Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 25454 » 70 Reviews

Nikon D5000 Digital Slr Camera - 12.3 Megapixel - 3.05x Optical Zoom - 2.7" Color Lcd (25454) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 70 reviews)

88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Nikon D5000 spectacular

By bamaman201524 from Alabama on 07/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My name is Justin Johnson and I love capturing Gods natural true beauty that he places right in front of us each day. I love taking pictures with my new camera I have a lot of learning and am wanting to inspire others


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

D5000

By Megan from Undisclosed on 07/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I borrowed this camera from a friend to photograph a wedding and I fell in love with it! I went out the next day and bought one for myself. I'm currently a photography student, so I wanted a reliable camera for school. I've been using a D80 for the past 5 years and I figured it was time to upgrade before I leave. The D5000 takes phenomenal photographs, I used the 50-200 mm telephoto lens for a majority of the wedding. I only had to switch out the battery once, and that was after having it on and shooting for 9 hours. I haven't done much with the video yet, but I can't wait to try a few time-lapses here and there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful photos and simple to use

By Happygolucky from Orlando, FL, USA on 01/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the camera since June of 2010. I originally bought it for a family vacation and battled between the Nikon and a comparable competitor. One of my friends suggested the Nikon D5000 and another had the competing camera which they offered to sell to me so that they could get the Nikon. After putting both cameras in a toe to toe comparison and the recommendations, I went with Nikon. I am glad I did because I love the photos I have taken with it and the camera has made a novice photographer look like a professional. I only came to this site because I was looking at the wi-fi adapter and seeing if it is compatible with my camera. Sadly it is not, but I am so pleased with my D5200 that I won't be upgrading anytime soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Camera

By Shannon9642 from Undisclosed on 01/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this camera few years and I love it! The picture quality is great. Its easy to use and I haven't had any problems with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First time DSLR owner and loving it.

By NewDSLRuser from Asheboro, NC, USA on 05/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my D5000 now for just over a year and a half and I've loved every second of it. It's never failed me and I have nothing but great things to say about this camera. The images that it takes can be crystal clear if proper techniques are applied. I currently have the 18-55 kit lens, the 55-300 Nikkor lens, and now the 35mm 1.8 Nikkor lens. I STRONGLY suggest the 35mm 1.8 or the 50mm 1.4 (or the 1.8) if you are looking to shoot indoors. To add to the indoor lighting issues that are sometimes found, I love the wide ISO range offered by this camera. It makes it VERY versatile. I've shot everything from portraits to long exposure (night) and outdoor sports. I can't wait to see what else I can do with this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent!

By Thyo from Undisclosed on 05/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got my Nikon D5000 for Christmas back in 2010 and it has not failed me, not even once. Simple and easy to use, I've constantly used it for the last year and a half, especially for my photography classes. It is actually much more simple to use than the provided Olympic cameras at my school. I definitely don't regret buying it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the unit works well for the uses.

By Audi from Georgia on 04/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Auto not well after heave use in need of a back fast some noise at 800iso 200iso but photos are somewhat alright


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All in one!

By Kuhristle from Philippines on 04/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been a Nikon user ever since, starting with my D60 which really is fine and upgraded into D5000. This camera is really good. It shoots great photos. I captures good videos. It's just that, you need to treat this like your child. It's precious.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Camera that brought me into the Photography game!

By ccasmoe20 from Laurel, MD, USA on 03/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Photography was always a passion for me..... and as I grew, I felt the urge to start capturing moments as I saw them! The Nikon D5000 really allowed me to put my footprint into the photography game. It is/was a great entry level DSLR and it taught me so many aspects of a DSLR camera. Jumping straight into a D3 or equivalent didn't make sense unless you knew/understood photography as if you were looking at your own hand! The D5000 will never leave my side, but I will be stepping into the FX zone within the next few months. Nikon and the D5000 have transformed my eye into a self motivated business that I can now make a living out of! Full Frame here I come to show the world what I see!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but auto-focus issue has been annoying to too many of us.

By Skye from Undisclosed on 02/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this camera for a few years and I love it, the main thing that bothers me is my AUTO-FOCUS stopped working and I need to look into getting it fixed. No one seems to be of help with that. *COUGH*


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

When I bought that ...

By hugodichon from Undisclosed on 02/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I bought that camera, it was a wonderful discovery for me. Not only I picked up a great tool for my creativity but I also found quality, lightness,rubustness. The settings are very efficients, the buttons are well placed. You can quickly edit your settings to obtain what you need and want. I have a lot of memories, love and good moment with that piece of stuff !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is my first dSLR

By Reuven from Undisclosed on 01/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ive shot film with Nikon cameras for years, so this was a logical choice to get into digital photography with out spending the retirement. Ive had the D5k for over two years now and it has done yeoman service. About the only gripe I have is there is no depth-of-field preview, but I can work around that. Pictures come out pretty sharp, so I dont have to tweak that too much in the post-processing, and I find the noise is not too bad, though it does get a little noticeable in the high ISO ranges, but that is too be expected. Overall, Ive been thrilled with the D5k and probably wont be doing much in film anymore. (And my old Nikormat sits forlornly on the shelf)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

such a sweet camera

By musicislife:) from Undisclosed on 01/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

most of my friends are into canon, and kind of degrade my nikon d5000, it was a birthday present and ever since, i don't know how i'd live without it. its been over a year and there's still so many features I'm still finding out about. its versatile for different lenses too. over all, its an incredible camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great mid level camera

By BTTURP from Undisclosed on 12/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this camera works great. It fit my budget and does all i need. I was a bit concerned on the flip screen. But now that i have it i cant imagine why nikon doesnt use that on all the cameras. Great feature. Going up the next level would be nice but since i dont make money with my shots this one does well. I use for work photos too for our marketing pieces and advertising.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Beginning DSLR

By Kate from Orange County, CA on 12/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think this is a great camera if you're a beginner with DSLR's. If you're JUST starting off in photography you'll need to read the manual thoroughly, if you've been serious about photography for a while and have already had a DSLR you'll probably want to go a step up from this. I'm hoping to get a new camera soon but it's not because this isn't a great camera - but I'm at the point now where I'm starting to do paid photo shoots and this can only do so much. I'd definitely suggest it for someone who is past the compact stage but not quite to the professional stage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The D5000 is a well balanced universal camera

By AMOMENTINTIME from Summerfield Florida on 11/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used more than 10 SLRs over the past 14 years. I own the D5000 for 18 months and would recommend the D5000 or the D5100. A good strobe light would provide suberb pics under all conditions. Don


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This Product looks amazing

By bestie from Undisclosed on 11/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a good amatuer camera and i found the right one. A stunning visual from my trip to the beach!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The D5000 is a versatile tool with great features.

By Virginian from Stafford, VA on 11/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A week after the purchase I took it on a day trip to the Blue Ridge Mountain's Skyline drive taking advantage of its numerous modes. The feel of quality in material and the results in regard to the many shots I took was total satisfaction. Kudos to the 55mm lens: Between near macro and infinity, the different debths perception of mountain ranges and close ups was surprising !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I just started ...

By PhotoKid from Undisclosed on 10/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just started photography 5 months from now w/ the use of this camera and my pictures look great, I know this because of the reviews of friends and family. Even though it's for the beginners or amateurs, you can feel like your an expert using this camera because of how gives great, bright and colorful pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent product

By naishal from Undisclosed on 09/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good DSLR for amateurs and beginners . Compact and powerful, the D5000 is a remarkable blend of simplicity and advanced D-SLR capabilities with breathtaking 12.3-megapixel image quality


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By Nikon72 from Cincinnati, Ohio on 09/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased my first Nikon FTN in 1972 and still have and use the camera. Finally decided I needed to go digital and bought the D5000 .... couldn't be happier .... it is all I was looking for in a great digital camera. S.J. Schildmeyer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nikon rating

By ragesh from India on 08/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good camera for an average photographer. I always keep this with me for any valuable time.The tilting display is very useful for capturing at different angles. the lens 18- 55 mm is really excellent and i would like to collect one with 55- 200 for upgrading it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Camera, Solid Entry Level Platform

By Corbin W. from Undisclosed on 08/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just thought I'd share my thoughts on this camera. I had it when I was just learning photography and I love it. I have no moved on to the D7000, and the 300S, But the D5000 will have a place in my bag as long as she's still truckin'. This is a great entry level camera, with easy to use functions and controls. Solid image quality and 4fps. Cool Camera, Compact Camera, overall recommended!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best option incam

By yadu007700 from Bangalore on 08/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have brought D5000, explainable beautiful piece, in built image editing option and riged body. Any lense of nikkon does all thing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

amazing camera!

By femanvate from Illinois on 08/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It was time to step up from my Sony high-end point and shoot and I was going for their A55 but listened to peoples advice and chose the D5000 instead. I don't regret the decision. I never would have believed such a high quality feature packed camera could come in such a small light package. Pictures are amazingly detailed and the flash system is great. Can't say how many pics I thought were lost until I viewed them on a computer screen (hint: shoot raw) Navigating the menu takes a while getting used to, and can be a pain when you want to change a bunch of settings before a bird or kid decides to move on, and no in-body stabilization means lenses cost a lot more than they should. I'm looking at getting a full-frame camera but Nikon does not offer the D-700 or any other with the one feature my D5000 has me hooked on: the rotatable LCD screen, so I'll hang on to it and hope we don't outgrow one another before Nikon has an FX with an articulated screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

na

By d5000 from Undisclosed on 08/21/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i got this camera for my wife that loves taking pictures and a day after the year warrenty it broke. she has a cheaper one that she has had for 6 or 7 years and never had a problem with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

simply

By maronillo from Undisclosed on 08/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

simply the world is ur own i've my D5000 with 18-200 mm nikkor lens 1 year ago i like it so am an Egyptian pro. photographer i used to use it outdoor its very clear & sharp in studio the pictures have some of yellow but i can fix it by take pictures on raw+f plus lightroom i love my D5000 kissz :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow !

By Clarity from Mastic, NY on 08/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Unbelievable. I am a former Canon XTi owner and while I did like my camera, my new D5000 completely blows it away.The sharpness, color accuracy, exposure and ISO flexibility I now have and worked so hard to achieve on my old camera,comes so effortlessly now. Whether in M,A,S,or P, my settings actually have a noticeable effect on what I photograph. Macro shots show better foreground definition,and color. I can go on for days . There are 1 or 2 things i don't like, such as that this camera is more menu driven with fewer quick buttons and the focusing is not as quick, but I can live with it for now. I chalk that up more so to the 18-55mm V.R. kit lens, which is still pretty good for what it is, but I will eventually invest in better lenses.Definitely worth the money !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DSLR for beginners

By agm from Undisclosed on 07/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

user friendly, great features, and beautiful pictures withouth going to M, S, A or P modes, so imagine when you get to learn about exposure, etc!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mostly a great purchase

By GoodButBeWarned from Undisclosed on 07/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it! Only a couple complaints that I think buyers should be warned about: 1. the stock lens isn't great, so just know that you will want to buy or have other lenses! 2. speaking of lenses, I bought a Nikon, only because I thought it would be compatible with my Nikkor AF lenses, but autofocus does NOT work with this camera unless the lens is AF-S <--that 'S' is important! otherwise autofocus won't work. So that was extremely disappointing. 3. the autofocus is super slow and obnoxious when you are using LiveView on the LCD screen...I stick to the viewfinder. The biggest annoyance for me is #2. Otherwise, this is a great beginner's camera for a decent price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i have one

By from from Undisclosed on 07/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have it for about one year and a half, i`m very pleased with it ... very nice camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what I expected from Nikon

By Photomom from Undisclosed on 07/25/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Flash has stopped working sent it back while it was under warranty. they fixed it and it has stopped working again. Called and there will be a charge this time to fix the flash. Pictures are not that clear with the lense that come with it. Everyone I kno with a cannon the pics are so clear & crisp.. Really hate this camera turned out not what I thought it would be


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jeff

By Jeno from Undisclosed on 07/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the D5000. No issues with it ever! It is everything I wanted in a camera for a great price.GREAT CAMERA!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This camera is Awesone

By Ari from San Francisco, CA on 07/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great camera for beginners and professionals. The movable 3" screen gives me great opportunities to takes pictures over people or fences. The 4fps is great for fast moving things such as airplanes and cars. The 720p HD live view recording is better than my camcorder. If you are looking to getting a nikon camera, get the Nikon D5000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Quality for price!

By Ashley from New Jersey on 07/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my camera for about two weeks so far & I've used it every day! It is so much fun! Every picture turns out beautiful. It captures bright colors in great clarity. It isn't heavy for the size that it is. I also love the fact that it also records video. I learn a new feature about the camera every day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By sadlered from Chattanooga, TN on 05/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Does a great Job especially with Telephoto Lens. I would recommend this camera with the 18mm-55mm and the 55mm-200mm lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This camera is everything I wanted it to be...

By Lori W. from Raleigh/Durham NC on 05/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the D5000. No issues with it ever! It is everything I wanted in a camera for a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What's up with Nikon?

By Too light - too bad from Undisclosed on 04/16/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Out of the box this camera and kit lens was a poor auto focus camera and both the camera and lens had to be repaired. So my question to all these problems are "How adequate is Nikon Inc.'s quality control. And wheen did a DSLR need to make 1080P movies. become a GPS. Next you'll make it so it will answer telephone calls. play MP3 songs, and be an iPad or netbook. I've practically given up photography because it's become too intense of a time waster and way too time consuming with computer work that it is a heart beat away from a heart attack. The cameras weigh less and need more adaptation to decrease camera shake - too bad. They do more to fake photos than actually provide a sense of realism. I used to love the weight of a Nikon F3 with an high eyepoint pentaprism. My best shots were taken with ISO 25 Kodachrome and a 135mm f2.8 all glass lens. You could hand hold this without a tripod. So I'm disappointed about Nikon's new digital wonders and when I save up my mortgage payment, I'll consider buying a D3 and hope it's heavier than the new "all you can be, you can do" because we can make chips that do everything and take the fun out of photography" unless you like to spend hours in front of a 24" monitor making the photo better!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought this camera new in ...

By Jeff from New York, NY on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this camera new in a kit over a year ago with an 18-55mm lens and am amazed at how it continues to always provides better and better images. I've since purchased Nikon's SB-400 speedlight, 18-200mm VR DX zoom, and 35mm 1.8 DX lenses for my work as an illustrator. This camera and lenses are just superb.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Light, versatile and inexpensive!

By Ed the Fed from Bowie, MD on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Multi-featured with an information packed screen and photo viewer you can take 500 photos and still have room for more. Easy to use and easy to master the camera practically begs you to take a shot at any time or place. It does well in low light and the digital movie capability is just more excitement in a small package. For just carrying around it is much better than my D3 which can weigh you down with a big lenses. I bought one for a friend and when I realized how good it was I bought one for myself and recommended it to another friend who went out and got one for himself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

D5000-- A good starting point

By Richmondchroma from Richmond VA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Join Nikon family with entry level DSLR..great sensor.. d5100 is about to release.. but D5000 remains a good camera.... can be very slow in shooting once you get used to all the setting. But has some good features... built in motor would have been great... Its a great value for money.. get a battery grip if it feels little tiny in your hands...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera for this 78 year old.

By JEL from Virginia on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's small and light for a DSLR. I hurt my elbow a couple of years ago with a heavier DSLR that I carried around all day on a trip out West. I like the fold out screen and live screen view that makes it easy for this 78 year old to take pictures of things close to the ground (such as flowers, tombstones, etc.) without my having to lay down on my belly. Also, I keep the fold out screen turned in to protect it during transport. Images are great. High ISO settings for pictures of my grandchildren in school plays have very little noise. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for an advanced amateur

By Niklon from SC on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It has all the features I need. Easy to use, like the liveview feature. Don't care about or need the video feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice Camera Than ...

By Jack D Ripper from Philippines on 04/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very Nice Camera Than D90, Simple But Powerful Compact...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had my D5000 for ...

By TheNikonPhotographer from Mead, WA on 04/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my D5000 for some time and have loved taking pictures with it. I like the video as well. I would recommended this camera to anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've had the D5000 for ...

By Jeff B from Perry,Ga. on 04/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had the D5000 for about 6 month and Love it!! It was an up grade from the D3000{which is a great beginner camera}.The DD500 takes great pictures and does good videos.I would recommend it for the first time DSLR owner and a good for the advance user also a good back up for a pro.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

first nikon SLR and the last one its a very.

By jumpman from Undisclosed on 03/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

still trying to know how to work it but other than that its the best one i have owned. great pictuers but still have to put the on the computer with the software it came with to crop pictuers i can only imagen the thing i can do with it. A+++++++++


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value, compact, very good in low light.

By CuritibaBrasil from Curitiba, Brazil. on 02/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In a word: practicality. In a phrase, the D5000 is the best bang for the buck in its class, and one of the best DSLRs to travel light and/or take concealed pictures of dark interiors - in any class. Although I have already upgraded to the 2x more expensive D7000, I liked my D5000 so much, that I think its worth a late yet very positive review. I sincerely say that, if I could afford it, even loving my D7000 as I am, Id buy another D5000 body just to travel and do concealed photos " its that good. The D5000 has the same powerful sensor of the D90 and D300 (12MP, ISO 3200 extendible to 6400) in a compact body, with an exclusive articulated LCD as a bonus. If you dont need the 4x more expensive 300s speed, the D5000 will offer you the same image without breaking the bank, in a body that literally fits inside a large coats pocket (particularly if you have a compact lens like the excellent Nikkor 35mm F/1.8). It is simple to use, and very friendly to the novice photographer, starting with the full auto (making it a powerfull point-and-shoot) up to the multiple Scene Modes and the ? button (which displays a help text on the LCD). Yet, it is a powerful camera for experienced users, offering full manual control (assisted or not) for the aperture, shutter and focus. 1/4000, 4 FPS, ISO 3200 with pretty acceptable noise levels, all make it capable of delivering great results " again, even when compared to some more expensive alternatives. The D5000s main limitations when compared to the more expensive D90 (which uses the same sensor, but is considerably larger, heavier and more expensive) arent noticeable to the novice, and probably wont bother the advanced user either. The lack of an in-body focusing motor, CLS commander and depth-of-field preview button, wont affect your life if you use AF-S lenses (most new ones are); take some sample pictures instead of previewing the depth of field (just delete the bad ones); and if you want to use multiple wireless flash units, use inexpensive light sensor cells on studio flashes. Solved! Again, this is a small and lightweight SLR body with an excellent sensor: the practicality of this combination is a winner. Personally, this camera allowed me to travel through Europe with just the body, one lens (the kits 18-55VR) and an extra battery - and still take 2500+ great pictures. It was easy to conceal in my coats pocket (keeping me out of the attention of thieves " forget it with the huge D7000), and its low light performance produced great pictures inside churches and museums. By no means am I telling you that this combination makes it awesome to take pictures in beautiful dark places where it is prohibited to photograph! <:-) Last but not least of the pros, the D5000 is at this moment the only Nikon DSLR with an articulated LCD, allowing to see the framing of the shot at otherwise impossible angles, like right at the floor level pointing at my kittens eyes - or taking pictures of yourself. I dearly miss this in the D7000! About the lens, dont underestimate the excellent Nikkor 18-55 VR included with the kit. Not only does it offer great VR, it has less distortion than lens costing a lot more (check its DxO Labs test results), is lightweight and compact. And it comes with an unadvertised plus: its a great macro lens! It can produce 1:3 macro without accessories, and it can literally outperform some non VR macro lens when hand held with extension tubes. Complete your lens kit inexpensively with the Nikkor 55-200VR telephoto zoom, and youll have a complete set for most situations " within a three digit budget. To cover really dark situations, or to be able to take pictures with very shallow depth-of-field (bokeh), I would suggest the previously mentioned Nikkor 35mm F/1.8: dare I call it the best Nikkor DX lens ever made, for its extreme sharpness and large 1.8 aperture? Talking about accessories, if you like to use flash, consider the compact and economical Nikon Speedlite SB-400 unit, and not only will you be able to reflect the flash light on the ceiling with iTTL, but youll also have much faster recycling times (crucial for birthday parties). To protect your equipment against harsh environments, I would recommend the Nikon CF-DC2 case. If you also have the 55-200VR and/or the SB-400, they all fit perfectly inside the Nikon 9793 bag (which comes with a nice Nikon School DVD, as a bonus). And by all means get the excellent ML-L3 wireless remote control! Not only can you use it as a remote release when on a tripod, but youll also be able to take a lot of pictures with yourself in the frame without having to go back to the camera: I was amazed to see how better people appeared after a few shots, compared to the single one that I took with the internal timer only. The only con I can say about the D5000 is that the live view mode is not good enough to take advantage of the swiveling LCD. The autofocus is very slow in Live View mode, even in bright environments - never mind under low light. This is the single reason why I`m only giving four stars to this otherwise outstanding compact and economical DSLR.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features, easy menu

By Photo Hound from New Jersey on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my upgrade from the D40X. The D40X is still in mint condition and works great. I wanted something more updated, a few more features. I also really wanted the adjustable monitor. I have found myself wishing I would be able to have the monitor in different angles for different shots. This is a fast, smart camera that helps me get amazing shots. I am still learning many things and this camera has all the manual features for me to utilize in my education as well as being super reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product didn't fuction out of box!

By DCW from Canby, MN on 01/03/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product was purchased as a gift, and didn't fuction on Christmas morning to capture a once in a life time opportunity. Which will never be documented by photo again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By Teddy bear from Undisclosed on 12/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love this camera. I got it recently, and it's my first SLR. It's easy to work with, and it's just awesome! It takes great photos, and I don't know, There's just something about it that makes you never want to put it down!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera, Easy to use, Get it.

By NickOdie13 from Maryland on 12/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was my very first dslr camera and i was in love with it as soon as i took the first picture. Very Sharp quality photos, great zoom for everyday use. Gets the job done, plus some. I would recommend this camera to any person looking for a new hobby, or maybe even a pro just looking for something new. Great Camera. Great Photos. Easy To Use. Get it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Camera Broke from Day 1

By Sad Nikon Owner from Undisclosed on 12/22/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera has been a nightmare, its been broke the entire time I have had it, I sent it to Nikon to have it repaired and it still has the same problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

D5000

By DL_1111 from Undisclosed on 12/13/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased D5000 on Aug 1, 2010. Camera failed in November where the camera would not power on, even with fully charged batteries. Checked the serial number against the Service Advisory, but the serial number is out of range for the advisory. I've used Nikon products for a number of years without issue. To have a Nikon product fail like this is an issue. I would not recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Near perfection

By Bruno from Undisclosed on 11/28/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have nothing negative to say about this camera, it's pretty much perfect for the price!, so many features and excellent Nikon quality. I actually think this has to be the best camera for money purchase ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Generally Foolproof for camera idiots like me.

By jamescpa from Rochester, NY on 11/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I ave always used Nikon Cameras due their superior quality and precision results. I have taken numerous photography courses and have prolific library. I am still not comfortable figuring out the specific configurations for a specific photo opportunity. With my D-5000, I set it on Auto or a specific scene and click away. If there is a shot that needs work, the file contains enough data for elements to quickly bring out the vibrance of the subject. The true test is the compliments I get from those viewing my work. All relive all my memories when I revisit the photos. This is without a doubt, the easiest and most effective photo tool I have every had the pleasure to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nikon # 4!!

By Blues2cool from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/14/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are wanting to go from film to digital or point and shoot to a real digital SLR and you are on a budget..... Buy the D5000! The quality of this product and the pictures it takes are wonderful. This is my forth Nikon two film and 1 coolpix point and shoot this is the best one yet. I came back to Nikon because of product quality. I have not been disappointed. The only beef I have is the user's manual. It is fairly complicated but when you don't understand something go to the D5000 digitutor on this website. Within a very short time I was taking spectacular pictures. The Nikon website is a classroom in it's own right. If you are still wondering buy don't buy..... Let me help you BUY IT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i would not recommend this one

By traderjoe from indian lake, ohio on 10/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

my first DSL camera and it hasn't been very good. maybe because i'm a beginner, but my camera wouldn't focus correctly. it seemed like it might of been the lens, so i sent it out. it came back okay. so now i have the camera sent in, it's only 6 months old.!! maybe it'll come back great, time will tell.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a camera!

By Mo from TX on 08/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First foray into the dslr world and I am extremely satisfied with the D5000. Looking forward to learning all the ins-and-outs of all the settings, but right out of the box, I couldn't be more satisfied and happy. Even in just the "auto" mode the pictures are outstanding! I'm hooked on dslr now. Would recommend to anyone just looking to step into the dslr world as a great place to start!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great and versatile Camera

By Travel Jim from NC on 08/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I do not have enough praise for my Nikon D5000 camera and Nikons support. It doesnt get any better. We bought the Camera to take on a big trip to Alaska. I was just learning how to use it when it was recalled. I was worried about sending it and getting it back in time for our trip but not being able to turn it on was not a good option. We sent it in but it looked like it was not going to make it back in time. We contacted the support people and they worked with the repair people and we got it back just in time. We had a wonderful trip and we have the pictures to prove it. I took over 980 plus videos without one failure. We got pictures of all kinds of wildlife, Bears, Whales, Swans, Caribou, Wolf, Fox, Moose, and Dali Sheep. If I could see an animal I could get a picture of it. The camera was fast enough to focus and shoot and capture the picture. I could switch from fast shooting of animals to Landscape (beautiful pictures of Mt. McKinley, the depth and clarity are breath taking), Portrait, Close-up (the plant life is so beautiful and delicate), to Video with sound. Our dog sled ride Video is fantastic. You can hear the musher and watch the dogs work. The D5000s Swiveling Screen allowed me to get videos and pictures over the heads of the other people on the tour. The pictures are beautiful. Every time I go in to edit out the pictures, I relive the trip and keep all of them. The Alaska trip was in 2009. Since then we have taken a number of trips playing golf and getting together with family, and the Camera always delivers without fail and I am just learning how to use it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Over-all great features, good photos, love camera

By Pete from Suburban New Jersey on 07/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoy the D5000 and am happy to own it. Because I am blind in my left eye I really wanted the "Live view" feature for still photos. Unfortunately it usually operates so slowly that it is ineffective to shoot still photos in that mode. I must cover my left eye and use my right eye to take photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product was an excellent purchase.

By John from San Diego, CA on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There really isn't anything negative I can say about this camera. I use it mostly for shooting wildlife with a Nikkor 70-300MM zoom. AF is excellent and fast and the results a excellent as long as I stop the lens down at 300MM. It does tend to hunt a little when I'm using WA lenses. I wish Nikon made a vertical grip for it. I have a 18-135mm Kit lens and wouldn't recommend this lens to others. Just not very well built.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely versatile

By Butch from Metairie, LA on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great in various shooting modes, and was taken by the extreme sharpness. Resolution means everytinhg in a through the lens camera, and Nikon payed particular attention to this in the D5000. A WOW of a camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what I need

By DI from Dripping Springs, Texas on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really enjoy my D5000. The size and feature set are just what I need. I take photos every day with a variety of lenses and modes and love to experiment with different settings. I didn't think I would, but I really like the actuated display, especially because it protects the LCD. Being from the "old school" of film photography, I don't review every shot unless I am experimenting. If I were to change one thing about the D5000, It would be not having to limit lens selection to AF-S lenses in order to have full functionality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A fantastic Digital SLR

By Max from San Francisco, CA on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the D5000 for my recent trip to France. I already had a Canon S3 that takes great pictures. But I wanted something more. The view finder was the main selling point for me because of its movability. I was pleasantly surprised by the fantastic pictures I saw when I got home. Additionally, the video capabilities made taking a video camera also unnecessary.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The D5000 continues to impress...

By Ben Herrmann from Fuquay Varina, NC on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I picked up the D5000, I already had the D90. What attracted me to the D5000 was the fact that it was in a D40 type of body (read "size" here) and the fact that it had an articulating LCD. After getting the D5000 I came to really enjoy this camera. In fact, if you ever have used the live view mode (regardless of camera), you would agree that having an articulating (movable) LCD, really makes a difference. Liveview and movable LCD's are made for each other, that's for sure. IQ-wise, the D5000 is on par with the D90 - that is rich, dynamic colors and superb high ISO capabilities. I keep the wonderful Nikkor 16-85 VR on mine and mannnnn, what a combination. So if you love to take high def videos, or if you want to use the live view function more often, then get the D5000 as it will cure many of your ills. It's a shame that not more DSLR's don't have an articulating LCD. I'm thoroughly enjoying my D5000 and regardless of what Nikon comes out with in the future, I'm keeping mine in my collection - it's that good!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I cannot recommend this camera to anyone

By bmoag from California on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used all kinds of Nikon film and dSLRs for over thirty years and consider myself reasonably adept at digital image evaluation and processing. This was the worst experience I have every had with a Nikon product. The focusing and/or sensor was defective yet Nikon would not repair it insisting there was nothing wrong. Fortunately the vendor gave me a refund because anyone not blind could look at the images and see obvious problems. Also incompatibity with older auto-focus lenses is a real pain so if you own Nikon glass AVOID THIS CAMERA LIKE A DISEASE AND GET A D90 or D300s. You will be much happier. I cannot remember the number of Nkon SLRs I have owned or used over the years that never had problems, at least not out of the box, so I cannot explain this particular experience. Despite my bad experience I would not hesitate to buy other Nikon products because after all these years even mighty Nikon can whiff one. I hope it was just one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The D5000 does it all.

By Wyn from Melbourne, FL on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best camera I have ever owned. I haven't found anything that it will not do. It's ease of operation for this amature is a real plus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i love this camera

By jesterdude from central, new jersey on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really enjoy the creative freedom allowed by having all the functions and features it does. Especially the live view rotatable screen which allows the photographer to shoot from angles that could not be reached by other dslr cameras. The HD video is awesome too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent little camera!

By HICW from Honolulu, HI, U.S.A. on 07/09/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this wonderful DSLR about two weeks ago, as I needed to upgrade from my Nikon D40 DSLR, which I bought about two years ago. (However, I still plan to keep my D40 as a backup camera.) The D5000 is an incredible DSLR from Nikon. I use it to take a variety of photographs, ranging from kids to wildlife and flowers to landscapes. I found for all these demanding situations, the D5000 is an excellent companion. It is easy to use, lightweight, and delivers outstanding images. Mostly I use the Programmed Auto mode, which allows me to change the aperture and shutter speed according to my preference (flexible program mode), and I find it extremely easy to use. I like the live view feature, but most of the time I use the optical view finder, which is very good. This is just a very brief review of my D5000. There are a lot more excellent features packed in this great camera. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with this camera. I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved