that it shows her how to draw the ABCs. She enjoys it very much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a little slow

By ttarbay from Connecticut on 03/12/2015


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When playin this game it does a lot of talking that you can't skip, and then the next page boots...it all takes a lot of time. It does teach the basics of writing though, so that is good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun

By Murray from nc on 02/27/2015


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

4 year old really likes it. Educational and keeps his attention.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Huh?

By EducationalMom from The Woodlands, TX on 02/17/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This application is confusing. I can't even figure out how to get to each activity. I want my son to practice his handwriting. This doesn't seem to provide much in handwriting lessons.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

5 year old loves it

By kmansmomma from New Jersey on 02/10/2015


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is 5 and in PreK. He has really enjoyed this game and is constantly telling me about all the things Mr. Pencil has taught him. He has played this game over many of his less educational apps - even the ones with his favorite cartoon characters! Definitely a good learning tool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Educational

By Foxygrandpa from Undisclosed on 08/01/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Both my boys (5 and 3) Love this game. My oldest has played it over all the other games for a while now. And my 3 year old who used to get frustrated with tracing is now doing the tracing amazingly with no help! this is over the course of a week. It is amazing to see how much this game has taught my boys.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil helps with learning

By jank from texas on 07/23/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My grandson learned to draw playing this game. He played this game for hours.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and Educational

By ariggleman from Mt. Savage, MD on 07/21/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter is 5 and she just loves to play with this in the car driving.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wonderful product

By latie from Fredericksburg,va on 07/20/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is starting to recognize and write is letters alone


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Learn to Write online

By MaryEllen from Bolivar, Mo on 07/16/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Mr Pencil Saves Doodleburg is educating my 3 year old granddaughter to write. It is superior to Mr Pencil that uses just an electronic pencil. However the screen of the Lead Pad Ultra only works with ease when the battery is fully charged. My grand daughter chooses the Leap Pad version over the Mr Pencil electronic pencil most of the time. I like the lessons and the ability to get immediate practice on making letters. It is fun to do and my granddaughter is getting a lot of practice with her letters.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fun

By ailis from winslow, az on 07/09/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You get to draw and you get to find out what shapes are. you can draw cars, trees, and clouds. ailis 6yrs old


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty fun

By Elyse from Los Angeles on 06/19/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really great prewriting and writing lessons. I really like Larry in the coffee shop part of the game. He talks super fast, even I laughed at it. Really helping to learn letters. Only had it a few weeks and she has completed the game probably 10 times over.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Something to grow into

By Punkrockkitty from Wapakoneta, Ohio on 06/08/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My child played this game on someone eles leapfrog and wouldn't stop talking about it. My child is an age under then the recommended age for the game. Since he had played it already I figured it was something he could grow into and get better at as he gos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best writing-activity games

By Elina from New Jersey on 04/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game is one of our favorite's, excellent activity for learning how to write and draw. I wouldn't recommend it for use on LeapPad1 because the screen is not that sensitive as on Ultra.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Kids love it

By SMMG from Undisclosed on 04/21/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 6-year-olds are crazy about this game. They are always asking to play it. There are a lot of educational aspects, but it feels like a fun game to them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Makes learning fun

By KenW from Jasonville, Indiana on 04/14/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased for my granddaughter.She loves it and is self educated with it. It keeps her occupied and interested in learning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Game!

By Nikki2995 from PA on 04/11/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son loves this game, and I love it because his writing has really improved in the past couple of weeks. He's only 3, so I help him with different parts of the game, but he really enjoys it, and I love its educational features. It's great for writing practice and for learning colors, letters, and shapes. I couldn't be happier with this purchase. It's my favorite app we've purchased so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too Hard

By PolarPapa from Utah on 04/10/2014


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This app would be fine for children in the upper end of the age bracket. At the lower end of the bracket the kids get frustrated because the lines are too thin and tracing is too sensitive. It tells them that they are wrong 9 out of ten times.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great game

By gammymom from Uniontown Ohio on 04/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

daughter has had this program since she was 3 and she is now 5. She never tires of it. She is an awesome artist and I think it is because of the great apps like this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My almost 3yr old is ...

By WORM from KC on 04/03/2014


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My almost 3yr old is likes this app a lot, but she does get very frustrated with the drawing because its hard to keep her pencil on the narrow lines. So maybe have an option for a wider line until they get it better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Handwriting has improved

By MamaFerny from TEXAS on 03/26/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I REALLY like this app. a lot. Let me just note right now that this is NOT a good app. for car rides. My son (4 yrs old) gets frustrated often because you have to be pretty precise when tracing and going from point to point. I think it's great because he is learning how to correctly write/draw things. His handwriting has improved which makes me very happy. He also learns about colors and the sounds of the letters he writes. Some days he will play for an hour, most days he plays for about 10 minutes. When he gets stuck he turns it off, but he always comes back to it. It's a very special moment when he gets something done right :) He has to work hard for it and he is so proud of himself. That sparkle in his eyes are priceless! I think as far as emotions go for a 4 year old, it's pretty balanced haha He is learning a lot, and I think patience is at the top of the list. Mr. Pencil gets two thumbs up from me!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

thee best

By daddy4542 from monroe nj on 03/24/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Im 45 with a 3 year old son. I found it is a great jump start to the next level in his life.it also made it easy to introduce him to wanting to learn and keep him interest and focus on the tasks. What an affordable learning tool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Educational

By MommyofGamer from Charlotte, nc on 03/23/2014


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wish we had started my son only on Leapster and never introduced him to other systems. He enjoys playing leapster and Mr. Pencil. It teaches them how to read, write etc. My son is 4 y/o and I believe this is one of games that will actually benefit hi, educationally. I would recommend this to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Totally Awesome.

By breitbarth from Russellville, AR on 03/21/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's fun with coloring. Still plays it. Lot's of quiet for hours.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr Pencil is a wonderful distraction

By Momzilla from San Mateo, CA on 03/13/2014


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son has a hard time focusing on anything for too long but Mr. Pencil Saves Doodleberg is a lifesaver. My son will play for hours freeing up more time for me to do chores without being "shadowed" all day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Education on the Go

By no1Mom from Falls Church, VA on 03/12/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this application. My child has been learning how to write her letters & I'd gotten frustrated with losing the workbooks & etc. while on the go. After I discovered this application... I haven't had that problem since. This particular app has even helped to improve my babes hand writing. It actually forces my child to make the exact letter-- not providing any shortcuts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By MilitaryMom from California on 03/08/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this for my four year old. I want to help him further develop his fine motor skills, namely in writing, and his letters. This is great for both. It helps him get control, and they make the letters fun. Sometimes he would get frustrated, but a little bit of attention and praised soothed that over. I absolutely love this for him!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

He loves it

By davettech from St petersburg, FL on 03/08/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3.5 year old son LOVES this game. He plays it all the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great fun for a 3 year old, but with room to grow

By Mommy46077 from Indianapolis, IN on 03/04/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My nearly 4 year old really loves this, and it is helping him learn how to write letters. He's a very active kid so, in general, it can be hard to get him sit still and focus on anything for long. However, not only will he sit still and work through Mr.Pencil for quite a while, it has also raised his interest in writing, thereby making him more interested in using paper exercises books for practicing letters. I love this app. I wish it were more forgiving--the slightest deviation from the line means he gets that one "wrong." That can be really tough on a kid on a long car ride since highways are not perfectly smooth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great writing app

By Kcm75 from Los Angeles, CA on 03/02/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My twin children are on the autistic spectrum and writing skills is one of their areas of challenge. This app has made it fun to practice writing their letters and numbers. It is difficult to use in the car because you need a steady hand, but other than that my children like this app a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great App!

By aditya01 from Undisclosed on 02/24/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great App!. Helps child with writing skills, also a brush up lesson on his abc's and 123's. My son is only 2 and he can do so much with this app.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very educational

By jagironman from sacramento, CA on 02/24/2014


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great way to teach kids how to write letters of the alphabet, and color pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil is a lot of fun but also educational.

By hellolawyerkitty from Lexington, KY on 02/23/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Xavier loves this game. He has been working hard on how to make his letters. I've noticed that the skills he learned in this game have carried over into real life. When he writes his letters, he does a better job of starting and ending at the right places. Xavier really enjoys the characters, and has learned a lot about colors and shapes, too. The only criticism I have is that the game is pretty unforgiving when the kids move away from the dotted lines even a little. That can lead to frustration. Overall, it's an excellent product and a good value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Both my boys (5-4 yrs) ...

By Shazie81 from Undisclosed on 02/22/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Both my boys (5-4 yrs) absolutely love this app! It has helped them with their penmanship and the best part of the whole thing is they're having fun and learning at the same time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr pencil

By JosieMarie from Michigan on 02/12/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this app. Really teaches. Really show my grandson how to do his letters.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A fun & educational game!

By Halation from US on 02/04/2014


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is 2 almost 3 and just LOVES this game. The artwork,voice acting, game function, and game play are all great. One of the best games we've bought for him so far. He loves drawing shapes or letters to help put Doodleburg back together. Very cute game!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it but not my son's favorite

By MrsBranch from MI on 02/04/2014


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this game because it teaches my 2 1/2 son to trace letters. He has quite a few apps but this isn't one of his go-to apps.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This game was recommended ...

By Macmama08 from Undisclosed on 02/01/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game was recommended to me by a friend and I'd definitely do the same. Mr. Pencil is an essential to any Leap Pad device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My daughter learns a lot from it

By Fang from WI on 01/30/2014


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's very educational and my daughter who is a little over 3 years old learns how to draw different kinds of lines and letters very quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Educational but experienced difficulties w/ drawin

By Lukesmom1 from Undisclosed on 01/29/2014


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old son, his grandmother, and I have all had a very difficult time writing and drawing straight lines and various shapes. It just keeps repeating redraw on the dotted line. His stylus is right where it's supposed to be. We have all tried and something is not aligned correctly with the game and its sensitivity. Disappointed in this feature. However my so loves the other activities and lessons it has to offer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never able to download

By Lala133 from Undisclosed on 01/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was able to purchase the game without being notified I should have had the Mr. doodlebug saves ----- as that is the first series needed. I have since purchased that and still cannot download the game even though I have reached out to the support. Very dissatisfied with the whole experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

marked improvement in writing skills

By ProfMom from Toledo, OH on 12/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old loves to play this game and has demonstrated marked improvement in her writing skills


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

learning fun

By grandmadn0608 from naperville, il on 12/28/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My granddaughter has learned correct letter formation quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just ok

By Jon021 from Undisclosed on 12/17/2013


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

High educational value but when tracing the letters and numbers, there isn't much room for error. I can barely do it let alone my 3 yo.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great game

By NicholeK from MO on 11/03/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My in laws bought this cartridge game for my 3 year old and it went missing, after searching for awhile we finally bought the game as the download so it can't get lost again. My son loves this game. It is the one he will sit and play for hours. He loves writing his letters and working with the colors and shapes. His older brother 7 & 5 also like to play. It was well worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great concept but

By JDIGS from chicago on 10/15/2013


Pros:

Educational

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

it's too sensitive, if you dont start in exactly the right spot and stay exactly in the lines it annoyingly starts you over. I watch my 4 yr old get frustrated becasue it maybe is beeter for an older child or a much more stable enviroment ie table, deask, not the car or boat. It should have a setting for beginners that is more forgiving to give them a chance to learn the basic shapes of the alphabet .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun but a little finicky

By laswana from Wyoming on 10/02/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My son is 5 and practicing writing. He loves Mr. Pencil but when he doesn't write exactly on the lines it annoyingly repeats the mantra, deletes what he just drew and he has to start over. I've even tried it to see how picky it was and it does the same thing to me. I think there's a better way to reinforce proper writing! But he loves playing the games and he is pretty determined to get the letters right. But as a mommy, I wonder if it's too finicky I have trouble with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great educational game

By AnonymousLA from Louisiana on 09/25/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my 3 year old who is just starting preschool. He already knows all of his letters and in school they are practicing tracing letters. He likes to come home and practice what he did in school on the game. He will sit and play this game for a while. I was talking to a friend about the app and she asked about how it compares to something on a tablet. I told her how great it is to have the stylus to reinforce actually holding a pencil and writing. I will definitely buy more "Mr. Pencil" titles.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Educational App

By momofmybeauties from Texas on 09/20/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kiddo loves this app. It's very versatile: learning abc's, 123's, colors. But this app goes further: how to draw the letters and numbers, mood and tone of colors, how to blend primary colors to make secondary colors, type's of lines ex: horizontal, vertical, diagonal, wavy, and much more. It offers a play mode and a lesson plan mode so kids can practice lessons they aren't quite understanding in the play mode. The only critique I have is the quality of graphics. It's "color book" style using 2-d imaging throughout the game. However, my child could care less and even enjoys "coloring" the scenes after completing an achievement. Overall, a great app if you want more than learning the names of basic letters, numbers, and colors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features and lots of fun

By SAHMof4 from Las Vegas, Nv on 09/09/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product for my Autistic son who struggles with his writing and for my 5 year old who was is just learning her letters. The both love Mr Pencil and use the app almost daily. My son practices his writing with out having a battle. He thinks its fun. He will even talk about the different projects he is doing to help save Doodleburg. My daughter has learned her shapes and colors as well as her upper and lower case letters. I highly recommend this to any parent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great

By junior1 from arizona on 08/10/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my 5 year old loves this game and really helps her on her writing skills. my 8 yer old loves it as well because its like a touch up on his writing and thinking skills.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun Educational Game

By jtjtjP from North Carolina on 08/06/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game has been a great purchase for both of my sons. It has helped them with keeping a steady hand while writing a drawing! Great game to invest in!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil

By PattyD25 from Undisclosed on 07/03/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a brilliant app! My twins had the cartridge and I bought the app so they could have it on each of their explorers because they love it so much. They have learned about the color wheel and shades, drawing different types of lines, and much more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what I expected

By 5KidsPlus from Undisclosed on 07/01/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 6yo and 4yo watched the video with me when we were trying to decide on new games for a road trip. My 6yo was really excited for this one but it kept freezing when she got to a certain point. Once it finally started working correctly, she finished the whole game in just a few hours of play time. My 4yo was very frustrated and kept asking for help, he lost interest about 15mins into the game


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great motivator!

By Rainey from Anchorage, AK on 06/25/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game has really motivated my daughter to learn writing letters. She is also focused when completing the tasks in this educational game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr Pencil Rocks!

By MichaelAnthony from Richmond, VA on 06/25/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have two kids with Leapfrog explorers - 3 year old son and 5 year old daughter. Mr. Pencil keeps their attention - they love playing the game and at the same time they're learning. Best game so far! Mike


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and educational

By Ncmom from The beach nc on 06/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game is very educational about drawing and numbers/ letters. My 3 1/2 yr old loves it. It teaches colors and drawing perspective too. So glad to have purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is great

By Fussee from North Carolina on 06/15/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My child is a non verbal autistic 5 year old who loves art. It was a great purchase for him. It helped him learn shapes and colors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Educational, yet frustrating

By Carricksmom from Arizona on 06/10/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really enjoyed watching my 4-year-old son play and learn his way through Doodleberg. Before Mister Pencil was on the scene, he was reluctant to draw, let alone write, for fear of "doing it wrong" (the unfortunate result of a former daycare provider :( I was amazed that after two weeks of using Mr. Pencil, he was "writing" his name in sidewalk chalk! Granted the letters were crudely done and not in a line, but he was thrilled at being able to spell AND write out his name :) Mr. Pencil is great, but if there was one thing I would change about it, it would be the "feedback" that the characters offer. Children are asked to trace dotted lines to help them learn how to write shapes and letters. If the stylus isn't held just-so, or if it deviates too much from the dotted line, the characters prompt the kids to, "Try again," or "Keep the stylus close to the dotted line", or "draw along the dotted line." This may not sound all that bad, but given the fact that young children might be learning to write or draw for the very first time EVER, these repeated phrases start to sound nagging and eventually become frustrating. When my son is trying his hardest and doesn't get it exactly right, he'll hear, "Try again", sometimes 5 or 6 times before he actually succeedes and he'll get really upset. When he was first learning, he threw the Leapster down on the couch and declared, "Stupid Mr. Pencil isn't working!!!" It really frustrated him. As a parent, I do recommend this game, however, be with your kids as they go through it. Let them know that it takes time to learn a new skill like writing, or turn the volume down when they are practicing a letter/shape for the first time so they don't hear the repeated phrases. Eventually he got over the idea that he was doing it wrong, and learned to ignore what was being, said. But in the beginning, he didn't like it and didn't want to play the lessons. Also, giving him an actual paper and pencil to practice with outside of Mr. Pencil helped too. He gained the confidence he needed to go back to the game and succeed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

son loves it but frustrating too

By momwith2kids from Undisclosed on 06/07/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son loves this game so much that I don't think he knew he was learning to write his letters. It also teaches color combining (like blue and yellow make green). However, sometimes, when he is drawing something, he just can't get it to work no matter how many times he tries. The stylus and the screen just don't match up somehow. He gets really frustrated and I have to try, but I can't always get it right away either and it may take about 20 tries. That being said, once we get it, he likes going to the next task, unless it gets stuck again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Normalmom from Normal, IL on 06/01/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought Mr. Doodleburg for my son prior to a long car trip. I didn't want to buy it because it was on of the more expensive choices and I was worried that it would be one of those apps that he played a few times and lost interest in, but it was well worth the cost. He played it for a long time on the trip and has played it several times since then. It has become one of his favorite games. He likes that it's fun and the story is engaging and I like that it helps him practice his writing skills.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very interactive

By Cath817 from Langhorne Pa on 05/29/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son absolutely loves this new app. It has been a fun way to reinforce things that he is learning in Pre-k. For example mixing colors to make new colors, drawing straight lines vertically & horizontally for beginning writing and so many others. I would absolutely recommend this game to anyone who has a leap pad!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My daughter loves Mr. Pencil

By Elmicmam from Janesville, WI on 05/22/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Glad we purchased this for our daughter. She has enjoyed many hours of fun with Mr. Pencil and it is teaching her so much all the time while she is having FUN!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really helps with writing letter

By MikeinNC from Durham, NC on 05/20/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this program for my 5 yr old daughter, who wil be starting kindergarten soon. Her letter writing was OK, but this program has definitely helped. It makes your child keep doing a letter over and over until they get it right. I can see an improvement in my daughter's writing of letters in the weeks since she's had the program. Well worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil Saves Doodleburg on leapster gs

By AmomUvAson from North Carolina on 05/16/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game is full of cute things that your child will learn. The characters they have put in this game are very cute and inform the child on what things are, what they do and how to use them. This game is very educational, it helps children learn how to draw shapes, letters, learn about colors and much more. I would definately recomend this game for children but i would say that they should be able to listen and follow as the game says to do as well as begin learning to write and draw.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Excellent Starter Game.

By Cazzistar from Salem, OR on 05/04/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the first cartridge game I got for my daughter when she turned 4. She loved playing it for quite a long time and she actually has reset it at least 3 times so she could play it again from the beginning. I was a little disappointed that the micromod did not come with a lot of additional content, but it was still ok. I really like the practice that she got writing her letters. She is 5 now and she can write almost every letter of the alphabet without checking her letter guide!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil ( Leapfrog Explorer )

By tarekmw from Undisclosed on 05/01/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this app for my 4 yr daughter maybe a month ago, and she loved it, I think it is one of the best apps for the Leapster Explorer, as it combines many features, like listening, reading and writing, along with handwriting correction, wonderful app.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great learning tool!

By LaBarre from EL Paso, TX on 04/28/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very pleased with this game! My son did not want anything to do with a pencil, coloring, drawing, etc. After playing this game maybe three times, he has started drawing on his own!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Have a question

By ju2ne from Canton, MI on 04/26/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Granddaughter is frustrated with this game. Do you need the original Mr. Pencil to use this game? I don't see anywhere on here that says to purchase that one in order to get this one. Can someone tell me please? Maybe then we can figure out this game so that our granddaughter will like this game more. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love This Product

By Keisha from Houston on 04/20/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids could play for hours


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Game!

By MelissaJ from Undisclosed on 04/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this for my daughter because she needs to work on her writing skills and she really does not like to practice and this game makes it a little more fun for her to get in the practice that she needs. This actually seems to be her favorite game right now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FRUSTRATING GAME

By HateThisGame from Canada on 04/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this game for our daughter while on vacation last week, because it isn't available for her system (Leapster GS) in our area. Well, she enjoys the color aspect of it, but it's almost as though the game doesn't 'fit in the screen'..... The lines are IMPOSSIBLE to draw, and even I can't make a stupid line on the screen with the stylist. I've been using a NAIL from my toolbox because it's the only thing that's sharp enough to make a line, and I have to be a quarter inch up (or down) from the line, and it game then says I'm on it, it's awful. There are no settings to 'reformat' the screen, my daughter, (nor I) can get ahead in any of the games because we can't make a straight line in the first part of the game...... Wish I could submit a movie of how un-user friendly this game is. GARBAGE!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

told to much

By Papa9 from BREA, CA on 04/01/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

A first time look amazing but when you try to access the different feature MR. Pencil told too much and them proceed to finish. My kid got upset because he trying to play and the game still talking. My suggest to you guy is less talk and more fun. I like hoe they teaching make the abc's letters.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT BUY!!

By MommaK from Fairview, OR on 03/29/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 & 4 year old love this game!! I find myself laughing at some of the characters and the cheesy lines. My ONLY wish is that there was a section where I can type in a word (Like my children's name) that they can practice spelling and writing....I can't seem to find any app like that. One that focuses primarily on preparing kiddos for school..like writing letters, your name, counting, problem solving, shapes all in one! Like a a fun character who goes to her first day of school and your child can experience it with her". Learning a long the way.. =)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 6 yr old likes; my 4 yr old gets frustrated

By NatiGirl from Louisville on 03/27/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great game. However, my 4 year old was frustrated with having to follow the shape drawings. It kept asking her to draw again, and she would hand it to me to do for her. I guess this is part of learning, but she ended up "trading" this game with her 6 yr old sister for something easier and "more fun." On the other hand, my 6 year old, who is more patient, liked following the instructions and tried to make the shapes "perfectly" like the game wanted you to. Game is educational!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Screen Freezes

By mtbr from Oregon on 03/24/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased the leapster GS for my grandson's birthday last month. He really enjoys the games that come with it. I purchased the Mr. Pencil as a download to help him with his writing skills. It's a great program for that purpose, but the screen freezes between lessons and the only way to reset it is to turn the GS off and restart which has led to frustration, and he no longer wants to use that program because of this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smart Buy

By Momaratzie from San Diego,CA on 03/21/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My children received a demo with their Explorers and loved to help fix the problem of the missing pieces, so I knew it was a must to buy for their Leappads. I love the pre-writting skills it teaches.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil

By TylersProudMom from Texas on 03/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game hasn't interested my child as much as the Math and Science apps.. but that could be just because my child loves math and science. He says he still likes this game, but if I had to do it again, may have invested in a different one for his interests.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Engaging!

By Jett from Manhasset, NY on 03/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Mr. Pencil got my 4 year old son interested in learning how to write his name. I highly recommend it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great and educational!

By drgrabiko from California on 03/05/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game is a great way to learn letters while also interacting with a story. My child has learned a lot from this game and I appreciate how all the names of people and places are educational as well. I personally like how none of the characters in the game are super famous or on television because I think this allows my child to focus on the learning.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil saved the day!

By melissa1111 from Undisclosed on 03/05/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has been a wonderful exercise for my son. My son was in therapy for being delayed in certain areas, which was caused from serious complications at birth. He was not able to hold his pencil correctly and he did not press hard enough to clearly see what he was writing. Mr. Pencil saved the day with giving him the motivation to correctly press hard enough to actually see what he was writing.The more he plays this game, he gains more and more hands on coordination. Thank you for this wonderful game...truely has been a blessing for us!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Took my son a little ...

By StationaryDaddy from Undisclosed on 03/02/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took my son a little while to get into what was going on, but once he start to pay attention, he feel in love with the game. Very educational and interactive. The only con I have about it is that my son is left handed, so, some actives are harder for him because of the set up. (but its nothing new if you are left handed)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Challenge

By Marsh34 from Illinois on 03/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Seven year old granddaughter thought it was a "dumb old game" I bought it for her because I didn't have the extra money for the more expensive games she wanted. A real disappointment for her and embarrassing for me. No more game for us. It just causes us both trouble in the long run.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Entertaining and fun, and Educational too!

By gr00vych1k from Gold Country, CA on 02/27/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son wanted this game, when I was hoping he would choose a book that was "educational" when I rewarded him with an application for his Leappad 2. I could not have been more wrong about the educational value of this game! My son absolutely loves playing the game, so it certainly has entertainment value as well. But, as with many Leapfrog applications, there is so much rich learning content provided that "fools" my child so that he is learning while having his fun. I definitely recommend this game to any parent who wants their child to enjoy learning!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

big hit!

By 3scompany from Southern California on 02/25/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my 4 and 3 yr olds and they love it! Even after completing the game, they continue to return to play it. It was a great tool for reinforcing shapes and colors as well as some new concepts like the color wheel and warm/cool colors. I love that it helped to steady their hands as they were drawing and even my 2 yr old was drawing her shapes and letters! Really Great Game!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Game

By batmanmama from Lincoln, NE on 02/25/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is 3 and needs a little help with some of the activities but can do most of it himself. I like this game teaches him about shapes and colors. My son enjoys it. I would recommend it to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Favorite

By cash from Undisclosed on 02/25/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had reserves about paying this much for Mr. Pencil but my daughter (4yrs) loves it. This game keeps her entertained longer than any other interactive game she has. I believe this game will fall into the category of "Grows with child" but we haven't had it long enough to know.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a very forgiving app

By ScubaMom from Lithia Springs, GA on 02/20/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My child is just starting to write and this app frustrates her because she sometimes takes her stilas off the app and it dings at her and makes her start over. She will get one right and then gets frustrated again. Just like a regular pencil I think it could keep what she has done correctly and let her finish the rest, not start over every time and make her so frustrated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for little hands learning to write

By Loude from Miami, Florida on 02/19/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is in kindergarten but struggles with fine motor skills. This game is great for youngsters who struggle with fine motor skills. He's getting much needed practice but without feeling pressured to perform. He loves to play and I am seeing a difference in his skill level. Thanks!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil Saves Doodleburg

By h2audio1 from Chattanooga, TN on 02/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5 year-old son really likes this game. He talked me into the expansion pack for this app, as well as Mr. Pencil and the Lost Colors. He enjoys the several different levels, and saving the different areas of Doodleburg. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've seen better...

By CtMom from CT on 02/15/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This game requires precision that my LO just doesn't have (and me either when I try it!). Moreover, the cut-scenes are very long and quite boring, so the kids just end up waiting and waiting until they can try something themselves. LeapFrog's cheaper and older letter writing dedicated game is more appropriate and more fun. Buy that one instead.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Thank You

By GrandmaJackie from Florence ky on 02/13/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a grandma who inherited a beautiful grandson with a slight learning disability who is struggling with his letters. With me having little patients I found that this helps so much teaching him to write his letters. He loves it and wants to use it a lot. It not only helps with his letters but colors and shapes as well. Thank you


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrating at times

By Blakker from Geneva Il on 02/03/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It iss a good game for kids that have a good grasp of writing. There are spots where the game is so percise that and adult can have problems. It dose help reinforce what the child may know and introduce some new containt but I would not use this game to teach or further a child's writing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun for all ages!!

By amys2013 from lafayette,IN on 02/03/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this game. Kids find it fun and learn while completing levels! Only draw back is my 5 yo son finished the entire game in a few days:( wish it was more challenging.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a great learning tool

By rAbu from east hampton, ct on 01/29/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my grandson jaxon loves it. now he can write his name and practices his alphabet. however i wish the program will grow as he does. soon he'll be more into words and sentences.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome game!

By april from texas on 01/28/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

game is awesome and very educational. too short. my 4 yr old is not in school so we bought her a leap pad to help teach her. this game is awesome but she finished the game in 2 days and has replayed it 4 times. needs more content. she loves it though!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

creative way to get child to draw

By lisharae from leetonia on 01/28/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My four year old loves this game. My four year old daughter uses this game at least once a day and loves it. Her teaches said they have noticed a difference not only in her writing skills but her confidence in her writing skills. couldn't reccomend this more


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Game

By Meemaw from Boston, MA on 01/28/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my 4 year old nephew - he loves it. He has other games on his Leap Pad 2 but Mr. Pencil is the one he plays the most. Mr. Pencil is helping him with his writing skills while at the same time he is having fun. I would highly recommend this game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has many different ...

By tonyaadair from gastonia nc on 01/27/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has many different activities that involve learning in the process!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Fun!

By Olivemady from NC on 01/27/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My almost 5 year old has had this game for a year now and she still loves it!!! I find it very educational and entertaining. She is learning new things every time she plays. I recently downloaded an expansion pack for more fun. We own 6 cartridge games and this by far is her favorite!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil app is good. ...

By MummyontheGo from Undisclosed on 01/25/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Mr. Pencil app is good. However, it isn't very forgiving if you go out of the lines just a hair. This does frustrate my child. Otherwise my child enjoys it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dad

By sweetpea5555 from Waukesha on 01/24/2013


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think most of the programs you sell our very educational. I also think that there a bit pricy especially when your child is 4.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's good for extended playing, but...

By DadofKyle from Little Rock, AR on 01/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the most part this is a fun game for my soon to be 4 year old. The only complaint I have is when tracing the lines on the screen it doesn't seem to line up with what they are showing so it becomes frustrating even for this 37 year old to try to draw an octagon because it keeps kicking you off of the drawing and saying, "let's try again, let's try again...!"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 3 1/2 year old loves this game

By Nicole355 from Atlanta, Ga on 01/22/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this gaming system for my son and I must say it was certainly a good investment. My son will be starting Pre-K soon and this game has helped him learn vital skills to prepare him.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for learning

By jandh from NC on 01/22/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is enjoying this and I feel like it is helping him with his writing and reading, he thinks it is a fun game I got him not one I got to help him learn


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Entertaining and educational

By howekat9 from Vermont on 01/20/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3-year-old daughter has played with Mr Pencil Saves Doodleburg more than any other game. She loves learning to write the different letter and numbers. She also enjoys the different shape and color concepts. The graphics are crude compared to some other game or stories, but that does not seem to bother her.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i love Mr pencil

By GBsmemaw from Eustace, TX on 01/20/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My grandbaby loves playing Mr pencil. She get so into playing this game it is hard to get her to put it down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rencil Saves Doodlebug

By Gracie from Travelers Rest, SC on 01/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game is okay, but not one of the first that my kids choose to play. They do sometime like to be creative and will play it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok!

By Agatka11 from New York on 01/20/2013


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Too much story telling. I would like it to be to the point. Open application and get to writing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Writing and drawing practice

By Nekam88 from Columbus, OH on 01/20/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my kindergartner and she has had a lot of fun playing this game. It is quite easy for her but she seems to enjoy the stories that go along with it and goes back to play more. She gets a little frustrated at the lessons for writing letters and numbers but its good practice anyway. My older son has played with it a bit but gets bored quickly. Even so, they still want to get the expansion packs and related items.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun for a While...

By Birch from Undisclosed on 01/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5-year-old (not in kindergarden yet) got this for Christmas. She loved it, and played it exclusively for a bout a week. Her only complaint during that time was that one of the characters was annoying. And then she fixed all the buildings and wasn't interested in further explorations. I like that it covers the color wheel, some basic perspective (closer things are bigger), and other art concepts. It seemed like some of the excercises were very easy to get 'close enough' and some even I had to try a couple times to get close enough for the game to accept it. As with all Leappad apps, it only recognizes the letters if they're made one way, which is annoying but understandable. If your kid gets obsessive and goal-oriented, this may not last long. If they're more willing to explore, it'll probably be a better fit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I guess my son is too picky...

By ToriMichele from Undisclosed on 01/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I personally think the program is entertaining, and has great educational value. Unfortunately my son will not play it because he said it is not fun enough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great educational fun

By MKRU from Arizona on 01/18/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 6 year old daughter loves this game. It is fun and in addition to teaching writing skills, it also teaches about shapes, colors, how to draw, art, and animation. She completed the game pretty quickly but there is good replay-ability and there is also a downloadable expansion pack (but we haven't done that yet). They can always use it to draw and save pictures plus the animation flip book is cool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Game but doesn't always work

By Cece from Northern CA on 01/18/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have the downloaded version. Unfortunately, though it is a great idea- it does not always work. Often, actually more often than not, my child is unable to play the game because the tracing part does not work at all!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More Bang for Your Buck.

By Rainedrops from California on 01/17/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game has lots of fun learning, art and tracing games. The games and activities are built into the story, however, there are other games that come with this one. Both my daughter and son enjoy this game!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent use of game time

By SMJohnston from Russellville, Ky on 01/17/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Granddaughter enjoys this game very much. It is an excellent use of game time as she is learning to write. Kudos. Well made and throught out!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great game

By arod4251 from FL on 01/14/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my almost 3 and almost 5 y/o are both enjoying the game... took the 3 y/o a little longer to grasp some concepts and certainly some of the pencil skills are too difficult but she enjoys it and will continue to... my almost 5 y/o can really undertand the concepts and follow along - very entertaining and educational


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil

By ADDRivera from New York, NY on 01/13/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My children fight over this game. It Keeps them engaged as they help save doodleburg!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I bought it!

By LeapPadFan from UT on 01/13/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game is not very exciting in my opinion. It is repetitive: a child has to do the same things at every place he/she needs to fix: trace some shapes, letters and color something. And there are A LOT of those places. At the end of the game they have to trace quite a few shapes, all of the upper and lower case letters and learn about colors and few other things. It is good for learning but may not be a lot of fun. My daughter (4.5 years old) is not too crazy about it but she keeps going back to it every day for a little bit, she must be enjoying it in some way. The game works for right and left handed children: my daughter is left handed and she does not have a problem using this game. She does not have a problem with her hand touching the screen: she places it on the leappad itself. The tracing and coloring is not excessively sensitive either, it allows for quite some deviation. If they move away from the line quite a bit then they have to redo it, otherwise the game accepts it. Overall, i am glad i bought this game. Considering everything it has to offer i would absolutely buy it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great purchase

By YogaMomma from Charleston, SC on 01/12/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter loves this game! It's got her drawing more & teaches her the color wheel, all without her realizing she's even learning :). I highly recommend this for anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for young minds

By rayray2 from LA on 01/12/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love it. Both my grandchildren love playing this game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr. Pencil Saves Doodleburg

By nan1 from Scottsdale, AZ on 01/09/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a teacher and parent I love this game. It is very engaging for my daughter and teaches her how to trace lines and write letters. She is having fun and learning too. My daughter is in preschool and didn't show much interest in writing her letters...it was too overwhelming for her. After I got here this game, she now loves writing her letters! Thank you Leap Pad!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Granddaughter loves this ...

By rgrate55 from MN on 01/04/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Granddaughter loves this game cartridge for her leapster explorer. Shipping was fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Favorite Game

By howekat9 from Vermont on 01/03/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my 3-year-old's favorite game for her LP2. She has spent the most time playing it. She also has Dora, Disney Fairies, Cinderella and Kai-lan which she enjoys, but this is her current favorite. The animation is a bit crude, but it does not seem to bother her. She told me that she "LOVES" Mr. Pencil because he is so funny. She loves drawing the shapes and writing the letters. It has captured her attention more than just using a piece of paper. She does not like the part with the reporter and always turns the volume down because she says "I already heard this part". I highly recommend this game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

new to us

By Motherkaren from Millis, MA on 12/30/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a new game to us, so we don't have too much comparison. My son wanted this and has enjoyed playing it the limited amount we have owned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Taught my son to write with his wrist in the air

By Pluto from Columbia, MO on 12/29/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a cute game. It shows how to make lines, shapes, letters and numbers. My son was just learning how to write when we got this game. The hard part for him was learning to hold his wrist up so only the stylus touched the screen. He learned how to make all of the letters and numbers from the game. Unfortunately, when he went to write on paper, he held his wrist up and only touched the paper with the pencil. It's taken me several months to retrain him in how to write on paper. For this reason, I wouldn't get the game again, nor would I recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great game

By kymommy from starkville, ms on 12/23/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game teaches so much! Your child learns about shapes, colors, letters, and numbers. My son has autism so he is very reluctanct to write, but with this game, you could never tell. Thanks LEAPFROG for an excellent for kids.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good

By Macy from Undisclosed on 12/15/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it is not for my age, but it is engaging. it is easy and funny.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Recommended for Kindergarten prep

By Leapmom2 from KY on 12/05/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I highly recommend this game for preparation for Kindergarten, ages 4&5, especially if your child is not preparing in a preschool. It strengthens their little hand muscles and helps them to start practicing writing skills that are now recommended for children entering kindergarten. I also suggest getting Leap's Letter Factory in addition to this game because it focuses on letters more than this game. If you can get your child beyond the somewhat boring introductions, then they should get hooked around their 2nd or 3rd time playing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My daughter's favorite game.

By KarenD from Knoxville, Tn on 12/02/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have to admit that I got this game in the Leappad bundle and probably wouldn't have bought it otherwise.But out if all my daughter's games, she plays this one the most. She loves this game and plays it more than the others. She has learnmed a lot from it and talks about Doodleburg and Mr.Pencil all the time. Great game!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase!

By Mom850810 from Wise VA on 11/24/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this game for my sons birthday to help him learn his letters and shapes! He loves this game! It has helped him so much in drawing his letters! Great game!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for the Leapster but not for the Leappad

By chia517 from Philippines on 10/29/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game doesn't just teach children how to write and draw; it aslo teaches them basic art concepts like what primary colors are, and how to mix them to form other colors. It does incorporate a lot of talking (because that's how it gets the lessons across), but the graphics/cartoons make all those lessons entertaining. It's like a 3-in-1 app because kids get to watch a video, pick up theoretical knowlege about art, AND practice those ideas in fun writing and drawing activities. I recently installed this app in both the Leappad2 and the Leapster Explorer. Since the Leapster's screen is small, there is only a slight chance of children placing part of their hand on it, thereby minimizing accidental errors. However, since the Leappad2's screen is big, it is a bit awkward to hold the stylus in such a way as to not let any part of the hand touch the screen. If something other than the stylus touches the screen during a particular writing or drawing activity, the activity has to be redone from the beginning. This was something my daughter found awfully frustrating. Another downside is, I couldn't download the micromods for this game although I had no problems downloading micromods for any of the cartridge games we used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Game Yet

By TopNotchMom from Phoenix,AZ on 09/21/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the first game I bought my daughter and she has loved it since day one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Learing to Wright

By Mommyof2Boys from Springfield, MO on 09/06/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not only is it fun for my son to help save the town, it has been great on teaching him so many different things such as colors, shapes, numbers and letters. The most important to us is that it has been helping him learn how to write uppper and lower case letters.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is a lot of fun.

By mumof1 from michigan on 08/31/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Of all the games we have purchased, this is the most favorite. My son has started it over and played it through again. Other children have enjoyed it also. It is educational, fun and engaging.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the lessons are cool

By Tessie from Florida on 08/15/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the actual game is pretty repetitive, but that is no problem for a preschooler. my favorite parts are the lessons where they teach about a horizon line, how to animate, and more. my kid loves these too, and the whole game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Was not sure my daughter ...

By Mitsuko from Olympia, WA on 08/14/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Was not sure my daughter would like this one, thought it was a bit basic but she has had a lot of fun with it . We usually sit and play in together.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent game

By Alex from Vietnam on 07/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an app that my little kid can learn about drawing. I see it so helpful


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mr Pencil

By CuongKute from Ho Chinh Minh, Viet Nam on 07/24/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game is so interesting, my 4 year old love playing this game, he learns about color and the number lession via game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for a 3 year old

By Steffanie from St. Paul, MN on 07/18/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My granddaughter just turned 3 and she loves this game. It didn't take her long to figure the entire thing out. Highly recommend this game if you have a 3 year old, however, it would still be excellent for preschool and kindergarten age children. Wish Leap Frog made more games for 3 year old for the Leap Pad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Did not capture my child's interest

By LuvMyDsDd from Baltimore, MD on 05/05/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this game hoping for a fun way to improve my 4yr old's letter writing skills. The exercises are not any more fun than writing on a piece of paper. Worse, there is so much talking and instruction that he loses interest before the activity even begins. A good choice for a child who is already interested in the subject, but will not hook the less-inclined child.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE THIS GAME!!

By mamaerica24 from Phoenix, AZ on 04/01/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old son is supposed to start kindergarten in 4 months. I have tried teaching him his numbers, letters, etc at home but he doesnt want to focus with me. I decided to buy him a leapster explorer and he showed great interest in it... obviously it's way more fun than mom! When he started playing Mr Pencil Saves Doodleburg, he picked up on writing and drawing right away! I have seen such an improvement in his writing skills... he has even started coloring in the lines! I just love this game and would recommend it for any child who needs to learn to write and draw.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More than a talking pencil

By five0 from NY on 02/18/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 yro absolutely loves Mr Pencil and Mr Pencil has done wonders for my 3 yro son with super human powers - constantly on the go - no naps - 70 mph -all day - everyday. He will sit for at least an hour and play with Mr Pencil - a few times a day. I actually feel very differently about the frustration level children encounter with Mr Pencil. When he becomes frustrated it is a perfect oppurtunity to teach him to breath and relax , take his time and learn to follow specific instructions. Also , teaching him to quit and take a break for awhile when he is too frustrated - that he can go back and try again - once he has taken a break and tried again he can do it - sometimes it takes 3 or 4 x ... he is learning that patience and calmness help to get the job done. I am an older mom having raised to grown children in a time when flash cards were hot! Today , everything is fast paced , disposable, if you can't do it cause it's too hard ... do the easy thing. I like that Mr Pencil has old fashioned values and teaches everything is not so easy... if you keep trying ... you can do it! Mr Pencil teaching colors, shapes , dimensions, in more aspects than just the basics. Mr Pencil has been able to capture my 3 yro sons attention for at least an hour - that in itself is a feat not done by anyone else . He has finished the game several x over and still enjoys playing Mr Pencil... and I am grateful Mr Pencil is saving my sanity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too Easy!

By 1NamelessMom from Buffalo, NY on 02/01/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

At first my 5 year old didn't like it. Once I convinced her to play it she finished the entire game in a little over a week! I checked online and her total playing time was only 3 hours!! ( I compare this to other games of the same level where she has played over 5 hours and is not even half way finished) She can still do the art and draw but she has unlocked all the buildings and "saved the town". Now she is bored with it. It seems like an okay game but I recommend only for a child in pre-k. Grade k and 1 level children are most likely too advanced. It DOES NOT grow with the child. In this case I hate to call it a waste of money but if the shoe fits...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best game out there for a 5 year old

By singlelady from Monteagle, TN on 01/26/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got the Leapster Explorer for my son for Christmas this year. He was 4 at the time and has now turned 5. Out of all the 4 games I bought him, Mr. Pencil is his absolute favorite. He has completed the game thru 2 different names and wants it to bring more areas to work on. Highly recommend to anyone - especially 4 and up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too ghetto

By Littleboy from Bronx, ny on 01/06/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchase this product for my son but when we used I the pencil says DUDE & talk rude to the pencil teacher. I want a refund..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Game

By Jaimer from Pennsylvania on 01/01/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game is very educational for developing fine motor skills. My daughter finds it a little slow paced but it may be because she is still little young for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best so far

By gapeba from Jacksonville, FL on 12/29/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best and most entertaining game we purchased so far. We own 2 Explorers and only one Mr. Pencil game and kids keep fighting who`s gonna play it. It is very educational yet entertaining.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The game is wonderful

By Pbarker from Chicago, IL on 09/05/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I must say that I am very pleased with this game. My daughter just turned 5 and this has been 1 of her favorites on the leapster. Mr pencil has improved her writing and drawing skills. Not to mention that her coloring skills are above average because of this game. I don't see how anyone can rate this game anything below 5 stars!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best game we have

By MEZMom from IL on 08/14/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids LOVE this game. It has helped improve their fine motor skills quite a bit and therefore, their handwriting. I wish there was more to it. Just purchased the extension pack leaplet. Hopefully, there is a lot more for them to do now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Explorer Game Out There!

By WifenMommy from Phoenix, AZ on 06/03/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutely recommend this game. My 3 year old son was obsessed with this game and it truly helped him improve his writing skills. I also purchased the extended version online for more levels because my son was dying for more challenges to tackle! If you want your child to improve their writing skills in a fun way, then this is the game for you! I would recommend it to everyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

really?

By 2lake from nh on 05/10/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

my soon to be 5yr old has unlocked the entire game.. now what? go back and stamp and decorate? could it get anymore boring then that. maybe i am missing the point of this game but what a waste. what do you do now? im not a big fan of the new leapster.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good concept, but poor design

By Lea821 from Undisclosed on 03/03/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have seen the negative reviews out there about this game regarding its sensitivity and frustration and I couldn't agree with them more. I was looking forward to this so my 4 1/2 year old could practice writing numbers and letters, however it is way too sensitive. When tracing the line you have to start exactly at the circle and stay pretty much exactly on the lines and not lift up the stylus at all. If you do, it starts all over. This is beyond frustrating, I am about to return it at this point since she can't even get her letters/numbers to show up half the time. I can see her tracing properly but b/c she doesn't have it pressed down all the way or exactly on the line there is no progress made. How are young kids supposed to learn this way??? Not encouraging at all!!! Come on Leap Frog, you can do better than this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My daughter LOVES this!

By TresNinos from Ohio on 03/01/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter is in Kindergarten and not much of a video game person, but she really enjoys this game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cute game but frustating for son and myself

By stuckygirl from philly on 01/21/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we have several of the leapster explorer and leapster 2 games and this one is very cute. we downloaded the demo and loved it. my son really wanted to "fix" the pirate ship but there is a lock over the site in the demo. i assumed the lock was there b/c it was a demo and therefore bought the cartridge. the locks are still there!!!! i think he has to finish other sites to unlock the new sites, but it is very unclear. then, when i plug his leapster into our computer there is no available information about what to do. help?? otherwise, it is a very cute game and we are really enjoying the leapster products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great

By princessMommy from michigan on 01/18/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old loves this game! I think she was able to have more fun with it since she has already had some practice with writing letters. She likes all of the lessons as well. I find that in some parts of saving the town you have to complete the whole building or whatever for it to save what you did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredibly frustrating

By Brian from Seymour, CT on 01/12/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this last weekend and my poor son is replaying the same four sections of the game because it fails to save and advance him when he accomplishes a task. It is so frustrating and I'm about to throw it away if I can't find a fix to this. He is doing so well and he earns the star that the task was complete and then he shuts the game off, turns it back on and it is reset to the beginning all over again. None of his other games do this. If anyone has a solution please help! He loves to write and I really wanted this game to advance his skills.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best game ever!

By SolarPowered from Undisclosed on 12/29/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 2 1/2 year old daughter LOVES this game. She asks to play it every day. She loves being able to draw and color and i love that she can do so with out making a mess! It's a win win!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved