Home » 13187_2 » 129 Reviews

Nikon 13187 D600 24 85mm 24.3mp Hd Slr Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 129 reviews)

95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Sharp Lens

By IslandTime from Florida on 10/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens was recommended to me by several people. I rented one earlier this year for a trip to the Monterey coast. I finally bought a refurbished unit from Nikon a month ago. It is sharp, no doubt. The autofocus is sometimes tricky and I need to spend more time to get accustomed to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No substitute!

By wysiwygsnapper from Houston, TX, USA on 08/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has traveled from the northernmost tip of Norway (except Svalbard) to the Antarctic Peninsula. The only 'mid-range' zoom lens I have needed, Sharp, fast-focusing, and, in the grand scheme of things, light enough to be handheld. Yes, there is the new VR II, but I have not seen the need for that with this old reliable. The photo below taken handheld from a hot air balloon over Masai Mara in Kenya proves my point.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great performance in suboptimal conditions

By NikonForFun from Chicago, IL, USA on 07/25/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Perfect light, perfect setting, and perfect subject composition usually leads to a great photo. Even simple equipment can acquire a special photo in those conditions. However, how photo equipment performs under "stress" when light, subject matter and setting do not cooperate separates high quality from the rest. This lens is just that: an exceptional zoom lens is true to form when everything is just rights, and works hard for you when everything is not. It is fast to zoom and focus, easy to use hand held (nice balance/weight distribution), produces high quality photos at high ISO and is rugged. The attached photos are not my best by no means, but they were taken at an ISO of 1600, 15 rows up from the ice through the glass for one and protective netting for the other at f 2.8 and 4.0 respectively. It's a work horse lens covering a very useful range (70-200mm) for sports and just out and about.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

gorgeous lens!!!

By raychop94 from Undisclosed on 04/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this lens about a week ago and just shot it for the first time.. it is AMAZING!! It focuses so fast. I'll be using it for most of my outdoor photoshoots!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Epacheco29 from Florida, USA on 02/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Lens, Heavy, Very Sharp, 2.8 so it helps me to work better in sports and low light conditions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By BobK from Bluffton, SC on 11/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own the original version of the 70-200mm telephoto lens and use it with a D810. About all I can say is that it is an incredible lens. I take photos of wild life at various distances with VR on or off and the results are amazing. Zooming in during post edit can bring out perfect eyes, strands of fir/feathers, perfect patterns on butterfly wings, etc. I can't imagine that the second version of this lens can possibly be better. This is a great piece of glass and is well worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tack Sharp!

By Hummer from St. Louis, MO, USA on 10/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for a few years now and love it! I use it for portraits, sports, weddings. Love the clear clean pictures it provides coupled with it's quick response!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this lens.

By Nessman from Sammamish, WA, USA on 10/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been a Nikon user and a fan for years. This lens is a bit of a monster, but it is so versatile. It's great, not only for portraits, but slso for landscapes and sports/action events. I'm getting more and more comfortable with the weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The greatest lens I have ever used.

By Sammy from Victoria, BC, Canada on 09/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hello all, wether you're wealthy and just scanning over a couple of quick reviews or obsessing over this lens like I did, you obviously want to know about this lens. I know that before I bought it I was constantly trying to justify the price as an aspiring photographer at the age of 15 who was lucky enough to get a summer job. I have personally tried the Nikon 70-200 f4, and the Sigma and Tamron 70-200 2.8s. Personally, (and If you're a Sigma user, brace yourself) If you're trying to decide between the 3 2.8s, I would forget about the Sigma entirely. Camera bodies will come and go, but good glass lasts forever which is why it's always best to buy the nicest quality glass, and the Sigma simply pales in comparison to the bad boy on your screen right now. I have had this lens for over a month now and it still does not cease to amaze me. Sure, its pretty big and fairly heavy when you get it, but those things I got used to within a couple of days of shooting with it. The image quality is nothing but the best coming from some of Nikon's best quality glass yet, and the VR works, as expected, like a dream. I was popping off shots handheld at 1/20 racked out at 200mm, and they're still incredibly, unbelievably, stupid sharp. I am totally comfortable taking this into torrential downpour, (obviously with a plastic bag over my D5100, which is by all means NOT weather sealed...) and shoot all day without a worry. I found the sigma's sharpness and VC to be slightly sub-par, and the image quality didn't have a whole lot of contrast. Did I mention this thing grabs focus like a freaking machine? Set it to infinity-5m and you've gone through it's range in 1/4 of a second. Great for wildlife and sports. Now, what it comes down to, or at least what it came down to for me, was this: What made this thing worth the extra $1,000 over the Tamron? and the truth is, not one single thing made me choose this one, rather a multitude of things. Its the many subtle yet obvious edges this lens has over the Tamron that make it an absolute joy to use. Everything about it is perfect in my mind, (then again, that may just be the honeymoon effect still taking place) and I definitely wouldn't trade it for a Tamron and $1,000. Best lens I've ever used. Magical. Bite hard and buy it. You won't regret it for a second.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AFS probelm

By Babu from Undisclosed on 09/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased new lens a month back and its AFS does not works after 2 weeks. Is it a common problem with Nikon expensive kind lens. I am totally disappointed with this after it happens. Also it was purchased from US and I am working in Middle-east it is very hard to send back to US for repair and too expensive for shipping back to US. It is very bad such kind of expensive lense does not providing a one year international warranty minimum.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expensive for a Hobbyist but no Regrets

By AustinMan from Austin, TX, USA on 06/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As an amateur photographer, with an 80-400mm zoom lens already in my bag, this lens was a purchase of the heart, not the head. Any regrets? None. This lens is superb. While it may be a similar weight and length to the 80-400mm zoom, it is thinner, making it a little less obtrusive. The f2.8 aperture and fast auto-focus are wonderful. The image quality is 2nd to none. The negative, for me, weight and size. I travel almost weekly, and admit hauling a D610, plus a couple of lenses, can get tiring. On those weeks I want to travel light I take a 28 - 300mm lens. It does the job and fits in my carry on bags. Yes it is expensive for a non-professional, but if you are looking to purchase a lens that will give years of service, and thrill you with the quality of the pictures, the 70 - 200mm f2.8 has to be on the list.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast focus, great IQ

By Anonymous from New England on 06/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens was purchased when I owned a D700 and like my other Nikon lenses, was permanently mounted until I switched to D800 bodies. Still my fastest focusing lens, with great sharpness, color and contrast; the vibration reduction feature works very well to reduce motion blur while photographing from my kayak.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My GoTo lens for anything that moves, especially grand children.

By Jaybird from Florida, USA on 06/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for 7 years and would say it is a must have for me judging by the number of pictures taken with it. For action especially large flying birds in a rookery situation it is excellent. I have used it mostly on the D300, but now find that it is awesome on the 1V1 where without the TC17 the reach is 540mm @f/2.8 and with it 918mm @f/5.....Auto focus is good but limited to a single center point. Photographic quality is excellent. You can't go wrong with this lens and I suspect the newer version, though I have not used it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My most used lens!

By valdano from Undisclosed on 06/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my favourite and most used lens. It's super sharp and the AF is amazingly fast (Compared to my older D lenses). This thing focuses like lightening on both my beginner D90 and Pro D700. Excellent lens for portraits and a must have for weddings!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Low Light lens. Sharp, vibration control excellent

By TonyMo from Staten Island, NY, USA on 05/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

OK. I finally bought the lens that I needed and my photos of my daughter in her high school play were what I had always hoped I could capture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Lens

By DepthJulz from Undisclosed on 05/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is probably the Sports Nikon lens (Period) I recommend this lens for anyone that is serious about photography. Always get good shots with this one using a D4.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Lens I Own!!!

By Gphoto from Undisclosed on 02/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Super sharp! The VR works great! No complaints about the design or function! If it ain't broke, why fix it? That's why I bought the old version (used, but like new) instead of the new (70-200mm, really??).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

broken

By DocD from Undisclosed on 12/26/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unknown to me this was a gray market lens. The VR motor broke in less than a year and I am unable to repair the lens. It was a gift and when I registered the lens, there was no alert that it was gray market or I would have returned it. A very expensive paper weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp when it doesn't back focus

By s2sailorlis from Undisclosed on 10/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pro caliber lens. Built like a tank. Fine optics. Much better lens collar mount than my 300 f/4 Nikkor, but the 300 f/4 is sharper than this lens - and is a great lens by the way... On my D7000 it back focuses between 70-110mm unfortunately - really don't want to dial in any auto fine tune as that will just mess up the long end of the lens. On my D200 it does not seem to back focus as much. Overall this is a very good lens and would recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Go To lens in my bag.

By NikonOLOGIST from San Diego, CA, USA on 09/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for the past 2 years and have absolutely amazed at it's clarity. I wouldn't think for one second a reason to upgrade to the VR II. It focuses really fast and the shots you get with it are incredible. There isn't much else to say about this lens that all of the sample photos and previous reviews haven't already said. I will be honest and tell you that I don't know who rated this lens as a 1, but I can assure you that they were too weak to hold it or just didn't know how to use it. The picture below is one I took on the USS George Washington and I couldn't believe that I was able to capture some of what I was able to on that deployment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great Lens for Portraits

By SrHectorA from Fresno, TX, USA on 06/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've use this lens for the past two years for portraits and event shoots. It is easy to use no fuss once it is set up. Clarity is amazing in low light and retains details not readily seen till you get it on a computer screen. As a used lens it holds its own with VRII, creamy soft bokeh for portraits and clarity sharpness for other types of images. If you find a good used lens and can't afford the newest version, this lens is a great alternative.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Must Have!!!!

By delikesenikon from Louisville, KY, USA on 06/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wouldn't even think about shooting an event without this lens. It is one of three lenses I must have for my wedding shoots. It is just unbelievably great. Before I could afford this lens I rented it to do several shoots because it wasn't the same shooting without it. I'm in love with it!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

In Love

By MaoMingMom from Arkansas, USA on 05/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I waited a year to buy this lens. It's truly amazing and worth every penny. The real test will be a horse show this weekend and I KNOW it won't disappoint. I bought a Carry Speed FS sling strap to make it more manageable to carry. It's definitely heavy but so worth the photos I can get with it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent optics

By F2.8Junkie from Undisclosed on 04/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Dont even think twice to buy this lens. It delivers every time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By wrangler10 from New Jersey on 04/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens a couple of months ago and have shot quite a lot with it on both my D800 and D7000 (with and without the TC20III extender). All combinations rendered nice crisp shots and on the D7000 a 600mm f5.6 to play with. Great wildlife and bird lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

one of the best ever . very sharp

By earl from Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA on 03/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this one was bought for following the grand kids. its so sharp and fast focus its scary. this with the 24/70 and i cant believe the difference in the rest of the lenses. theres no coparison . its a little heavy but if u want clarity and colors get one today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So annoyed...that I waited so long to buy one.

By JTMichael from Undisclosed on 03/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Title says it all. For years I lusted after the 70-200 VR, and then VRII but never could pony up and buy one. Well I finally decided to pull the trigger, and I can't believe ups didn't do it sooner. It's just so good. Lighting fast auto-focus, super sharp, great DOF, VR is incredible. If you're like I was, and lusting...I recommend it. I immediately realized how much easier my life would have been with this lens years ago.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FAST FAST FAST! Superb upgrade in the VR, Great optics and perfect AF for sports (though for kids and brides)

By Irak P. from Mexico City, Federal District, Mexico on 03/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I previously owned (and reviewed) the 80-200, but I upgraded to this lens a couple of months, and I've shot like crazy since then, lets start: The pros: Impecable performance of the AF, absolutely dead on, if you get OOF images it might be a selection point issue, I mean, if you select the 21 point AF-C setting (like the one on D700 and higher bodies) it is easy to get what you meant in focus, if it is not you may try with 9, because quicker bodies like D4 and D3s the average of hits of in focus images (depending on the technic) will sky rocket like in 100% like in my case that recently updated from the non VR 80-200. AF is just perfect in fewer words. I never owned but used fairly the VR I version of the 70-200 and I never felt in love with it, that was why I kept the non VR until I tried the VR II, but I have to say that it works as expected or better for a lens this price. You can get annoyed for the sound of the VR if you are in a really quiet environment, but if you are at the courtside of the gane you'll never notice it. IT DOES RECOGNIZE PERFECTLY THE PANNING MOVEMENT! like never before, like no other lens (the ones from the white teles company for example) this is more than welcome for sports, but useful for any kind of shooting. The "ACTIVE" mode works weird but fine also, I dont use it that much like the "NORMAL" mode anyway. The "FOCUS BREATHING ISSUE (FBI)": Not an issue to me, in fact it's kind of welcome to me for two reasons; first, it is only noticeable at 200mm at the really closest distance (which is way closer than the 80-200) and you forget about the focal length loss in about a couple of metter away from the minimum focus distance anyway; and second, it is not really noticeable at the 70mm end. Besides, the short focusing is so well improved that your eye will be so pleased for that reason that will loose track of the FBI. Image quality is just as great as the 80-200 or even better, I could say... if I I let out the pixel peep inside of all of us that It might be slightly softer at 2.8 at 200mm (and only there) compared to the 80-200. You might find also slight distorsion (ONLY IF YOU SHOOT AT PATTERNS, at 2.8, which you won't, this lens is not intent for that). Build quality is just superb, 'Nuf said, Weight: It is heavy, yes. Name a good 2.8 zoom that it is not... you can't, all good lenses have great heavy glass. Price: ok, it is pricey, again, name a good.... Tripod shoe: great! you can remove from the collar (not recommended with full bodies (D3series, D4)) works just fantastic. Collar stays put though. AF-S... ultra silent, super quick and super responsive, Manual overrides are easy and easier with the AF-M mode. This is a mayor improvement for the wedding photographer !!!! Super silent focusing. Ok, THE CONTRAS: G type... what if I want to use this lens in an really older camera? The lens hood is expensive if you lose it, and it is not as strong as the one used on the 80-200. You cannot place the lens with the hood facing down on the hood, since it is a tulip shaped you will drop the lens if you do. Summarizing: If you want it then get it, if you have the VR1 version UPGRADE IT, you wont regret it. If you own a 80-200 2.8 well... think really well about it, but you might be as happy as me anyway.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good lens

By Audiman: Serious Hobbyist from Waianae, HI 96792, USA on 02/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently upgraded to D600 and this lens from a D5000 and several DX lenses. I also have the 105mm 2.8 that I like very much. I've been wanting to upgrade to full frame and the 70-200mm 2.8 VRII for about 2 years. Very good lens that's excellent in low light. First images were taken on the Leeward coast of Oahu. Plan to purchase a 14-24mm 2.8, or the 24mm 1.4 next.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blurry images every time

By Dave from Utah, USA on 12/10/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Hate it. And Nikon, blames me. Not in the auto mode, or this or that. Come on, own up, let me send it in already. The other lens of the holy triune, fantastic!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens, when it works!

By Fweberich from Houston, TX, USA on 11/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

IO have this lens for 6 months now, and since I got it I noticed that the VR takes too long to kick in and it makes the AF terribly slow and not precise. 30 days ago the lens simply stopped working in some occasions and I noticed that it was a little loose. It shows F/0 in the camera and the lens immediately stops working. I had it happening in several occasions and as I shoot weddings, this is unacceptable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stunning Lens

By jhprague69 from Czech Republic on 10/18/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Gets the results you wanted and much more. Very sharp images and with gentle bokeh for great portraits. Complements a mid-range "standard" zoom or shorter prime lens and almost certainly matches the later for image quality. Heavy, but that's a small penalty for using such a well made product. The weight makes you aim carefully and compose your shots properly. Certainly not for snapshots or casual use. Stunning!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No regrets.

By Clifflwms from Albany, NY, USA on 10/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For sports shooters, photojournalists, and portrait photographers, you can't go wrong with this one, it's amazing. particularly when I'm shooting portraits, this and the 85mm 1.4G are all that I need. If you're on the fence... jump.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best lens I have

By AgencyPix from Indiana on 08/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had wanted this lens for a long time and when I finally ordered it, I was ecstatic! It completely fulfilled my expectations. I did test shots using my 18-200 lens and then this lens and the difference was amazing. With my old lens, the backround was very dark but with this lens, the image was much brighter and lighter in the background. This lens produces crystal clear images and it's my go to lens now. I have included samples below....and I am only using a d5000 camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Performance Beyond Belief

By Sports Junkie from Miami, FL on 08/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is beyond amazing. I have owned it since the day it became available. The autofocus is lightning fast and the VRII lets me set up for outstanding sports images even in the early morning or earl evening light. I can photograph cyclists in triathlons and rip off a 20 frame burst and have 18-19 images in perfect focus while panning. Color reproduction is superb and excellent bokeh in nature and landscape images. Yes, it it big and heavy, but if you want a true pro lens that is what you will get. The removable tripod shoe is a huge plus for comfort when doing sports work as you can handhold just about anything. The zoom is firm but not difficult, with no creep. If you are into sports and action photography this is worth twice the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

There is a reason why this lens is so highly rated

By Tekkie from Montville, NJ, USA on 07/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I debated for some time on getting this lens due to the weight, but the sharpness plus image isolation/ bokeh is excellent. I bought it just a short time ago. It focuses super fast and works like a dream on my D800, especially with the battery grip. The VRII is very effective and the whole lens is built like a tank. I would not worry in the rain at all. I actually feel that the weight and balance helps me in steadying it. Color rendition is, as expected, superb. On the topic of 'breathing', this is not a problem for me and to be honest, although it can be noticed, I am totally delighted with the package as a whole.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am the Biggest Nikon Fan!

By KEN K from Undisclosed on 07/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used Nikon lenses since late 1980s..I have used older lenses like 80-200mm f/2.8D for a long time, also used the 70-200mm f/2.8 VRI for a while and finally upgraded to NEW 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII..All I have to say is that this lens is 'SUPER FANTASTIC'..simply the BEST telephoto lens for portrait work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a fabulous lens

By Tweaker9 from Ontario, CA, USA on 06/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens about 6 months ago. I have found it is my "go to" lens for a myriad of photo applications. One things that I found to be a little surprising was it makes for a great close up lens. Zoom up to 200mm focal length and then open it to f2.8 and get razor sharp subjects and luxurious bokeh. Stop it down to f8 or so and get a beefy DOF with almost no evidence of diffraction effects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Favorite NIKKOR

By Jones from North America on 05/19/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am totally blown away by Nikon's newest VR II version. The VR II really does seem to be 'magical,' and will certainly help your low-light or tougher shots where extra support is unavailable. It's a beast to carry around, so the higher end bodies (or a grip) is very helpful, but the astounding image, build, and general quality is more than worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb piece of glass

By Federico from Miami, FL on 05/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the bokeh you get with this lens and it's amazingly sharp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

right on

By Spyglass Hill from San Francisco, CA, USA on 05/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 70-200mm f/2.8 is as sharp as any lens that I have used .. I'm trying to find a difference in my 85mm f/1.4 and this lens but can't .. It is heavy, but a joy to shoot with .. Shooting portraits is giving me better results than I expected .. The reach is nice, but it is certainly not a long zoom .. Overall, very sharp, with great auto focus times .. A nice addition to my arsenal ...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

They say 'good things comes in small packages'

By BigBoss from Undisclosed on 01/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is one of a kind lens, with the 2.8 aperture you can do a lot of good work. I'd personaly recommend this lens, on the other side it is a little expensive not everybody can afford it but still it's a great lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worth it!!!

By wsj2day from England, UK on 12/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have no idea what type of photographer you are, nor do i know of and/or appreciate your abilities. suffice it to say, if you're considering this lens buy it. no other need for discussion, nor listening to the opinions of others (including mine) buy it, period end of sentence. it's worth it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A "Superb Lens In All Respects"

By notsotall from Nebraska on 11/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used Nikon products since the early 70's. I have now owned this lens for approximately one year, mounted on my D3s, I don't believe this combination can be beaten in this field! Worth every penny. A Typical Nikon product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best lens for stage performance

By NikonChaser from San Francisco Bay Area on 10/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens works great for me when shooting on-stage performance with limited lighting, and it works best when mated with D700 body. On D300, the auto focus was not very accurate. Besides D300 was way behind D700 in dynamic range and high ISO noise. Of course, with D3s it should be even better if one can afford.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent upgrade from the VR1

By Hop Hornbeam from Connecticut on 10/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received the lens last week so have not given it a thorough test but my initial range of shots have been impressive. What I hoped for when buying the lens was to match the contrast and full-frame sharpness of Nikon's other new professional zooms, the 14-24 and the 24-70, and I have not been disappointed. I have not tried it out with portraits or events but am confident the focal lengths of the lens will satisfy my needs in these areas. Strong build quality gives me confidence that the lens will hold up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it,s very sturdy

By f8pikker6 from Happy Valley-Goose Bay on 09/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Haven't used it much yet, since I only had it for a couple of weeks, but hope to try it a lot in the near future. It seems very well built and have not noticed any thing as yet. Very proud to own one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharper than my kitchen knife!

By Nino N. from Stevens Point, WI on 09/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens along with the D700 and have to say it is FANTASTIC! The image is tack sharp even at the widest aperture. It focuses right on the subject and hardly have the focus hunting issue. The VR system serves well in low light situation but it drains a lot of battery. Its weight is also another con - definitely not a lens for travelling unless you are in need of image quality or don't mind carrying. However, there is a breathing problem issue with this lens. There is a very small amount of dust that make its way into the lens over time - it does not affect image quality though. Overall, this lens is amazing. If you have enough bucks for this fantastic glass then I see no reason to pass it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of Nikon's sharpest lenses

By divotz from Highlands Ranch, CO on 09/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Performance typically boils down to two things: autofocus speed and sharpness. So let's just cut to the chase: this is one of Nikon's sharpest lenses, and the AF-S system works just as fast and as quietly on this lens as it does on any other. Beautiful bokeh. Gorgeous out-of-focus rendering, perhaps as good as any existing Nikkor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A must for night football

By fotofill from Nashville, TN on 09/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For dark nights at high school fields, this lens has proven to be a reliable asset for sports shooting. The VR feature does make a big difference in getting fast action shots during a pan as players move through the frame.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Is no.t durable

By Char from Undisclosed on 08/23/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the second time the autofocus has stopped working, so dependability is not good. I am so far pleased with customer service, so shall see with the current situation. I really baby my equipment so am concerned this will be an ongoing issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Whoa amazing lens

By wise from California on 08/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The best glass, I have ever bought! Here are a few pictures of what it can do. "Pictures are worth a thousand words" :) I used the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II to increase focal lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great deal

By Younggun from Minneapolis, MN on 08/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this lens 5 days ago and it has hardly been off my camera since then. The pictures turn out clear and sharp and the range on the lens makes it capable of photographing almost anything. I like to use it for wildlife photography. This is a must have lens and in my opinion is the best lens Nikon makes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a-ma-ZING

By shphotog from Leesburg, VA on 08/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently upgraded from the 80-200 AF-D to this lens, and can't sing its praises loudly enough! The ability to slow down 4 stops is incredible (1/13 @ 200mm handheld), though for weddings and portraits I won't go below 1/100 (which is the difference between f/2.8 and f/4 for more DoF, or ISO 1600 and ISO 800 for more detail). It's also got rounded diaphragm blades, so the bokeh is a bit smoother. It's quite heavy when added to my D700/grip + FlexTT5 + SB-900, so I guess it's time to either add the wrist-strap or do some forearm exercises. Who should buy this lens? Anybody who MUST have clear, crisp images at long focal lengths and can't risk camera-shake.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best lenses I have ever used.

By RK from Vancouver, B.C on 08/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is simply one of the best. Quality is outstanding, optics are the highest grade, it's not all that heavy! I expected it to weigh a lot more, but it manages to do very well. In harsh lighting conditions, this lens pulls through for me. Today's ISO standards, F2.8 lenses get you exactly what you want in a photograph without worrying about too much noise and grain. - Shooting sports, this lens is first to go into my gearbag and stay on my camera. (If i can get court/fieldside) If you were looking for the best zoom lens that brings you the fastest autofocusing, the most crisp picture, this lens is perfect. Major pro's of this lens : Tripod Collar / Removable foot. Do you have ANY idea how great it is to be able to remove that foot? Go use competitors lenses, if you can't remove it, chances are it's going to drive you crazy. Dust/Weather sealing is one of the best. I've tried Wild life photography with this lens, and let me tell you, sitting and waiting for an hour and a half, your palms tend to get sweaty, I completely forgot I can damage the lens by letting moisture in. Nothing to worry about! Just wipe it off! Con: The only downside I can find with this lens, is the coating's on the front element are fairly easy to come off. hard to scratch. I can tell you that much. but if something with sharp enough edges were to brush against the front of the lens, you can lose some of that coating. Overall, This lens will not disappoint.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Image stability

By Tmesis from Washington State on 07/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

with the new VRII this lense really does what it portends.. I cannot recomend this too highly..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very solid lens to use

By NikonEd from San Francisco, CA on 07/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As an update from the older 80-200/f2.8D type lens, this is quite a solid lens and is well-built. From the heft, it's going to be able to handle a lot of use and abuse that any photographer might toss at it. It's also quite a fast lens in terms of its focusing. I love how it zips from near to far in almost no time! Great to have in one's arsenal of lenses for general and sports photography! The cost is, in my opinion, well worth it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Meets and Exceeds My Expectations

By MrGDawg from Undisclosed on 06/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was my 1st 2.8 lense and it has met and exceeded my expectations - allows me to take great pictures in variable lighting conditions and I get great action shots which provides exceptional depth of field contrasts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow!!

By ScubaDave from Tucson Az on 06/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wow, Wow, Wow. That is all I could say after using this lens. This lens is so sharp and produces unbelievable colors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent choice for all

By Bill D from New York on 06/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am grateful Nikon produced such a wonderful lens and I was in a position to afford the product. I have no complaints--just praises for the quality and optic performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Mark from Hampton, VA on 05/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a great lens! I had read many good reviews of this lens and it turns out, they're true!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Ultimate 70-200

By padavid from Undisclosed on 05/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used to have the Nikon AF-S 70-200 VR and it was a good lens, but it felt cumbersome, unbalanced and I had primes that would beat it most of the time, especially at distance. I sold that lens and got a 70-200 VRII. The 70-200 VRII is a world of difference. Number one is it's very sharp, at any and all focal lengths, even wide-open. Better color, contrast, faster-more accurate focus and the VRII is amazing. It handles much better and is much more well-balanced. I no longer have any primes that beat this wonder-lens at equal apertures. This is the lens I go to automatically if I need the range of 70-200. Best lens I've ever owned. The ONLY drawback I've found with this lens is the lens hood. On one hand, it has a better lock than the older version, but on the other hand, the hood seems short and the petal edges are rounded so you can't stand the lens on its hood on standby when you need it fast. I have found a different hood that takes it's place and I now keep the original hood in the box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reputed to be Nikon's best lens

By tileman533 from Undisclosed on 05/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Or so I've read, but the competition is stiff to be sure. I bought this lens used five years ago and it has become my main walk around lens, even for birding, without tc. Although it's a heavy lens it is great for travelling light, w/o tripod, when it gets too heavy around my neck I just throw the barrel of the lens on my shoulder or carry the cam in my right hand by the body, wrist strap would be good though I don't use one. I shoot it mostly at f4 but can use it successfully wide open if you're careful. This lens is a big part of why I prefer Nikon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nikkor 70-200 f2.8 vr II

By Marty from Indianapolis, IN on 05/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have the D700 with this lens and I am amazed at the results, WOW!! Super sharp glass for shooting weddings, sports, and portraits. Contrast is super, auto focus is spot on, my first vr lens, no need for a tripod, bump up the ISO and go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

amazing lens

By samurai214 from Warrenton, VA on 05/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best lens I have ever used. It's well worth the price. This lens is fast and very crisp. The only downside is that it's heavy. It's very solid feeling and seems like it will last a very long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for almost any wild life and birding

By Ben from Chesterfield, MO on 04/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Provides incredible sharpness, fast focus, and stopping power even at wide open aperture. Sometimes causes a sharpness problem when I try to use a circular polarizer to get better color saturation or reduce glare. Works well in conjunction with the 1.7X teleconverter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the workhorse

By Sportshotswlb from Monmouth Co. N.J. on 04/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a sports photographer and I have used 70-200mm VR2, 300mmVR and the sigma 150-400mm 2.8 and I feel that they were a bit slower than the 300mm VR.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A perfect lens

By My lens from Chicagoland on 04/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoy this lens and try to use it every time I can, sharpness and exposure consistensy in the whole range from 70 to 200 zoom, shalow background on 2.8 lens aperture, besides the fast and silence focus. Sharp images in low light conditions make it worth every penny.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

If I could only have two ...

By NikonJayhawk from Phoenix, AZ on 04/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If I could only have two lenses the 70-200 VRII would be the first pick! Though hefty and expensive for an amateur, this lens is the best of the best! I am a hiker and seldom carry a tripod and depend on the VRII for amazing sharp photos. Add the AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E 1.7x and my D300 shoots with a 510mm lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best lens ever used

By Nasser from Karachi, Pakistan on 04/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an advanced amateur and have been doing photography for over 30 years. The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II is clearly the best lens I have ever used. It renders great detail in the subject and the scene. Images are colorful and high in contrast. The lens handles flare very well. Great lens for portraits, weddings, indoor events and low-light photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Well established pro from Minneapolis, MN on 04/18/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I tried this lens for about two months, and found it to be way too heavy, poorly balanced and subject to considerable lens flare. I switched to a more recent version of the 80-200mm f2.8 ED Nikkor zoom, and found it to be extremely sharp and well balanced . . . . a much better lens all the way around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This lens has a very fast focus

By Bud from Roy, Utah on 04/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has a very fast focus and the quality of pictures is very good. I would recommend this lens for anyone. I use it for almost all of my outdoor photos, portraits, landscapes, animals, and general shooting. Its versatility makes it unique and by adding a teleconverter, you can enjoy more zoom with very good results. My advice, BUY IT.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My go to lens

By Mike B from Annapolis, MD on 04/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 70-200 VR II lens is definitely my "Go to" lens for most of my wedding and lifestyle portrait work now. I was a big fan of the first version of this lens, but the latest incarnation of this classic is simply awesome! I shoot a lot of weddings in varied conditions including very low light and the ability of this lens to capture sharp contrasty images "wide open" at very slow shutter speeds due to the VR II and excellent optics, and to deliver, fast, accurate focus in low light has helped me to deliver images that my clients simply love when other photographers simply can't even get the shot. When photography is how you support your family, you need the best, most reliable, tools available and this lens delivers, time and time again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic sharpness

By Perky from Whitby, Ontario Canada on 04/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A great lens. Well worth the price. You are only as good as your glass and this is one of the best I've ever used. I do high speed sports photography with landscapes on the side and I use this lens extensively for both. Amazing versatility. Stable and crisp photos at almost any speed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Pak Rat from Lower Michigan on 04/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great in all category's. Very Fast Focus. Vibration Reduction (VR) up to 3 stops. Fantastic in low light. I shoot a lot in low light and hand held, this lens has not failed me yet. Sealed very well It is a little heavy but all f/2.8's are heavy. Sometimes there is a little purple fringe. The lens hood is plastic and falls off easily. This lens stays on my camera almost all the time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Optical perfection + mechanical excellence!

By Nikkiwi from So Cal on 04/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II has become my workhorse lens. Over a wide variety of conditions, and without apparent effort, it gives consistent optical performance that hovers somewhere between perfection and the merely excellent. This extraordinarily piece of glass performs way beyond my previous expectations in all departments: speed, contrast, sharpness corner-to-corner even at f/2.8; no chromatic aberration to speak of. Surprisingly little lens flare if sunlight falls on front element. VR II together with the D700's excellent high-ISO performance yields sharp hand held shots even when it's really too dark to see well. My only issue is minor: the lens hood does not always find its groove first time and I often have to try again to click it into place. My advice: Don't buy another photographic accessory until you've saved up enough money for this lens...it's not cheap, but the results are priceless! It does the job so well, I don't even mind the weight. Congratulations, Nikon, day after day you make my day!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent zoom lens!!!!!!!!

By stoker from Undisclosed on 04/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is excellent for nature photography especially wildlife. It works perfectly with the TC-20 III teleconverter giving me an effective 400mm lens that is tack sharp. The fast aperture makes this a nice sports lens as well. It is a wonderful companion to the 24-70 f/2.8.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super!

By nikonman from Buffalo,NY on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast, solid, Excelent optics,VR works great. A hand full,but worth every ounce!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the lense of diversity.

By JC-PRO from Jersey City, N.J. on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the lense, if you have not chosen what you love to shoot. This lense will be there for you, when you are ready. If you choose to shoot fashion, portraits, sports, nesting eagle or a lovely red rose, this is the one. The VR & manual override focusing allows for maxium sharpness and fluid body movement for tracking moving subjects. The lense looks professional and has a well balance feel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is one of the best ...

By Ed from Pine Bush NY on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best lens Nikon has put out. Worth the money. Great results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nikon's Top Lens

By MandyTee from Chicagoland, IL on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my go-to lens, hands down, in every situation. I am a lifestyle wedding photographer and this lens never lets me down. I am consistently amazed at the bokeh quality and this lens performs flawlessly in low-light situations, I never have any focus issues. This lens is the workhorse in my Nikon stable and works harder than any other lens at every wedding I photograph.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Lens

By 70-200mm from Toronto, Canada on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had that lens since 2006 and have zero complains about both the performance and results. Even on a FX camera such as D700 that lens shines even in the toughest situations (low lighting, moving objects, etc.) A real winner in Nikon's staple for sure. Hopefully, VII is as good as mine: that's for others to find out - I am not giving up on mine any time soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FANTASTIC for SPORTS and STAGE!

By MasterSpyKiller from Thousand Oaks, CA on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens primarily to shoot sports (rugby, soccer) in winter daylight on open fields. I have found the 1.7 TC to be a very worthwhile addition to get really close to the action. Plenty of light at wide open to stop action and decent bokeh for the background. If using the autofocus, you do need to ensure your focus area is pinpoint and keep it on a player (or you'll get sharp spectators on the other side, and blurry players!). Recent assignment to shoot brightly lit stage production in a dark theatre. Even hand held results were spectacular! (Did not use TC) Could have used monopod for more depth of field, but narrow depth of field was a good result here. Very happy with this lens. I use it for most of my work now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Features do not work properly ?????

By H.Michel from Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Qubec, Canada. on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Slow and imprecise focus. Zoom ring grips. Not satisfied with my lens !!!!! My camera: Nikon D2X


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best lens on the planet!

By Dan the photo man from Jacksonville, FL on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I owned both previous models (70-200VR1 and 80-200SWM) and debated if it was worth the upgrade to the VR2. After 2 days of ownership I sold the other two and kept this one as my favorite all time lens. Perfect for portraits & weddings, crisp, fast and exceptional! Worth every penny and more!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No matter whether it is ...

By docmic from Pittsburgh, PA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No matter whether it is nature, portrait or telephoto landscape, this lens excels in everything. I wish every lens was as good as this one. I dont feel this lens is heavy as it is what photography should be.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding, Tack Sharp Lens

By EarlyBird from Davie, FL on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens with with either a Nikon D300 or a D700 and the images I have made on both the DX & FX format are wonderful. I often attach the 1.7 Nikon extender and notice very little difference in the image quality. I generally shoot on a tripod when I am using the extender, but I have had remarkable results shooting hand held. It is just a fun lens to take into the field and it is the lens that stays attached to the D700. As others have noted, it is not light, but that is to be expected. It is really good glass! The VR II has allowed me to hand hold the camera/lens and make numerous images of wildlife that I likely would have missed with the camera/lens mounted on a tripod. I love this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Go to sports lens

By fotolou from Seattle WA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Absolute must lens for casual sports photography. Usable range for soccer , baseball, indoor events.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens!

By nikonmania from Mississippi on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is fabulous! Not the cheapest, just the best! The VR system works really well. I shoot weddings, and I have not had to use a tripod. With a D7000 at 1600 ISO, I can shoot at 1/125 and get crisp images hand held. This lens-camera combo is super low noise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You Must Own This Lens

By Newsguy from USA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This one or its newer replacement are manditory for any photojournalist and just about everyone else. The lens is sharp; sharp enough to publish at all apertures and focal lengths. Color rendition is wonderful. The lens is built like a tank. VR is worth its weight in gold to a PJ. For others, consider this lens as a portrait lens too. Buy one and keep it forever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

zoom lens

By nikononly from LA, CA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great lens. sharp and the lower aperature makes it great. the bokeh you can get off it, the added speed for sports and nature, is fantastic. the only thing i hate about it is the weight, but that's what you pay for, when you want the speed. not a big deal if you drive to your locations, but it's a pain to lug around...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice!

By AzPhotog from Phoenix, AZ on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far the best telephoto zoom lens I have ever owned. Very sharp, fast auto focus, and an excellent VR system. This lens is an excellent choice for shooting action in low light. My only complaint is the price. It's VERY expensive so you'll want to take good care of this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Greatest Lens Ever

By +/- from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens with D300, and it is an absolute pleasure to use. Nice creamy bokah, fast AF, great color and contrast, sharp wide open. Pricy, but i guess you get what you pay for, and you do get a lot!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II Review

By DarkSports from Leesburg, VA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a fast lense with decent range to shoot HS soccer games at night. Using a monopod and a D300 with the 70-200 f/2.8 ED VR II gave me the distance and light capturing ability I needed to stop the action. All in all a great combination!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super fast zoom

By OlsenDK from Denmark on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Even though it's big and heavy, my 70 - 200 zoom is my preferred lense. Some might call it an overkill for a DX size DSLR, but I'm possitioned for my next upgrade - to an FX body. The lens is super fast and due to an amazing 2.8 aperture all the way from 70 mm up to full zoom, it makes creative photography an easy task. I've fine tuned the focus a bit, which is an pretty easy task using the camera's setup menu and some reference tools. A highly recommended lense - also for owners of non-FX format cameras :-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is best Nikon lens I have ever used .

By Uncle Bob from Santa Rosa, CA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an on location Professional Portrait Photographer. I have been using this lens and a Nikon digital camera, (the latest being the NikonD3) for the Last seven years. Before that I used a medium format camera. this 700-200f/2.8 lens has been a work horse for me. I use it exclusively for portraits, a good portion is High school Senior portraits. I have captured many thousands of images with out the slightest hesitation from the lens. It's incredibly sharp lens renders beautiful images. I do mostly available light work and often into the subdued light of the early evening to capture the sweet light. The fast lens and the VR function allow me to take it off the tripod and shoot quickly hand held in low light. This is worth the price of the lens many times over. A devoted Nikon user for over 40 years, I would never leave the studio with out this lens in my bag. Thanks Nikon, for making my life a little easier. Robert


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderfully fast and sharp tele-zoom

By Drumsnap from Central Florida on 03/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I borrowed this lens for a recent wedding shoot and couldn't have been happier with it. Super sharp and the AF was lightning fast. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AFS-70-200MM F/2.8 VR ll

By Thoraabr from Far Rockaway on 03/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nikon really stepped up their game with this one. This is a very expensive tool for an amature photographer / collector. The lens is packaged very nicely with a nice soft case, and a soft cover instruction manual. The lens is heavy but very well balanced, and the new tripod foot is perfect for me. I hold the tripod foot when shooting. With the vr and fast F/2.8 I do not need a tripod. The lens is very sharp wide open, and the boken is beautiful. This lens handles much better than the 80-200mm F/2.8 that it replaces in my collection, and the new soft case is easy to transport, so I will use this lens a lot more. I am hoping that Nikon will produce a 35-150mm focal length just like this one, but a little cheaper. If there is any negative with this lens it is not a close focusing lens. It is best used at medium to far distances. This lens is new to me ,so I am just so excited by this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is one sweet lens!

By RevCKD from Augusta, Ga. on 03/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great. I use it mainly for shooting Portraits, Wildlife, Sports, Concerts, but will also use it for many other types of Photography. The color and contrast are beautiful. It has extremely sharp and lightning-fast focus. The VR II enables this lens to perform extremely well in some very difficult situations. The SWM makes it great for Nature but also during weddings and in situations where noise is a negative. It will go everywhere with me. Nikon held nothing back when developing this one... BAM, right on target!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Preaching to the Choir

By NA from Texas Hill Country on 01/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I know I am just another of the big fans of this lens, but I wanted to add my voice to the chorus of believers. The price of this lens kept me from getting it for a good while, so I wasted a lot of money getting other lenses that emulated this beauty. It is, hands down, the best in this range. It is fast, sharp, accurate and down right fun to use. Nikon got it right on this one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By Rick from Yorktown Va. on 01/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the best lenses I have ever used. Extremely sharp and very fast focus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply The Best

By Crafty Crew from Westchester County, NY on 09/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. Great build, super performance, image quality is fantastic, and of course focus is fast and accurate. In my many years using Nikon products, this is easily one of the best. Worth every penny, and I am sure will pay for itself. As much as I love and need this lens, you have to be honest with yourself if it's right for you. I make my income with imaging, so for me it's a perfect fit. However, even if you are a serious hobbyist, it may be overkill. It costs a king's ransom, and is significantly heavier than the consumer grade lenses out there. Simply put, you will not be taking this lens out on vacation. Way too big and heavy. I would also recommend using a Rapid R strap, or a similar strap system for a camera with this lens. It will certainly help during your work day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By jungmen from Colorado on 09/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the lens. I know it says that it weighs more than my 80-200, but it just doesn't seem like it. I believe it is better balanced. Sharpness is great, but I would not say its better than the 80-200. Then again I'm still using a three year old D300. So your results may vary. It is very sharp however and the corners are way better than the 80-200. The lens focuses way faster of course. The VR works great, just remember if your subject is moving, this is not the cure for that. A great purchase, although expensive, it was worth it! All images are un- edited, straight from camera. Set on neutral color mode, and +1 saturation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BIG GUNS!!

By Joeyq911 from Undisclosed on 09/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens! Not only is it intimidating but photo fanatics always wanna take a look at my camera when I have this baby on! "Can't Touch This!" Even in the darkest theaters I've managed to capture some amazing shots! NIKON RULES!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens, except for a front focus issue

By SturgeonMeister from Augusta, Maine on 09/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first "pro" Nikkor lens, and after reading all the stellar reviews, I was expecting perfection. The build quality is obviously a step up from the other consumer-grade Nikkors I've bought, and in most respects it's a terrific product, but unfortunately a significant percentage of my images were not sharp - certainly much less consistent than my 300mm f/4 Nikkor. I eventually downloaded a focus test chart and discovered the lens has a severe front-focus problem. I had to use a +18 autofocus fine tune setting on my D300 to correct the problem. My backup camera body lacks the focus correction feature, so I can' t use it on that camera. I'm wondering if Nikon will replace this lens with one that focuses correctly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is my big money lens!

By ProperExposure from Milton, MA on 08/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a sports photographer (youth sports thru College) This lens is sharp at all f stops, and reliable. 99.9% of my shots are at f2.8 - great for capturing individuals in action. Most times I am shooting this lens w/o a monopod (hand held) as I like to move quickly from place to place. Don't know what I would do w/o this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this lens

By mommyx4boys from NM on 08/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens stays on my camera 99% of the time. Beautiful bokeh for portraits. Super fast focusing. Perfect for portraits of fast moving children, sports, everything!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding mid distance lens

By Lbhunter from Cartersville, GA on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent lens in all respects. Great bokeh, lightening fast auto focus (doesn't hunt). If you're serious about your photography, GET THIS LENS!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens!

By Digital Shooter from Northern NJ. on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good lens! VERY sharp images. Lens is heavy. When attached to your camera, you should get use to carrying this set-up by the len's body rather than the camera's body. I use an over the shoulder strap that attaches to the lens tripod mount. Worth the investment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Phenomenal Lens

By WillP from Middletown, NY on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really really wanted this lens last year, but I needed to replace my 3rd party 24-70 2.8 so I opted to purchase the Nikkor 24-70 2.8 (Incredible in its own right) before acquiring my 70-200 2.8 VRII. I am using my new lens with my D300 (Not "S") and Man oh man is this lens great. Very fast to focus, quiet, the VRII is fantastic and it is as sharp as a scalpel. I also like the new M/A switch making the autofocus secondary manual focus. It is a hefty beast. That being said, it is very well balanced and easy to handle making it a non issue for me. It is a testament to the build quality and materials used to create such a fine product. Now I can't wait until Nikon has more TC-20E III 2X Teleconverters available. Nikon has a real winner here...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BETTER THAN THE PHOTOGRAPHER

By JH from Atlanta, Ga. on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Taking mostly sports action shots under artificial light this lens surprised me with how well it performed. The results were better than what I expected after downloading to a larger screen. Very easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Impressive...as are all Nikon products

By Professor "D" from Peosta, IA on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been a semi-professional photographer since the mid 70's doing mostly nature work and astronomical photography (astrophotography). I bought my first Nikon F2S in '76, and FT2 in '77 and many Nikon lenses...all of which produced superior results that have been shown in various astronomical magazines since 1976. Now comes the digital age...so I bypassed my darkroom, bought a D-80, a D-90 and several Nikon lenses to support my work. The 70-200 mm f/2.8 is expensive but produces the same superior results that I have always come to expect from Nikon. At f/2.8 stellar images are crisp and clear. And since a 200 mm lens really equates to a 300 mm lens with an SLR "film" camera, the added advantage of extra focal length makes this lens more versatile. VR stabilizes an image (that may be induced may by a cable release) to produce "long shot" lunar and deep sky photographs that are absolutely stunning. I even added the Nikon AF 35 mm f/1.8 lens for wide field astrophotography. Photographs of the constellation of Orion or the Milky Way from Cygnus through Sagittarius have produced outstanding results with this wide angle lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Favorite Lens!

By CCP from Tampa, FL on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a wonderful lens. Super sharp wide open and fast focusing. It has some vignette however I don't mind it at all. There is nothing like shooting at 200mm at f2.8!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the nature lens of choice

By joemac from new jersey on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

when here in jersey this is the lens of choice for shooting in the dog park of the meadowlands bird sanctuary. this is my third favorite lens from nikon but again my lens of choice for nature. I have the d 300 and d 700 I only use the 14 to 24 the 24 to 70 and 70 to 200. These five peices of equipment and constantly teavhing me to see thw orld and capture the moments in new ways. I love NIKON products!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this lens

By Macnimation from Galway Ireland on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. I shoot with the Nikon D300s. I also own the 24 - 70 f2.8 and I love the 70 - 200 so much I bought another D300s just so that I do not need take it off the camera. The 24 - 70 never leaves the other D300s either. I always carry both cameras with me. I am even considering a third camera just for wide angle lenses. It is sharp and responsive even in low light. I do not want to remove it from the camera. It would be like removing a limb. If something goes wrong with the shot it is my fault, not the lens. It is excellent in stadiums for Football and Rugby matches which I love to shoot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent lens for sports

By Armourer from Farmington, Utah on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens in shooting sports! The 2.8 & 4 aperture is very sharp. Wonderful shallow depth of fields and the VR works well in low light for I hate to carry tripods. But remember the VR works for static subjects, not moving ones. This lens works excellent with the TC 1.4 for that extra reach making this lens on a small sensor a 400 f 4. It's the poor mans super telephoto lens for sports. This is also a great lens for shooting portraits.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another excellent piece of glass

By F8lee from Van Nuys, CA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens for everything from portraiture to travel and it always performs with excellence. It's a little heavy, yes, but with the build quality and high speed that's to be expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This one completes my bag.

By BillC from North West Louisiana on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a serious amateur who likes to shoot a variety of subjects I purchased an AF-S VR II NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G IF-ED a little over a year ago and found the features, focus speed, optics and build to be so superior to anything already in my bag that immediately placed my name on a pre-order list as soon as this one was announced. Needless to say I have not been disappointed with the quality and features and it has become the most used lens in my bag; a truly impressive lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best lens for Action photography

By Suri Photography from Los Altos CA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Use this lens for Low light Auditorium Dance events, where flash is not allowed. Have produced some extremely sharp photos which look like photos taken in a studio. Extremely fast focusing. This is a heavy lens and has to be used with either a tripod or a mono-pod or you will start getting elbow pain if you shoot for long durations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great on D700

By Hawaii-Geek from Honolulu, Hawaii on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great on D700, Fast and dead on AF. Very useable f2.8, wide open. In fact, I am there most of the time. (and at 200mm) Love it, my favoite lens ... by far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most versatile lens I own

By laserfaire from Cleveland OH on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I am shooting fashion, concerts, sports, portraits -- anything that doesn't involve landscapes or architecture -- this lens is on my D3x or D3s at least 80 percent of the time. I find myself using it for these subjects even more than my 85mm f/1.4 AF-D. It's great for basketball, even under the basket, and for football, soccer, or baseball, it works perfectly with my Nikon 1.4x and 1.7x teleconverters. For fashion, portraits, and concerts, I use it at f/4 or f/2.8 and get wonderful image quality, bokeh, and selective focus. The VR lets me shoot concerts at 1/200th second at f/4 on the D3s at ISO 6400 with great results. I prefer this lens over the newer version, even for full frame cameras, because it has greater magnification at close focusing distances. Any vignetting or corner "softness" does not affect the kind of pictures I take -- which don't include landscapes or brick walls. They'll have to pry this lens out of my cold, dead hands.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for low light...action

By larryld from Sarasota, FL on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens for action, nature and wedding shots... it's fast enough for indoors (churches), outdoors (early morning and early evening) - puts my 80-300 f 4.5/5.6 to shame... (I have to upgrade to a faster 300) PHENOMENAL LENS (worth every penny)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By Jab22 from Compton, Quebec on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent quality product. Fast, accurate and silent. Gives sharp and define images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good lens!!!

By Tom from Undisclosed on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a good lens only! (4 STARS) for when I mounted the lens to my D-700, the lens did not hold firmly to the camera body as my other Nikon lens. I am not happy about this; please advise. Thank you


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a lens!!

By Renato from Trieste, Italy on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an advanced amateur and I am using this lens on a Nikon D200. The lens is big and heavy; on the camera it feels quite balanced in your hands, even if I highly suggest to use a tripod or a monopod to get the best possible results. This piece of glass is really nice, and every time I use it the results are stunning. Perfectly sharp images, easy control of the depth of field and beautiful bokeh make this lens a winner for portrait photography too, even if sports and action photography are probably the best use you can do with it. Never had the chance to use it on a full frame camera, but as far as DX goes it gives you perfect results with no vignetting at all. Highly recommended!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Great One

By GeorgePhotoSpace from Israel on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's in my bag in 90% cases. I use it for sport photography, fashion and portraits. In all these situations its behavior is stable and robust. Auto-focus performs fast and accurate (at least on my D700 with MB-D10). It's fantastic. if you need its zoom range - go for it. Probably there is a sense today to check its more expensive version with VR-II. But if you are on budget - go for this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

most used lens for low light sports and events

By morristrm from West Bloomfield, Michigan on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens for about 4 years and have taken tens of thousands of sports photos with it. I now use my more recent purchase, an 80-400 VR ED f4-5.6, for outdoor daytime soccer and wildlife photos because of its greater reach. But the 70-200 is the lens I use for basketball, football and all nighttime and indoor events because of its f 2.8 aperature. The VR works as advertised, and the focusing is very quick, which is essential for sports like football and basketball. But the 70-200 gets perhaps the most use of my lenses overall. The mounting ring is good, much better than on the 80-400, and I like the detachable mounting foot. The overall construction quality is excellent, solid and durable. I have used this lens for hours in the rain (covered as best I could manage), with no damage. If I were to buy one telephoto lens, this would probably be the one, but as you can tell I am also a fan of the 80-400 despite its smaller aperature, slower focusing and inadequate mounting ring.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding !

By Buster from Oregon coast on 07/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I procrastinated for a long time on buying this lens. In the meantime VR11 was added & the price increased. I'm glad I waited. This lens is Beautiful,Quiet, Fast & Sharp. Heavy ? you should carry the 200-400 Nikkor f4, 7.3# without the camera. Stop whining, I'm 73 years old & carry them, camera attached. Wonderful lenses, both of them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good lens it is indeed!

By omid from tehran on 07/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this lens is awesome . SMW really works as they claim it does, fast and quiet! AF is especially fast. and above all these is its superior image quality throughout the zoom range. if you need it dont hesitate it really is worth getting ! its a bit heavy though for every day use but even that isnt a problem compared to its great performance


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved