Home » 39050 » 30 Reviews

Leapfrog 39050 Leapster Explorer Recharger Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 30 reviews)

70% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Grows With Child (11), Good For On-the-go Play (21), Fun For Kids (13)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Best toy for my 3 and 6 yr old

By PonceInletMom from Ponce Inlet, FL on 02/21/2014


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this for 2 years now. I have downloaded plenty of games, music, and my kids' favorite videos (of their favorite character). And I have not run out of room yet. The cartridges are great too but the downloads seem to be cheaper. It's a wonderful game system and very educational. I even have my own profile since you can have up to 3 on the Explorer. The games are great and my son, when he was 2, was able to play a lot of the games. Yet these games are hard enough and fun enough to keep my 6 year old daughter entertained too. Each profile has their age listed so the game can become harder or easier depending on what age you list on their profile. So my daughter can play the same game but play with more difficulty. Best thing I have ever bought them! Now if it altos only teach how to share!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good value for smallchildren's learning.

By adece from Laguna, New Mexico on 10/21/2013


Pros:

Educational, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My grandson loves to play and interact with his Leapster explorer! He has learned so much and improved his speech. Great product!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only way to go!

By crossquill from Newport News, VA on 10/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I definitely recommend getting a charger system for any game system. My 2 and 4 year old grandsons know how to place them in the chargers when they aren't using the systems so they are always full for the next time. Replacing batteries is a pain and limits the child. As much as the system is used, it pays for itself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Addition

By EJCUCAMONGA from Rancho Cucamonga, CA on 04/26/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Perfect addition to any Leapster, perfect because other batteries will die quick - even rechargeable. SO i would recommend this as a addition to any Leapster.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Life Saver!

By Eve1227 from Undisclosed on 03/18/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Definitely a must have, especially if your child is always on their handheld. Just imagine how much it was costing me to replace batteries, times two!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Economical Must Have Accessory

By Dakota from North Dakota on 02/13/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would recommend that all owners of the leapster explorer purchase the rechargable battery pack. It is a significant initial investment however it will pay for itself quickly as an hour or two of charging allows playtime equal to a set of disposable batteries. The rechargeable battery pack is a bit heavier than the disposable kind.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

leapster explorer

By SUZIEQ from CALIFORNIA on 01/30/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this my two grandchildren are entertained for hours at a time and when I am driving it helps to keep peace between them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bargain!!!!!

By ShaunaBMe from Phoenix, AZ on 01/26/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the way to go if you have an Explorer. Comes with battery pack and adapter which are necessities if you don't want to keep investing in batteries. Also convenient that you can charge battery without having it attached to Explorer, so while battery pack is being charged you can still hook up Explorer to either a back-up battery pack or plug it in the wall until other unit is charged. Now just need to come up with a car adapter for travel! This is definitely worth purchasing in the long run!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great option

By Laneice from Hyde Park, MA on 01/16/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This charger is perfecft for on the go or travel trips. I was happy to learn there was another option besides regular batteries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Product

By EmpressC from New York, NY on 01/14/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Purchased the Explorer for my 4 year old last Christmas. Didn't think about the charger. After a year of buying batteries, we purchased as a Christmas gift this year - Worth every penny!!! We went Holiday for New Years- and saved so much money (batteries are twice as expensive abroad). Plus the charge lasted our entire flight (airport time included)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent value

By Granmommy from Oregon on 12/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The recharger is the best thing since sliced bread. No more batteries. We have our granddaughter put her Leapster in the charger at night time when she goes to bed. Perfect!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Much better than the 4 double a batteries

By mlsinc from Midway, TN on 10/09/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've had the Leapster Explorer for almost a year and we finally broke down and purchased this charger. MUCH MUCH better than the 4 double a batteries twice a week replacement. Worth it. Don't forget to keep the connections clean on the charger and the explorer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this charger!

By BenjabugsMom from Lexington on 08/27/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is awesome! No more battery changing! My son places his Explorer on the charger for it to "sleep" or take a "nap" and it is always ready to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love the recharger!! I ...

By froglove from Lafayette,IN on 08/06/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the recharger!! I was buying batteries every couple days until i got this. I would recommend getting this for anyone buying a leapster


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Was in love, now not so much

By abcat from Wilbraham, MA on 04/02/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 4 yo daughter got the Leapster Explorer for Christmas this year. She LOVES it. Unfortunately the batteries were costing us a fortune so we got the charger. Well now 3 months later, like every other reviewer, its not working anymore. The charger just sits and blinks. I have unplugged, replugged, changed everything I can, cleaned the ports with a dry towel or Q-tip NOTHING. It just blinks!!! I am very very upset as my daughter plays with this daily. I will probably by the rechargeable batteries and throw the charging unit away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LEAPSTER EXPLORER RECHARGER REVIEW

By Elinor from Montreal, Quebec on 03/31/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the Leapster Explorer (complete with the battery pack, and the recharger) last Dec, 2, 2011 for my 4 year old son. He uses it about 3 times in a week. However, today my son complained that his explorer went off all of a sudden after about 15 minutes of playing with it. I noticed that the recharger's green light was blinking and this is the first time that it happened. The unit was not charging at all. I'm not sure if the quality of the recharger or the battery pack is to be questioned here. It's just disappointing that, as I read from the other reviews, my problem is not an isolated case. Maybe the company should look into what could be done to improve the quality of their products. Over the years, Leapster turned out to be the leader in educational stuff for kids so I'm hopeful that they address the issues posted in the reviews so customers will not end up looking for other brands that will satisfy their money's worth. As for the purpose of making learning fun for kids, i don't have anything but praise. The problem lies in the accessories. What are you (Leapster) going to do about it?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE THE IDEA OF ON THE GO RECHARGING SHATION

By DEBBIE from ERIE PA on 03/10/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

IT WAS PLUGGED IN OVER NIGHT AND STILL DOES NOT RECARGE THE UNIT. QUIT WORKING AFTER 3 MONTHS.I GOT THIS FOR MY GRANDSON FOR CHRISTMANS. NOT A GOOD VALUE


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dissapointed :(

By ELLAS from WI on 12/08/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was reading your reviews and i am not the only one with this problem. I love the whole concept of a charger to save on batteries,reason i bought it. I love it bought it as soon as it came out. But when my daughter recently asked me she wanted to play with it, It wasnt charged even though its always been plugged in.I've tried different outlet so thats not the problem.I tried one last time last night plugged it in the light glows but this morning,NOTHING.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I bought it!

By SummersMom from Calgary AB on 11/20/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My child absolutely loves her explorer, and my first thoughts were - how much is this going to cost in batteries?! I am so glad i bought the charger! Its simple enough she can plug it in herself and she knows right where it is at all times, and i don't have to worry about the batteries running out - and having to deal with a disappointed kid. The light showing it is connected properly is great so there is no mistake picking it up the next day and not having it charged.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leapster Explorer Recharger

By Mark from Albuquerque, NM on 11/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Save your money! We, as have many other reviewers, had this product for only a few months. We thought this is the way to go since this machine goes through batteries like there is no tomorrow! But, after only a few months the rechargable battery no longer recharges! Save yourself a headache and go out and buy AA rechargable batteries. We are extremly disappointed with this product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

upset by quality

By Carrie from Midwest on 10/31/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have only had this product for a few months and my son has rarely played with the Explorer over this time period. My son came across his Explorer yesterday. Went to plug it in and the batteries will no longer recharge. Very disappointed in the quality of this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should be included with game.

By careylacey from Selma,AL on 10/26/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a must if you buy the Explorer. My son was using a set of 4 batteries a day, and I really don't let him play very much. I'm not sure why the company didn't include this with the game. The stand is great. Each night my son simply sits his game in the stand and its fully charged(and he can find it). Well worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why isn't the battery pack available separately?

By MomOfTwo from North Carolina on 07/09/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have two Leapster Explorers. I was very disappointed that I couldn't buy one recharger and two battery packs. Now I'm especially angry because my daughter's battery pack has stopped working all together even though the charger still works fine. We haven't even had the chargers and batteries for more than a few months. If I buy the whole set again, then I'll have three rechargers when I really only need one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

need one per leapster

By dadof2 from CA on 01/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought leapsters for both our children this christmas. Also bought a charger, but soon realized that we would need one per leapster as you can't buy the batteries alone. I guess the same thing will happen once the battery begins to die. Took it back and bought a fast charger and 8 rechargeable batteries for the same price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth the money

By Buffy from Colorado on 01/09/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this idea - green for the environment, lasts a long time and kids learn about using rechargers vs. batteries. Don't like that you can only get one battery pack - as we have two Leapster Explorers and more than one battery recharger would make a great deal of sense! We have spent lots of $$ on the 2 Leapster explorers, games, Leaplets, and the charger station, now we just want and additional charger battery pack. don't see that part available in the shopping area. Otherwise it's a great toy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

goes through batteries like crazy

By workingmom from Michigan on 01/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am disappointed... the grandparents bought it as an 'educational' toy, but there's really nothing other than a few moments of 'more than', 'less than' and matching in the lower levels, and ours seems to be stuck on 'less than'. It goes through batteries like crazy, and I mean brand new 'Duracells' every couple of hours. Our preschool child has had it 5 days (played with about 4 hours a day between him and us checking it out) and the paint is already wearing off the directional pad, the game that came with it constantly has to be rebooted for errors and all the currently earned points are lost--very frustrating, 'connecting' is very slow and you need certain screen resolutions (not great if you only have a netbook!) and it's addictive--have fun trying to take it away from your preschooler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dosent work!!!!!

By JMom from Baton Rouge, LA on 01/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The new battery pack does not hold a charge. I have exchanged the product once already. Will be returning the SECOND one to the store. Would consider returning the Leapster if my daughter didnt love it so. I am very disappointed! We thought this would save us money. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

must have

By Mamiof2 from Massachusetts on 12/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the explorer goes through batteries like its oxygen.... must have!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Will pay for itself!!!

By gump from Wisconsin on 12/26/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product will pay for itself in NO TIME! The price of batteries verses the recharger is no comparison! It charges over 300 times, it's defiantly a must have


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

chrager

By Honeybear from Troy. OH on 10/14/2010


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a must have for your leapster explorer. The batteries do ok but it is even better to not buy batteries all the time. We love having this around to charge up for when we are on the go. It holds charge for a long time, days of play.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved