Home » Accessories » Port Replicators » 0A33970 » 26 Reviews

Lenovo 0A33970 Thinkpad Usb 3.0 Dock Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 26 reviews)

30% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Input/output Compatibility (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Worthless

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Thought I was getting a docking station and all I got are problems. Looking quick disconnect capability and I still have to disconnect three cables, power, Dock cable and ethernet cable (which does not work through Dock. Don't waste your time and money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mostly a pain in the neck

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was excited to see what this thing offered: 3 screens! The laptop screen and two external screens is a boon to my work. However, when ever I walk away from my station, locking Windows, when I come back my applications have all moved to a single screen and I need to reposition them to continue working. This doesn't happen every time, only 90% of the time. What a waste of time and an unneeded frustration. Fortunately I didn't pay anything for it since my company bought it. Unfortunately I have to live with it. I wouldn't take one home if you paid me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreliable

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We moved to using these at work as our standard dock, and have regretted it since. We have 28 in office, and replace at least one every one to two weeks. These are one of the most unreliable pieces of equipment I have ever used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent dock when OneLink isn't supported

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent general-purpose dock. It will work on any computer that has a USB 3.0 port available, including non-Lenovo computers (drivers available at the DisplayLink site). It's the only dual-DVI dock available for computers without a OneLink port, like the Yoga series. Connection to the computer is via one USB 3.0 cable, and you have to power the computer and dock with separate power supplies. But that's a small price to pay for dual 1920x1200 monitor support with enough spare USB ports to connect all your stuff. My company uses a number of these docks on a daily basis and they work flawlessly to drive 2 monitors, keyboard, mouse, sound, thumb drives - all without any video lag. Yes, if your computer has a OneLink port (available on most ThinkPads), a OneLink dock is a more elegant solution, but if not, this is the way to go. I have personally used both the USB 3.0 dock and OneLink Pro dock, and they function identically. You won't be disappointed with the USB 3.0 dock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No use for Carbon X1 - get a OneLink Dock instead!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I recently got this with a X1 Carbon (which was another disaster in itself) for work. As other reviewers have stated it's next to useless, you need two power supplies, two links to the laptop and it will not power up the computer from the button on the top without the laptop being open. If you buy the other dock the "One Link" it is far better with only one PSU, one cable and full support for power down from the dock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth the time

By West5757 from Undisclosed on 08/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I ordered this when I bought my computer and after I set it up I was highly dissapointed. It is called a docking station without the ability to power the computer. I wanted a docking station so I could hook up in the office without connecting wires and then take the computer away when I needed to leave. My external keyboard does not work when plugged into the back of the station and the ethernet is horrible. I had to hook it straight into the computer. It is basically being used as a USB Hub.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

6 Months In

By Luke from Undisclosed on 08/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this with my X1 Carbon for about 6 months now. I could not be more happy. I am running 2 1080p DVI monitors, USB powered speakers, keyboard, 1TB USB WD drive and wireless track pad without issue. I highly recommend purchasing an additional power supply for your laptop to pair with this device to make your life easier. I regularly unplug/plug back in my laptop while it is on or waking up from sleeping with no issue. For those having issues, follow these steps to enjoy the product as it was meant to run: 1. Plug everything in to your laptop 2. Install Lenovo's driver for the 3.0 Dock 3. Install the 0A33970 firmware update 4. Install Lenovo's USB 3.0 host driver 5. Install DisplayLink's driver over Lenovo For those having issues after following the above steps, you may try updating the following few things on your laptop. 1. Update your video driver. 2. Check for a BIOS update. 3. Make sure you don't have legacy port replicator software still installed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Caused Boot Errors with Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro

By TampaBusy from Undisclosed on 07/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lenovo recommended this dock as compatible with the Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro, but after two days of getting boot errors, I sent it back. Had to unplug the hub every time I wanted to close or power down my pc or else I got a usb boot error. It also didn't recognize my hdmi visio monitor with vga or dvi even with the driver. No hdmi ports available. Performance was slow and I only had a wifi keyboard mouse, 1 monitor, and Ethernet plugged into the hub.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ThinkPad USB 3.0 Dock

By Gary from Undisclosed on 07/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can see from reading through the list that some have had problems. I'm not sure why. After I removed it from the box, I followed the instructions and downloaded the latest drive and firmware for the device and plugged it in. I'm using it with a Yoga 2 Pro at work and the Ethernet, VGA, and USB ports all work fine. The only thing I've noticed is that my Microsoft Natural 7000 keyboard does not like to have it's USB plugged into the device. So that gets plugged into the USB 2.0 port on the Yoga. Everything else I have used, thumb drives, hdd, backup, etc works normally. The system does a nice job of supporting the monitor too. No complaints on my end it much nicer working with all my normal desk components.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's not a dock!

By Byclue from Undisclosed on 06/05/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm not sure why Lenovo is calling this a dock. It's a port replicator and not a very good one at that.. This "dock" does not supply power to your laptop. No hdmi or mini display port? If all you need to is mouse keyboard and DVI monitor then get other brand that are better value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After a month usage

By nokya from Undisclosed on 06/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Works okay for the basic docking of a mouse and a screen. Once you start adding a good webcam and conecting the dock to a gigabit ethernet port, things just go wild as bandwidth does not seem to be enough to transmit all the information. Unless strictly required, I would rather recommend buying a USB port hub, an ethernet-to-USB dongle and an HDMI-to-display-port dongle. Total cost is the same, plus you get the freedom of carrying the two dongles in your laptop bag for a negligeable weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No HDMI Options

By JoshuaB from Undisclosed on 05/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lenovo doesn't offer a dock/port replicator for the Helix that has HDMI ports. They have DVI ports. Funny thing is their monitors have HDMI and VGA, not DVI.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst docking ever

By Nickname from Undisclosed on 05/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Our company purchased a few thousand or even more of these mini docks. Be honest, it may not even work Lenovo's own laptop. So search it in google, read people's comments before you make the purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not A Dock

By Willie from Undisclosed on 05/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It may be a fine port replicator. I don't know. I don't need one. I need a docking station. These are going back. I'm in the market for a new IT guy. I only gave it 3 stars because I don't blame Lenovo for the aggravation. Except for calling it a Dock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

don't bother with this

By Mynameisrod from Undisclosed on 05/12/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It doesn't power the notebook and have to get under the desk to plug the notebooks power supply in. And the monitor doesn't always come on without switching off and on and off and on. Overall it was quicker before I got this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little product

By notstupid from Undisclosed on 05/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We initially tested one of these for use and ended up with about 20 of these in our offices. Lenovo driver support is great (as usual). Everything came out of the box with the appropriate adapters. It's easy to set up (if you follow directions). It's fast and best of all, it's very reliable. Works great for dual-monitors (we connect to two Dell U2412M's using DVI connectors). They're a tad expensive but you get what you pay for. Some faculty started using them for having dual-desk setups: one desk is set for sitting down and the dock pushing keyboard, mouse and video to second desk where they stand up. Creative use for this which made me chuckle.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Below average at best

By HeavyLaptopUser from Undisclosed on 04/22/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not a docking station. For the $200 I paid, I'd expect that it be able to charge my laptop while plugged in, but that's not the case. Wireless USB mouse doesn't work in slots. Requires updating drivers to work and some patience. Very disappointing product - avoid it if you can.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Fine, just get latest drivers

By BellevueTech from Undisclosed on 04/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

a coworker got a new PC and this was lying around, used it for my Lenovo twist, installed the drivers and was good to go, It is not a dock, it is a port replicator, now I have two monitors, a mouse, a headset and a key board, and only the power and replicator are plugged into my twist. running windows 8.1 64 bit,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By hangover24 from Undisclosed on 03/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Make sure you install the drivers from the CD. Works great with my windows 7 Lenovo X1 Carbon laptop, connected to 2 monitors, speakers, key board, mouse.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Good

By Greg from Undisclosed on 03/20/2014


Pros:

Sleek

Cons:

Input/output Compatibility, Software Compatibility

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm running and X1 carbon windows 7 64 bit and have had all sorts of trouble with this. Internet doesn't connect when I re-dock. Doesn't obey and windows configuration settings. Slow. As others have noted I've tried a number of drivers and can't seem to get anything to work right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

when it works it works fine...you cannot rely on

By nowwb from Undisclosed on 03/16/2014


Pros:

Screen Size, Display Performance, Weight, Display Resolution

Cons:

Driver Issues

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have this docking station since 3/4 year...it started out okay...takes long time to connect (2-3 minutes) and you cannot work immediately...than it all got worse...now it takes half a day to connect...some driver issue...I have a new hobby searching for drivers & installing & unistalling them...If you want a thing that just does what it is expected to do and you don't want to look after this ts the wrong thing...If it works it's just great 2 displays extra...you can have the display from the laptop, the display from the mini-display port and aditionally these two displays from the dock...awesome...if it would work without any driver issues....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be Afraid of this device

By DuvallUser from Undisclosed on 03/14/2014


Cons:

Keyboard/peripherals, Input/output Compatibility

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Dual monitors worked fine but i made 8 DVD coasters and never got the USB ports to work without significant lag. Incredibly frustrating 8-months experience after deleting all Win 8.1 USB devices and reinstalling, updating firmware and software. Just installed a Targus dual monitor USB 3.0 port replicator and for the first time am able to use my keyboard and mouse AND rip a DVD at the same time. STAY AWAY from this device. What a resented waste of time and money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be careful

By pefbdm from Undisclosed on 03/07/2014


Cons:

Software Compatibility, Input/output Compatibility, Wireless Card

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed to use my laptop monitor with 2 external monitors and was given this to try. It serves the function I need but I do miss not powering the laptop from the docking station and not having one button power on in the docking station. One very annoying issue is that I use a Jabra wireless headset and no matter if I plug into the docking station or the laptop while on the docking station my phone connection is horrible. Nothing I've tried short of not using the docking station will fix the problem. Not sure I would have purchased this product with my money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By SurfaceProUser from Undisclosed on 03/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No issues, works like a champ with Win 8.1 and Surface Pro. Daily user in enterprise setting using Surface for all business related tasks, dual monitors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Skip This One

By DisappointedCustomer from Undisclosed on 02/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is not a docking station -- it is simply a place to plug in some peripherals. You can't even plug in a second monitor. Do not buy this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst docking station imaginable

By Bart from Undisclosed on 02/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

There are so many things wrong with this: It ships with a 12 V adapter whereas a20 V adapter is required. It takes weeks for Lenovo to send the right adapter. several USB ports do not work. Sometimes it does not recognize the keyboard, then I need to stick that USB directly into the computer. The computer does not transition well between stand-alone laptop and docked with 2 additional projectors. It needs help every time to tell which display is what, and then when you undock it scrambles it again. Many other things are wrong with it. Lenovo sent me a new one after two months, and it had similar but different problems. conclusion: a waste of time


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved