Home » Computers » Software Products » Software » 39089 » 17 Reviews

LeapFrog Explorer LeapSchool Reading Game - Theme/Subject: Learning - Skill Learning: Reading, Spelling, Logic, Reasoning Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 17 reviews)

64% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Not Engaging Enough (3), Fun For Kids (11), Grows With Child (8), Good For On-the-go Play (10), Educational (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

She LOVES School

By guatemama2 from North Texas on 12/11/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 7yr old can't wait till she gets home from school, to go to LeapSchool. I bought her a few of the different modules and she loves them all. They keep her enertained and she is learning so much. I only wish they had more educational materials for older children. At the rate she is soaking it up, she will soon be ready for more advanced materials. LeapHigh maybe??


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product made writing more fun

By SAHM from Florida on 10/26/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Mr Pencil has been a great asset for learning to write. Our daughter has been able to read since she was 2, however writing and coloring were tougher to implement. Now, with this product, the fear of writing is gone, and it just a fun Game to play with. This has helped with fine motor development. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't waste your money

By byahn13k from Yuma, AZ on 07/10/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

There is very little reading in this game. My daughter has fun tickling hamsters in this game, but when she gets bored of the hamsters then the game is put away for another month. It takes a while to get to the hamsters because there are so many buttons to push and the game moves verrrry slowwww. I would never recommend this game to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best

By tealady from newport, pa on 05/23/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Leap School games are by far the best games. There's more content and much broader range for both my 6 and 10 year old users. It's not over as quickly as the cheaper programs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great game

By LLKmom from Virginia on 04/08/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old has taught himself to read using this game. He started reading a book to me one day and when I asked where he learned to read so well he said he taught himself with his Leappad. I guess I will let him play more often.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too expensive the apps.

By Anonymous from NYC on 01/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I wasn't expecting so expensive price for the apps. Much more expensive than other tablets. They're not really very educational.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Game to encourage reading

By LeapFrogRocks from Bay Area, CA on 10/16/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this for my 5 year old daughter, for her LeapPad. So far she is enjoying this game, and I'm watching her interact with this game reading along nicely. Its great to know that there is education value in this game and will help develop her reading skills. Thanks again LeapFrog for a great game!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Interesting idea and layout!

By xealia from minnesota on 09/27/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This game has a unique linear set up of how things should be played and done. Great for my 4 year old. I bought this for my boys (4&6) in Dec and they didn't touch it until nearly May. From the pic, box and discription my kids didn't have interest in playing. They did actually start playing it on my insistance and questioning but it held their interest for not very long. They have played with it maybe a combined 7-8 hours. The game is set up like several mini games that I don't think are very educational for a 4 or a 6 year old. They are very basic like cutting boards in half (fine for a child with minimal dexterity). Yet its kind of confusing because you need to help some one who needs help from someone who needs help from someone else! I like that when the people talk there are words you can read (like closed captioning) for most of the words. But the games are too boring and basic. If its for a 2-3 year old it will be too hard to get to the games them selves. If its for a 4-5 year old the games will be too simple to bother... Its an ok game...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Survey

By Delbonom from Oceanside California on 09/18/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These games are very practical my children love them their educational user friendly and fun to play


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed with this one

By Tessie from Florida on 08/15/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I thought that this game would be good for my eager learner, but i found that it is more of a waste of time. most of the games have nothing educational about them besides learning how to manage the stylus. because it was one of 2 original games we had, my daughter has played it all the way through... but i believe if we had had other options she wouldn't have. she got bored pretty quickly with this one. she is 4. even finishing unlocking all of the mini games is somewhat unexciting. now what? she asked me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Jenica from Dallas, TX on 08/13/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5 yo daughter loves this game, it will hold her attention for a long time. There are so many activities that she doesn't seem to get bored of it. She's had it for over a year and still plays it the most.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless

By Kirby from Boston on 02/07/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Sat with my son to watch this entire Cartridge. I really could not see the point in any of it. It seemed a waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not impressed

By mom3 from Minnesota on 01/17/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not sure if we just haven't gotten far enough into the game, but my daughter(5) finds this game boring. It seems like she is doing the same thing over and over again. It says "reading" on the front of the game but she has to yet read or spell anything. She has fed a horse and tickled some hamsters, but no reading. She has the Tangled game and spells way more with that game than with this one. I found it to be a waste of money. Will keep trying to see if it gets better but for how expensive these games are I was hoping for it to be more fun.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really cute and deep game

By TechMom94 from Delaware on 10/04/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Most of the Leapfog games we have are from movies and tv shows like Cars and Toy Story, but I think these are Leapfrog characters. (I could be wrong.) My twin daughter and son, age 5, both love this game. There are lots of girl and boy characters, and lots of different activities and games, including soccer, dolphins, and taking pictures. It's a cartridge they keep going back to over and over.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great game!

By SolarPowered from Undisclosed on 09/01/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter absolutely LOVES this game. This may be her absolute favorite. My only complaint is having the option to start a new game rather than continue. My daughter accidentally hit "new game" and then practically had a nervous breakdown once she realized she lost everything by doing that. She had every one of her "friends" unlocked and now she only has 3. That was sad, but she has fun going through and unlocking them again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Social early reader

By MommaOf2Awesome from east bay california on 08/19/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is super social, likes games and is learning to read. He just got this game is loving it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Fun - my kids love it!

By Mom4 from Undisclosed on 07/17/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this game based on the cover and the game description. Both my younger kids (girl 7, boy 5) love playing it. They love showing me all the things they do in it, like tickling hamsters or feeding a horse the right food. It also plays a different funny movie every time you start the game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved