Home » Services & Training » Educational Aids/kits » LER2394 » 9 Reviews

Healthy Helpings Educational Pocket Chart - Theme/subject: Learning - Skill Learning: Food - 90 Pieces (ler2394) Reviews
Healthy Helpings Educational Pocket Chart - Theme/subject: Learning - Skill Learning: Food - 90 Pieces (ler2394)

Healthy Helpings Educational Pocket Chart - Theme/subject: Learning - Skill Learning: Food - 90 Pieces (ler2394)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Build a healthy MyPlatejust choose from the right food groups. Aligned with USDA guidelines. Features 90 photo-illustrated food cards (with food groups on reverse for self-checking) and two back storage pockets. Pocket Chart Type: Healthy Food; Total Pockets: 7; Width: 28; Height: 28.Aligned with US... <more> 

Learning Resources Model: LER2394

$25.02

24 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fun (6), Durable (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Healthy Helpings

By Teaching With Love and Laughter from Florida on 05/09/2013


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Fun, Durable, Meaningful, Self Checking

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This game helps the children learn the food groups and how to make healthy, balanced meals. Once the children know how to play, they can easily play this game at a station. It is self-checking and tons of fun. Students in kindergarten through second grade will benefit most from this game. Not only will it will help enhance your unit on nutrition, it will also be a nice addition to your classroom game shelf any day of the year! The game includes 4 plates, tons of real-life photos of foods from all the different food groups, and a spinner. Every piece in this game is incredibly durable and appealing to the eye. The object of the game is to be the first person to build a healthy meal. Players take turns spinning the spinner. If the spinner lands on protein, you choose a protein. If the spinner lands on fruit, you choose a fruit, etc. There are also two fun twists in the game! The first twist is called "give." If you land on "give" you have to take one of your pieces of food and give it to someone who needs it. The second twist is called "take." If you land on "take" you can take a piece of food from someone. I LOVE how this game is self-checking. Each food piece is color coded on the back and the children know if they made a mistake. It's even labeled with the name of the food, like cantaloupe and avocado so they become familiar with these healthy foods and then go home and ask their parents to buy it because it's good for you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Game

By Amy from Portland, OR on 05/07/2013


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Durable, Cooperative, Easy To Use, Fun

Best Uses:

Preschool

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I randomly came across this game via a friend and was skeptical that my preschool students (4-5) would find this game engaging. I admit - I was so wrong. After six months, this is still one of their favorite games in to play and they had mastered playing it independently and teaching it to new friends. They love that it is a simple, short game that they can play enough times for everyone to have a chance to win without it taking too long. Although it's not technically a cooperative game - they help each other and the readers in the group will help direct the others to favorite foods. Plus, the multiple pieces and cardboard placemats have survived six months on the games shelf with minimal lost pieces and being unbroken - which is awesome!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Healthy Helpings = Key to Healthy Living

By Naomi from Pixie Dusted Homeschool on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Attractive To Children, Fun For Learning, Colorful, Healthy Eating

Best Uses:

Teaching Healthy Eating

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like how colorful and easy it is for the children to use. It attracts their attention and keeps them focused. I received this as a gift for the purpose of writing a review. All opinions are my own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Healthy Learning

By Joanna from Rochester, NY on 10/29/2012

I love anything that mixes education and fun- and Learning Resources is my go-to place for just that! Their products are FANTASTIC and inspire learning in my kids! We love our new Healthy Helpings My Plate Pocket Chart- it's perfect for teaching kids healthy eating, which is something that is really important to me. I want them to love healthy foods, and know how to create a balanced meal. The chart comes with 90 food cards, so they really have just about everything, but you can always print your own for anything they don't have. The foods go right into pockets- Fruits, Veggies, Grains, Protein, and Dairy. It's fun to watch my boys learn which foods go into what categories, and how easy it is to build a well-balanced, healthy, YUMMY meal! I know your family will love this as much as ours does! I received this product for free for my reviewm all opinions are my own


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Fun Way to Teach Nutrition

By Planet Weidknecht from Pflugerville, Texas on 10/26/2012


Pros:

Educational, Colorful, Durable, Fun

Best Uses:

Elementary Education, Daycare, Homeschool, Preschool

How in the world do we find engaging ways to teach children about nutrition, exercise, and being healthy? Learning Resources has created an activity mat that reflects the current government guidelines for daily nutritional suggestions. The Healthy Helpings Activity Mat teaches children about the food groups - fruits, grains, vegetables, protein, and dairy. This huge floor mat is a wonderful way for children to interact with foods and learn which foods fit into the different groups. The cards have photos of real foods that children eat and each card allows the child to self-check whether they correctly put the card in the right group, because each group is assigned a color, such as green for veggies, and on the back of each veggie card the word is in green. The activity mat is made from a heavy-duty vinyl, durable enough for many years of floor play. The cards are made from heavy, glossy cardstock. It's easy to fold up and store in its original box and I keep the cards in a small plastic zipper-top bag in the box too. The graphic of the plate on the activity mat even shows desirable proportion sizes of each food group, helping children learn they should eat more veggies than fruits, grains, dairy or proteins. Disclosure: I received this product at no charge in exchange for my honest review.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Healthy Helpings Great but...

By Tamster from El Monte, CA on 10/26/2012


Pros:

Good Quality Photos, Good Quality Cards, Has A Lot Of Food Items, Good Quality Material

Cons:

Missing The Tomato Card

Best Uses:

Charting Morning Meal, Planning For Lunch

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this every morning with my students and they are getting the hang of the food groups. We chart what they ate for breakfast and focus on what they should have for lunch. There are a lot of food items to choose from. I would like them to add "Pinto Beans" and "String Cheese", and I can't believe that "Tomato" was left out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Game!

By Angie from Gillespie, IL on 09/19/2012


Pros:

Easy To Follow Directions, Fun Bright Colors, Realistic Food Pictures, Fun, Durable

Best Uses:

Schools, Learning Centers, 2-4 Players, Home Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Healthy Helpings MyPlate Game is the perfect way to introduce food groups, healthy food choices, and balanced meals. My 3 and 4 year old picked up how to play very quickly and loved picking out their favorite foods. This game is durable and fun and will provide years of fun, healthy play!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Fun, Educational Game!

By Amanda from Greenville, SC on 09/10/2012


Pros:

Easy To Play, Fun, Durable, Self-checking, Simple Directions

Best Uses:

Centers, Small Groups

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I introduced this game to my class of seven year olds during our Nutrition unit. I loved that the directions were simple and easy for them to understand quickly. The "give" and "take" sections of the spinner absolutely add an element to the game that makes them LOVE it! After teaching them to play the game, it is a perfect addition to centers or small group time since it is self-checking. The game pieces and boards are very durable and I know it will be a big hit in my classroom for a long time! I only wish it were more than 4 players, or that I had multiple sets of the game so MORE students could play at the same time! *Learning Resources provided this game to my classroom for me to review, but this donation had no impact on this review.*


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Healthy Fun

By Between the Lines from USA on 02/26/2012


Pros:

Healthy Fun, Fun, Uniquely Challenging, Educational

Best Uses:

Small Group Challenges, Individual Learning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For 2012, Learning Resources has released a huge variety of new educational toys. Amongst them is the Healthy Helpings MyPlate Activity Mat. This activity mat helps children kinesthetically learn about healthy food choices and the new USDA MyPlate guidelines. This great learning source features 48 photo based food cards and illustrated exercise cards. The mat itself measures at 4.5'L x 4.5'H, so it is perfect for small group play or the whole class. My girls love trying to stump each other. They will choose a card for their sister and if they place the card on the wrong part of the plate, they have to choose an exercise card. The exercise cards further promote a healthy lifestyle and show kids how easy it is to get daily exercise. This activity mat has many different ways to play and my girls love them all. We have decided that we are going to donate it to our school to allow all the classes a chance to play.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved