Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » LER6886 » 8 Reviews

Learning Resources LER6886 Melody Express Musical Train Learning Toy - Theme/Subject: Music, Color - Skill Learning: Song, Color Matching - 60 Pieces Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 8 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Educational (4), Interactive (6), Fun (4), Entertaining (4)

Gift:

Yes (6)

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented (3), Parent Of Two Or More Children (3)

Best Uses:

Indoor (3), Young Children (3), Children (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

A

By G8rama from Lake Placid, Florida on 01/25/2015


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Can Withstand Use, Fun, Entertaining, Educational, Thought Provoking

Describe Yourself:

Educator, Grandparent

Best Uses:

Family, Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Forty-five years ago, I had a similar musical train that came from Japan. I have searched for another since then! This toy is so versatile and the musical child gets such a kick out of rearranging the railroad ties (notes) to make different simple tunes or patterns. The track is easy to put together and is sturdy. I believe the train will withstand a lot of use. My 4-year-old granddaughter loved it, and her older siblings had it playing music from Lord of the Rings within minutes! My only complaint is that it would be much better with a more generous supply of different notes. Extra sets of notes are available for purchase, but it would be much better if they were included with the train. This toy is a great way to encourage both right and left brain activity! I have already ordered two of them as gifts for grandchildren.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Musical Train

By tweet from Texas on 01/08/2015


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Interactive, Entertaining

Cons:

Hard To Put Together

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Children

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The train had two settings, but only one actually works. The train moves quite slowly. Putting the tiles on the track to make the songs was very difficult for my grandson...and me! It takes some coordination to fit them in. But my grandson did enjoy the whole set once we got it assembled.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cute Train!

By Mom to one from Alabama on 12/29/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Fun, Entertaining, Interactive, Easy To Play, Educational

Cons:

More Musical Note Pieces

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The train is really cute and I love the concept. The only con is it should come with more musical note pieces to make complete songs. My daughter is too young to understand music notes but enjoys hearing the tune & helps us teach her colors in a fun manner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome toy for preschoolers

By BabyHawk from North Carolina on 12/26/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Interactive, Entertaining, Fun

Describe Yourself:

Parent

Best Uses:

Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We got this for our 1.5 year old and 4 (almost 5) year old for Christmas. They need help putting the tiles on, but were very entranced with the train as it went around the track playing "songs" for them. I was slightly disappointed with the quality of the sound, how small the track was, and that some of the songs weren't recognizable when played. If you ask my kids, though, they're in love. I do appreciate the fact that the tiles have notes on them so that growing minds can learn more about music as they play with the toys, I just wish they were a little bit more visible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really good quality and price

By School with mommy from Qc, Canada on 07/25/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Fun, Interactive

Cons:

Small Parts

Describe Yourself:

Homeschooling

Best Uses:

Family, Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids love this train but they got frustrated because even my 7 year old had trouble getting the melody keys on the track without making others come off but overall it is really nice


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Update!

By Paul S from Costa Mesa, CA on 03/30/2012


Pros:

Engaging, Educational, Interactive, Lots Of Fun

Was this a gift?:

Yes

Cons:

Poor Design, Flimsy

Describe Yourself:

Working Parent, Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent, Parent Of Two Or More Children

Best Uses:

Indoor, Young Children, Entertainment

This is an update to an earlier review. We had contacted Learning Resources as the train had stopped working approximately one year after purchase. We had not heard back from them for several weeks and had resigned ourselves to shelving the toy. Yesterday, 3/29/2012, we discovered a packaged in the mail from Learning Resources - they had shipped us a new train engine unit! I commend Learning Resources for their exceptional customer service and their graciousness in sending us a new unit. At the time we called Learning Resources Customer Service line, we fully understood that the toy was over a year old and well outside the warranty period so we didn't expect a replacement. Thank you to Learning Resources! My son was so happy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool train, but needs more music tiles!

By mommy of three from Toronto, Canada on 12/28/2008


Gift:

Yes

Describe Yourself:

Stay At Home Parent, Education Oriented, Parent Of Two Or More Children

Best Uses:

Young Children, Indoor

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My boys got this train from Santa this year. They love music. It's a great toy with good concept design and very engaging, BUT, it's a little frustrating in that you only get six of most of the notes...rather limiting in the songs you can play, or create yourself. I wish we could buy extra packs...that would be perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great save a big flaw

By Eema to 3 from Manchester, CT on 12/11/2008


Pros:

Easy To Assemble, Durable, Educational, Interactive, Lots Of Fun

Gift:

Yes

Cons:

Not Enough Tiles, Not Enogh Track

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented, Parent Of Two Or More Children, Working Parent

Best Uses:

Indoor, Entertainment, Young Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My mother-in-law bought this train for my 2 and 3 1/2 year old boys who LOVE trains. They need help putting the track together but my 3 year old can put the music tiles in random order with minor help. I think this is a great train. It is durable, sturdy, easy to put together, and the tracks stay together. I also love the idea of combining trains and music, since most toddlers and preschoolers love both of these things. However, I wish that the track was a bit bigger because they get bored pretty quickly. Also, I wish there were more music tiles so that you could make longer songs. The tiles enable you to make the first stanza of a song, but just when the kids get into singing along the song has to stop because there are not enough tiles of each color. They should really either include more tiles in the set (like double) or have an option to buy more separately. Other than that this train is genius!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved