Home » 01273 » 23 Reviews

Memorex Mvuc821 7" Swivel Lcd Tv, Front Loading Dvd/cd Player, Under The Cabinet Mount Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 23 reviews)

5% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

No Catv (3), Poor Picture (3), Difficult Controls (5), Difficult To Install (3)

Pros:

Easy To Install (5)

Best Uses:

Useless (3)

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead (4), Practical (7)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Piece of Garbage!! No CATV!!

By Ben from NY on 05/05/2010


Pros:

Easy To Install

Cons:

No Catv

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

As A Stool To Step On

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased one to install in our kitchen. Never powered on. I should have realized this was a mistake from the get go.. Returned it and ordered another one. This one powered on. So I hooked the whole thing up. Only after drilling all the holes and getting it in place do I learn that it doesn't accept CATV input!!! What type of stupid product doesn't allow CATV?!! This is sold as a TV!! Duh, that's what a TV is supposed to do!!! Now I have all these holes under my counter for this piece of garbage. I am returning this right now!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No CATV! WTH?!?

By EricJ from Virginia Beach, VA on 11/27/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm apoplectic. I mean, argh. What a waste of space this thing is. There needs to be the option for rating this [*] with negative stars. Oh, they will be taking it back in whatever orifice I wind up cramming it into.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst under cabinet TV ever!!

By Memorex makes excellent Door Stops from Seattle, WA on 10/19/2009


Pros:

Door Stop, Attractive Case

Cons:

Only Hd Antenna Reception, Very Slow Response Time, No Catv

Best Uses:

Door Stop

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The is the worst purchase I've made in some time. Certainly wish I would have read this forum, then I would have known, the best use for this is a DOOR STOP. Seriously, in this day and age, who doesn't make a TV cable ready? Wait for it....MEMOREX doesn't. Too late to send it back...bummer...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Every complaint is true!

By Frustrated with Kitchen Gadgets from Oak Lawn IL on 10/10/2009


Cons:

Picture Freezes/skips

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received this product about a year ago as a gift. It cannot be connected to cable and needs a counter top antenna to receive a signal. Even with the antenna, reception is questionable at best. The audio and visual signal are often not synced up. Also, just as another comment noted, I got the "Initial" set up screen and cannot bypass it to use any of the functions. Now its broken and can't be used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

you have got to be kidding me

By toolivestew from Pittsburgh, Pa on 04/26/2009

who makes a tv that is not cable ready? I'll tell you who - Memorex. Whats up Memorex! After I installed this under my cabinet (drilling holes, etc.), it won't pick up my cable signal. Then I go to the web to see what's up and it only picks up digital over the air signal? Absolutley insane. Back to the store you go...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

8 months and now all I get is INITIAL

By INITAL-doorstop from Albuquerque, NM on 03/24/2009


Describe Yourself:

Gearhead

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Initially I was happy with this product. Having read the reviews - I was hooking it up to a HD-Antenna. Didn't use it a whole lot so probably had less than 50 hours of use. Then suddenly I turn it on and all I get in the readout is "INITIAL" with a blurb on the screen suggestion how to activate TVGuardian feature. It said this screen will go away after 5 displays - no such luck. Called Memorex to see if there was a way around this glitch and they said it wasn't repairable. So now I have a [$] doorstop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Good

By Maids from Indianapolis on 02/02/2009


Cons:

Difficult Controls, Difficult To Install

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Do not buy this product unless you plan on installing an attena to your house or if you plan on having a cable box on your kitchen counter.[...].I wish I would have read the reviews before buying this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why buy this?

By Steve from Memphis on 01/27/2009


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

All the reviews are correct. This TV will not accept cable which I found out after I bought it and tried the cable hookup from other TVs. Now have to use a HSD antrenna or take it back. Leaning toward taking it back


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disgusted

By John from Boston, MA on 01/07/2009


Cons:

Cannot Use With Cable

Describe Yourself:

Pretty Smart

Pros:

None

Best Uses:

Utencil Target Practice

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Are you kidding me???? Get a cable box???? Isn't the point of getting this unit is that it fits under the counter??? Where is the cable box going to go??? Next to the salad bowls??? I am embarrassed that I gave this as a gift and will promptly return this piece of junk...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless piece of junk

By cargeo Verified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 01/07/2009


Cons:

Cannot Hook Cable To It, Difficult To Install

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Chock For Truck Tire

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

WE were going to use this to watch television in our kitchen until we spent one evening running cable wire under the cabinet and then another evening installing the tv only to find out that it requires a cable box! We also wish we had read the reviews before purchasing or at least before running the cable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NEGATIVE STARS

By WAM from CT on 12/28/2008


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I wish that I had seen this page before I made my purchase and installed it.I was going nuts trying to get cable TV working on it...only to find out YOU CANNOT GET CATV SIGNALS...with out a bulky cable box !?!?!?!?!Why was this product even ever built...its totally useless,Its going back ASAP !!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works w/ HDTV antenna, but not cable

By frustrated but functioning from Dallas, TX on 12/27/2008


Cons:

Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS UNIT WILL ONLY PROCESS BROADCAST HDTV SIGNALS. It will NOT process a cable tv signal. After reading these reviews (too late, just like everyone else) I installed a small, amplified HDTV antenna in the attic and the TV works fine. Apart from that, my only complaint (so far) is the weird delays when using the remote, which have already been mentioned. So if you don't have cable and want HDTV in your kitchen, this unit my suit your needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Christmas Present Ever!

By Okie Engineer from Ark City, KS on 12/26/2008


Cons:

Poor Picture, Difficult Controls

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead

Pros:

Easy To Install

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just gutted and completely remodeled my kitchen. I have been asking my husband for an under-cabinet tv for Christmas. I was so excited to get it. I fortunately decided to test it before I installed it. When it didn't work after an hour of tinkering (I'm an engineer), I came here and found these reviews. I'm sorely disappointed in the fact that an entirely separate device is required in order to use a coax connection and the reaction speed of the tv was unbearably slow. I'm returning it tomorrow. Anyone found a satisfactory replacement?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Avoid

By Sucker from Loserville, USA on 11/16/2008


Cons:

Difficult Controls, Difficult To Install, Garbage

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have to echo all of the above reviews. From not being able to use coax to the delay in controls. It pays to read reviews before buying anything. It's going back to the store today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a Cable Ready TV

By jj from PA on 11/01/2008


Cons:

Poor Picture

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead

Pros:

Easy To Install

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This TV is not cable ready (won't even pick up Digitial Cable TV either). It will only work with an antenna or a cable box. I live in an area that only has one DTV station and it will pick up that station with an antenna. FM radio reception is marginal and AM is horrible. The remote only works if you are directly in front of the TV. Move slightly to the side, it is useless. The DVD player works fine but the tray is really fragile. So, be really careful with it. I returned this unit as I can't do the one thing I wanted to do with it, watch Cable TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Complicated, problems

By Disappointed from TX on 10/13/2008


Cons:

Poor Picture, Picture Freezes/skips, Difficult Controls

Pros:

Easy To Install

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Once we got it installed under the cabinet the problems started. Controls take a few minutes, it's a delay.TV will not work without antenna, no signal. Tried to use antenna myself not making good connections and stations go in and out, fuzzy. Antenna should come with this item because of the fit.No antenna, no signal. Did't read reviews before,because Mag have always had a good quality product. If I can't get better reception with product will be taking it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does Not Work With Direct Cable Feed

By Frustrated from San Jose, CA on 09/20/2008


Cons:

Useless

Pros:

Useless

Best Uses:

Useless

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I only wish I read these reviews before I spent the time & money and drilled four holes in my kitchen cabinet. An under cabinet TV that doesn't accept a cable TV coax feed? Utterly useless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as bad as I thought

By Sher from NJ on 09/04/2008


Cons:

Need A Tuner Until Feb

Ok same thing happened to me as those before me however the way they explained it to me was that you would only need the box until Feb. because the tv only has a digital tuner and not analog. So upon the switch you will be able to ditch the box but then need a box for all your tv's that are analog tuned.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO SIGNAL/MEANS NO TV

By Jo from The Villages, FL on 08/25/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My husband drilled holes in my cabinet and installed the whole TV. Imagine my surprise when we could not get a picture. [...] Thanks but no thanks and I will return the TV tomorrow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dont But It - Unless you just want a DVD

By Nick from Utica NY on 08/20/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I spent three hours getting a cable line into my kitchen and another three finaling getting it set up. IT DOES NOT TAKE CABLE FROM A COAX CABLE. The only way to get cabel to it is to use the AUX input and use the Red White and Yellow cabled from a cable box or VCR. So unless you want a VCR next to your microwave dont buy it. It says Digital Broadcast ready, that means for over the air digital not cable. Very disappointed!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

JUNK JUNK JUNK

By Shabby from Rochester, NY on 08/09/2008


Pros:

Easy To Install

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

That's helpful...an undercabinet tv that needs a separate cable box....who makes such a piece of useless garbage...oh yeah...MEMOREX!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT Cable ready in 2008?!

By Thunderbolt from South Jersey on 08/07/2008


Cons:

Need Cable Box, Not Cable Ready, Where Do I Mount That

Describe Yourself:

Highly Disappointed

Pros:

Comes With Batteries

Best Uses:

Boat Anchor

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My wife bought this set at [...]. I was skeptical but drilled the 4 holes in the cabinet and mounted it. She was so excited. That was short-lived though as we tried to search for channels. [...]we needed a cable converter box to tune cable tv stations. Where should I mount that? The purpose of the package is to "hide" a TV where it won't be in the way. Needless to say I removed the set and took it back. By the way the FM radio reception was POOR too. Steer clear of this one!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ditto - Beware of CATV Incompatability

By HuggieJ from Colorado on 07/04/2008


Cons:

No Catv

Pros:

Too Good To Be True

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Can't believe I took the hook. It seemed like a good price point for the package. Only problem is, I too assumed it would be compatible with my cable. No such luck.I just hope [...] will take it back. I guess it's back to my old "honking" GE CRT undercabinet set.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing!!!

By fbcv Verified Reviewer from Midwest on 06/16/2008


Cons:

Difficult To Use

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Attractive Design

This looked like a great deal. Just over [$] for under counter tv/dvd. I got it home and couldn't get it to receive signal from cable. Couldn't find any way to switch to CATV mode. Finally I contacted Memorex. I found out you cannot connect to cable except through a cable box. Doesn't that defeat the purpose of an under counter tv - just where am I supposed to put the box???


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved