Home » Medical & Healthcare » Diagnostics & Treatment » Microscopes » LER4416_2 » 43 Reviews

Learning Resources LER4416 Zoomy Digital Microscope Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 43 reviews)

62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Interactive (4), Easy To Use (8), Fun (5), Durable (3)

Was this a gift?:

No (9), Yes (10)

Best Uses:

Indoor (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

AeroSpace Quality Control

By Happy User from Phoenix, Az. on 03/26/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Simple To Use

Describe Yourself:

Aerospace Quality Enginee

Best Uses:

Microscopic Photoraphy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have used this device for several years in an aerospace quality control environment for photographing printed circuit boards and small parts such as ball bearing assemblies of less than 1/8" in diameter. The software is easy to download and install. Usage is "point and shoot". Magnification is larger if as you get closer. Exposure is adjusted automatically. We reach for this unit before our $6000 dollar PC based microscope at 40X.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works on our Mac.

By vvvvictoria from Antelope Valley, CA on 01/02/2015


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy set up on our Mac with OS X Yosemite 10.10.1. I'd like to be able to turn off the LED lights. Other than that small negative, it works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works on Mac using PhotoBooth

By Susan from Boston, MA on 01/01/2015


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Describe Yourself:

Parent Of Two Or More Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was frustrated at first because the software wouldn't open on my Mac (using Mavericks). It said it wouldn't open because it came from an "unidentified developer." But then I just opened Photo Booth based on other comments and I didn't need anything else. I just plugged in the zoomy, selected the USB option under the Camera menu and up popped the image. You can even take photos using the Photo Booth software (but not using the button on the zoomy). One thing that other people may not miss but I did is that you focus by twisting the top third of the "egg." I was trying to focus at first by twisting the little silver camera button.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Waste of time and money

By jea from Indianapolis on 10/28/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Describe Yourself:

Collector

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Despite the claims on the package, does NOT work with Mac. I tried the workarounds (iPhoto, Photo Booth) I've seen in reviews, but I can't get the computer to even recognize that the microscope is attached. I wasn't expecting anything phenomenal, but I was expecting the thing to actually work. Here's hoping that the store will give me my money back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exciting Learning Tool Using a Mac or PC

By nwridgerunner from Frisco, TX formerly Beaverton, OR on 09/05/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Fun, Interactive, Realistic, Durable, Easy Assembly, Great Value

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented

Best Uses:

Outdoor, Indoor, Creative Development, Group Activity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The ability to allow a group of students (young or old) to view a magnified object leads to an eruption of group discussion. It's also great for the individual. I just got this today so after reading a number of complaints regarding its use with a Mac, as the tech specialist in an elementary school which uses both Macs and PCs, I decided to immediately check it out. Small hiccup with both but easily rectified. The PC gave me a black screen when I first tried but I went to Settings within Digital Viewer, selected Device, selected USB 2.0 Camera, quit the program and started it again. Voila! Basically the same with the Mac. It defaulted to the iSight camera but once I made the change the Zoomy worked. Yes, you do have to download the software. Just be sure you download the correct version. A few minor hiccups warrants a 4 but definitely nothing less. Of course, only time will tell about durability. I taught math and science for 30 years. I wouldn't hesitate to add this tool to my lab.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy for kids to use & learn with.

By bu11frogg from Holden, MA on 06/24/2014


Pros:

Fun, Easy To Use, Interactive

Was this a gift?:

Yes

Cons:

Limited Features

Describe Yourself:

Parent Of Two Or More Children

Best Uses:

Indoor, Group Activity, Young Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Highly recommended! The Microscope is VERY easy to use and works fine on Mac OS X 10.9 and Windows 8. Just download the Zoomy software, plug in the 'scope and off you go! On the plus side, the Zoomy is very easy for young kids to use and the shutter button is easy for them to operate. The images are surprisingly good given the low-res 640x480 sensor. The focus adjustments are easy to make and the design means that focus doesn't drift or change easily, which is really important. The only thing we really don't like is that there is no way to adjust or disable the LED lights. We found that some bugs move away from the bright lights. Additionally, it would be really great if the Zoomy had a tripod mount. We think pairing the Zoomy with a GorillaPod flexible tripod would really open up some new possibilities! All in all, the Zoomy is a really great microscope, designed for kids in a way that appeals to them. With a couple more features, it could be nearly perfect. I would love to see a Bluetooth version come along and introduce Zoomy to iOS devices. This thing is begging to be freed from the cable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A PC "Preferrer"

By spitfire131 from Calgary AB on 06/22/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Easy Assembly, Realistic, Fun, Great Value, Durable, Great Functions And Zoom, Entertaining, Interactive

Cons:

Wont Work On Mac Book Pro, Poor Instructions

Describe Yourself:

Other

Best Uses:

Outdoor, Indoor

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This thing is great but the one problem is that it is no installable on mac book pro, I have a PC but it is a little slow so I don't us it very often on there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works on my Mac 10.9.2 :)

By Steve from Atlanta on 05/09/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I guess I'm lucky, but the Digital Viewer 2.0 software works great on my iMac with OSX 10.9.2 (Mavericks).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mac Support

By Young Scientist from New York, NY on 05/04/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

No Mac support? Really? Do you realize most real scientists use Mac? Epic fail.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun for everyone

By Molly from Central IL on 01/31/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 3-year-old received this as a Christmas gift from her grandpa. It was really a gift for our whole family, because we all really enjoy using it. My 3-year-old has looked at just about everything in our house with it, and she is fascinated at what everything looks like when magnified. It is a great learning tool, and entertaining for everyone, including adults. The magnification quality is great, and you can use it on just about anything. I am looking forward to warmer weather when we can use it on things outside.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By Noto from Chicago, IL on 01/10/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this product. It works on my Mac just fine (I downloaded software directly from website rather than use the weird-looking CD). The "focusing" (when you turn the top to sharpen picture) works better than I had expected. We have taken some nice snapshots of leaves, clothing, skin, and many other interesting objects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Encourages Curiosity!

By Erin from Michigan on 01/03/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Easy To Use, Kid Friendly

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Some of the features that I found most appealing about Zoomy were: it fits perfectly in little hands it is easy to use and set up - a simple USB cord connection to your computer is the only setup needed hands-on investigation is encouraged it only needs one hand to operate, leaving your other hand free to manipulate the object you are investigating high quality images are able to be uploaded into a class site or learning network easy to set up on virtually any computer or interactive whiteboard


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very cool, but can't take photos

By BT2013 from Ontario, Canada on 12/30/2013


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Great Magnification, Easy For Kids To Use, Led Lights

Cons:

No Photos With Win 81

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love the product, but can't capture images. I'm guessing it is because I am using Windows 8.1 on my laptop, but we'll try it next on our desktop running Windows 7. Wish I could use my laptop, because it is more portable! It would be fantastic to have a software update for Windows 8.1.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have a MacBook Pro

By notacomputerexpert from Alaska on 11/01/2013

I had to download the driver from this website. I called a company representative and she directed me to the download. I successfully accomplished that hurdle. I then had to look into having my Mac see the external camera. If you are taking pictures, open iPhoto go to file and select USB camera. If you are making a video, open quick time, go to file and select USB camera. Hope this helps.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great on a Mac

By chickchick from Minneapolis, MN on 10/30/2013


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Good Software For Mac, Integrated Led, Ease Of Use, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a biologist and need a portable microscope to do demos for school-age children. I used to have an Intel Digital Blue and thought that was great, but it is not compatible with latest generation Mac OS. And this is better. Have to rig it up to a ring stand, but awesome to have the LED reflected light source right in there (so many microscopes, including the Digital Blue, only give you transmitted light, great for slides, but most kids don't care about that), and this is more portable and user friendly. Note to all you Mac users--the software you download from the Learning Resources website following their instructions WORKS GREAT.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!!!!

By DDH from Ontario Canada on 10/01/2013


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Easy To Use, Awesome Features, Great Pics

I love this product! It was so easy to use. I own a Mac and was able to download the software, plug it in and voila! Great magnification!! My 15-year old daughter and I really enjoyed looking at everything up close. I purchased it for my classroom and can't wait to bring it in tomorrow and try it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Use Photo Booth software to make it work

By MIcro user from Philadelphia, PA on 08/02/2013


Was this a gift?:

No

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Making it work in a Mac: The 3"-diameter software disk does not fit in an iMac (OS X, v 10.6.8) so I downloaded the software from the Learning Resources site, as indicated in the instructions. There are two choices for Mac software. I picked version 3.1.03 to match the product number. However, I could not make the microscope work with the Digital Viewer software. All I saw was a black screen, even when made sure I set the Device to USB 2.0 Camera under Settings...Device Setup. After reading the reviews on this site I tried using Photo Booth. I changed the input (under the Camera pull menu) to USB 2.0 Camera. Finally, the image displayed in the PhotoBooth window. USE: The image quality is nice and the unit is easy to hold in ones hand. Similar products do the same thing. I wouldn't recommend this product for Mac users until the company offers software that is suitable, or explains how to use the existing software. In the year 2013, when everything is plug-and-play, there is no excuse for not making a product easy to use, right out of the box. Perhaps another reviewer will explain how to make the Digital Viewer software work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad instructions for set up

By Not impressed from Calgary Canada on 07/28/2013


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It would seem that your marketing department does not belive that MAC users would make up a large portion of your user base.(See page 2 of comments) I am sorry that I am having difficulty with your product and will throw it away (responsibly)and move on with my MAC and my children going out to explore the work with binoculars and a microscope. Very displeased!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Fine on my Mac

By CA Mom from Foothill Ranch, CA on 07/14/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Great Picture

Was this a gift?:

Yes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just downloaded the Mac software today (7/14/13) and everything worked great! Love how easy this is to use, and the picture quality was great. My 3-year-old had a great time exploring with it -- so easy that he can even use it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great... when it worked. No Mac OSX

By Cole from Delaware on 05/30/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It was a great product but since they didn't update the software it won't work. IO had to upgrade to OSX for mac about a week after we got it for my son and he was able to use it once. OSX was already out for AGES. SHAME for selling something that expensive and NOT saying it works with Mac and they don't offer any help.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple Technology for Budding Scientists

By Planet Weidknecht from Pflugerville, TX on 04/09/2013


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Fun, Versatile, Easy To Use, Fascinating, Educational

Best Uses:

School, Home, Homeschool

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got a budding scientist in your house? When I was a kid, I had one of those microscopes with a base, slides, and twenty knobs for focusing. It really frustrated me because it was so hard to get things into focus and I constantly broke those stupid slides. Not to mention how stuff squished out the sides of the slides, making a mess I had to clean up. Zoomy is a handheld digital microscope from Learning Resources that eliminates all that frustration and provides a fun, easy science experience for kids of all ages! The egg-shaped microscope is easy to hold, whether you are three or forty-three. It plugs right into a computer USB port to provide a full-screen shot of whatever you want to place under Zoomy to explore in depth. It comes with a tiny disc formatted with the viewer that provides up to 43x magnification. The lights are built-in to the bottom of Zoomy digital microscope and the button on top swirls for focusing or you can just move it around with your hand. The top button also allows you to take a picture that pops up on your computer so you can save the photo if you want. What a great way to get photos for a science fair project! I placed a white piece of paper on my desk and grabbed a beaded bracelet. There are also two stabilizer domes you can attach to the bottom of Zoomy if you're so excited that your hands won't stop shaking! You can capture photos or videos with Zoomy and the online viewer allows you to add special effects and picture frames too. This microscope is so much fun to use and it's so simple even preschoolers can use it on their own. Wanting to play some more, I pulled a leaf off a dandelion in my front yard and was amazed at the magnified details. I absolutely love the fantastic experiences that new technology provides, so our children can have more positive and more exciting opportunities today. Visit Learning Resources to get Zoomy for your kids. Pick up an extra one for your child's favorite science teacher too! Your budding scientist may be the one who cures many diseases some day in the future. Make sure you follow their social media accounts (below) to hear about new products and special promotions! Disclosure: I received this product at no charge in exchange for my honest review.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pretty amazing for the price

By TimNixon from Union, NJ on 02/23/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Newest Software Allows In

Cons:

Wish It Had A Stand

Best Uses:

Looking At Boo-boos, Looking At Fabric

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use with 1 button capture using newest software. Looking at the weave in different fabrics is amazing for my grand-daughter. Don't look at your wiskers or up your nose ot you'll gross yourself out!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked well with my Mac

By Anita from St. John's NL Canada on 02/19/2013


Pros:

Works Well, Easy To Install

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm plan on using this product for imagery reference for my artwork


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use & fantastic clarity

By Crystal from Iowa on 02/18/2013


Pros:

Clear Image, Durable, Portable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received the Zoomy to review and I was actually quite surprised at just how good it really is! We had no problems using it on our Mac by downloading the software on the product page. Both my 5 year old & my 3 year old were able to manipulate the microscope and it was fantastic to use in class since we could hook it up through our whiteboard. I love that you can take pictures with the microscope which makes it a fun guessing game later! I HIGHLY recommend it - a fantastic product for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Zoom into Science

By The Organized Classroom Blog from Ohio on 02/14/2013


Pros:

Fun, Easy To Set Up And Use

Best Uses:

School, Classroom

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The software allows you to take single shots, a video, or continuous pictures set at the times you decide. So, you could use the video for student demonstrations or assessments. Or you could set up an experiment - I am thinking something like mold - and have the digital microscope take a picture every day for X amount of days and be able to see the time lapse. Pretty neat! *I received this product on my blog: The Organized Classroom Blog


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love by teachers, amazing learning tool!

By Starly from Hawaii on 02/07/2013


Pros:

Ultra Portable, Very Versatile

Cons:

Close Proximity Required

Best Uses:

Classroom Sciences, Personal Entertainment, Home Education

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 4 years old received this as a Birthday present and both my husband and I could not stop playing with it and showing it off to our friends. My child was amazed by what she saw when we put it close to her nails and explained to her why she shouldn't bite her nails (You really see everything- skin texture and the dirt component). I showed this to 2 Waldorf teachers and they were very impressed by it. We have another microscope purchased from Learning Resources but this item has better clarity and makes so much sense. Just plug it in a laptop and bring it on your field trip anywhere. We didn't have any problem setting it up on a PC labtop and a MAC. It works like a webcam. Just make sure you pick the designated equipment under the webcam icon or the device manager.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Magnification

By Suzy from Chicago, IL on 02/06/2013


Pros:

No Installation Necessary, Good Magnification, Very Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Zoomy is great to have for any budding scientist or curious person! There is no installation necessary and very easy to use. You just insert the CD that it comes with and plug in the Zoomy microscope into your computer. The magnification is pretty good for a simple microscope. You can even save your image or recording onto your computer. I definitely have used this with my 2 young children and have helped to foster their curiosity in showing how everyday objects look up close. I highly recommend this product for anyone, even adults!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Software doesn't work on my PC

By CanadianMom from Montreal, Canada on 02/03/2013


Cons:

Doesn't Work, Not Easy To Set Up

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This thing is supposed to be easy to set up and use. I put in the CD and followed all the directions. When I try to open the program, a window opens but nothing starts. This is on a PC, not a Mac. We did everything like we were supposed to but all that happens is we get that little circle going around, like it is trying to open, but it never opens. Total disappointment for my son and total frustration for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Should Have Listened to the Reviewers

By Red Gator from Templeton, CA on 01/23/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I contacted Learning Resources before ordering because of all of the negative reviews regarding incompatibility with Macs. I was told that the downloadable Mac software from the website was faulty, but they would send me a disc that would make it work. My Zoomy and the promised software arrived on the same day. Unfortunately, it doesn't work. The software, called DigitalViewer, only recognizes the built-in camera, not the Zoomy. Those who said that they got it to work with Photo Booth did not explain how they did it, and it won't work on mine. Those who say it works with a Mac don't mention the computer model or system software that they're using. I have an early 2011 MacBook Pro running system 10.8.2. Be smarter than me... believe the reviewers who say it won't work on a Mac. It seems to me that Learning Resources is being less than honest about this matter. I guess I'll have to return my Zoomy. I was really looking forward to using it with my 3rd graders.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE! And YES it works on MAC

By 2b1injc from Valley Springs, CA on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Adults Love It, Kids Love It, See The World In A Whole

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Contrary to what some say, this does work on a MAC...just open Photo Booth after you plug it in! I got this for 4 and 5 year old grand daughters! The whole family is having fun (and learning too) looking at every thing, including belly buttons and ears. We can't stop laughing! This will be a wonderful educational home school tool for years to come. Great investment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work with Mac.

By LearningResourcesHater from Philadelphia on 12/30/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

So, does not work with a Mac, despite the fact that it says it does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work with Mac Computer - 0 of 5

By MOM OF SAD KID from Golden, CO on 12/30/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I CAN'T RATE THIS A ZERO OF 5, BUT I WOULD. The product should clearly state that you cannot use it with a Mac. It even gives you a Mac download option, which is totally deceiving. It does not work. Seems like it would be cool, but who knows. Totally non-functional with a MAC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work on a MAC

By Joe from Seattle, WA on 12/29/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Despite what Learning Resources claims, this does not work on a MAC, at least using the current version of the software they have made available. I am very disappiinted with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

**DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IF YOU USE MAC

By Kid Disappointed at Christmas from Toronto, Ontario on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Like other ratings, this was advertised as a Mac-compatible device, which it is NOT. Don't be fooled by the downloadable Mac software - it does nothing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mac sw not validated or functional

By Sean's Dad from Denver, CO on 12/25/2012


Cons:

Req~'~~d Sw Cd Not Provided

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The instructions indicate that it works with Mac; it does not. They also reference the included CD for required software installaion on either PC or Mac. It is not included in the package as indicated. The software can be easily found on this website, but it seems like this product needs an update. Those aside, the product is ok.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing

By Jen from Louisburg,KS on 12/24/2012


Pros:

None

Cons:

Not As Advertised

Best Uses:

None

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The MAC software is not compatible. My 8 yr old son was VERY disappointed. Fix your product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work with Mac

By Eric from Grand Rapids, MI on 12/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Downloaded the driver for OSX but microscope will not work with our computer OSX 10.6)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Compatible with Mac OSX.

By Chris from Portland, OR on 12/19/2012

I would like to rate the performance of the microscope, but the software doesn't work on my computer. When I download the software from the website it simply doesn't open. The software disk is a mini-CD that can't be inserted into my computers slot-load cd drive. It would be VERY easy to solve this problem by updating the software online or including a standerd size CD. It wasn't made clear that this wouldn't work with Mac, so due to complete inability to use the product I have to rate it 1/5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lacks MAC OS support

By Gordon from Victoria BC on 12/01/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This would be a great product if it actually had the advertised MAC OS X support. The Digital Viewer app V2 does not work on OS X 10.8.2 (Mountain Lion). You're on your own to try and find software that will work with this device. It was given to me as a present so I can't return it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Box from Rome, NY on 12/27/2011


Pros:

Works Well, Easy To Setup, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used by 7 year old visually impaired boy to see details without straining.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Professional Quality Microscopic Detail!

By Engineer Guy from Broomfield, CO on 11/29/2011


Pros:

Pcb Trace Magnifier, Simple Focus, Image Capture, Easy

Cons:

No Led Onoff Switch

Best Uses:

Circuit Board Viewing, Micro Lettering Viewer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this to look at and record the markings on printed circuit board integrated circuits. I like that it is easily held in the hand and movable while looking at the real time screen image. Push button on the device makes capturing photos very easy. It would be impossible to capture these views using a standard microscope setup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Zoomy ~ A Scientific Must-Have!

By Melissa ~ Mommy Living the Life of Riley from Houston, TX on 10/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Life Science has always been one of my favorite topics and as a former Science teacher, I want to make sure that I pass on my love of the subject to Riley. Now I may be a little biased in this opinion, but I don't think that the importance of Science can be stressed to children enough. It is a subject which utilizes reading, writing, mathematics, deductive reasoning and creative thinking and teaches us the way our world works. I love getting out in the backyard with Riley and examining every leaf, rock, insect and spider we come across. Thanks to Learning Resources and the Zoomy Handheld Digital Microscope, we can study our findings in a whole new way. Keep reading to find out why this is a scientific tool no child should be without! I can recall when I was about 10 years old, I received my first microscope, which was a very bulky contraption that needed slides, cover slips, an electrical source or the sun for the microscope's light. It was also extremely hard to get the specimen in focus and then, there was no way to capture what you saw to share with others or keep for yourself. Boy, how technology has changed the way we do things! The Zoomy Handheld Digital Microscope is the easiest microscope to use and is even recommended for children ages 3-18. Imagine that...a 3 year old operating a microscope! All that's necessary is a laptop or computer which contains a CD-ROM and USB port, so that you can upload the imaging software and plug the Zoomy directly in. The Zoomy also comes with two adapters for face/scalp and nose/ears. These adapters snap on the end of the Zoomy and allow you to put the microscope directly on your own skin or hair, without damaging the lens in any way. Notice from the first picture below, how every freckle, hair and even the texture of my arm's skin are seen perfectly using the Zoomy. I also love the compactness of the Zoomy as well as how it contains its own LED light source and requires no batteries whatsoever. This device runs completely off your own computer's power and is so small and lightweight, that it could be tossed in your laptop bag for scientific discoveries on the go. As a matter of fact, if you are using the Zoomy along with a laptop, then you can examine anything interesting you come across right then and there. That's how Riley and I came to discover our backyard in much greater detail. We plopped down on our bellies with my laptop and the Zoomy and studied everything we could find. Just check out our up-close pictures of a seashell, plant's stem and leaves and a piece of bark. The Zoomy offers 35-53X magnification and focusing this microscope is super simple. All you have to do is slowly twist the top section of the Zoomy back and forth until the item pops into focus. The high-resolution images displayed on your computer screen are crystal clear and capturing your discoveries is as simple as clicking the silver button on the top of the Zoomy. I was able to take the four pictures you see above in a matter of minutes and couldn't get over how quick and easy this was to do. I think that Learning Resources has hit a home run with the Zoomy Digital Handheld Microscope for it works well with almost any computer...simply plug and play. You will need to install the microscope's software, which is contained on a smaller CD, so if you happen to have a CD-ROM drive which doesn't open up but rather requires the disc to slide directly in, you won't be able to use this smaller disk. In this case, you can install the software directly from Learning Resources site using this link. This microscope also works well with projectors or even interactive whiteboards, making it the perfect classroom tool too! I wish I would have had one of these when I was still teaching, for I know that this would have brought new life and interest to our lessons and a way to share fascinating finds with the entire class. I can't recommend the Zoomy Digital Handheld Microscope from Learning Resources enough! A device that encourages hands-on investigations and scientific inquiry which can be used with children ages 3 to 18? Now that's money time and money well spent! I received the Zoomy Handheld Digital Microscope from Learning Resources in order to facilitate my review. No other compensation was received. This product review is based on my own personal experiences with this item and is completely honest and objective.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Zoom in on learning

By Chris from Erie, PA on 01/14/2011


Pros:

Interactive, Engaging

Best Uses:

Real World Connections

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had my students identify very fine details in their skin and use geometric terms to describe the patterns they found. We then looked for the same types of patterns on the surface of leaves. I really liked how easy it was to use this tool. There was very little set up time and it worked effectively every time. This tool allowed me to take geometry concepts to a new level! The only drawback to this product was the shape, which seemed hard to hold for a few kids, and it was a little light to handle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved