Home » Accessories » Hardware Connectivity » Infrared Repeaters » HLXL » 11 Reviews

Microsmith Hlxl Hot Link Xl Cat-5 Ir Repeater System Reviews
Microsmith Hlxl Hot Link Xl Cat-5 Ir Repeater System

Microsmith Hlxl Hot Link Xl Cat-5 Ir Repeater SystemAdded to our catalog within last 30 days

Totally Hidden Remote Control Booster!Hide Hot Links Super Sensitive IR Eye on the back of flat panel displays, behind furniture and speaker grills to control hidden AV gear. Works with virtually all TVs and all carrier frequencies under 120Khz.Works with AT&T U-Verse and Scientific Atlanta Set Top ... <more> 

Microsmith Model: HLXL

$157.28

9 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 11 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

None (3)

Describe Yourself:

Practical (3), Power User (3)

Pros:

Versatile (6), Consistent Performance (9), Good Length (4), Rugged (3)

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment (7), Home Theater (3)

Primary use:

Personal (14)

Was this a gift?:

No (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By Rudy81 from Dallas, TX on 10/09/2012


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Excellent Design, Consistent Performance, Compact

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Home Theater

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed to replace a cheap IR repeater that was not working very well with some of my HT gear. I added 50' of Cat5 to place the eye under my screen. Gear is 30' away in back of the room. I tried a coax extension as for the eye as well, but the Cat5 provided the best results with full power transmitted to the gear. The blue activity lights are rather bright and work well in a fully lit room. In a dark room, the indicator is too bright, so I placed it in a location that reduces the brightness in a darkened room. Worked flawlessly right out of the box. Excellent product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome solution for IR Repeating

By JimNC Verified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 09/03/2012


Pros:

Consistent Performance, Distance 100 Feet, Simple To Setup, Compact

Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

No Ir Emitter At Source

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Concealed Equipment, Long Distance Span

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this product to extend IR signal from a theater room to a component closet over 100 feet away. Has worked great to receive IR remote signal from almost any angle in the room, when remote is 20-30 feet away, no problems at all. Signal sent back to equipment over 100 feet in distance, works great and am controlling 4 components with 2 IR emitter's left over for expansion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Phenomenal product that performs

By Peacefulwarrior Verified Reviewer from Carefree AZ on 06/22/2012


Pros:

Good Warranty, Versatile, Consistent Performance

Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Remote Location Solution, Home Theater, High-end Equipment

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installation of high end gear has been a turn key business for years. Out of five IR repeaters manufactures, this has been a bullet proof item and solution for discrete installations. It's amazing on the sensitivity this unit houses even to the point to where you may question the technical data that's enclosed. Being a Beta Tester of products, I pushed this unit further and it still worked beyond the specified ratings! 20years + I have been an integrator and designer, I rate this product "Triple A" Arizona


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product, Works Great

By Durango Bob Verified Reviewer from Durango Colorado on 03/06/2012


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Good Length, Consistent Performance

Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Home Theater

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product does exactly what it professes to do, repeats the IR signals directly to your remote equipment. The product is easy to set up and use, some IR windows are hard to find on your equipment, I found it helpful to clamp down a button on the remote to transmit a signal while moving the wired IR sensor around on the face of the equipment to help place the sensor on the IR window. This is especially true if your installing this by yourself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for accessing hidden equipment

By tomhtusa Verified Reviewer from Asheville, NC on 11/12/2010


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Consistent Performance, Versatile, Good Warranty, Rugged

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works well in a dedicated home theater room. Good sensitivity to IR signals, even when bounced off projection screen. Reasonably priced for its functionality. Wire lengths for remote sensors/emitters and Microsmith component connection are a bit on the short side.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to install

By Tinner Verified Purchaser from Addison, IL on 05/02/2009


Pros:

Consistent Performance

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Works as advetised. Would like to disable the blue LED after the unit has proven itself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Solution

By Westwood Chris Verified Purchaser from Westwood, CA on 01/14/2009


Cons:

None So Far

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Pros:

Rugged, Good Length, Consistent Performance, Versatile

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product works great and was easily fine tuned. I used this for my 58 inch plasma and there is no interference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Microsmith Hot-Link XL Product

By Charlie Verified Reviewer from USA, IN on 03/24/2008


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Practical, Tech Savvy, Do It Yourself

Pros:

Good Length, Consistent Performance, Rugged, Versatile

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment, Dorm Room, Works Great With Ir Equip

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Outstanding product, works great, I use with Pioneer Plasma on Wall in one room and A/V Equipment in next room (Two HD-DVD Players, Proscan DVD Player, Panasonic DVD/VHS Hi Fi, Pioneer Receiver for Plasma, Yamaha HT A/V Receiver, Dish 622 Receiver and control all using Harmony 880 remote,with Hot-Link Pro XL12. I Also feed to a Sony projector on ceiling by splicing cat5E ethernet cable to one emitter to turn on projector and trigger screen to drop down in front of plasma screen for HD movies. All of this was done easily using Microsmith Hot Link Pro XL12. This product made my installation easier, simpler and cheaper It is hard to find a product that works as well as the Hot-Link and that can be installed as easily as the Hot-Link.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't Get any Better!!

By JSCA Worley Verified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 01/02/2008


Cons:

None

Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Practical, Professional, Tech Savvy

Pros:

Easy To Install, Versatile, Easy To Operate, Consistent Performance, Good Length

Best Uses:

Home Theatre, Hidden Equipment, Muti-system, High-end Equipment

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product extends my IR signals from my family room, via cat5e, 30ft away to my living room. It captures signal from my SA Cable box remote, Sony LCD remote, Sony DVD remote, Sony CD remote, even a MSNTV Wireless Keyboard!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This thing is too easy to set up.

By Paul Verified Purchaser from Waukesha, WI. on 11/23/2007


Cons:

None At All

Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Versatile

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Vey easy to setup. The Hot Link people are extremely friendly if you have any questions. I talked to Marcus and was given his directline if I had any questions. I have already recommended to both my brothers-in-law as they are about to do a similar set-up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better Than Advertised

By Dick Verified Purchaser from Richmond, VA on 09/12/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Cons:

Poor Product Description

Describe Yourself:

Retired It Professional

Pros:

Well Designed, Reasonable Price, Quality Construction, Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Helps Hide Equipment

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product description was inadequate, and it met my needs better than what was advertised. The components and their functions were not adequately described. The receiver eye is connected to the main box by a special cable. The main box is connected to the emitter/power box by a CAT5 cable. Electrical power is needed only to the emitter/power box. In my case, the receiver eye had to be about 15 feet from the emitter/power box. I was able to put the receiver eye and the main box in one location and easily run a CAT5 cable to the emitter/power box 15 feet away. This is exactly what I needed, but I didn't know that until I received the system and read the instructions. In addition, it operates like it is supposed to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved