Home » Accessories » Camera Accessories » Battery Grips » 25345 » 8 Reviews

Nikon Mb-d80 Multi Power Camera Battery Grip (25345) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 8 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Not so tough.

By GulleyJimson from Undisclosed on 05/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I quite enjoyed this piece of electronic hardware until the little white plastic hook on the side of the battery hold broke off. It will now only accept one battery and what's the point in that?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By YZE Guy from Huntsville, AL on 07/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the MB D80. The thing that attracted me was the balance & placement of the shutter release when shooting in portrait priority. This was of the utmost importance to me after having surgery on my right wrist. Shooting portrait the traditional way was nearly impossible after a few minutes. I have since added a D7000 to my D80 & have the grip for that as well, but I like the design on this grip better. With this one, everything goes in the grip, keeping the user from having to take off the grip to replace the Nikon battery that is in the camera body. I wish they would have kept this design. I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great for large hands

By threewood from detroit,mi on 03/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this accessory allows the camera to fit comfortably in larger handed photographers. wish it could read both batteries though


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent-works a charm

By Colin from Florida on 02/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought with my D80 several years ago. Works like a champ. My main reason for getting it was not to use two Nikon batteries, but to be able to use AA batteries if my main battery died and I could not get it charged (I was going to Australia for 2 months and had some questions about ability to recharge the battery daily, or for use at a wedding). I have used this feature several times, and it works great. I primarily use it with one Nikon EL-3 (?) battery. Unlike some others, I have had zero problems. I do LOVE the vertical shutter release, and I love how the camera fits in my hand in both vertical and horizontal operation with the pack on. Two things to be aware of: One, the battery compartment door is removed to use the grip, and there is no stowage area built into the grip, so it's easy to lose the door (I now store mine with my SD cards). Second, it makes it harder to fit the camera on a flash rotator, because it is so tall with the power pack.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreliable. Frequent power failures when shooting.

By D90Lover from Sacramento, CA on 01/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very disappointed. Puchased new. Used on D90 with only Nikon EN-EL3e batteries. I frequently experience power outages when using the grip. Without the grip the camera runs fine all day. No matter how tight I tighten the knob connecting the grip with the camera the power periodically cuts out for no reason. Yet the display and the battery meter in the menu in the camera say that there is plenty of power left. If I wiggle the grip or turn the camera off and on a few times the power eventually comes back on. Very frustrating. When it works it is a great accessory. But I've missed some nice shots because the power suddenly died. The grip is not reliable. Nikon needs to investigate this issue. Save yourself some money and buy an aftermarket grip instead.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great product

By paul7e from Undisclosed on 12/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this grip for my D80 and never had any problems. Then I bought a D90 and the grip fit perfectly, and it is on the camera always. I've read that some photographers had problems with the grip on the D90, but I have not had any problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

piece of trash

By enfield from knoxville, tn. on 12/04/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i spent a lot of money on a piece of garbage. This thing kills batteries. I have gone through 4 Nikon batteries. I get about 40 pictures with both batteries in it. Then both batteries are dead. This is one of the worst products Nikon makes. I used it on my D90. DON't buy one!! ENFIELDE


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Take your chances

By DC1 from Undisclosed on 11/29/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been using the MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack for the last six months and have had more problems then not. I shoot motorsports, family portraits, weddings, etc. When I first received the grip it was constantly lost connection. After taking it in and out of the camera several times and almost sending it back it started to work. So I kept it past the return policy date. Five months later it started to loose connection again. Now it looses connection every 6th or 7th photo. The fix according to numerous internet sites is to keep bending the middle prong in the camera battery compartement. Poor Quailty Assurance. Why would Nikon continue to make a product that has so many problems?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved