Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Lenses & Filters » 1902_2 » 41 Reviews

Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor Lens - f/1.4 to 16 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 41 reviews)

97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent portrait lens on FX or DX

By JTCphotographydc from Reston, VA on 09/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens when I had my D80. It stuck with me on my D7000, and my D600. It's an excellent lens to use for portraits because you can really isolate your subject from the background. The low light capabilities are great, and auto focus in dark locations is much better than 3rd party lens manufacturers. I highly recommend this lens for individuals who really want to get creative with depth of field and have a solid workhorse for walking around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glass came from HEAVEN.!

By Anonymous from Lahore, Pakistan on 06/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens two weeks ago, have done two shoots with it at 1.4 in daylight & artificial light as well. I can proudly say that the D.O.F you get from this lens, DOESN'T COMPARE WITH ALL THE OTHERS OUT THERE. Reason? 1. "TACT SHARP QUALITY/FOCUSING", 2. "SOFT, CREAMY D.O.F", 3. "IDEAL/PERFECT CHOICE FOR D-MOVIES". I own a D800, Its ISO RANGE and the MAXIMUM APPERTURE of this lens, its just PHENOMENOL. Really LIGHT WEIGHT and HANDY, its like im holding A MILLION DOLLAR BILL. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow for Portraits

By Kapur from Kuwait on 03/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is real a fast and easy lens for natural light portrait photos even in very low light conditions. Bokeh is exquisite even on a DX body. Look forward to using this lens on a FX camera when i have one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic lens!

By star-cat from Indiana, USA on 04/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great color and sharpness Supurb performance at 1.4f and up Auto focus is fast, manual focus smooth and quick I wouldn't trade it for a G lens, at any time. The only competition this 50mm lens would have is the Nikon 1.2f manual, 50mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Now I'll nevver need another lens

By Poul from Undisclosed on 02/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great lens for many kind off shoots. Will recomand you to have it with you anytime when you leave for a shoot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great !!!

By Moochie from Undisclosed on 10/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lense...it takes nice, sharp pictures...but know this, its focus is limited only up to 20 ft...this is one that I would put in my collection for sure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very sharp

By marzphoto from denver, co on 08/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have had the AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4D lens for over a year now. i shoot mainly abstract still life photographs. this lens was rated well by 3rd party reviewers for price/sharpness. i have not been disappointed. if you are unable to spend the additional dollars to acquire a pro-level lens this lens is a great choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By freelance from St. Charles, MO. on 06/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sharp and reliable. When I have to have a good photo, I can always count on this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A fast 50mm lens with good performance

By hs_photo from Israel on 05/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this 50mm lens with my D700, to replace my old 50/1.4 AI lens for an autofocus version. This 50/1.4 AF-D lens performs nicely, with surprisingly fast and accurate focus tracking. The only real gripe I have is that it does not come with a lens hood - this is one reason I gave it a 4 star rating!!! There are plenty of situations where the lens hood helps to improve contrast. It took me some time to discover it. My old 50/1.4 AI does have a metal hood which is VERY useful. This metal lens hood also fits the newer 50/1.4 AF-D. Sharpness and contrast suffer a little when shooting wide open (f1.4), but nothing to complain. Bokeh is very nice and smooth. Like others commented, it can produce heptagonal shapes which I like. Colors are very nice and saturated, with good contrast (see above about hood). Last not least, the AF-D version feels solid, but doesn't have the robust and precision engineered built of the manual focus AI (or AI-S). The inner lens barrel (the one that extends/retracts when focusing) somewhat wiggles a little, manual focusing is far less smooth. This is another reason I gave it "only" 4 stars. When I don't need autofocus, I use my old 50/1.4 AI. There is something about that old lens that is hard to describe, but it does show in the pictures (micro-contrast, perhaps better sharpness). For those who don't care about manual focus lenses or must have autofocus, the 50/1.4 AF-D is an excellent and affordable choice. I also recommend getting a lens hood - preferably the metal type as it's rock solid and provides added protection to the lens, aside from improving the picture quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Performance, Great Value!

By CoachRick from Columbus, OH on 04/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What a fast and sharp lense that yields fantastic resolution and color! On my D200 with the DX sized sensor, it becomes a fast, wide aperture short telephoto lens that is great for portraits, theatre and close-in indoor sports.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens

By Jeff from Kansas on 04/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens I will use a lot. I've been a fan of 50mm lenses a long time, but this one does great. It's sharp, fast and compact. The glass is clear and photos shot through it are true. There is some vignetting at the wider apertures with a full-frame sensor, but I like to add vignetting to my photos a lot of the time, anyway. The vignetting is not unlike other 50mm lenses, though and some cameras are capable of canceling it out. It's my favorite lens already. I'm new to Nikon, but have used a competitor for decades.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I absolutely love my 50mm ...

By Little Girl Green from Trophy Club, TX on 04/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutely love my 50mm 1.4! I went from using the kit lens to using my new 50mm and I will never go back. Now I just need to add the 85mm to my arsenal!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent walking around lens

By Britographer from Undisclosed on 04/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like my 50mm f/1.4D lens. I bought it after testing it and the 50mm f/1.8 Nikkor - I found the larger aperture and greater sharpness to be worth the slightly more expensive price tag. I shoot a lot of models with this lens on my D3. It is also great for street photography, candids, and environmental portraits. In a world of zoom lenses, a fast prime still has a place in my bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Lens

By GreenCamera from Rittman,Ohio on 04/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is my Favorite lens! Takes creamy photos and shallow depth of field! Love it! Also great for low light photos. You should get this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

solid performer

By steveb from Delaware on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A small, sharp lens. I use it on FX and am generally pleased. It is sharp and small. I am generally very happy with the images I get, but there are a few niggles: It vignettes a bit wide open and loses some contrast there, but improves when stopped down just a bit. It also is subject to flare, so I suggest getting and using the HR-2 hood. I must also note the cheap end cap - a white plastic "thing" that presses on. My other Nikkors have a real screw-on end cap end cap - why does Nikon allow this? Overall, it is a very decent lens. I selected the 1.4D over the AFS 1.4G because of the aperture ring, which makes it useful on older cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Add it to your bag

By D90 Fan from Undisclosed on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shoot this lens with a D90 and it gives exceptional results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great lens!

By jmj575m from Illinois, The Chain of Lakes Area on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is my "go to" for Head & Shoulders portraits and for when I need a little more reach than I get with my 35mm F2D. I shoot a DX format Nikon D300s and though this makes the lens a "75mm", I've gotten used to the "Crop factor". Some say the bokeh of the 50mm 1.4D is harsh, but I just love the typical "50mm" DoF rendition that I get from this Nikon classic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't Complain

By SouthSideQ from Crown Point, IN on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was my first nice piece of glass. The AF with my D7000 is super fast. I also played with an AF-G but this noticeably faster. The camera and lens don't feel like they're constantly hunting for focus. It's plenty light, but feels solid. I'd have preferred a 35mm but that lens is crazy expensive. This 50 1.4 is a great, entry-level "wide open" lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I shoot with a D200 and ...

By Krug from Hazleton, PA on 03/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shoot with a D200 and have been disappointed with the quality of photo until now. Using an off brand lens was okay, but lacked the high end quality expected from a Nikon product. Matched with a Nikon lens, the results are incredible. You get what you pay for. Don't go cheap on lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Glass. Extreme Sharpness when stopped down

By Nikon Semi-Pro from Michigan on 03/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I owned this lens for a couple years before upgrading to the 50 1.4 G. The optics are excellent and do not let down. Shot wide open leaves a little to be desired, especially in challenging lighting conditions compared to full pro level primes. I upgraded to the new one because of the common focusing issues with this model. The new one isn't significantly better optically and will give the same images in a controlled environment. I'm finding that the better autofocus with the new lens and its ability to deal with lighting issues has been an asset to me. This lens looks better that the new one and has an aperture ring. Wish that they would have kept aperture rings on their new lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Sab from Undisclosed on 01/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product Fast focus Excellent in low light conditions


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just a great lens

By Murph from San Antonio on 01/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is hard to find a bad 50mm lens. And in that tradition Nikon has continued to make a world class 50mm f/1.4 lens that just does the job. I put it on my D700 for a One lens/One Camera challenge to me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Prime

By Eagle1 from St. Louis, MO on 12/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great prime lens for use in low light and/or high shutter-speed situations. I frequently use this lens for indoor photography when flash use is prohibited, such as photographing family members in plays, dance recitals, and the like. The f/1.4 allows me to capture moving objects, even in low light, and still get high quality images. I primarily use this lens for the aforementioned purposes, but it is also a great all-around lens. It is very sharp and produces high quality images at all apertures. Have used on Nikon D50 and D80.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never leave home without it

By Concert shooter from Austin, TX on 08/05/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really never leave home without it especially when I have to shoot indoors for concerts, and portraits. This is the go to lens even for shooting at night with how sharp it is at wider apertures. I have gotten some truly great shots with this lens and I recommend it for both full and cropped frame bodies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

beautiful

By Fra1 from Newforndland Canada on 08/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this lens is one of my favorite, the shots I get with this lens especally candids are wonderful, always sharp or soft, well lit, perfect colour, it takes the shot just the way you want depending on your settings, if anyone can't get great results with this lens, well al I can say is either the lense or the camera is damaged


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great prime

By TxPhotog from Sachse, Tx on 08/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 50mm prime is the one lens all serious beginners should get. On a 35mm film camera and a full frame digital camera it approximates the natural angle of view of the human eye. For this reason it is a great lens to use in learning. This little lens is fast and produces crisp, clear images from corner to corner. This is not a macro (micro) lens but close up photography with this lens is outstanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple but Truly AMAZING Lens

By Sam Saliba from Orange, CA on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The more I use this lens the more I'm convinced that the new G version was an unnecessary waste of resources to produce but again Nikon is known to perfecting the term of "Continuous improvement". If you already own this lens, I don't see a reason to upgrade to the G lens. THIS IS A CLASSIC!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Lens

By CCP from Tampa, FL on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens for any low light situation. My only complaint is that it is not sharp until f2.2. I prefer the new G series lens over this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value for DX range of DSLR bodies

By Mickey from Undisclosed on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this specifically for my D90 body because it very nearly matches the 85mm F/1.4. Had I an FX body I would have had to use the 85mm! I haven't given it too much to do but the portraits I have done are up to my standards and with a soft filter it is hard to find any difference in the results from shots taken with the FX format and an 85mm F/1.4. So for a person using a DX body to make portraits, this is a lens worth a whirl.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

beutiful lens for limited depth of field photos

By anorth from Sydney,Australia on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens have to be used with knowing what you are doing, taking just photos at f/1.4 using a DX camera , more likely you going to be disappointed, with great care photographing f/1.4 using a DX camera works beautifully under stable controlled shooting, Shooting at F/2.8 is safe. Using film Shooting at F1.4 is safe and same with FX format


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An exceptionally clear lens

By donikon from California on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this lens for travel, portraits and landscape photography. The spot on clarity in my prints has been most rewarding. With thousands of images shot it has worked flawlessly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You get what you pay for

By chuck from houston, tx on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this on a D3. Comparing this to my other Nikkor fixed-focal length, the 85mm f/1.4D, the 50mm f/1.4D has lower contrast (especially wider open), is softer, and focuses a bit faster. The 85mm has a nearly indescribable pop and look to its images that the 50mm lacks. But it's also three times more expensive, too. It is an excellent focal length for an all-around portable lens. Bokeh is good, but shows heptagonal bokeh from its 7 diaphragm blades. I quite like the heptagonal effect, though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Prime Lens

By bjp from Memphis, TN on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have nothing but great things to say for this lens. It is super fast, super sharp from f2.0 up. Even at 1.4, it is still reasonably sharp. It's a great lens that out to be in everyone's bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Essential low-light companion

By bchamp from Montreal, QC on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

+ Reliable performance; as expected, soft at f/2 and below, but entirely usable + Fast auto-focus for a mechanical lens + Small and lightweight - Plastic finish will quickly show signs of use; white lettering is only painted and may disappear after time - Bokeh doesn't look very good


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The 50mm f/1.4 is a fast ...

By Photo48 from Dade City, Fl on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 50mm f/1.4 is a fast lens, superb glass, lightweight so its easy to carry, great for travel photography, inside churches, museums, etc. where flash photography is not allowed. I find the best performance at from f/2.8 to f/11 and I always use lens hood to avoid flair. This is one of two lens I always have in my bag the other is the 20mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid prime that could be better

By nik-dude from Beaumont, TX on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Versatile normal prime when traveling light. Decent at f1.4 but sharpens up nicely at f2.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rock Solid

By CWilf from Port Alberni, BC on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this lens at work for shooting product shots, and portraits, and I also have one for my personal D300s, and I love the lens. At work I've had it for a couple of years, and it's rock solid. I like that it opens so wide, and use it to get some great DOF effects, but haven't had the chance to shoot it in low light yet. Because I've got a DX camera, it doesn't always give me the frame size I want, and I can't always "foot zoom" enough to frame my subject, so I would consider a 35mm for the same job, but only if it's built as solidly as this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My go to lens

By Dangpix from Denver, CO on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens lives on my camera. Its sharp, fast, lightweight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best in low light, and general purpose

By CadenceSF from SF, CA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the most versatile small lens that I can carry if I had to pick one lens. It handle low light with flying colors. I can be used as a moderate portrait lens in a pinch. I've had mine for over 14years and it'll probably stay with me forever. It works on my D700 very well, and lets me capture subtle light in very dark places, like night club, with only ambient light, or spot lights. In some case where f2.8 lens would have made it almost impossible with out a flash. Also being able to grab the aperture ring unlike the G-series gives it faster control, as well as backwards compatibility with older film cameras(F3, F4). Tip: I prefer to use this lens with metal lens hood without the lens cap for speed and protecting the front glass element. The suggested rubber lens hood takes longer to set up, and it started to peel from its mount after a couple of years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for low light

By byzvi from Ottawa,ON on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When you cannot use flash in low light situations, such as at concerts or performances, this lens excels. Obviously at full aperture, the depth of field is very shallow, but this makes for a great way to ensure the subject stands out. Prior to using this lens, my Nikon 4 Photomic Tn came with a 50mm f1.4 lens. When I switched over to digital, first with the D70, then the D200 and D300, I missed the 50mm f1.4, so I got this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

autu focus went bad on me after 6 month

By jacques from usa on 07/14/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

good lens but short lived AF. It died on me when taking portaits.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved