Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » 39100 » 115 Reviews

Leapfrog Leapster 39100 Electronic Learning Game Theme/subject: Mathematics, Learning - Skill Learning: Reading, Science, Geography, Creativity, Music, Problem Solving Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 115 reviews)

86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fun For Kids (101), Good For On-the-go Play (91), Educational (19), Grows With Child (78), Not Engaging Enough (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

love it.

By LeahM from Enid,ok on 03/16/2015


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We apsolutely love this game it has all the same features as older sons leap pad 2. My almost 5 yr old loves it never wants to put it down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great learning toy

By grandma8 from Annapolis, MD on 03/09/2015


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

our grandson loves his new toy and with guidance will use for quite awhile.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 3 year old likes it

By Lthomas from Michigan on 03/01/2015


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 year old likes it, but it needs to be touch pad I stead of having to use the styles. The stylet had to be right in the middle to select and is hard to use even for an adult. My 3 year old gets frustrated and brings it to me to get it to move at times. So it needs to be easier touch screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By ghrpr from Florida on 02/20/2015


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son loves the games! He spends hours feeding his pets, changing their looks etcetera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Handheld Game

By Shanquilla from Undisclosed on 01/31/2015


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great on-the-go game! Keeps small child entertained during long car rides.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By Grimlock from Rantoul,Il on 01/08/2015


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent for the price.Many options to choose from.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good but not great

By mieka123 from plains,PA on 01/08/2015


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Educational, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my daughter loves this device. she never wants to stop playing it. its very educational and entertaining .... on the other hand we have been experiencing problems with the charging. we even bought new batteries and a charger. and its doing the same thing.. shes not able to play what she wants . im not sure if we should order a new one or how to fix it .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My son loves his leapster

By tess from Undisclosed on 01/06/2015


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not big on video games, but I do feel the cartridges that I buy and the apps that I download for the Leapster are educational. My son really enjoys it and he is learning at the same time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Game

By Nannieof5 from New Jersey on 12/13/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product for my grandchildren. They love it! There are so many apps available that are educational now. I purchased videos and games for it as well. It keeps them busy and most games are educational which is important to us because we are a family of teachers. My youngest granddaughter does better with this game system than the iPad because she seems to constantly shut the games down on the iPad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is very good

By Cus10 from N/A on 09/22/2014


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is good for my child. He has been playing it in free time with many education games to improve his skills.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Right size for travel

By KGB506 from INGLEWOOD,CA on 04/17/2014


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old wanted to take his LeaPad everywhere he goes, so we purchased the Leapster and now he has a new game to travel with. It is perfect in size and sometimes I see him trying to play both games at the same time. We are very satisfied with this new addition to our LeapFrog inventory. We can't leave the house without him looking for his LeaPad/Leapster and of course his headphones. Hours of play great investment. He has no idea he is learning while having fun.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leapster Explorer

By Earlymorning from Connecticut on 12/29/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Educational, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my daughter 3 years ago and it was the best gift I ever bought her. She reads, does math, puzzles, spelling words, and has fun. It keeps her occupied for hours. She loves it and it is great for long car trips.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great...but

By Jami from Farmington, Maine on 11/21/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son got this for his birthday a year and a half ago from his Grammy. He loved it so much and I loved how he was learning and engaged. The only downside was after a little less then a year to a year later. It was broke so for the last 9 months or so he has been without and it is a bummer. I want to buy this one again just because we already have all the accessories that go with it. The games are amazing and is an awesome system. Can not wait to get a new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the GS!

By TeacherMomof2 from Northeast Wisconsin on 10/17/2013


Pros:

Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have the previous leapster explorer and also the gs! Both of these products are played frequently by our children (currently 6 and 4). The gs was purchased for our son when he was 3 and a year later it is still a hit! Although both are excellent products, the gs has a new look and some upgraded features like a camera, motion sensors, slightly larger screen, and better cord placement for ac plug (sold separately). If I were to buy another, I would go with the gs because of the additional features and the addition of games playable on the gs but not the original explorer. They love making stories using pictures they took themselves. We have a variety of games that are fun and challenging. As parents, we love the educational focus. It is great to see them so engaged and having fun while learning!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still great two years later!

By TeacherMomof2 from Northeast Wisconsin on 10/17/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter received this for Christmas two years ago when she was four. She is now six and still plays it regularly. Great games that have grown with her. Awesome for travel. This has been a wonderful product and we are happy to see more games on her wish list again this year! It is a great gift to keep adding to. She started out with a few games and now has accumulated a wide selection. Leapster Explorer and the explorer gs are excellent products! I would definitely recommend them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!!!!!

By crossquill from Newport News, VA on 10/16/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I gave each of my grandsons (2 and 4 years old) a Leapster 2 system, charger, case, and several games. They loved them. One of the system's sound crashed. They aren't selling that system any more so I replaced it with a Leapster Explorer. It has all the bells and whistles that make it child-user friendly and has upgraded the graphics which justifies buying new cartridges. They love it! The camera attachment is terrific, the carrying case hold 3 cartridges :), and the cartridges offer many of the old games they loved and many more which are age appropriate. Thank you for upgrading and fixing the sound issue. They love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great xmas surprise!

By Jellybeansmom1 from washington on 07/01/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Educational

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter won this at an on post stories with santa party. I was quite surprised she won it and I was iffy because of the price of the disney games she likes but I knew the games and this would make learning things for pre-k and K fun! Which it has totally done! It came preloaded with fun games and she loves to take pics and videos! I downloaded over 200 photos to my fb page of her friends, our road trip from ks to wa and such! She loves she can get creative with her pictures and she loves her virtual pet. I had a hard time teaching her numbers but with the preloaded silly monsters game she gets to record her voice and it plays in the game and asks her to tap certain numbers and now she is amazing with numbers and letters!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We had purchased a ...

By Snick from Michigan on 07/01/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We had purchased a Leapster2 for our grandson the first Christmas that it came out....when we found out that the game was being discontinued and that we couldn't buy any more games for it, we purchased a Leapster Explorer for him. He loves it! At the age of 3 he was able to play the Leapster2 with very little problems and at the age of 4 the Leapster Explorer was no problem for him to play. I love the fact that the games have a "voice" that tells them what they need to do. His father got him a Nintendo DS and he gets frustrated because you need to be able to read most of the prompts....with the Leapsters he listens and knows what he has to do next. Another thing we were thrilled with is....his Leapster2 broke, and to my surprise its still available for purchase on this site....Thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Explorer GS

By MsUnderstood from Indianapolis, IN on 04/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's okay. I was super excited for my son, but I've already had issues with it acting properly and I've only had it for 2 weeks. The games that I have are somewhat too learning or educational. I don't mean too educational, but its not fun enough. I wouldn't even want to play those games if I was my son. He has Mr. Pencil and a Bubble Guppies game. They're not all that at all and I loved Leapfrog before this. Now, I'm not so sure!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've finally got my IPad back!!!

By T1908 from Douglasville,GA on 04/14/2013


Pros:

Educational, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All I can say is I love it!!! My child feels as though he has his own IPad!!! The games are great and I love that it's touch screen!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome system!

By Kduttry from Fayetteville, NC on 04/09/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Educational, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the explorer for my children my 4 year old son got one for Christmas and my 2 year old daughter did so well with it and was learning so much we had to get her one as well so they would fight. It's a fun and educational toy. They love it as much as I do! Highly suggest it for anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leapster Explorer

By goodwitch from Marietta,Ga on 03/14/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Educational, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Greatest present we could have chosen for our 3 year old grandaughter. She immediately started using it! It arrived on the day of her birthday in the middle of her birthday party. She tore open the box and wanted to play right then. She uses it every day. It is a great "learning to read" tool. Her skills are improving every day and she has so much fun! It is a quality toy. Thanks Leapster!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By Megan from Undisclosed on 02/13/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

People may say its made cheap or not made for 4 yr olds but my 3yr old and 2 yr old play with it fine. It did have one problem and that was when the writing was a little off from where the stylus. BUT the direction to fix that problem where right in the manual or you can find it online.. Other then the my kids both play with it just fine no scratches, dents or breaks of any kind. I also like the fact that leapster has games for as young as 3 or it does grow with your kids knowledge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 3 year old boy loves it!!

By SBH11 from California on 02/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our son received his last Christmas. He will turn 4 in march. He loves his explorer and his learning how the game works. I love I can buy him apps in French. I was afraid at first his game might brake, but we explain to him it was a very fragile toy and he had to be very careful. We almost never leave alone with the game, so we can monitor how long he plays with it. The only thing, I wish the leapster came with the AC adapter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Learning Experience

By Lupita from Las Vegas, Nevada on 02/06/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great way for kids to memorize things and lessons, quizzes and games.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Product!

By ShaunaBMe from Phoenix, AZ on 01/26/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So glad we invested in this for our son. It is amazing all the features it has and all the products available for it. Our son loves it and loves working online with it as well. Teaching him so much regarding Science, Math, English, what an awesome way to learn at his age. This is also teaching him to be responsible with electronics as well. Thumbs Up for LeapFrog on this item!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for 4 or 5 Year lds

By Catfish from Winchester,TN on 01/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have found this is not for a 4 year old. This was purchased for our 4 year old granddaughter, who is very good and takes care of the things that she gets. The day after Christmas she gave this back, the screen was broken and would not work. When I say broken ,it was cracked from side to side and top to top. We have no ideal how it happened. I feel that the reting for young children is false,to low. The screen needs to be strong and thicker. Anyway to beef it up and still be functional.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leapster Explorer

By Iochroma from Undisclosed on 01/09/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I gave this as a gift to my 4 1/2 year old grandnephew; and within 24 hours of receiving it, he was using it on his own and loving it. His mom will be homeschooling him and is looking forward to the combination of learning and fun experiences that the Explorer will provide.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

6 year old boy loves it

By 4boysmom from Montclair, NJ on 01/07/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my 6 year old son who really wanted a Nintendo DS. I had owned Leapters before and wasn't ready to commit to a handheld that had no educational value so I took a chance on the GS. He loves it. He has spent hours playing the NFL and star wars game that I bought him and we went online and picked out apps together (Trex run, monkey soccer). The apps are great. He even enjoys the included Sillies app which I was worried might be too young for him. A total win. Oh yeah, and my 8 year old with the Nintendo asks if he can have a turn and a login on the LeapsterGS. I only wish there were more reading game apps like the old Star Wars Reading.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun & Lots to Learn From!

By 3Boys from Undisclosed on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My twins got Leapsters as gifts last year. They are now 5 and still can't put these down! I'm buying one for their 3 year-old brother since he loves to play it, too! Good learning!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Electric screwdriver helped me open battery cover

By tsmcg30 from New York, NY on 01/03/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My thumbs are still sore from trying to open one of the battery covers. I had to get my electric screwdriver to pry open the cover. Because of this, the back of the device is slightly damaged, but it works otherwise. My son enjoys it, but became bored quickly with the free apps. I look forward to buying him more games from your app center. I would buy from you all again. You all have been with my family through two children! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Little Memory Limits Usage

By TheMoxieMommy from Macomb, MI on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love everything about the Leapster Explorer except one major feature, the memory. My son absolutely LOVES his Explorer, but with such a LITTLE amount of memory, he cannot even use/have all of his purchased apps/games/ebooks/etc. on his Explorer. If LeapFrog is going to make so many different fun things for the Explorer, then the toy should be capable of handling all or most of them. It's very disappointing and what keeps me from having a high opinion of this toy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My grandson loves his Leapfrog Explorer

By WILDCAT78 from Linn, MO on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very satisfied with my purchase. Shipping was prompt and product is great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Ever!

By tmcc8 from Suffern, NY on 01/01/2013


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought 2 for my twins... they love it and so easy for them to use. They love the camera and video. I recommend buying it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leapster

By jmtownley from Texas on 12/30/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our granddaughters love their Leapsters! Having just received them for Christmas, they are just beginning to learn all of the things they can do with them, but it is something that they can continue to use for quite a long while,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

got for toddler so he ...

By busyworkingmom from nj on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

got for toddler so he wouldn't take sisters leap pad...not quite as "cool" but I wasn't about to buy a leap pad for a 2 year old.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Daughters Won't turn it off!

By vixenth from Inglewood,Ca on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This educational tool has turned into a HUGE hit in my house for Christmas! The games, videos, and motivation it has given our four year old to read and learn in just one week. Is just what her teacher and we as parent hoped for! Thank u leap


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very hard to download 2 extra games

By GeeGee7 from Berwick PA on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I signed on trying to get the two extra games that are suppose to come with the Leapfrog GS Explorer. It was impossible. I still don't have them loaded. I will call to ask why I can't do this. But for that price I am very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for my 3 year old

By Anonymous from Washington, DC on 12/26/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a lot of trouble with the online part of registering the device, but it could be my computer. Besides that, my son LOVED playing with it. He showed everyone and picked up how to play very quickly. Hours of fun for him!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

leapter

By toni from Undisclosed on 12/21/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

buy them for the kids and your self to learn with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great

By selypa from chatham, va on 12/15/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i will honestly say this for being a electronic device its extremly derable. my daughter whos now 3(we got her the system for a eairly birthday present back in aug) now dont get me wrong i know its not a good idea to give a young person younger then 5 something like this but she enjoys it. she watches her bubble guppies and pocoyo shows on it and plays with that pet thing. i will say i will purchase the tablet later on. love the features for the system but wish it would come with more meomry then whats installed in the system or have a way to increae the memory like with a sd card or something. the system its self is able to withstand a toddlers tantrum ei: tossing/throwing the game system from a shopping cart. chucking it when she gets mad. and the system works still afterword. if there was a way for the system to be upgraded or come with more then 518 mb i would give more stars. because i had purchased the seasmie street video and it had taken up almost the entire memory for that 1 clip. while when i removed that clip off the system and put 2 pruchased pocoyo apps on, 3 games, and a bubble guppies clip they have in the shop the system now has over 8 apps on the system instead of just the ones it comes with and the 1 clip of seasmie street.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is great for kids to learn on

By Poppy from Texas on 12/13/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is great for keeping the kids interested in learning. I love it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase!

By Mom850810 from Wise VA on 11/24/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my 4 year old son! He absolutely loves it. He cannot put it down. He loves all the different games you can purchase especially where I can add videos to it. Its been very durable! It has been dropped many times! I had to purchase the recharging battery pack/station because normal AA batteries don't last very long. The battery charging station has been a good investment for this product. Also purchased the camera attachment for this and its nice for him to take pictures with. The quality not that great but it keeps him happy. Now my 2 almost 3 year old daughter fights him over this leapster. She can even work it and She LOVES it as well!! Keeps them both entertained for a long time especially when we are on the go! Pros: Portable, Great Sound, Easy to Use, Gives helpful directions to the child, pretty durable, and easy to handle Cons: Gets expensive purchasing the "extras" needed to keep it running and protected. The only thing that I really had against it was the memory. My son loves the videos you can purchase online and it can only hold about 2 movies and a game that you purchase online. I had to erase his pictures and put them on his account so I could get the movies on there. It doesn't have a place to add a sd card. So it was ok for games, but the online movies took most of the memory :(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love It

By AngelaW123 from Phila Pa on 11/20/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids can"t put it down, They love I love it Fun for them Helps them learn for me :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product for Learning Center

By Teacher from Clermont, FL on 11/19/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a kindergarten teacher, I am always looking for ways to engage my students and help those who need extra motivation. The Leapster does both! I still need one more to make my Leapster Center complete, but it's affordable and easy for my students to use. They love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Notes on advantages

By BetJ from Denver, CO on 10/01/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I gave the Leapster to my 4 year old grandson with trepidation that it would be too advanced for his age. Not so!! He is enjoying the apps, taking pictures and even made a video (with assistance from his father).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT GAME

By VERONICA25 from MORROW,GA on 09/22/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I WOUL RATHER IT COME WITH A WALL CHARGER THE BATTARIES GO BY FAST!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Marta28 from Minnesota on 09/13/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My five year old loves playing with his leapster. He's now a full fledged kindergartner and I find that leapster really supplements some of the things that they've started learning at school. It's a great educational toy, but presented in a really fun and engaging manner. I had to buy rechargeable batteries, because my son played so often we were always replacing them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leapfrog Explorer

By MimiCindy from Victoria, TX on 09/07/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Geat product. Keeps the kiddoes busy and much better than TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Versatile Learning Tool

By ticoandtina from Iowa City, IA on 08/13/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have a number of LeapFrog products that we like so we were really looking forward to checking out the LeapsterGS. We didn't have a lot of time to mess around with it before a big road trip we left for this summer, so we just handed it back to our 5 year old daughter as a surprise while we were driving. She was easily able to figure out how to use it, which surprised me a little. Hardly any time had passed before she was telling us stuff she had learned! I asked her what her favorite part about the system was and she said she really loved that she could take pictures and video with it. I, too, think that's pretty sweet. I had some more time to check out more aspects of the product for myself and I found it really interesting how they combined the game world with the real world through the camera "portal" for some of the games. I think the Tag-like e-book ability of this product is really cool - no pages to tear! =) Honestly, there are just so many really cool things that the LeapsterGS can do that I didn't remotely have time to explore and it would be crazy to write that long of a review anyway. I don't know how much apps cost, but this is the kind of "toy" that will keep our kids occupied for a looong time and I think is probably worth the investment, especially for travel! Pros: Works great, easy for kids to learn, headphone option - big plus ;), so many add-on app options!, makes learning fun and rewarding, a LOT of work has been put into this system. Cons: Like any battery powered product, you have to have extras on hand or risk not being able to use it. The batteries that came with it ran out, so we'll probably be using rechargeable batteries from now on, which is steep since it uses four batteries at a time. I wish we had a power adapter for the car, that would be perfect. The other con is that we only have one, so our kids fight over it :) Our 2 year old has lots of fun with it, too, even though it's meant for 4+. We received this product to review, but the opinions expressed here are completely ours!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My son loves it

By OneHappyMom from Pinconning, MI on 08/13/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 yr old loves it!! We owned the Leapster Explorer and the Leap Pad...both of which my son loves!!! We just recently purchased this along with the Leap Pad 2 due to arrive later this week. My son is super excited. I love them both as they have different games and features. Both come in handy...and teach him different skills...love that the games are compatible! Can't wait to get the Leap Pad 2... Headphones are a MUST for any parents sanity!! Plus love the feature of the battery pack...a wise investment. No more taking batteries out to charge...just plug it in! Love the battery packs! Great new feature...we have the messenger bag...because we have two systems and many games...we needed the extra space. I recommend it even if you buy one...especially if you purchase the battery pack so you can tote the USB cord and A/C adapter!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great New Addition to the Leapster Family

By QuirkyTech from Massachusetts on 08/10/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have previous Leapsters, so we were excited to try out the new GS, which we received for free to review. It's quite a bit smaller than previous devices, which is better for little hands. It's also better for on-the-go play. The Leapster GS Explorer has gorgeous graphics and a zippier speed. The kids don't notice things like that as much as I do, but I think it impacts their overall engagement. My kids are most excited about the camera addition. I'm not so thrilled about the new battery compartments, which are the hardest of all Leapsters to get off. They slide off, but are very difficult to remove. I ended up handing it over to my husband, who also battled to get the covers off. I actually miss the covers with the screws. As with all LeapFrog products, I highly recommend using rechargeable batteries. It will save you a ton of money and, of course, is better for the environment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By growingupawife from South New Jersey on 08/10/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Positives: * The ability to put a personal picture with each profile. Excellent for multiple children. * The stylus is attached and attached well * Headphone jack so it can be used in quiet places * It speaks the instructions out loud. Great for the little non-reader * You can download apps and buy cartridges * A good size for little hands, but super durable * It has a camera and takes video! The Negatives: * Drains the batteries super fast. I would have preferred rechargeable batteries


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a fantastic device!

By ItsALongStory from Naperville, IL on 08/09/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the new LeapsterGS! We recieved one just before a long road trip and it was such a blessing. My daughter is 3, so she falls just below the recommended age range. However, LeapFrog has truly done an excellent job of making apps that are appropriate for younger learners. My daughter is already seeing success in games that she struggled with when she first tried. I love that she is being challenged, and she loves that she is having fun. Any games that involves the camera is one of her favorites, and she adores the Word World app. The cartridge games can be a bit expensive, but there are downloadable games that are much more affordable. I see several years of play ahead of us with this device!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big improvement over Leapster Explorer

By bonggamom from CA on 08/09/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

With the introduction of the LeapPad in 2011, and now the LeapPad 2, the Leapster Explorer has been left in the dust -- in fact, my kids' Leapster Explorer has been gathering dust on our shelf. But with the introduction of the Leapster GS, parents will definitely be taking notice! This latest version of the Leapster had definitely "leapfrogged" its predecessor. Almost everything I didn't like about the Leapster has been resolved: * I found the Leapster too chunky; the Leapster GS is much sleeker and more streamlined. * The Leapster did not have a built-in camera (it was sold as a separate accessory, and it was pretty clunky and pixelated); the Leapster GS has a built-in camera and videocamera. * It was so difficult to change the Leapster's batteries (you needed to twist the locking mechanism with a quarter coin in order to open the battery cover); the Leapster GS battery cover simply slides open. What's more, the Leapster GS has a larger screen, faster processors (for faster response times), and more built-in memory (so it can hold more apps). It even has a built-in motion sensor so kids can play the motion-based games that they love on other videogaming platforms -- but of course, Leapfrog's games have an educational component so parents are much happier to let their kids play! Kids can use their old Leapster Explorer game cartridges in the new Leapster GS; in there are also new games available that utilize the new features of the GS (built-in camera so you can put your face on avatars, motion-based games, etc..). My kids are loving the Phineas & Ferb game, which teaches them about electricity, circuits, machines, motion and math. They can build a balloon launcher or experiment with circuits or design a marble run course to guide Agent P (who's stuck inside a marble) down to the ground. They're having so much fun! * Disclosure: I received a Leapster GS and games to review, but the views and opinions expressed in this review are my own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great choice for a first gaming system!

By AvaGracesCloset from West Palm Beach, FL. on 08/08/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After owning many LeapFrog products in the past, we were very excited to try out this device. We found it be fairly lightweight and compact enough to carry on-the-go. The buttons are large and easy to use for little fingers; navigation is simple. The system is sturdy and very well built; we loved the inclusion of an attached stylus that can't be easily lost and the option to use the headphone jack which my son often did. The product came with a set of batteries for immediate play but does have a rechargeable battery pack available as an option. I would have liked to see this included even if the M.S.R.P. of the gaming system was slightly higher. If asked what feature we liked the best, it would have to be the on-board camera and video recorder. My son had a blast taking and editing photos on-the-go and playing around with videos. As a parent of an active boy, I liked the fact that I didn't need to worry about him damaging it since it's quite rugged. Overall, a great choice for a first gaming system that provides lots of options for both cartridge games and downloadable ones, a great first camera and video recorder all in one neat and compact package. Disclosure: I received a product sample of the system along with 2 game cartridges for the purpose of this review. All opinions are strictly my own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and Educational Toy

By atomala from Atlanta, GA on 08/08/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Leapster GS is a great educational game that keeps my 5 year old engaged and interested. I have to admit I enjoyed sitting with my daughter and exploring some of the games and features with her. My favorite aspects included: Built in storage for the stylus. It came connected and stored within the LeapsterGS. Great way to ensure it doesnt get lost easily! Video and Photo capabilities " my daughter likes to capture her face for certain characters. Motion game capabilities. You can move the Leapster around during certain games. LeapsterGS comes with free content and a fun Escape of the Sillies game app where your child can use an image of their own face in the game. Screen size is great, the keypad is easy for my daughter to operate and the device is not heavy or bulky. Batteries seem to last a good while, and you can purchase a charger separately. We tried two fun games: 1) Splurgle, which teaches children about the different states of water (water, steam, ice) and incorporates logic and math questions as well. Disney/Pixars Brave is a fun game where kids play out the characters adventure while learning about science. If you already own a LeapPad or Explorer, you may find some of the content to be a bit redundant across both systems; however, families with multiple children fighting over a toy can add the Leapster GS at a lower price point than the LeapPad. My daughter definitely enjoys both! We received the Leapster GS and two game cartridges to facilitate this honest review. All opinions are my own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Same great features of the LeapPad for less!

By LifeSongsOfABusyMom from Eastern Shore MD on 08/08/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

LeapFrog was gracious enough to send my soon to be 5 year old daughter the new LeapsterGS free of charge to review and boy was she excited! She also owns a LeapPad and the new LeapsterGS has a lot of the same great features of the LeapPad (Built in camera/video, motion-based play, touch screen, tons of great educational games and apps) for less money. The games and apps are great, the system is not too bulky and easy to hold in little hands. I guess my only complaint I would have is that you'll be replacing batteries a lot, however, LeapFrog has an AC adapter on the site, so that solves that problem. I love the new sleek design and the graphics are as good as any. This really is a great gaming system. If you're looking for a great, educational gaming system for a great price, I would definitely recommend the LeapsterGS. The opinions above are honest and completely my own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Worth the Upgrade

By FanOfLeapFrog from Menlo Park, CA on 08/08/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My boys (ages 3-1/2 and 6) have very well-loved Leapster Explorers and the GS is a whole new ballgame. The new technology, design, and opportunities for hand-held learning are wonderful. PROS - Sleek new design looks "cooler" and my 6-yo said it's not just for babies now. - Bigger screen makes for better playing experience. - Built-in camera, video recorder and microphone make for very customized experience in certain games - Cartridges from earlier version Leapster Explorer are compatible - Includes app Escape of the Sillies with customizable features and great math-building skills (my 6-year old's favorite app so far) - High-res screen is great for interactive Tag books (can be downloaded in app store). eBooks on Leapster GS are great for travel entertainment. (I credit Tag with helping my son learn to read and this is a great extension.) - LeapFrog Learning Path- track your child's learning progress each time the tablet is connected to the computer CONS: - I would love an option to buy with rechargeable batteries rather than it be an option (we change batteries about once a week (4 AA) - Apps/eBooks are rather expensive Considering this is something both my 3-1/2-year old and 6-year old can play happily (though the 3yo can get frustrated from time to time with not understanding how to do something), I think it's a wonderful gaming system that grows with each child. I've been amazed to see how much my boys have learned with the Leapster Explorer -- math concepts, handwriting, reading, science, you name it! -- and I have no doubt the GS will continue to surprise and amaze us for years to come. Disclosure: I was sent a Leapster GS and two cartridges for review purposes. All opinions are entirely my own. I'm thrilled that this device lived up to all my positive LeapFrog experiences in the past.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Edutainment

By UnknownMami from San Francisco, CA on 08/08/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Im a big fan of LeapFrog products as they are a great way to provide edutainment to children. The LeapsterGS came into our home and my four year old daughter took to it instantly. The Escape of the Sillies app actually had me laughing out loud when I added my daughters picture and voice to it. The device is built well and the perfect for little hands. It has a stylus that is attached securely and stores away conveniently. It seems to be able to withstand some drops and bumps, which are bound to happen. My youngest daughter plays with it too, but at a year and a half she is mostly just dropping it and poking at it with the stylus and the device seems no worse for wear. Great features on the device: Built in camera, video recorder, and microphone. It can be preset with up to 3 kids information and also has a guest option. Adjusts to individual childs skills. Progress is remembered to keep the interaction challenging. Apps, ebooks, and cartridges are available for purchase to expand your content library. Area that could be improved upon: Battery life. It would be great if it came with a rechargeable battery pack included. It is my understanding that this will soon be available for purchase, but Id love it if it was just standard. I would recommend (and have) this device to friends and family. It is a great educational and entertainment tool that can grow with your child(ren) for a few years. I received a sample of the LeapsterGS and two game cartridges to facilitate my review. All statements and opinions are mine and mine alone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jaw dropping...

By MsKenyaH from San Diego, California on 07/30/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old is absolutely in love with this device. She excels in every game. Land and Sea Animals!? Yea, AliKat is all over that!!! She blurts out the answers before they're given. I've increased the age option (to 7 years old) in the settings menu and she's still progressing wonderfully. I don't know if I should attribute that to good genetics, great parenting (Go Me!), or an amazing product. It's funny to watch my nieces and nephews get excited when "it's their turn". They're already making Christmas notes. (Lol) I'm a single mother of two; money doesn't come easy. However, Leap Frog will always be in my quarterly budget as long as my baby girl continues to learn, retain AND can verbally express what she's learned to others. They have made learning-at-home fun for her and much easier for me. THANK YOU!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not enough memory!

By MrsM from Houston, TX on 07/21/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My kids love their leapster explorers (we have 2). The only thing that's disappointing is the available memory per leapster explorer. Had I realized how limited it is, I would have invested in 2 Leap pads and not the explorers. We have purchased several apps in the library and cannot upload all of them at once. I would like to see an additional memory cartridge available for purchase so the kids can have more apps available to them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great investment!!!

By jellysmommy from Barnby In The willows, United Kingdom on 07/05/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Absolutely love this; it is definitely money well spent bought it for my daughter for Christmas 2yrs ago and it is her favorite "toy" she doesn't leave home without it. Who knew a child could have sooo much fun in the process of learning. Only thing i would say is that leapster needs to come out with a carrying case to house more then 3 games...hehe my daughter has like 7 games and has a hard time choosing which she will take along with her. To other parents when possiable it is a good idea to download the games you buy straight off the connect site to your explorer it'll save you the headache of you child choosing which game to take along with them (:


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My toddler loves it!

By Mary from Tampa Bay, FL on 05/10/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My toddler loves her Leap pad! There are so many different types of activities for her to do, she doesn't get bored. From playing an educatioal game, taking care of her pets, reading a book, creating a book, and taking pictures, she enjoys learns and has fun at the same time. I highly recommend this "toy" to kids of all ages!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

joke

By notafan from Indiana on 05/01/2012


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Any toy is going to cost you $. This is my first and last purchase from LeapFrog. I don't think the games are as educational friendly as they could be. Some of the Leapster games are more educational but the system is big and bulky. Some of the games are not programed very well. All data is lost if the child shuts down or starts at a different level. They have to start from level 1, very frustrating for a kid. With the amount of $ I spent on batteries, a battery pack, and a charging station I could have bought something better in my opinion. I think it is stupid that it doesn't come with the battery pack in the first place. Its a waste of time, material, and $.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love, love, love it

By Allison from Toledo, OH on 03/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really need two. My 1yr likes to play on it too!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly Recommend

By FlamingoJen from Virginia on 03/08/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great quality, education product. My 2 year old, 5 year old, and 43 year old all love it! It was purchased for my 5 year old son for Christmas and he has learned from the games on his Explorer and also been entertained on it. We also can use taking it away as a disciplinary action - which works great. The best thing I have to say about it though is that the two year old stuck it in the toilet on Sunday, where it sat fully submerged for at least several minutes. After it was removed, we took the battery compartment and the camera expansion part off and let it dry out for one day. With fresh batteries, it worked just fine the next day. This is truly a quality made product in an age where few things are. Thanks Leap Frog!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BEST purchase so far!

By Colleen from Undisclosed on 03/07/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this for our son for Christmas 2011 when he was 2 1/2. I was on the fence because he was so much younger than the recommended age, but figured if he didn't play it now, he would eventually. Well he LOVES it! I am amazed at how good he is at the games I have purchased for him. Peguins of Madagascar is his favorite! The games are engaging and educational. It is perfect for active preschoolers (which seems an understatement for my son) while out at a restaurant, on an airplane, etc. in addition to just having quiet time at home. Highly recommend!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hate it!!!

By bennett1409 from Philippi, WV on 02/19/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had bought this device for my 3 year old son. He has not played it very much.. Recently the pin that goes to the leap explorer quit working.. The rest of the Game works, but when you try to use the pin on the screen, it does not read it.. Thus my son can not play his games.... I bought it for Christmas and He just started playing with it and not even a week of playing the Explorer has issues... As I read many other Parents responds to this game, it seems Im not the only one having problems with it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is great !

By mtobol1615 from Minnesota on 02/17/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought one for my then 6 year old daughter for christmas, her 5 year old brother loved it too, as did her older brothers 8 and 10. Who am I kidding I played with it too, just to see what they were learning. I bought another for the youngest brother for his birthday. No more begging to use his sister's that in itself was great. Then my 2 year old grandson loved it and watched the videos and within two days was seeing letters and saying their names and sounds before being told what they were. So of course I had to buy him one. And then I got another for my grand daughter who really loves hers too she is 4 years old. My son dropped his and the screen broke to the point that the touch screen no longer worked. Since there were no replacement parts to fix this issue, I purchased a replacement unit. They grow with the child, they are educational, and kids aren't bored playing with them. I recommend this for even two year olds because I've seen how fast they learn in a short time the letters and numbers by just watching the videos like word factory, letter factory...its an awesome tool. If I didn't see how great this toy was with my own eyes, I never would have gotten so many, me being a mom of 9 and now have 3 grandkids, I've seen toys come and go, none come close to what I value this toy at. I would like to see this toy cheaper being I had so many kids that loved playing the games, I balanced that out with what they were getting out of the toy itself and considered it a great investment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leapster Explorer

By willfam from Florence, TX on 02/13/2012


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this for our 5 year old for Christmas. He loves it. Then discovered our 2 year old loved it as well. The 2 year old plays it more than the 5 year old most days. We've decided to get the same thing for her 3rd birthday so that our 5 year old can have his back. It's easy to use, stays charged, durable when dropped, & the games are fun. Mr Pencil is their favorite game so far. Even our 9 year old plays with it sometimes. It's a great thing to have in the car. Wish it had a better carrying case to hold more games though. Have to buy something different, the carrying case isn't big enough for multiple games. We also got the camera for it, which they love to play with. It's easy to plug into the computer & download stuff & redeem tokens they've earned for more things to buy, etc. It's been a great purchase & felt it was pretty affordable. The bundles online are a pretty good deal.The games are reasonably priced, great for grandparents to buy for birthdays, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Leapster Exporer is amazing!

By TEENDaHows from OKC, OK on 02/08/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutely love the Leapster Explorer! My son loves the games and the camera we got to go with it. He is11 now, and he has ADHD and boarderline intellect. He has has his Leapster Explorer for 2 years now and has learned a lot by playing it. His math skills especially have come up. He is still working on bettering his reading skills. Once he out grows his Explorer I am passing it to my great niece who is 1 and advanced for her age. I know it will help her Excel even more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

frustrating

By kansasmomof2 from kansas on 01/28/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product did not come with an instructional manual. A computer is required for play which is very frustrating. We wanted to be able to take this on road trips and you can't just put a catridge in and play. The Leap World website is also down often.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Handheld Game

By Jenniferlea from Kansas City, MO on 01/24/2012


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids, 3 and 5, both got one of these for Christmas. They never put them down! It is a great toy with a lot of stuff for them to do. The only complaint I would have is battery life, there isn't much. I wish it came with an AC adapter just so inbetween battery purchases they could still play.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Screen stopped responding

By Momoftoddler from Columbia, MD on 01/03/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the Leapster explorer for a Christmas gift. My daughter enjoyed this product until the screen began to malfunction after only 1 week of use. I was pleased with the educational benefits. She traced all her letters for the first time on the first day of use. That is the main reason why we were both upset when the screen began to become unresponsive. I tried to call customer support but the support hours were over at 5PM. Needless to say I was very disappointed. Please help us with this issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has survived my 3 year old.

By BlessedMom from Bay Minette, AL on 01/01/2012


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I kept telling my kids to take care of this product so my 3 yr old was washing the fingerprints off them when my husband found her (under the water)... we left both in rice overnight and both still work today!!!! This product stands up to toddler wear and tear better than any they've recieved so far. I do not even recognize my kids, this product keeps them entertained for most of the day off and on. It has been really nice for trips. I highly recommend this product!!! The many games available are also very nice. This product remembers where your child left off also and what level they were on. It also has a guest sign in for the parents who want to try out the games so it still challenges your child for there level.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my 5 year old can't put it down!

By danij from Cincinnati, OH on 12/30/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We are so glad we got the Explorer for our 5-year-old for Christmas! He originally wanted a DS, but I thought he was a little too young, so we got this...and he LOVES it! He plays for hours at a time and is learning so much from the games. And with all the games for different ages I can tell he'll be playing it for a long time. Definitely a purchase I am happy we made!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By skkirby from NC on 12/26/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son got this for Christmas this year, and he loves it. I would like to add that my son does not play on phones or the computer (he's 4 years old), but was able to figure this out quicker than I expected. It's the first thing he wants to do, and he goes back to it over and over. He has 3 games so far: Penguins, Digging for Dinosaurs, and Mr. Pencil. He spends the most time playing the Penguin game, and he hasn't even seen the movie, he just likes to jump and fight the mice and bugs! I'm sure once the Penguins gets a little old he'll enjoy the other two. I am having major issues downloading "leapfrog connect" to my computer. I spent all day downloading updates and service packs to my computer, and it still won't work! I'm going to contact support about that! I don't have the recharger yet. He's been playing with it for 3 days quite a bit and the first batteries still work. If it does start to go through lots of batteries too quickly, I will need to get the recharger. The product seems durable. I'm very happy with it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

way too time consuming for the parents!!

By FrustratedMom from chicago on 12/14/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I would NEVER recommend this product to anyone. first of all, the software is a nightmare. It has taken 3 days and countless hours to get the software to install on our computer. From what I have read, I am not the only parent to have problems and you will likely have to erase files and upgrade new software just to be able to sync the explorer to the site. The batteries don't last very long and your options are continuously buy batteries or buy the recharger and extra battery pack, which together cost the same amount as the gaming system. I have certainly not been impressed with the game cartriges(we have cars 2, toy story 3, and mr pencil). The only thing that cars 2 seems to let you do is drive down the street and pick up car parts. It hasn't kept my 4yo interested. With a 1yo in the house I definately don't have all day to be on the computer tracking his progress(which isn't much with these games), watch him play any of the online games or study up on how to play it. I thought we were buying a "plug in the cartridge and play" type of gaming system. I have put more time into the explorer than my child has. I am very leary about buying any more games or putting any more money into this. we're taking it back to the store to see if they'll take it back. I would be very hesitant about buying another leapster product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great game, buggy software

By Momma from Undisclosed on 11/02/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We LOVE this toy! It has really helped my son learn to write his letters and I love the variety of prices for games, books, videos etc through either the app store or buying cartridges. My number one complaint is the Leapfrog Connect software you have to download. It is so annoying! When we first got the game, my son wanted to play it right away. We spent a long time downloading the software only for it to have a dozen errors and we had to uninstall and reinstall it. It finally worked but we dread plugging in his game to update or transfer info b/c sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. We downloaded the software on our other laptop and it's the same way. So frustrating...especially for a 4 year old to sit and wait through it all


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worth EVERY penny!!

By Josiahsmom from Pensacola, Fl on 09/03/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't normally review things but I"m taking time out of our saturday to say BUY THIS!!! I bought the Leapster Explorer for the start of my sons Kindergarten year. (He is in 1st grade now) We have purchased the Mr. Pencil, Toy Story 3, Xmen, Penguins, Globe, and the Video/ camera attatchment. EVERY game has it's own features that keeps my son playing and learning! If your kid has any interest in taking pictures or videoing I DO recommend the attachment. It also has "scavenger hunts" they can go on that can keep them busy for hours! I LOVE the fact that these games reinforce what he is learning in school in a FUN way that keeps him WANTING to play!! I Could NOT have invested in anything better that satisfies us both so much!!! My son is 6 but he has had a 3, 4 and 8 year old play his Explorer and they were putting down their DS and begging to trade! The graphics have come a LONG way from the Leapfrog handheld and makes this an even more excitable handheld. IF I could give it a higher rating I WOULD!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love Love Love this device!!!

By Mamabear from Lakewood, CA on 08/03/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 2 year old son Noah got this for Christmas from his grandparents....He is now 3 and loves this toy...plays it often and has learned so much. I am proud to say that because of the Mr. Pencil game he now knows how to write his first name. I can't wait to get him the LeapPad Tablet!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Quality

By ArmyWife9707 from Fort Hood, TX on 07/20/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We 1st purchased the Didj for our 6yo daughter for Christmas. Feb rolls around and it stops reading/playing the games. I call CS and they send me a Leapster Explorer to replace it. I got it end of Feb/beginning of March and a few weeks ago the sound stops working. Now I have an upset 6 yo as well as her 3 yo sister who started liking it. I call CS again, and am told because that was a replacement, it only has a 1 month warranty, but I can get a 15% off discount code. So now I'm stuck here with another defective game system. After looking online, apparently the Volume Up button is a big issue with these systems and people are having a lot of problems with it. I am hoping my husband can take it apart and fix it, since Leapfrog refuses to do anything, and hey, the warranty is 'expired' anyway. I do not recommend Leapfrog game systems to anyone! The only thing that seems to work from them are the Tag Systems.....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good to a point

By GoofyMommy from Portland Oregon on 05/09/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5 year old loves this. We had some problems with downloading the leapster for the computer had to put it on our old computer. Won't work on our Windows 7 even with Leapsters help. Battery life isn't the best on what comes with it had to by the battery pack then it seems to last longer. Wish there was a car charger for the battery pack. That way it could last longer on long trips. Wish I could lock out the kids names and them not be able to change them. Even my 3 year old tries to play it but seems to mess things up more than learn anything. (she has fun at it though). All in all this is a good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

glad I bought it

By mommy3MJA from lompoc,ca on 04/30/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this and for my 3yr old and another item from somehwere else for my 5yr old ( the ixl) and I will say in comparrison of educational purpose and value of the cost I am extremly happy with it. My 5 yr old perfers it also! so I will have to buy a 2nd one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product Quality Lacking

By AmyS from Washington on 04/26/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When you start the system is asks you to connect to a computer EVERY TIME. Very annoying. The included pets game asks children (parents) to buy more food for their pet. Just what every parent wants a product that asks you to spend more money. From time to time the system will freeze. Our last freeze resulted in the touch screen not working (randomly...was not dropped or anything.) After shutting the system off waiting and turning it back on 3 times, I had no results. 2 days later it randomly started working again. I have had this product for 8 months and we are very careful with it. My kids love the system, but with it threatening not to work and only a 90 day warranty, I will not be investing any more money into games or accessories for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is excellent

By Sandy from Camillus, NY on 04/22/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was bought for my granddaughter for Christmas this year and she loves it I can't seem to get her off of it. She even brings it to the supper table. Her learning skills have grown tramendously also. I would suggest this item for anybody that has children that needs help with any part of reading, spelling, or math. She also likes to watch her progress on the computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Quality

By DisappointedDad from Kansas City, MO on 04/21/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 4 year old loves his leapster, but within 4 months(nice that warranty is only 3 months) the sound will not work on the device and the touch screen is not working as well. This product has never been dropped or treated badly as my wife and I were very strict on where and when he used it. Always was under our supervision because we did not want it dropped, etc.... Overall the leapster is great for education and fun, but does not have the hardware quality to be worth the buy. I would not recommend this product based on the quality alone. If the hardware quality was better would highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best purchase ever!

By mommyto4 from Muncie, IN on 04/12/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the green Leapster Explorer and am now here to buy the pink one for my daughter. My 5 year old son learned how to write his letters by ONLY playing this game system. My 4 year old girl now wants one also in pink. My sons Explorer has been dropped, kicked, and thrown by his 1 year old sister and it still works great! The screen is super clear and bright which is something I honestly didn't expect. Great product, great games, can't go wrong with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product but eats batteries

By Staci from Michigan on 04/09/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My daughter, who is 4, loves her Leapster Explorer! It was a bit tricky to download a leaplet but we were able to get it. The only drawback is it goes through batteries like crazy!!! My husband and I are constantly buying batteries for her. I'm looking into buying the charger. Hopefully, this will ease my pain of buying batteries all the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible warranty and product reliability

By Nothappy from Undisclosed on 04/05/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was purchased for our 4 year old as a Xmas gift. Within 3 months, the sound stopped working. The warrantly is 3 months from date of purchase. Unfortunately when the unit stopped working, we were just past the 3 month period. If LeapFrog truly believed in the quality of their product, the warranty would be extended much longer e.g 1 year. Otherwise, why would you have such a short warranty period???


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great!!

By niknak from south carolina on 03/30/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have two little girls and they love this love love love!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very frustrated with the technology

By SCImom from Boston, MA on 03/29/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We purchased a Leapster for our 4 year old and he loved playing the two games that we purchased for him. Then we had some problem downloading leaplet codes. The memory reported full but we were not able to remove checked items because it would not sync properly - constant error messages. The camera memory reports as full as well but the "Gallery" says it is empty. In addition to this model being unreliable, there are not that many games yet and most of them seem geared more to girls.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Must Buy

By SJ77 from Springfield IL on 03/25/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love Leapster Explorer my son which is only 3 plays with his all the time the games are set for four and up but with a little help from dad and mom he's gotten the hang of it I think its a must buy if you want your child to get a head start on a lot of good educational skills I just wish they had more game for boys LOL


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well designed but business oriented

By Alien from 77056 on 02/27/2011


Pros:

Not Engaging Enough

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The unit is well designed, other than that it is lacking in some of the basics. Too much of advertising and you cannot avoid those if you want to. after buying the leapster who wants to go watch advertising...you have already bought it. it takes time to reach the game because you have to complete the advertising... A 3 yr old has no patience to watch that over and over again....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful learning toy!!!!

By mommaof2boys from Northern KY on 02/24/2011


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this for my son for christmas. He's 2 and has learned so much from it. Not many 2 yr olds know how to write their letters and numbers like that. I'ts helped him learn so much. Hand eye coordination is improving, letter and number recognition, Drawing and writing shapes and letters. You cant find a better toy out there. Couple it with the recharger unit and you have a toy that even a teenager would like to play as his aunt does lol. Plus the leap frog connect online game is so easy for him he earns coins to buy special items for his games and builds rooms on a play house. Only down fall to it is sometimes he sticks the game in too far it seems and doesnt want to register. But hey he's 2 haha. just take it out and re-insert it slowly is what i do. I would definitely buy it for my nephew when he turns two. If you have more than 1 child definitely buy 2 there will be yelling matches if you dont.... BEST GAME EVER!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for education, stinks on battery use

By 8gr8kids from pa on 02/24/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While I love this product for its educational value, the cost of batteries almost doesn't compensate for the educational use. It will literally use a set a day. Did finally invest in rechargeable batteries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

unhappy child

By Anonymous from charles city ,iowa on 02/18/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have to say im very disappointed in this game after buying several games and camera for my 6 yr old she thought the world of it loved all the games ect up until yesterday when she droped it and the screen cracked all over lucky that it stayed intact but she is not able to play it any more id love to buy a new one but im a single mom with low income supporting my daughter and i just cant afford it so all you mom keep in mind this could be your child with a sad face because they may drop it thanks for reading Billie Colon ....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Kids LOVE it

By LisaG from St Paul, MN on 02/17/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids love their Explorers, my 5yr old begs to play it all the time and the 3 yr old will see him with it and demand to have hers! I think its a great learning tool, my son's spelling has improved exponentially! But I have two complaints: -lack of decent "boy" games - no racing games? most of the boy themes are for older boys - in my opinion. -We have 2 systems and when I was setting them up, I inadvertently used my son's leaplet point and put the game on my daughter's explorer - I couldn't put the game on both of our systems. if I'm buying something like that, it'd be nice to be able to put it on both of their explorers, especially the ebooks and videos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SO Happy I bought this!

By ElijahsMom from Oregon on 01/23/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shopped around before purchasing the leapfrog explorer. I am really happy with the Leapfrog Explorer. My son is 3 1/2. He is still going to grow into this product. For those of you with younger children than 4. The only suggestion I have is don't go buying a lot of games until you see what your child is able to do with the product. I went on the site and connected my son's machine to the site. The demo's work so well!!! He is able to explore the different games and try them out. Now I know what games are a good choice. And, he loves playing the demo's as if they were a game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and Educational

By BergamoA from California on 01/21/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this product! My daughter is 5 and normally loves the Wii, or iPod games, I wasn't sure if she would like this, but she does. She plays all the time, batteries last for a long time (longer than I expected, considering some other reviews) The games are very educational, and I can follow her progress when I plug it in. I can also changed her level of learning on the hand held itself to give her more challenges, goes from pre-k to 8th grade (depends on the game) I would definatly recommend this to other moms.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT INVESTMENT

By VGAL from Los Angeles, CA on 01/20/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4yr oldcan not put it down! She's already associating sounds with letters all on her own! She's even learning addtion! Altough she already knew her alphabet & numbers, it has helped her practice and improve her penmanship. It also keeps them busy! lol


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Fantastic Product!!!

By Kattie from Dallas, TX on 01/12/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son is 3 1/2 fixing to be 4! My husband and I bought this products for him for Christmas! It has been one of the best investments we have made. He loves his leapster, he takes it where ever we go! We even had gotten him the camera attachment and he loves to take pictures and videos and goof them up! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY PARENT OR GRANDPARENT!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome! LOVE IT!

By mommiex3zmr from Virginia on 01/05/2011


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3 1/2 yr old daugther recieved this for Christmas, she immediately took off with it! Very easy for her to control & figure out on her own. She barely needed help setting up some of the features. Excellent screen quality, the color picture is AWESOME! It is very durable...as it has been dropped a couple times! My daugther plays with this system all the time! I'm not kidding, she loves this thing....she even sleeps with it! :) I can't say enough good things about this system. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! You will not be disappointed! AWESOME!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A HIT!

By montREALady from Brooklyn, NY on 01/02/2011


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son absolutely loves his Explorer! I was little worried since he's only 3, but he's picked up the games and stylus pretty easily! At certain points of a game he'll ask me for help or I'll hear him struggling based on what the game is telling him and help him out. I've downloaded most of the leaplet apps for his age, though he still seems to lean towards the games over the ebooks and videos. He does like the Sing-Along, Read-Along video though, he loves music. There could be a bigger selection of "game games" for his age, I'm sure more will be coming out this year. He has the Dora, Penguins and Mr. Pencil cartridges. He loves them. He seems to play only one game a day/couple days at a time, he doesn't really change it up in the same day. I just ordered the Globe one for him even though he didn't seem to want it when I showed him the image online. I think it's because a lot of kids identify with characters they know. But the same way he played and got into Mr. Pencil without knowing him before, I'm sure he'll love the Globe game. The character game selection for his age and gender seems to be a bit limited to me. He's not into Scooby Doo that much and I don't even think I was until I was much older. Toy Story 3, I haven't heard the greatest reviews, so I've been getting what's left. I don't mind getting him Dora and maybe Kai Lan and/or Pet Pals will be next, but the Disney princesses and fairies is a bit much! Then the other "boy" games are from 5 and up. He also enjoys the "Pet Pad" game that comes with the Explorer, it took him close to 2 weeks after having it to even give it a chance, now he's hooked! As a parent, it can become a little much to have to keep adding treats and shampoo through LeapWorld online though, but it's definitely cute. He doesn't grasp that he has to only feed and bathe his pet when needed and he'll keep feeding and bathing it until he runs out in literally minutes! The recharger is a good investment since it lasts a while and comes with the adapter, plus you can use the base without the adapter as a stand for your child to watch videos! He also has the camera attachment, but I haven't shown him that yet, don't want to overwhelm him, but I've tried it and it takes good pics, better than other kid camera's I've experienced. I got him the Leapster messenger bag on a whim and I'm glad I did, it's great for road/short trips and it's super cute. Aside from all of the above, the Explorer is a great looking product, the screen is bright and the images are clear and sharp, nothing I've ever seen in a child's toy. He's even dropped it a couple times and it's all good. It looks more delicate than it really is. I also love that the touchscreen or stylus can be used. Connecting it to the Leapfrog Connect app has be painless for me as well. Love looking at his progress! Great job Leapfrog, and EXCELLENT product, so glad I got it! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect all in one product

By SolarPowered from Undisclosed on 12/29/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 2 1/2 year old daughter loves being able to take her Leapfrog movies and her books and games with her when we go on road trips or flights. She asks for her explorer as soon as she wakes up in the morning. This is the first "toy" that has kept her occupied for more than a few minutes at a time. She is a very advanced child, and this is perfect to keep her entertained and educated. The best purchase I have ever made!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great new Leapster

By SingleDaddy from Atlanta on 12/26/2010


Pros:

Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have 2 boz 3 and 6 both love the new Leapster and the carmer is great but is very hard to get to load Leapfrog is not known for the easy way to down loading things LOL but the kids love it. I can not beleave they did not make this expandable like the 2gen Leapster for the parents like me that like to have kids that kid bord easy on that not just mine most kids get bord easy so would like to have most of not all there box and video. (so if i could expand the memory to what every i want to buy in a SD card hmmmm I could)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Engaging Learning Tool

By TiredMomma from Mobile, AL on 12/21/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Fun For Kids, Good For On-the-go Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this for our 4 year old son for his birthday. He saw the bigger kids in his summer program with another system. So he thinks he's a big kid. He takes it most everywhere. In fact we took it with us to a ballgame and the ladies on the bus were so impressed with what he was learning, that they decided to get their grandkids the Leapster Explorer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HE LOVES IT!!!

By LovinMommy from Great Lakes, IL on 12/13/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this for my son's 5th birthday. We knew he would love it because 1:he asked for it 2: he love the leapster 2 I like this alot more than the leapster 2 its an upgrade with more to do. Since we bought it I can't keep batteries in the house (I have to purchase the charger) He plays it nonstop. I have been trying to teach him how to write his letters and he wouldn't but with the leapster explorer games he will write them all day. I also like the e-reader on it. He likes to read along with the game. This is a great learning toy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Such a Great Buy!

By jhudson from Texas on 11/17/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My husband I bought the Explorer for our child's 4th birthday. She has not put it down at all. She enjoys playing with it and we love it because its so educational and so easy to carry around. I especially love the learning path feature letting me know what areas she should "play" with more. We will definately be purchasing one for our younger child when she turns four. Love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 3 year old LOVES this toy

By Amy0034 from Norfolk, Nebraska on 10/18/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the Fisher Price iXL and ended up returning it and buying this Leapster Explorer. It was a GREAT decision because she loves it. She used to want to play with my expensive iPod or Cell phone and now she has her own handheld game. Since it was for her 3rd birthday I was afraid the games would be too advanced for her since the recommended age was for 4 to 7 year olds, but I was wrong. They are challenging for her but not so much that she loses interest. I ordered the camera, and the pet game tonight for her. I LOVE the games they keep coming out with. Definitely a good buy. Brynn LOVES it, so I love it!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Non Stop Fun

By Tori from Baton Rouge, LA on 10/17/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this for my 4 yr old daughter and she cannot put it down. it's so easy to operate and it has great graphics. The games are very educational and fun at the same time which she enjoys. Ive been trying to find ways to help her with her letters and begin to read and i think this product is going to help out alot (along with the tag i purchased also).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice product

By OverseasMom from overseas on 10/16/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids, Grows With Child

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought two Leapster Explorers for my 4 1/2 y.o. and 7 y.o., since I needed something to keep them busy on international flights. In general, I don't like electronic toys, and much prefer my kids to be engaged in creative play. However, I have been pleasantly surprised and very impressed with the Leapster Explorer. Both of my kids love "that it teaches you stuff". Since we live overseas and they don't go to school in English, it is nice for us to have games that involve reading and spelling, and I have seen that it has had a positive influence on their spelling. The amount of "different stuff" in each game cartridge-- meaning the variety that will keep kids entertained and challenged-- is huge. I also like that the games are not break-neck pace, and have built-in pauses for learning bits, and that some of the games are slower overall, and rely on story-telling, not escaping from bad guys. I was initially reluctant to spend the money on a game system and then even more on games. But, now that I see how much actual variety and playtime there is on these (and, hopefully, they will last a few years), I think it is actually quite a bargain for what you get.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leapster explorer

By Honeybear from Troy. OH on 10/14/2010


Pros:

Good For On-the-go Play, Grows With Child, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My son who is 5 now had the Leapster 2 since it first came out, which he loved. But when we heard about all the great new things the leapster explorer did we bought it to replace the leapster 2. the graphics are so much better much bigger screen. And all the cool attatchments coming out like the camera, being able to download games online with leaplets, and Ebooks too which is awesome. He loves it even more, Only sad thing was that the cartridges didn't adapt to the new explorer but that is because the graphics are so much better. He has learned so much from this toy it is amazing. He has a hard time sitting still and concentrating, but the leapster has made all the difference. He has learned how to write his alphabet and is even learning basic Math skills. He is even learning to read. We are just so thrilled with this product and recommend it all parents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PRODUCT, PERFECT FOR LEARNING!!!

By LilNelsonFam from Manhattan, KS on 10/14/2010


Pros:

Grows With Child, Good For On-the-go Play, Fun For Kids

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the leapster explorer for my daughters 4th birthday, a week later and she hasnt put it down. It has so many great features and is perfect for small hands. I love that it has letter writting, number and letter recognition and more, and that just on the pre-loaded game....plus it included a leaplet download that my daughter used to download a free book which reads to her or has the option for her to click on each word and hear it. The software that comes with the leapster is great too, I am able to see what she is learning and where she is lacking. The screen is clear and the perfect size, my daughter is left handed and it hasnt been an issue with her or the leapster. Its great for mommy too, car rides are peaceful and keeps my 4 yr old entertained for hours! This is a great product and I am so happy she loves it....thank you Leap Frog! We have always been satisfied with a leap frog purchase!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved