Home » Accessories » Wireless Accessories » Ir Interfaces » HLP » 18 Reviews

Microsmith Hlp Hot Link Pro Single Box Ir Booster System Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy (7), Gearhead (4)

Pros:

Nice Features (4), Easy To Set Up (12), Strong Signal (4), Durable (4)

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment (7), Home (3), Upgrade (3)

Primary use:

Personal (13)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Works for my needs

By Bob from Chicago on 03/14/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Safe, Using Comcast Cable Box, Easy To Install

Cons:

Flimsy, Irwire To Device

Describe Yourself:

Avid Do-it-yourselfer

Best Uses:

Need To Hide Devices, Small Jobs, Inside

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just be careful removing the sticky tape from the ir to device. The back popped off. You need to look carefully at another to see how it goes back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HLP Works like a charm- as advertised

By Randman from Ridgewood , NJ on 03/28/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Install, Well Designed, Durable

Describe Yourself:

Casual Do-it-yourselfer

Best Uses:

Inside

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Biggest problem was finding the IR eye on the front of the HD STB (Motorola QIP 7100 P2)- Neither Verizon or Motorola has a clue. Flashlight enabled the reveal almost dead center in the middle of the STB - Thank you Marcus (Microsmith. No remote delay - TV is floating on the wall - STB in basement below.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked Great

By Frank Verified Reviewer from Philadelphia on 02/09/2010


Pros:

Easy To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Professional

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Was easy to set up and use. Best for equipment in close proximity!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By ForwardThinking from Fort Worth, TX on 09/08/2009


Pros:

Easy To Set Up

Cons:

Better Manual

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great easy setup. Manual need to be better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great! It solved my problem

By Randy at Infiniti Verified Reviewer from Little Rock, AR on 08/31/2009


Pros:

Nice Features, Easy To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy, Gearhead

Best Uses:

Replacement, High-end Equipment, Upgrade

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed the sensor BEHIND a speaker grill and it works PERFECT! Worked imediately after installation. The Equiptment it controls is behind closed closet doors. I had to run Cat5 cable from the sensor unit to the box that sends signals to wired LEDs that attach to equiptment IR eyes with sticky tape. I had to route CAT5 wire through ceiling/walls and install RJ45 plugs. So, buy the cable length you need with plugs if you don't want to attach RJ45 plugs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow

By Rob from Irwindale,ca on 05/06/2009


Pros:

Nice Features, Durable, Easy To Set Up

Cons:

All Pros No Cons

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Practical, Tech Savvy

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Upgrade, High-end Equipment

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WOW,Problems I have had with remote controls in the past are all gone, with Link Pro Single Box Ir Booster I like my standard remote controls again. I can point the remote up, down, right or left at 20'and it works... NICE


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would buy this product again!

By Keith from Sammamish, Wa. on 02/27/2009


Pros:

Highly Compatible, Easy To Set Up

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Upgrade

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works exactly as advertised. Marcus at factory advised on how to properly extend one emitter lead by 6'. Also extended receiver "eye" using a shielded cable fitted with RCA connectors. Hasn't missed a beat since installation. I have recommend this product to family members.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Microsmith HLP Hot Link Pro X6

By D1mills Verified Purchaser from Ft Worth Texas on 03/17/2008


Cons:

No Complaints

Describe Yourself:

Professional

Pros:

Durable, Works As Advertised, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Cabinet Installation, High-end Equipment

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This system was easy to set up, worked with all my remote controls and it WORKS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Minimal but works well

By Andy Verified Purchaser from Arlington, MA on 01/17/2008


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Cons:

Not Enough Features

Describe Yourself:

Practical, Gearhead, Tech Savvy

Pros:

Strong Signal

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Uses a single ribbon cable for all emitters -- so this needs to be split. It could use better glue on the emitters as well. But aside from that, I've been impressed with its functionality and the sensitivity of the receiver. No worries about aiming directly at the window.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product for the price

By Michael Verified Purchaser from Rancho Cucamonga,CA on 12/13/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Cons:

Not The Best Wauquos

Describe Yourself:

Technically Challenged

Pros:

Easy To Set Up

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product works Ok foe the price but may wan't to spend more money to get a more reliable product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really Useful Gadget

By ErnieK from Dallas on 10/23/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Nice Features, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My second such unit... First bought 2 years ago for HT center, this one for home office equipment...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great - excellent value

By Jim from Wilbraham, MA on 09/04/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Pros:

Easy To Set Up

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My application is behind the closed wooden doors of a console under a flat screen LCD panel. Having read reviews of other products having problems with Scientific Atlanta set top boxes, I was somewhat reluctant. But the HotLink Pro works 100% of the time with the Sci-Atl DVR box, as well as with my Denon A/V equipment. Only downside for me is yet more wires buried in my console unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised with LCD and DLP

By GMan Verified Purchaser from Fort Lauderdale FL on 05/01/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Great Instructions, Strong Signal, Nice Features, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Home, High-end Equipment

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have two of these, one with an HighDef LCD, and one with a HighDef DLP. Both work perfectly. The LCD definitely requires you to mount the eye BEHIND the TV but it still works very well. I am running the extension for the eye too, about 25 feet through a wall, and it works perfectly. Way cheaper and easer than Niles and others. I also bought one for a friends LCD and installed that one in about 5 minutes - once again, BEHIND the actual set to avoid interference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I can't imagine a better system

By VRRacing Verified Purchaser from Austin, TX on 04/25/2007


Describe Yourself:

Gearhead

Pros:

Strong Signal, Easy To Set Up, Ergonomic Design, Durable

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Hotlink Pro is fantastic. I have 3 of them (master bedroom in a lift cabinet, in the family room and in the theater).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product and support

By Ym Verified Purchaser from New Jersey on 03/15/2007


Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Strong Signal, Best In Its Class

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It does everything that it advertised. The best IR extender out if you don't mind a hardwired solution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great. I used ...

By Anthony D Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 03/19/2006

Works great. I used coaxle cable to run the distnace that I needed and hooked it up. There is no lag time in the response to the other components.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"This is truly a great ...

By Mike C Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 01/20/2006

This is truly a great product! It works very well, and also helps extend the range of your remotes, if that's a requirement for you as well. For me, I just wanted to put my DVR in a central location in a wiring closet, and have its outputs go to as many TV's in the house as I wanted. Now, I only have to put a receiver eye from the Hot Link Pro into the rooms I want to have the remote work in. It works great! I'm now going to put in a central multi-DVD player, and probably an old VCR, too, just in case. I'd highly recommend this product for your remote boosting/repeating needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I highly recommend the ...

By G. Ice Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 01/18/2006

I highly recommend the Microsmith Hot Link system. I tested a JENSEN and it failed 50% of the time. I installed a Hot Link on a high-end plasma lift/cabinet I built for a client and liked it so much, I got one for home. Both of us were having inconsistent IR signal trouble from universal controllers. The nodes are nice and small and wires are easy to hide. It's a must for hidden components or for components behind a wall. Best of all, it's SIMPLE and it works. A+


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved