Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » 20BG0016US » 32 Reviews

Lenovo Thinkpad W540 20bg0016us 15.5" Led Notebook - Intel - Core I7 I7-4800mq 2.7ghz - 8 Gb Ram - 256 Gb Ssd - Dvd-writer - Nvidia Quadro K2100m, Intel Hd 4600 Graphics - Windows 7 Professional Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 32 reviews)

62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great machine with lousy touchpad

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The problem with the touch pad, is while you are attempting to click, a slight roll of the tip of your finger moves the mouse pointer off your intended target. I have been unable to find a configuration setting that would cause certain areas of the touch pad to ignore finger motion altogether. If I had known about the touch pad before my purchase, I would have looked elsewhere. The touch pad is a black smear on an otherwise really nice machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Supprt

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have called twice for support and twice I hang up after 25 minutes of being transferred from one person to another. Each person asked me all my info and the laptop's info over and over again,. Each time I called I talked to about 8 different people as I was transferred around. GAVE UP each time. I like the laptop although I have some issues with faulty software that I have given up fixing as I cannot get fast and speedy assistance. Still considering if I should return it. The worst Tech Support ever!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super fly!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Lightning fast performance (7.9 on all but graphics - 7.0). Cost $2700, a little steep, but got the top end CPU. Faster than the top end Apple for about the same price. Lacks several features (HDMI, digital audio, etc), but the speed makes up for a lot. Everything loads instantly! BTW, the sales department doesn't always tell the truth about product features. Definitely not to be trusted!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product - Bad Mouse Design Change

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a good computer - lots of power, and still has (almost) all the good Lenovo features that have kept me coming back. This is my fifth ThinkPad. But there is one glaring exception to my satisfaction - I have read this criticism from others too. The new trackpoint/mousepad design on the laptop itself. Really badly engineered. It just doesn't work most of the time. I can get it to "click" about half the time, but I cannot drag an icon by holding down the left mouse button. You really should go back to the old set-up. I use mine most of the time at a desk with a full keyboard, big monitor and auxiliary mouse, so it's not that big of a deal. But for people who use it as a laptop most of the time, they may have to carry a travel mouse to be able to get it to work efficiently.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost perfect

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: Fast, track pad touch features, reliable, Cons: Dead pixel out of the box, Bluetooth randomly disconnects, junk software First of all, disappointed to find a dead pixel out of the box. I would normally send it back or get it fixed but I need the laptop for school and cant afford the downtime. Oh well. The best thing about it is how fast it is. I upgraded to 16 GB ram and a 128 GB SSD. I run OpenFOAM CFD in a virtual Ubuntu environment and it blazes through the computations. I dislike the track pad click, feels cheap and inconsistent. The touch features are great however so I usually don't use the click. I also use a Bluetooth mouse often but it occasionally disconnects for no apparent reason and there doesn't seem to be a way to start the Bluetooth application without restarting the computer. Every laptop I've ever purchased is full of the manufacturers junk software and Lenovo is no different. Its not hard to remove, just a hassle. Overall very satisfied with the laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SLOW...why??...who knows

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Looking at the specs on this machine, it should be very fast. It is not. Core i7, 16GB RAM. This machine takes longer to start than a $300 Acer I bought 3 years ago, and there's certainly less software on this machine than the Acer. There's no hard-drive activity indication. Sometimes it sits there and does nothing, and I have no idea if it's accessing the drive, or what. Thunderbolt connector...no thanks. I'd much rather have an HDMI connector (or 2), instead of having to buy a bunch of unreliable adapters to go from Thunderbolt to something else. Big touch pad with no separate buttons...this feature is also no good. I'd much rather have a standard touch pad with the two buttons. On the plus side, the battery life on this thing is very good. My suggestion: buy something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Machine!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm not sure how many ThinkPads I have had but first one had a monochrome display, back in 1993 or so. So this is by no means my first, and it won't be my last. The W540 3k display is beautiful and it has a truly outstanding keyboard. Keyboards are one of the things I have always felt set the ThinkPads apart - for a touch typist a bad keyboard is crippling! I read some of the reviews where people complained about it being off-center to accommodate the 10-key pad but while I do notice it, it doesn't bother me. And I have had no trouble with the touchpad either. Overall, the feel of this keyboard is the best one ever. Really. It took absolutely no getting used to. The 3k display is outstanding. I do wish it were also a touchscreen; this would be a great improvement for the next generation. I mostly use this machine in the docking station with a large extended display, but when I use the ThinkPad alone the touchscreen would be very nice to have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it, but touchpad makes it hard to use

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used it for several months, and love it for almost everything. Big RAM capacity, the workstation video card, good battery life, and the screen make this a winner for me. I even like the keyboard and the number pad. People complain that it puts the keyboard off center, but most use multiple monitors anyway so that's not an issue. Thinkpad service is a huge bonus - I can't have down time! The only negative is the touchpad. Unfortunately it's a negative that bothers me constantly as I use the laptop, so it does a lot to sour the experience of an otherwise excellent product. The pad is a large chunk that is imprecise and has poor feedback. It takes several tries to get a right click or a double click to register correctly. That alone is frustrating, but it's particularly annoying when used with the trackpoint. I have given up using the pad or trackpoint and MUST use a mouse. Lose 1 star for the dismal touchpad, +4 for everything else!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You THINK visual is import? Wait until you touch i

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wrote my thoughts about the Lenovo W540 in a post on LinkedIn: You THINK visual is import? Wait until you touch it! - http://linkd.in/1ru0kXR If you want to hear my very first encounter with a ThinkPad read: THINK before you throw! - http://linkd.in/YSGyIC If your lazy then here are some quick thoughts: I have used IBM, now Lenovo, ThinkPads for over 21 years. And even though they have evolved over the years I find that Lenovo continues in much of the original innovations that IBM had intended. I believe most of the issues have been on the operating system side and over time those issues become distant memories as Windows corrects and patches. Remember XP PRO how no one wanted to move from it? Will that wasn't always the case. But to get my review about the keyboard you must read the above post "You THINK visual..." Thanks! David Lee


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent buy!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The thinkpad w540 is a laptop i bought for my last year of college and will carry over into my career as a financial planner when i graduate next year. So far it has handled all of my class assignments flawlessly, and has plenty of RAM to go around. The screen has great resolution, and it starts up in seconds. Not to mention i really enjoy the button layout, the lock key accessibility, as well as the internet and file open keys above the numberpad. I also really enjoy the numberpad being added to this laptop, as many laptops do not have a numberpad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Constant Freezing Crashing out of the Box

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very disappointed with this very pricey machine. Windows 8 is an absolute dog of an operating system. This is not a touchscreen laptop and most of what windows 8 is offering seems irrelevant and poorly suited to a workstation which was ostensibly bought for its horsepower. The computer has had constant nagging problems with crashing and freezing up, unresponsive even to ctrl-alt-delete. I went with the cheaper screen with 1920x1200 resolution and I regret it enormously. Fonts look blurry and pixelated. This machine is not a pretty machine to look at, which can be forgiven, given that it was bought with performance as the top priority.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i love the computer hate the new touchpad

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have been a user of ibm and lenevo thinkpads for over 10 years. love the no nonsense all business approach to their laptops. Great business laptop with the backlit keyboard as an very needed feature for late night computing at home and away. the one feature I dislike almost to the point of sending the item back is the redesign of the touchpad with no independent left and right mouse buttons. what was wrong with the old design? I do love the trackpoint, will not get a computer without it. the computer is a beast and handles the any and all workloads!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gets Over the Bar

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good processing power on Haswell CPU architecture. Numeric keypad is stupid. Ergonomics of offset track pad due to stupid numeric pad is unhelpful and a bad design decision. I run Ubuntu Linux and the solution for me is to turn off track pad in ubuntu system settings. I find this track pad issue fairly minor. Compared to my great W520 the W540 is lighter and also has uefi and overall it's a good mobile workstation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far I'm not impressed

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got my new computer and took it to a tech to help me set it up. Once home I tried to download a PDF program. It wouldn't download and a rep came on the line and told me he would check my computer. It was riddled with viruses and was only working about 10% speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why are you constantly trying to run "Scheduler"

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/14/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Every 15 minutes this piece of junk asks for permission to run a Scheduler. Every 15 minutes, and sometimes again and again, I have to say "NO". What on earth do you need to capture from my Laptop. It's min now, can you let go? Unless I am contacted with the exact details for removing this endless torment, I will write on every online site on earth to tell them all about the intrusive junk you sell. This is the worst personal computer I have ever purchased. No, I won't recommend this junk to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Some problems

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My W540 came with a malfunctioning Intel WiFi card and has been returned to Depot repair. I do not like the UltraNav right-left buttons on this machine, they require clicking at the right and left extreme sides of the top edge of the Touchpad, unlike on my E520, which has separate right and left buttons. Overall the machine is fast and solid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

W540 laptop for Solidworks

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this laptop specifically for Solidworks and have not been disappointed. I bought the recommended graphics card and memory. No problem with 60mb files. I'm not a fan of Windows 8.1, but am getting used to it. The touchpad on this computer is a bit touchy for me, I prefer a mouse, especially for cad work. Two finger scrolling is nice, once you get used to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Trackpad in the history of mobile computing

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The negative: The Trackpad on this device is the worst Trackpad ever designed in the history of mobile computing. It is 100% unusable and has forced me to always have to carry an external mouse. Had I known the Trackpad worked like it currently does I would not have purchased the laptop. No HDMI output on the laptop, requires a docking station/port replicator for HDMI. Battery juts out the back side instead of being flush with the rest of the device. Positive: It's the lightest notebook I have found that supports 32GB of RAM The Display looks great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works well for all the tasks I need done. Great machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Investment

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

By far the best laptop I've ever owned. Bit on the pricey side of the spectrum, but well worth it. Doesn't come with much bloatware, which is great, and if you get the SSD + HDD combo (which is what I got) its great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Mobile Workstation Period

By byThekid from Undisclosed on 07/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutely love the W540 it has not failed me yet


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great workstation, not meant for casual users

By Kassad from Undisclosed on 07/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine exceeded my expectation in a few key areas: - performance (runs smoother and more quickly than I expected; i7 @ 3.7 ghz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD, K2100M Quadro card) - Display quality: the 3K IPS is incredible - Emissions: totally silent - Keyboard: far better than what I heard and far better than my old Macbook Pro. The numpad is absolutely incredible and very well placed (contrary to some opinions) and is a great addition for productivity - Ports: the lightning connector, 4 USBs, MPCIE, M.02, and even the VGA make for a great set of expandability tools - Construction quality is good, but not as good as Apple. Still far superior to Dell, HP, Toshiba, etc. Cons: - This machine does have a bad track pad. Believe it. If you use tap to click then it's about 90% less bad, but still a little buggy at time. Lenovo could definitely have improved here. That said, this is certainly a workstation meant for power users and it performs exceedingly well as such.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crash

By Traveler from Undisclosed on 07/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After spending days getting it set up and loading all of the software I need for my job I got to use it for 2 weeks before I had to take my first trip. Just before I left I noticed it did a couple of 'funny' things but nothing serious. Left for the trip (of course out of the country) and it ended up crashing, and crashing hard. I was able to run in safe mode for a while and pull files off but that was it. Came back and sent it in to Lenova. Ended up with a new motherboard and hard drive. I did get it back in four days! Last one was a 4 year old T500, that's why we stayed with a thinkpad. Not sure about the next one now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Average

By mikey from Undisclosed on 07/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not a bad machine. With almost nothing installed after two days it's already started crashing and closing programs by itself. The gadgets have also already gone "buggy" and stopped working. I think this machine is going to have severe problems in the not to distant future. If that's the case, then they are definitely NOT worth the money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One step forward two steps backward

By Bobby from Undisclosed on 06/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The new form factor and weight of the W540 is an improvement. It's a great addition to have removed the speakers and enlarged the keyword these are the only positives. Now the other changes make this machine absolutely awful and unusable as a true 'moible workstation' 1) Trackpad IS THE WORST piece of hardware I have ever used. It just doesn't work right! Making the trackpad bigger was a good idea but the new system where the entire trackpad is clickable just doesn't work, when you click it moves the mouse, apple got it right, lenovo didn't. 2) Then the two finger scrolling is just bad but then again it's always sort of been on windows compared to apple. In photoshop this new trackpad is 100% unusable. 3) F1/F2 keys are now also sound up and down keys this is just bad, I'm constantly working in software that needs the F keys and also listening to music. 4) The hard disk activity indicator is gone, this was the few positive of pc vs mac, now gone too


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth the price I paid

By dascomo from Undisclosed on 06/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was a very happy W700 owner but needed to switch to a new, smaller laptop after 5 years. I bought this W540 in February 2014 with all the top-of-the-line options. After 4 months, I can say the computer does the job (intensive Photoshop retouching of very large files from the Nikon D800e) but there have been a number of quality issues that have really annoyed me. The wireless card has a shorter range, and disconnects much more than a 3 year-old Macbook Pro card. There have been odd and inconsistent compatibility issues with the external NEC monitor I have. It seems to be some sort of conflict with the Lenovo software that manages the laptop screen. Also, the power management software is glitchy--doesn't remember my unplugged/battery power settings and dims the screen despite my choice otherwise. The operating system is 4 months old and already the computer cannot restart, only shut down. I will be reloading the operating system soon. And lastly, the system runs very very hot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeded my expectations

By hCPA from Undisclosed on 06/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far the best laptop I have ever had or used. The keyboard has a great feel, the screen is crystal clear with high resolution for viewing multiple windows, and it is very fast (comparable in everyday use to my extremely high end i7 desktop). The battery seems to have a very long life, and the machine is light enough to be much more portable than my previous laptop. Overall, a finely built machine, well-suited to it's purpose as a serious business laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Troubles

By MRocc from Undisclosed on 06/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased this laptop after owning a Y500 and the W530. The display would randomly quit and rather than hassle with repair I returned it before 30 days. Return was quick and easy. Did not like the fact that I could not select Nvida card over integrated graphics in the bios like I can with the W530. Also why in the world would anyone like this touch pad over the tried and true pad of the eW530. Yes it looks cleaner, but for graphics work it is a pain in the rear. I bought another W530 to replace it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeds Every Expectation

By Garvey from Undisclosed on 05/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast Fast Fast ! As a trader I needed that, the reliability and a long lasting battery when scanning and excecuting trades while in the office or mobile. It's features/functions surpass those of nearly every laptop available from professional trading computer companies...and for less $. Cheers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has its ups and downs Part I

By Alex from Undisclosed on 05/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product overall is very good, however due to significant hardware/software issues I can't say it's been a delightful road. The screen is fantastic. I have the 3K resolution version and the screen can't be better. However, I don't like touchpads and prefer the nub for mouse control - and this has both, but in the 540 the three buttons have been replaced by a single button bar that appears sensitive to three selection areas. It's really tough to get this to work well and I find that I HAVE to use a mouse. Very inconvenient when travelling. The computer's speed is also very good. The computer occasionally pauses, but I suspect this is a Win8.1 issue and not characteristic of the hardware. My biggest issue has to do with the power manager and video compatibility. continued...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it but screen too small

By SoftwareEngineer from Undisclosed on 05/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is hard to find a good engineering laptop now days. Most laptops are geared toward the teenie bopper that is going to watch movies all day. The W540 is from a performance and screen resolution an engineer's laptop. I like lots of vertical screen real estate for editing code. My main ding on this laptop is the small screen size (15 inch). This would be the perfect engineering laptop if the screen would have been 17 inch (or bigger). Overall I like the laptop. The solid state drive allows it to boot quickly and restore from sleep quickly (I never turn it off). My 50 year old eyes are not quite up to using it in its highest resolution mode without reading glasses (a 17 inch I believe I would be able to read without them).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has its ups and downs Part III

By Alex from Undisclosed on 05/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The video compatibility is still bugging me after many months. I purchased two 3840 x 2160 monitors and hooked them up to the docking station using Display Port connectors. It saw both of them, and after updating drivers was able to put one or the other at the full resolution, however it makes the other monitor 1024x768, which is pretty awful. Perhaps this is a limitation of the card, but the Quadro K1100M is supposed to be able to handle 4 of these displays. I suspect is a software glitch expected from Lenovo. I do hope they fix it soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved