Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Games & Learning » LER9164 » 28 Reviews

Gears!gears!gears! Super Set - Early Skill Development - 150 Pieces (ler9164) Reviews
Gears!gears!gears! Super Set - Early Skill Development - 150 Pieces (ler9164)

Gears!gears!gears! Super Set - Early Skill Development - 150 Pieces (ler9164)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Building set provides the perfect way to introduce children to building toys. Sturdy plastic gear pieces easily snap together and are compatible with all Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! building sets (sold separately). Set encourages creativity while building fine motor skills in hands-on co... <more> 

Learning Resources Model: LER9164

$51.45

10 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 28 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Colorful (19), Durable (24), Educational (3), Interactive (7), Sturdy (15), Easy To Assemble (15), Fun (23), Entertaining (6), Realistic (3), Creative (15), Great Value (4)

Best Uses:

Home (3), Indoor (6), Young Children (16), Imaginative Play (20), Older Children (7), Motor Skills Development (11), Creative Development (4), Special Needs (7)

Gift:

Yes (18)

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented (8), Working Parent (5), Parent Of Two Or More Children (7), Grandparent (11), Stay At Home Parent (3)

Was this a gift?:

No (9)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Grandson loves it!

By Granny from West Virginia on 05/16/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Durable, Fun, Sturdy, Entertaining, Colorful, Creative

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Motor Skills Development, Imaginative Play, Young Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Grand kid loved it. Took to it right away. He loves gears. The only complaint I have is there were not enough of the six way axles to build the zig zag stairs pictured on the box. Other than that it is great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT TOY!

By mom767 from NY on 02/24/2015


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Great Value, Entertaining, Durable, Interactive, Fun, Realistic

Describe Yourself:

Working Parent, Parent Of Two Or More Children

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play, Creative Development, Young Children, Indoor

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My kids love using these dishes to cook in their play kitchen! It keeps them busy for hours! If I'm cooking in the kitchen, I tell them to go cook in their kitchen, and they do!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gears Gears Gears

By Lori from Orchard, IA on 02/07/2015


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Easy To Assemble, Creative, Fun, Colorful, Sturdy, Durable

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play, Motor Skills Development, Older Children, Young Children, Special Needs

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our Grandchildren can create all sorts of things!!! Just love it!!! First toy they go for!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GearsGears Gears

By Lori from Orchard,IA 50460 on 01/24/2015


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Colorful, Creative, Sturdy, Durable, Easy To Assemble, Fun

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Young Children, Motor Skills Development, Imaginative Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just love this product!! Great job!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed by broken piece

By kenny from princeton, wv on 01/09/2015


Pros:

Easy To Assemble, Colorful, Creative, Fun

Was this a gift?:

Yes

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play, Motor Skills Development

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As this was a Christmas gift for my grandson, a little disappointed to find one of the bases that the gears attach to broken when he opened it. Otherwise, an excellent product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tough to put together

By Lisa T from Baltimore, MD on 01/06/2015


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Creative, Colorful

Cons:

Difficult Assembly

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented, Working Parent

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I gave this to my 4.5-yr-old son for Christmas. I needed to help him put the green base pieces together (and I had trouble with it - even needed to use pliers for one section because it wouldn't pop together!) He immediately filled the first layer with gears, put the crank on and enjoyed spinning all of the pieces together. He didn't want me to build up - I think he liked just the pure flat layer of gears. But after we put it away, he hasn't wanted to play with it since. I think I'll let it sit for a while and will then try to reintroduce it and see if he has renewed interest, but it currently doesn't hold his attention for long. Other kids will likely react differently. I like the idea of this toy - hoping my son starts to like it more later!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!!!

By Marg from Nashua, NH on 01/01/2015


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Sturdy, Durable, Creative, Easy To Assemble, Excellent Value, Colorful, Fun

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented, Grandparent, Parent Of Two Or More Children, Working Parent

Best Uses:

Motor Skills Development, Young Children, Special Needs, Imaginative Play, Older Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product was much more durable than others I've seen on the market. My 3 year old grandson was able to assemble it easily except for the base. The only thing I would suggest changing is adding additional handles/cranks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

enjoyed by all

By sandy from illinois on 12/26/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Easy To Assemble, Fun, Creative, Durable, Colorful, Sturdy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great toy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By Gramma from Oregon on 12/13/2014


Pros:

Durable, Creative, Sturdy, Fun, Easy To Assemble, Colorful

Was this a gift?:

Yes

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play, Motor Skills Development, Young Children, Older Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've heard nothing but good things about this product so have been thrilled to buy two recently for grandchildren for Christmas!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Geary Christmas

By grandpa Phil from Eastern TN on 12/08/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Colorful, Easy To Assemble, Durable, Fun, Sturdy, Creative

Cons:

Only Comes With One Crank

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a Christmas present for a 6 year old and I am sure he will have fun with it. However I was disappointed on looking at the parts list that it only has one crank to turn your creation


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun! Fun! Fun!

By CA Teacher from San Diego, CA on 11/02/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Engaging For Students, Easy To Assemble, Sturdy, Durable, Fun, Colorful, Creative

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play, Motor Skills Development, Special Needs

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Bought a set for my students to use during their free choice time. I discovered that one set was not enough, so I bought the super set. It's a good value because you get a lot of pieces, enough for a few kids to share and not have to fight over pieces. I love to observe the creativity that is fostered when the kids assemble working machines. There is no wrong way to play. There is a great sense of accomplishment when my students build and create.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gears, Gears, Gears keeps kids busy.

By Nana Ann from Salt Lake City, UT on 07/23/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Fun, Easy To Assemble, Creative, Durable, Colorful, Sturdy

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Older Children, Imaginative Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got two buckets of Gears, Gears, Gears so that the grandchildren had enough to share among them. It keeps them entertained creating their own inventions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great food set for school or at home!

By Wendy from Suffolk on 05/28/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Educational, Fun, Great Value, Durable, Interactive, Unisex

Describe Yourself:

Mum Of 3

Best Uses:

Groups, Home, School, Young Children, Pre-school

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great set for any school or home setting. We have had the set at home there are plenty of pieces for everyone to play with and set up for meals. With the play food we have everything we need for the children to create great interesting meal combinations. A hard wearing set which is great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Permanent favourite!

By Wendy from Suffolk on 05/28/2014


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Durable, Educational, Interactive, Fun

Describe Yourself:

Mum Of 3

Best Uses:

Home, Young Children, Groups, Pre-school, Special Needs, Role Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this set to help with creativity and fine motor skills. The set has been used extensively by my children and their friends. Its a permanent favourite which gets used not just on its own but with all our other toys. The creativity is never ending although there is an activity guide the gears are brilliant for all aged children as they each get something different out of their creations. My daughter loves to see her creations move, my son loves to see how tall he can build something. A fantastic set for groups or promoting imagination. We have created houses, planes, garages, mazes and cars. Once you have finished playing all the gears can be packed away in the robust plastic tub.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Grandson loved this!

By Grama Joan from Norfolk, MA on 01/01/2014


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Easy To Assemble, Creative, Colorful, Sturdy, Durable, Fun

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a Christmas gift for my 4 yr old Grandson. Even though he had never seen this type of set before, he was immediately able to play with it independently, and repeatedly returned to it throughout the day. The adults also enjoyed it! Mechanically, this set works very well, the gears turn easily even with complex designs. The tub container is a nice bonus feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Much Fun

By Granny from Columbia, Md on 12/29/2013


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Colorful, Durable, Fun, Easy To Assemble

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent, Education Oriented, Parent Of Two Or More Children, Parent Of Multiples (twins Etc)

Best Uses:

Motor Skills Development, Older Children, Imaginative Play, Young Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have GEARS at my preschool and decided to get a set for my grandchildren. The 5 and 7 year old LOVED them! The 2 year old played with the Under the Sea assorory set I bought as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

endless fun

By cindy from phoenix on 12/22/2013


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Entertaining, Fun, Interactive, Great Value, Durable

Cons:

Items Are Small

Describe Yourself:

Preschool Teacher

Best Uses:

Special Needs, Imaginative Play, Creative Development, Young Children, Indoor

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its one of the favorite go to toys in my preschool class room, and recently bought it for my nieces. They love it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By Mistee Dawn from Waverly, WV on 12/21/2013


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Fun, Realistic, Easy Assembly, Durable, Great Value, Entertaining

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent

Best Uses:

Young Children, Indoor, Special Needs, Creative Development, Imaginative Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an 8 year old with special needs and she is just now at the stage where she wants to pretend to cook and do the dishes and other home things that she sees her mommy do at home. She plays with this set for hours and bakes and cooks and does the dishes and makes tea in her teapot. The dishes are all very true to real ones and it comes with so many pieces. I love the product, my daughter loves the product and I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4 stars because of tight fitting pieces

By Grandma JO from Modesto, CA on 10/27/2013


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Sturdy, Durable, Creative, Colorful, Fun

Cons:

Difficult Assembly

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my grandsons LOVE this however the small pieces are difficult to put together and especially to take apart but i still bought another set for another grandson since he LOVES mine so much!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great tool for Alzheimer's patients

By Linda from New Windsor, NY on 10/09/2013


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Sturdy, Durable, Creative, Easy To Assemble

Describe Yourself:

Director Senior Day Cente

Best Uses:

Alzheimer'sdementia, Special Needs

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was well received by our Alzheimer/Dementia clients in our senior day program. Held their interest for long periods of time and they were able to manipulate gears easily.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smaller than I thought

By Alt from Shandong, China on 09/11/2012


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Interactive, Fun, Entertaining, Good Assortment, Durable

Cons:

Small Sized

Describe Yourself:

Parent Of Two Or More Children, Stay At Home Parent

Best Uses:

Family Time, Indoor, Imaginative Play

This is a really nice set, but not what I expected. I ask grandma to buy it for my girls because I already have several of the Learning Resources play food sets and they are wonderful. I wanted flatware for my girls to "eat" the food off of and cookware for them to "cook" the food in. So I was very disappointed to open the box and see how small the plates, pots and bowls were. I live in china and I try to avoid buying toys over here my kids might chew on, so we're stuck with plates smaller than our eggs and sandwiches. Read the specs, it's only the dishpan that is a good size-the rest is small.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Years of GREAT USE!

By Michellina124 from Redding on 02/21/2012


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Pros:

Durable, Sturdy, Easy To Assemble, Colorful, Fun, Creative

Describe Yourself:

Parent Of Two Or More Children, Parent Of Multiples (twins Etc)

Best Uses:

Young Children, Imaginative Play, Motor Skills Development

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't even remember where these came from but they have been in my home forever it seems. All my kids have used them (6). I am buying another set for my 4 year old she loves them but a lot have been lost over the years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My kids love it...

By Eva from NY on 06/21/2011


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Entertaining, Realistic, Very Versatile, Interactive, Lots Of Pieces, Colorful, Fun

Cons:

Breakable

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented, Stay At Home Parent, Parent Of Two Or More Children, Young Mother

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play, Young Children, Indoor, Group Activity, Creative Development, Family Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great yet a bit more to the expensive side.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

adult help needed

By adult help needed from north tonawanda, ny on 11/02/2010


Was this a gift?:

Yes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my son had a blast with this toy although the instructions were very confusing and hard to follow. pieces were not easy to put together for him and i had to help quite a bit. taking them apart was even harder. i had to ask my husband for some strength. all in all good product but a bit frustrating at times


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great choice!

By Jane from Newark, Ohio on 02/13/2010


Pros:

Easy To Assemble, Fun, Sturdy, Durable, Colorful

Gift:

Yes

Describe Yourself:

Grandparent, Education Oriented

Best Uses:

Young Children, Older Children, Imaginative Play, Motor Skills Development

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my grandson when he was four. His two year old sister loved it too! I have added to their collection. Each time is a new creation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

definitely adding to the collection

By masons mom from escalon, ca on 01/29/2009


Pros:

Sturdy, Colorful, Easy To Assemble, Fun, Durable

Gift:

Yes

Describe Yourself:

Parent Of Two Or More Children, Working Parent

Best Uses:

Imaginative Play, Older Children, Motor Skills Development, Young Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my son kept telling me about this building set he played with at school so I asked them what it was and surprised him with them. He was so excited and showed me all the different designs he had already made and is so happy that he can continue building the vision he has without having to put them away after "free-time" is over. He absolutely loves them and we will be adding to his collection


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most Pieces Okay for Younger Children

By Abby's Mommy from Bartlett, IL on 01/10/2009


Pros:

Educational, Durable, Lots Of Fun, Large Set, Interactive, Not Feminine Looking, Engaging

Gift:

Yes

Cons:

Needs Plastic Storage Tub

Describe Yourself:

Education Oriented, Working Parent, First Time Parent, Former Teacher

Best Uses:

Indoor, Entertainment, Young Children

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Santa brought this for my daughter (12 mos). Now she's like a mini Rachel Ray! She's very young, so I removed the 10-20 pieces with small parts. The set is large. There are still a lot of pieces left to play with, which I'm careful she doesn't ever chew. She likes to sit at her table & pretend with the dishes. We sit on the floor & have great mommy-daughter "moments" stirring in the bowls & pots & talking about what we're cooking. She loves it, & I know she's building vocab & listening skills. I'm glad this set doesn't look feminine. If my next child's a boy, or if my daughter wants to play house with her male cousins, no problem. If Santa brings a kitchen next year, she can use these very sturdy plastic dishes with it for years! One negative--no real storage bin. The box serves as temporary storage. Buy a plastic bin, or get used to little dishes & cutlery all over your house!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gears are great building toys.

By Homeschool Mom Verified Purchaser from Houston, Texas on 12/04/2007


Cons:

Bulky

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Colorful, Durable

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Gears help children use their imagination and build many creative things.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved