Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 1507_11 » 52 Reviews

Nikon D5200 24.1 Megapixel Digital Slr Camera [body With Lens Kit] - 18 Mm - 55 Mm - Red - 3" Lcd - 3.1x Optical Zoom - Optical [is] - 6000 X 4000 Image - 1920 X 1080 Video - Hdmi - (1507_11) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 52 reviews)

96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Awesome camera for the price!

By NikonUser38060 from Undisclosed on 07/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Amazing camera, have taken some phenomenal pics with it so far, doesn't take much to learn the different modes and how to take some incredible photos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing product for the price!

By PhotogNYBSTN from New York and Boston on 03/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera for sports and travel and I love it. It works great for indoor and outdoor photos and is amazing for travel due to its small size. The battery life is really good and the controls are also pretty easy to get used too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use and great pictures

By D5200 from North Carolina, USA on 03/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this camera for less than a week and I love it. It takes amazing pictures even for a beginner like me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

By far the best camera I have ever used!

By PunkinSpiceFrappuccino from Florida, USA on 02/24/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used plenty of cameras and the D5200 has hit me in the right spot! Boy do I love it! I use it for ALL my photography. So glad I came into the Nikon Family!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent digital camera

By Tonan from Brazil on 01/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent digital camera, capable of shooting several issues with the 18-55mm kit lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bug in the D5200

By DonK from Crown Point, IN, USA on 01/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Do yourself a favor and Google "Nikon 5200 Press Shutter Release Button Again" before deciding to purchase. My new D5200 had to be returned for service after only 2 weeks of use. This issue was supposed to be resolved with a firmware update but my camera already had the most current so an issue still remains.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely in love with my camera

By NikonPro0706 from Undisclosed on 01/13/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera 5 days ago and I made such a great choice. This is my first DSLR and it is a great beginners camera, so easy to use. The battery life on it is amazing and the pictures come out crystal clear. I have the 18-55mm lens and as much bad reviews I've read about it, I think otherwise. The lens is amazing, and I am so happy with my new toy. The sound it makes when you take a picture sounds so professional and I love that! Will definitely bring it with me every time I go on vacation! Would definitely recommend!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun to learn with!

By nazwick from Clayton, MO, USA on 01/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first DSLR, and I absolutely love it. I got it with the AF-S DX 18-140/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens, which is good for beginners. The camera is sturdy and I love the pictures I've taken so far. The controls are easy, and the camera is simple enough that learning from it is easy. Also, I love the moveable screen!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best camera ever!

By MrsMoo from DeLand, FL, USA on 12/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this camera now for 5 days. I got it as an Anniversary/Christmas gift from my husband. I am so happy with it. It takes great pictures, I love being able to capture such great detail in my Nature shots. I love all the different settings, my favorite is the Sports Setting for taking action shots of my dogs. I will say I am not used to only being able to zoom so far with the 18-55mm lens that came with it. (My last camera went to 90mm which isn't that bad but it is amazing how much you miss that last 35mm! LOL) But I hope to get a new 18-200 lens soon so my zooming issues with be gone. Other than that it is a great camera and I am very happy with it. :) I included my most favorite shot so far, a picture of wild Muscadine grapes with spider webs covered in early morning dew. :) The detail in this shot is amazing, something I could never get with my other camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really have enjoyed this camera

By D5200shooter from San Francisco and Hawaii on 12/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased my D5200 about a year ago, and I have really enjoyed this camera. It stuns me at how good the color and focus quality can be, makes me look good as an amateur photographer I use it for business use in as a realtor, interior and exterior homes shots, and also use it when I travel. I recommend this camera for a beginner to somewhat advanced photographer. For more advanced photographers you will likely want to look at full frame rather than crop frame. This is a great camera for a starter and hard to go wrong at the current price. If you see yourself wanting to expand with more lenses, and you still want to stay in the budget priced DX camera's the D7100 might be a better choice because you can use lens that don't need to have a focus motor, the body has one built in. I purchased a nikon 18-200 DX lens with the kit 18-55 lens, and also a 55-300 DX lens, all good lens, I thought that I would use the 18-200 as my standard lens, however, I added a 16-85DX lens and love that lens for the slightly wider angle for landscape and indoor shots, as well as a good portrait lens. I like the camera and recommend it as good starter camera for someone that is more serious than a point and shoot. I also use an my older D50 and a P510


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This camera is great !

By jimali from WA on 09/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this camera ! After being frustrated for too long at being unable to get the photo I wanted with lesser cameras, I finally broke down and purchased a 'good' camera. This photo was taken with full auto, all I had to do was frame and zoom !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great First DSLR!

By NikonSuave from Undisclosed on 07/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is very good. I know people have said the quality of photo is dependent on the glass, but the body offers many features that help you achieve maximum potential out of your glass. The 39 autofocus points are great, the 24MP sensor does a great job capturing detail and getting sharp images. Video quality is good (1080p at 30fps) and the audio quality is decent (I would recommend an external mic if you're serious about audio quality. Installing firmware updates has been easy, and Lightroom 4 and 5 both recognize the RAW files, which I would consider a "must-have" post-processing app. I am happy with my purchase, and even though the D5300 is out and I have heard good things about bumps in image quality (due to the removal of the AA-filter, and the other features such as Wifi and GPS, I think this camera is still great, and that if those features are important to you, then upgrade to the D5300; but if not, you will be satisfied with the image quality and interface of this DSLR.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Midoriku from Yorktown, VA, USA on 05/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera in November of 2013. This is my first DSLR camera. I had used a Nikon d90 back in 2011,and I fell in love with the brand. I use to use film when I was younger,and wanted to branch out to the digital era. The camera took a bit of getting use to, but it has been the best purchase I have ever made. Since then I have bought several lenses for it, and now own a small photography business. This is a great camera,and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"D5200 Built my Foundation as Professional Photographer Wanna be".

By DonAldo from Abu Dhabi, UAE on 04/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hi Everyone, I am one of the many happy and satisfied Nikon D5200 owner in the planet. This is my 1st DSLR camera since birth :). When I started using this, I feel like a professional photographer already. This camera has met all my expectations and delivers all the requirements as an entry level 'professional photographer wanna be'. Yes, I have a long way to go in photography, but just in case I wanna upgrade my DSLR I will still keep my D5200 with me, because this camera has Built my Foundation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Beginners/ Advanced Beginners Purchase

By CaliGuy from San Diego, CA, USA on 04/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I purchased the D5200, I had never owned a DSLR or even a point and shoot, but I had done thorough research and figured out that this was the camera for me. This camera far exceeded my expectations: the 24 MP captures immense detail, the 1080p/60 fps recording is awesome (the fps is high enough to even get a little slow mo action going), the flip out screen is nice for those up high/ down low shots, and the list goes on. I was (and still am) very happy with my purchase, and my photography skills have gotten better as I have kept shooting. It might be time to step it up to the 7000 series and (eventually) to a full frame (D600?) .. Pros: 24 MP Flip out screen 1080p/60 fps video (with full shutter/aperture controls) 5 fps Color choices makes it more fun Perfect fit in the hand Easy interfaces/menus Nice button placements Nice Image Quality Cons: -BUFFER SIZE - only 6-7 RAW photos before the buffer gets filled.. This may not be a problem for everyone, but for people doing action/sports photography, this is kind of a drag -ISO noise - seems evident at even as low as 800 ISO -Live View kind of lags a little bit: takes a bit to switch to LV, a while to focus, etc.. but its LV so what can you expect.. -Flash button gets pushed alot accidentally while trying to change ISO, or just when changing grip -Can't change aperture size while in Live View In the end, the cons are just small things, and the pros greatly outweigh them. This is still an awesome camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Entry Level DSLR

By Shubha from Undisclosed on 03/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are looking for a decent entry level DSLR, this is it. Very good picture quality, compatible to wide variety of Nikkor lenses to suite your requirement. Camera has just the perfect grip and user friendly inter-phase and so high value for your money. It's better than D5300 and D7100 even, if you consider the specs and the difference in price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Product For An Amazing Cost

By SVBikeandSki from Idaho, USA on 03/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a beginner action sports photographer. I got this camera as a gift and immediately started shooting. Its fast burst mode and easy settings interface make it a perfect camera. I recommend this camera to anyone getting into photography and is looking to pursue it seriously.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Camera!

By ChrisInCT from Connecticut, USA on 02/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first DSLR- I had a film camera and a bunch of point and shoots, but this is my first "serious" digital. Simply put, I love it! The settings are all easy to find and use, auto-focus is great (depending on your glass, of course). It's fast, and the size is just right for me. I bought this primarily for travel, and this is small enough I will actually use it, but big enough I don't feel like it's a toy. The one negative is the kit lens. The 18-55mm VR is garbage. The pictures are soft and the focusing with this lens is awful. Don't get it (unless you really want the red body, like I did)! Get yourself the body only and the 35mm f/1.8 DX lens. It's a great "carry-around" lens. I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DSLR camera - fantastic features for cost.

By Professor from Undisclosed on 02/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Get to really know the D 5200 as it has lots of fast features to use. Once you are aligned with camera operations, you can get 4 to 5 lenses - with the savings from NOT buying the FX bigger brothers. Start taking fantastic pictures AFTER you are able to really know your camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks small and lite but packs a big punch

By deebee from Pa. on 12/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I started shooting Nikon in 1968 and after Fe2s',FG-20, N8008, N70, F4, and F5 this is serious relief. A bit reluctant to join the digital revolution but glad I did. This camera is great for beginner or pro and the features have all been listed in previous reviews. I have logged, indexed and mounted probably 10000 images with a typewriter and word processor now its recorded for me. I'm not a fan of the menu system myself, but its a small inconveinence. Anyone wanting to transition from film to digital this is a good start. Next stop for me is the FX format.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome camera But there is no panoramic Mode

By sree from Undisclosed on 12/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

last week I brought D5200 & feeling great with it. But there i found one reason which made me disappointed. :( there is no panoramic mode in this cam. but still its good for taking landscapes with wide angle lenses because of its amazing 24 megapixels. But i hope nikon will provide us a firmware update where we can update D5200 to a latest version with Panoramic mode.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional Performance

By Nathaniel from Undisclosed on 09/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The D5200 has been my Go-To camera for about a little over a month and its holding up extremely well, performance and durability wise. The price might be a little spendy for someone just starting in photography, but it is a wonderful beginner DSLR, I even taught my little sister how to take great photos. The pictures are sharp and crisp when you use the right ISO and f-stop and has a lot of cool feature on it. The 18-55mm Isn't really the best lens for this, even though it comes as a kit, the lens I'd recommend is the 55-300mm if your looking for amazing pictures with quality. Its better than a telescope. Overall, BUY this camera if you have the chance! You wont regret it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Been with Nikon for 30 years

By Roman from Undisclosed on 09/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A little history: My first Nikon was an FA the reason behind it was it had more manual features, and I had greater control over it including depth of field preview . I had this camera for 20 years, never had any problems shooting over 2,000 shots. Digital cameras stared to make an appearance, I held out, as I had more control over my FA, but film was getting harder to find and especially put to print. Finally I sold my camera gear and purchased a D3000, great camera, but missed a number of features I used to have on the FA. This year the D5200 arrived, I read the specs and features of this camera. WOW! I was impressed. The camera had more features and HD movie capability. I love the customizing features in "P" mode. When I got the camera it was a steep learning curve, I learned to configure my own presets above the "SD" "NL" & "VI" At times for example contrast is a bit harsh so I can dial it down and save this, also in cloudy conditions where I want more contrast I can dial this up and save this under another saved setting. once I have them set, no need to re-configure each time. example I have "SD" "SD_bright" "SD_OC" for OverCast" Other features I used Bracketing, HDR, multiple exposure. but what I love the most is the ability to move the focus point around in the frame quickly, don't need the focus lock. If you are an intermediate photographer and require a camera that is customizable check out this camera. my kit also includes the 18-55 with VR 55 - 300 with VR II and a fixed 50mm 1.8. One thing I would like to see as an added bonus, is have a feature is in the customizable feature is when I change Lenses from wide angle to telephoto I can change setting for ISO, similar to Bracketing but have an option to increase ISO automatically say by 1 to 4 stops Wide angle 100ASA, telephoto 400asa when I change lenses. other than his this is my camera for another 20 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great pictures, but I would improve some issues

By Ben2 from VA Beach, VA on 09/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera because the reviews were the best on picture quality, and I was tired of just having pictures and missing that wow... Now I have pictures with wow!!! :) But the camera could be more smart and intuitive: 1 - While in AUTO mode, for example, when the camera detects that needs flash, it pops-up. That's good, but if you put it down, the camera should be smart enough to "realize" that you don't want flash. But no, it will pop-up the flash until you change to a dedicated AUTO "flash off" Mode (something I never saw in any camera). 2 - The P Mode doesn't allow you to set it to ISO auto! I was used to choose the P mode as my favourite mode as the camera sets everything for me and all options are still available. Not with this P mode. 3 - Went pressing the Movie-Record button the camera does NOTHING, unless you turn before LiveView switch. Why doesn't the camera do that by itself? If you press the movie button is because you want to record a movie! So, why do we need to change a switch before that? Wouldn't be so simple if the camera could do it automatically, like other cameras? 4 - The menus are not so auto-explained. For instance, I would like to have the LCD off all the time except for the 2 seconds to review the pictures right after they are taken. How can you do that? 5 - Is there any way to memorize your settings between shots or between on-offs? When you set to take a picture with HDR, you turn the HDR on, but for the second shot the HDR is already off!! 6 - Didn't find any way to store the pictures by month, not by day. Do I recommend this camera? DEFINITELY! A camera is to take pictures, and these ones are awesome! I would twik it, but I love it's picture. What else could I ask? I chose the 18-105 lens and the 35mm 1.8 lens! Good choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional camera, great for pros or intermediate beginners alike

By Nikio from Tannersville, PA on 08/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera two days ago, and I already love it. This is my first DSLR, and I am immensely happy with it. The tilt screen is great for taking photos in Live View, but I personally love it because I can fold it against the camera, and don't need to worry about scratching the screen. There are a wealth of controls, scene modes, and options to choose from. This makes shooting quick photos easy, and provides enough control for when you want to shoot professionally or just experiment. When I was researching this camera, I read a lot about how one had to sift through many menus to access important controls. I don't find this a problem at all, because you just need to click one button, the "i" button to be able to view and change the ISO, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, exposure, and many other settings. For anyone upgrading from a point-and-shoot as I did, the weight of the camera might take a bit of getting used to, but once you do, it has a good, solid feel to it. Overall, I'm very happy with this camera in the short time I've had it. I imagine my satisfaction will improve once I've mastered it. Additionally, I've included some sample photographs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Camera at an Excellent Price

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Camera Rocks! It's 2016 RGB sensor is just amazing. The only problem i find is sometimes you will feel that the colors aren't intense as they should be. Though that can be rectified with minor editing. Overall, really nice camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera for a fair price

By jTak16 from Boston, MA, USA on 08/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got the D5200 in June 2013, and already it has proven itself as a quality camera. I think it is definitely a top end entry level camera, and produces very good photos while still being simple enough for a first time user. It seems to be pretty sturdy, and made to last. The kit lens is okay, and works well. All of the Nikon products are very high quality, from the mechanics of the lenses to the electronics of the body. Very happy with my upgrade


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Nikon D5200 is a lot of camera for the price.

By Nikontraveler from Undisclosed on 07/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Nikon D5200 is a lot of camera for the money. My primary camera is the incomparable Nikon D700. I bought the D5200 for a lighter travel camera that has not disappointed me in the least bit. The dynamic range is amazing even though Nikon does not advertise this specification for the D5200. There is one item that is an inconvenience. When setting the camera in the 2 sec self timer mode, the camera resets after every shot back to normal. The solution is to buy the optional ML L3 remote and use the camera in the delay mode with remote. When shooting with the remote the camera does not reset to normal after every shot. This the way to go when shooting the the Bracket mode to manually create HDRs later in post or HDR program mode (JPEG Only). When the D5200 is put in the hands of a seasoned SLR owner, the D5200 can result in some amazing pictures. Note the dynamic range of the image below. Note the clouds and the shadows on the deck of the ship. This is a JPG processed from a RAW image in Aperture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Chilango, Brooklyn

By Chilango from Brooklyn, NY, USA on 07/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like my 5200 Nikon for the speed 5 frames per second the 39 autofocus points the 24.1 millions of pixels I boughted the WU-1a Wireless mobile Adapter great control remote , the 55-300 lenses now I saving for my flash Nikon great camera like.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excelent image quality on a DX format

By Quiozini from So Paulo, Brazil on 07/12/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Before buy my D5200 I've read a lot about which should be the best choice in my case. I'm a newcomer to digital photograph world so I thought: why not get the most advanced DSLR for entry level. So, I did it. The only one cons is that the d5200 don't have a focus motor on body which makes the lens to work with autofocus be more expensive. But pros is quality image, it's very quick between one click and another, the interface is very friendly. And, how I'm just starting on photograph world, the cons isn't a big problem because I'll probably buy few lens on the next two years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great way to get into photography!

By NewPhotographer from Undisclosed on 07/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first DSLR camera and i love it! It's light, user friendly, and effective.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2 thumbs up

By alkrisma from Boston, MA on 06/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The D5200 is a great camera, it's easy to use [auto mode] and challenging at the same time [manual mode]. Lots of features, amazingly clear images and the video quality is stunning as well. The WU-1a Wireless Adapter is convenient. Both the 18-55 lens and the 55-300 lens are super. In the past few weeks I've taken over 1,000 pictures - I love my Nikon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good by canon and sony

By jwhitt from Undisclosed on 06/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first Nikon camera and won't be my last. This is by far the best. Easy to point and shoot . Read the owner manual, adjusted the settings to my liking, and starting shooting. Can't wait to purchase accessories.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best camera in the world

By lenin from Undisclosed on 06/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

best camera in the world Nikon d5200 is a great camera and la great picture great image great video resolution


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful photography

By GT917 from Mobile, Al on 06/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this camera in April. Needed a hobby and have always been interested in photography. The photos I have made with no real advanced knowledge of the cameras capabilities have been awesome. I bought a macro lens in May and made a few pictures which I was really impressed with then I broke my arm. I am just now able to use the computer again. I'm a little afraid to pick up my camera yet, but I'm certainly ready to get back to it. Love the camera and all the Nikon accessories I have purchased so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use

By Ox15 from New York, NY, USA on 06/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just bought it this month... love the picture quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lovely Camera. Great For First Time Digital SLR Users!

By NikonPrincess from Ohio, USA on 06/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this after i graduated high school. i've never owned a digital SLR and always dreamed of owning one. This is a lovely camera for any first time SLR users. i've only owned and used high-end cameras (for those who don't know, digital cameras that you can change aperture and shutter speed but no detachable lens) and find this camera very easy to use and understand. i was able to get the hang of it within 2 days. the photo quality is stunning as is the video. it fits perfectly in my hands and is very comfortable to use. i have to say i am quite addicted to mine at the moment. one thing i love about it is that a completely drained battery will charge in about 1hr and 30 min. it's amazing. i also love the cool little effects you can choose from. the selective color effect is my favorite. its fun and really easy to use. in the scene part i like the 'food scene' the most. it gives vibrant colors and high details. i really am just madly in love with this camera. it's everything i could ever ask for or want in a camera. i plan on taking this to college with me, and maybe even use it in the future when i (hopefully) become a professional. i would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone new in the digital SLR world. i really love this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, great camera

By Malindor from Northern California on 06/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera as my entry back into photography. I owned a Vivitar manual SLR film camera about 20 years ago. While there is still a bit of a learning curve, I've been able to take quite a few great pictures. What really excites me about this camera is the ability to switch some of the settings on the fly and capture very similar pictures very quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, but not Great

By Scruffythecat from Buffalo, NY, USA on 06/01/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Picture quality and new features make this a good camera. I like the grid feature and that the controls are almost identical to the D5100 (which I also have). There is one flaw that makes this a product which I can't recommend. If you use back button focus, this is not the camera for you. Setting the AE-L/AF-L to control the auto focus (F2-Assign AE-L/AF-L button to AF-ON) and image review to Off, common settings for sports photography, you'll have problems with the auto focus when you review an image. The AE-L/AF-L button stops triggering the autofocus if you don't end image review with either the playback button or the Information button. Using the shutter button to end image review, as stated in the manual, will render the autofocus useless until you press the info button or start and stop playback with the playback button. I've been using Back button focus on Nikon DSLRs for years and never had an issue using the shutter button to end image review. I have 2 other Nikon DLSR's where this is not a problem, only the D5200 Nikon Support responded to support requests at first with "we're working to resolve the issue" then, nothing. I can't recommend this camera to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Camera

By LancerS1 from Mansfield, PA 16933, USA on 05/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently took a huge step up from 'point and shoot' to the D5200. Although I have very limited experience, after watching a few short videos I felt very comfortable with the basic operation of the camera. There are so many features and functions it is almost overwhelming but I am looking forward to trying each and every one of them. The picture quality is amazing. Extremely pleased with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent all-round DSLR

By The Bird-photografer. from Hvaler, Norway on 05/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a fantastic Advanced-beginner DSLR. The main reason I like it is the advanced features packed in a relatively small camera to a very good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing d5200

By Nikonlove from England, UK on 05/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is a very good advanced beginner camera, it take very good photos


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful & Amazing

By Yosef18 from Lantana, FL, USA on 05/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I already bought some 5 Nikon cameras: D90 D5000 2X D5100 and now it was my last D5200 this camera is excellent, exceeds your expectations! Beautiful pictures, the camera is beautiful, fast and does an excellent job! I lost my camera on a trip and now I need to save money and buy another! But for those who can buy! Buy and you'll be happy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing quality in a "prosumer level" DSLR!

By HarbourLightsCreative from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 04/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had the D5100 for a little over a year before it got stolen from me on the street in Africa! After I got a settlement from my insurance, I decided to fork out a little more money for the D5200, and I was not disappointed a bit! I use my camera mostly for video, and I was super stoked to see that they added an audio level meter! I also love the fact that you can more finely adjust audio levels inside the camera! They added 60fps at 1280x720 which is amazing for slow motion, and one reason I decided to upgrade! The 24.1 megapixels may seem like overkill to some, but I think it's great to have when you need to do some tight cropping. It maintains it's quality through and through. I'd definitely recommend getting some nice prime lens action on this thing because that's when the quality really shines! The kit lens will only give you average results in most cases. I'd definitely recommend this camera, especially if you are more into videography!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for Beginners to Pros

By NavyPH from Undisclosed on 03/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the beginner and pros it can take some time getting adjusted to where the settings and button placements are, but it is worth it once you do. Being a photojournalist for ten years it has always been about the angles. With the articulated screen, it cuts the time and effort it takes to get low and high angle shots. For the professionals like me, you shouldn't be dissuaded by the size or loads of automatic features. You can still operate the camera with normal full manual controls. The sensor is highly accurate with a phenomenal duplication of the lighting conditions. For the beginner, it can take away all the hassle of adjusting for the correct exposure, and allow the individual to focus on perfecting composition techniques. This camera is hands down the most versatile and capable camera I have used in a long time. Even if this camera doesn't feel like a traditional "professional series" camera, it can certainly hang with them. As far as the video portion is concerned, I have only just started to play with it. From what little I have seen it produces excellent clarity. The only downside I have found is if you need to change subjects and have to re-focus, the servos in the lens will be clearly audible in the video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well designed features and a clear menu on back screen

By Ursus from Orange County, CA, USA on 03/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price of this camera it has a lot of capability in a small light body. All my testing so far as been very positive and the images are clear and sharp. The only two items I'd like to see on this sort of model are the following: 1) among the file types, I'd like to see TIFF included, and 2) a connector for a cable release would have been great although I understand that remote triggering is in vogue now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great Camera for a Reasonable Price

By elsatiro11 from Bronx, NY, USA on 03/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago after owning a D5100 for a few months. Te comparison betwen the two of them goes from sea to sky. A real great camera for photo enthusiast! From here I will move only to the D800.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Freedom's Vangard from Texas on 02/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Short & sweet... This is an amazing camera... Love my new D5200!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

image resolution

By CB from daLLAS EXAS on 02/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the camera for three days. Last night I set up to do a sunset pic of the Dallas skyline. I have shot these skyline sunsets numerous times the last couple of years with my Olympus and Nikon D5000. The D5200 image resolution was spectacular. It was all I hoped for. I haven't had time to put the camera through more extensive tests, but my first impression is that it is very easy to use and delivers super images. Within the next couple of days I will shoot the same evening skyline with my D5200 and my Leica M8. I'm very interested to see how they compare. I don't intend to use it for video. The only thing I care about is image quality -- resolution and color. I have been actively involved in photography as part of my job and hobby since 1962. I was lucky (or cursed) to have started with a Zeiss Ikon Contaflex.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome For Its Price!

By Joey P from North Caldwell, NJ, USA on 02/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently was looking for a camera below a thousand dollars, and the d5200 was my choice. The new software is incredible. Hearing about the "Effects" mode, I was not sure how it was going to be, but they really surprised me. Sometimes I find it very hard to navigate through the settings and switch shutter speed. The image quality is great. Since I like to skateboard, I need a fast camera, but when i shoot people quickly movie theres a little distortion. The 39 point autofocus is great, I can always count on my pictures to be nice and clear! The video is great, having the flip out screen really helps to get awesome angles.The main problem I have with this camera is the 18-55mm kit lens, it really disappointed me, but it will do for now. Being a 13 year old, I think this is a great camera for anyone with a budget of a thousand dollars! I haven't been able to shoot much since I got it, but heres an example picture!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best in its price range!

By Jack from New York, NY, USA on 02/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Looking on the market for a new camera i began my research with a budget of a thousand dollars. I soon realized and decided on the d5100 only to my amaze to find that the d5200 just had a release date! I started looking into specs and reviews and found that the d5200 was by far the best quality in the price range. You get that nice nikon build and lenses and lovely interface that doesn't seems to crash. I looked at pentax and found that they are far too bulky and to be blunt UGLY! Pentax simply doesn't have one that that makes you scream for it. Next was sony which based off the specs was the best camera but you soon realize they don't have a wide range for lenses to choose from. Sony also is for the price range using new translucent technology which is great but just not there yet. And last but not least Canon my first choice when starting to looking into the thousand dollar range. I was 100% decided on the t4i Until i went and tried it on the store floor and found its insanely laggy and Crashed in my short time of using it(about a hour i used it taking pics of the store and people). The touch screen is also great but it really seemed to be best for video not photos which if i was buying for video i would buy a VIDEO CAMERA! I looked at the lower cameras from all companies and found none could compete with the nikons or the pentax. The pentax is great and the only thing is has over nikon is the weather resistant body but the you also need the lenses to go along with it which are very expensive. Also weather resistant by any company doesn't mean water resistant i found through my research most will get a rain cover regardless of the camera resistance. No, through all of my reviews and research the nikon has the best in this 800-1000$ price range by far! With all of this mess above you I leave you with what this camera doesn't have which would have been nice that it did. It lacks the weather resistance body which although nice isn't needed, Very few buttons which leaves you with less control over your photo's(Atleast less control unless you go all though the settings where more dials and buttons give you much faster and easier time do change things.). It lacks a pentaprism which is slightly better than the pentamirror, it misses the two SD card storage which is nice to have but not needed, it doesn't have a built in focus motor which is nice to have but unless you have old lenses or plan on buying older cheaper lenses you simply don't need a focus motor in the body. And last the biggest thing is lacks is the 100% viewfinder coverage basically meaning you don't see the full image of what you are shooting. the best in its price range you can still find better if you save just a little more the d7000 has all of what you lose with the d5200 and is almost the same price you simply have to realize that the d7000 is soon to be replaced and also is only 16MP which some people wont like and its alot heavier. I am loving this camera it does exactly what i want it to do and takes amazing quality photo's just realize if you are upgrading it may not be the best choice if you have the option to save a little more. Yet the best option above this class is still outstandingly nikon I hope this helps you decide and hopefully you can understand my mess of writing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great features in small package !!

By Vkc Varma from Vishakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India on 01/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The camera is the best out there for the price point. The ISO capabilities are great in low light situations. The multitude of focus points allows you to create amazing shots. This camera far surpasses my expectations for what I expected. Overall wonderful camera for wonderful price :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved