Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 25474 » 92 Reviews

Nikon D7000 16.2 Megapixel Digital Slr Camera [body With Lens Kit] - 18 Mm - 105 Mm - Black - 3" Lcd - 5.8x Optical Zoom - Optical [is] - 4928 X 3264 Image - 1920 X 1080 Video - Hdmi - (25474) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 92 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

A Real Workhorse

By Binkman from Seattle, WA, USA on 04/27/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i have owned this lens for two years, and have literally traveled the world using it as my solo lens. I recently went to SE Asia, and took a variety of lenses with me but never took any of them out of my bag since my 28-300 covered all situations I encountered. The VR works very well, and the image quality is outstanding. I honestly cannot recommend this lens highly enough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent lens

By jimmyd from South Carolina, USA on 03/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is little to say about this lens that others have not said however, It is simply great. As a traveling senior I know I am a target for thieves when I travel, that is just the way the world is now. So when I travel this lens is not only a great lens for photos but I do not have to change lenses often which means..... I keep my concentration on my surroundings as well as my shot. It does macro very well and even night shots it works well, it simply does everything that I want it to do. You couple this with Nikon Capture NX2 and it is about as good as it gets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent general purpose lens

By Alank from Undisclosed on 12/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens to match my new D610 body, having used my D7000 for several years and wishing to have a full-frame system as well. It really exceeds expectations - I have a Nikkor AF-S 300 1:4 mm prime with a TC-14II for bird photography (unbelievably sharp combo) and the great Nikkor 80-400 mm VR for wildlife, and find that this lens essentially replaces them both, specially if I fit it onto the D7000 body to get that extra 30% focal length in the DX world. The VR seems to be excellent, though normally I am not shooting at low shutter speeds with this lens so not really much of an issue. It is really heavy to carry around, so be aware that you may wish to have a couple of small primes for when you do not need a zoom. I have one of the older 50 mm f/1.8 prime and just purchased the 35 mm f/1.8 so that if I am obviously going to be somewhere where the longer tele is not needed, and specially if I need a wider aperture for low light, I ave a couple of relatively low cost alternatives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not sealed well at all

By drsepd from Houston on 10/31/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I use well constructed camera travel gear. I purchased this lens in June 2013 and within 10 months it had dust spots inside the lens where the only removal option was for Nikon to fix it. I was on vacation in June/July and sent it in upon returning in August. They won't repair it without charging me $300 for the repair. The D600 also had spot issues but since a lot of people complained about that issue, it did not cost to repair the body. This is the THIRD issue I have had with Nikon cameras/lenses and spots. I am inclined to spend my money elsewhere. One in three times they stand behind their product - not good enough odds for the money I spend on camera gear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For the first time, it really is like having a bag of prime lenses along all of the time.

By Daddio from St. Louis, MO, USA on 10/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The previous scenario was D7100 with 18-200 DX VR. That was an excellent setup and we have no complaints about the many great memories on the walls and hard drives -- except it fell short focal length wise a few times when planning ahead was not an option. The move up to FX (D610 and now D750) along with this 28-300 FX VR as the "always within reach camera" is a real game changer. Not hype. Been doing this a few decades. Wow. Why? Because if the lighting is there (and even when it's not...), within reasonable distances, you can shoot anything from the hip, fast or slow, near or far, with 95%+ results in most peoples eyes -- and the moment would have passed anyway if going for a lens was the only option. (The new low light FX sensors + Photoshop can make up for quite a bit in the lighting department the other 5% of the time for us type A's). We have 2 kids playing most indoor and outdoor sports. And lot's of family. Awesome impromptu portraits (which always come from 15 feet away, the way our minds store faces...) are seconds away, all the time. So is daylight stop action at any reasonable distance for available focal lengths with amazing clarity -- and always much better than my impromptu photos from 2 years ago using identical techniques. You still have to pay attention to depth of field to get what you want. I shoot in aperture priority mode most of the time with auto iso compensation on so I can get everything I want, all the time. I'm greedy that way!. This has proven to be as much of a step up as the DX to FX step. Both are very highly recommended. Can't say enough about the quality of the photos. I don't believe there will be another leap like D750 and this 28-300 FX VR lens for years to come.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for a great camera

By Allan from Maryland on 07/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens when I upgraded from a D90 to the D800 a few months ago. I had been using the 70-300 lens on my D90, and loved it. I researched a lot before buying this lens, and had some concerns about distortion, but decided to buy it for the versatility -- and at the time I did not have a macro lens, so I thought this would be a good substitute. I have not been disappointed. I've taken several thousand shots with this lens, and have since acquired a macro (the 105mm micro Nikkor). Surprisingly, I actually prefer this lens for some macro shots -- particularly moving insects that will not stand still for me to get close with the 105mm lens. There was some adjustment with the FX camera, since the DX D90 multiplies the magnification by 1.5,and I was used to getting more magnification. However, with the D800's 36MP, I can crop and magnify much more than the DX multiplication factor with no loss of resolution at all. There is no more distortion at 28mm than I had at 18 mm on my D90's 18-105 kit lens (which is very little), and I find the pictures at 300 mm to be as sharp as I was getting at 300mm with the 70-300 zoom. The really great thing about this lens is its versatility. When I travel, I no longer have to carry a macro, a close zoom, and a long-range zoom. And I no longer have to change lenses, which reduces sensor dust and saves a tremendous amount of time (and risk of breaking or damaging a lens) changing lenses. I do like the 105mm macro, and it is fantastic for things that I can get close to; but its depth of field is not as good as the 28-300mm lens at the same aperture, and the 6x 300mm advantage is worth having when I don't want to, or can't, get close to the subject. I am sure that the 105mm lens is sharper, but I really cannot tell the difference in practice. It's actually easier to hand-hold the 28-300 up close than the 105, and it focuses a little easier. Since Nikon no longer makes a micro zoom, this is the best alternative. And it is also great at long range at full zoom. I've read several pros who do not like zoom lenses and who talk about framing by walking. That's fine for some situations, but the zoom is by far my preference. Being able to go from wide angle to telephoto with a quality lens on a quality camera means a lot to me. I have hundreds of pictures that are pro quality though I am not a pro, and even though it's the photographer who makes good pictures, the equipment certainly helps! Last but certainly not least, the price is great considering the versatility and range of the lens. Great going, Nikon!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Defective product

By MWreview from San Francisco, CA, USA on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have just returned my new 28-300mm f3.5-5.6G ED VR for a refund. My experience was so disappointing I asked for a refund rather than a replacement while I reconsider any further investment in Nikon. When the lens arrived I very carefully attempted to attach it to my D700. There was resistance and I thought I must have the threads misaligned, and was concerned I might be cross threading my equipment. I even more carefully removed the lens from the camera " examined both pieces very carefully - and even more carefully reattached them " it was not a smooth attachment as with my other 4 premium Nikon lenses, (count 1). Once attached, I decided to try it out. I was most disappointed on three additional counts: 1. Auto focus was hit or miss. By this I mean auto focus did not work on a high percentage of attempts. 2. I could achieve focus manually, but on occasions the camera would not fire even when focused manually. 3. My images were not sharp " they were fuzzy. When I removed the lens from the camera I had the same uneasy, noisy experience " the action was very rough as if the threads were not aligned correctly. The Nikon lens sent to me was a dud in every regard " and whether Nikon has a QA problem is for them to determine, but this defective piece of expensive, precision equipment is unacceptable and very disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An all-range high quality lens

By OLA71 from El Paso, TX, USA on 01/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ive been with Nikon since 1993 and for the first time we now have a full range zoom for FX format (the 35mm for the old days). What I like is that this lens comes well when you want to travel light and you dont want to bring all your gear. (If you are a pro or semipro). If you are an advanced amateur is the best option in FX. (You have another options in DX. The internal motor is both silent and fast and the VR feature allows you to take sharp pictures even at 1/125 sec at 300mm hand taken! (With a still subject). The range is very flexible in you can go easy from a group photo at 28mm to a close up just with a few hand movements. My only concern is that if you try portrait the depth of field is high so is not easy to get blurred backgrounds compared vs. the f/2.8 options (80-200mm & 70-200mm) An advantage is that the filter size is 77mm so if you already have pro series gear you can use the Circular Polarizer and the rest of the filters, you really save money with this. What I dislike is the fact that the lens expands as you move from 28mm to 300mm. I prefer the ones that are with a fixed length. Since I can remember all the Nikon (ED rated) are simple the best in class. The colors are true and the definition and sharpness always at the top. They worth the extra bucks! Conclusion, If you are someone interested to jump to the FX-big format this is a very good start. And for the pros, this lens is very versatile and still keep many of the features and advantages of the pro gear without sacrificing too much. (speed and depth of field).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The most versatile lens in Nikon world

By fnu brawijaya from Jakarta, Indonesia on 02/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this lens for over a year, about one month after it has released. This lens is so versatile that I make it to my top best 10 Nikon lens. The first time my friend showed off his lens during one of our photo huntings. He point the lens at about 30cm (1ft) to my face and showed the result on his D3s camera at 300mm. The image is so sharp. Okay, I write it again: 300mm at a distance of 30cm (1ft)!! I was sold immediately and when I got back to my town, I ordered one for me. I have brought this lens to several countries, together with 16-35, 24-70, 70-200 f/2.8, 16mm fisheye, 35mm f/1.4 as my usual whole setup for photo huntings. This lens is however always on my D4 almost all the time. To give you guys the importance of this lens to me, I have almost all recent Nikon lenses up until 400mm f/2.8 VR (except 24mm f/1.4 and 200 f/2), but 28-300mm is the best lenses for me, and for all Nikonians in my photo club. I wrote a little list of my best 10 Nikon lenses in my personal website (no commercial site) http://www.fnubrawijaya.com/berita-153-my-nikon-10-best-lenses.html. I apologize for my broken English. Oh yes, I am more in landscape and street/human interest photography. It is important to have two kind of interest to make our photo hunting worth every time (you cannot take photos during rain).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great clear pleasure

By Domguyanais from On travel, actually Mayotte, french island with coral barrier. on 01/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this lens on the famous D800. Was a big pleasure to shoot in Paris, at tourists having fun in parks . The lens is clear , enough even at 300 mm . For travel its making the majors pics you have to do. Not so heavy and no heavy work to change lens according to the subject. If not satisfied by the accuracy, just work a bit with your laptop and all becomes well. I just need a wide angle beside, i will choose the wonderfull 16 35 VR. Weight will be all right for having a walk and good shoots ! DD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Much better than expected!

By MO from Canada on 11/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Most reviews indicate an extremely useful all around lens with average optical quality. Well, I might have got a good number because the detail obtained on both a D300 and a D800 is impressive, quite superior to the results obtained with 18-200mm, regardless of the camera pixel count. The lens was reported as soft at 300mm. Not mine, which I found at par with the 80-400mm. The VR system appears to be better than the one of most of my lenses. In addition, at 300mm, the lens gives excellent results in the macro range, with an impressive working distance. Fantastic for insects!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nikkor 28-300mm Zoom

By Freddie from San Francisco, CA, USA on 08/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read many reviews on this lens before buying it and I'm happy to say I love the lens. I'm using it with a Nikon D800 and either do the lens correction through the camera menu option or via Photoshop ACR. The lens correction function helps minimize or eliminate CA, vignetting, pincushion, and barrel distortion. I've found the lens to be very sharp with the D800 ---- perhaps a more expensive lens would be sharper, but I'm very happy with the sharpness. I've actually done some indoor shots (without flash) using the VR function and Auto ISO with the ISO ranging from 1200 to 1800. The focus was fast and accurate and sharpness was excellent. Even at 1/30th second, f/8, and ISO 1800 the results were great without a tripod. I try to use the lens at f/5.6 or f/8 since that's where the lens seems to perform best. Most lenses don't perform well wide open, so stopping down roughly two stops is usually a good idea. I haven't tried the lens for action photos, but suspect it's not optimal for that kind of shooting ---- that's not to say you can't use it for that. However, you'd probably be better off using a faster lens like the more expensive f/2.8 70-200mm Nikkor. For what I do, the 28-300 is great. I'd recommend it for general photography and as a convenient extended range zoom for scenic work. My current lens lineup is a 10.5mm f/2.8 DX fish-eye, 16-35mm f/4 VR, old 35-70mm f/2.8, old 85mm f/1.8 manual focus, 50mm f/1.4, and the 28-300mm ----- all Nikon optics. The Nikkor 28-300mm lens isn't perfect, but after a few weeks of use I'd recommend this lens. The only negatives I can think of are the slightly heavy weight, the relatively slow f/3.5 maximum aperture, and the inferior lens hood (it doesn't stay in place and can easily come off the lens).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent FX travel lens

By Longstanding Nikon enthusiast from Litchfield County, CT, USA on 08/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Altho' a tad heavy, this is a reasonably compact and very versatile lens that is ideal for travel photography with a D800. No longer do I have to carry multiple lenses when touring with limited time and space; I still carry my AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8 for the extreme wide-angle perspective. Among often unmentioned assets is that it uses 77mm filters, the same size used with many of Nikon's best lenses (eg, 24-70mm f/2.8, 70-200mm f/2.8). At its focal-length extremes, it's not quite as sharp or as free from aberrations as one might like, yet its versatility and generally very good image quality make this a fine product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK all around lens.

By Graywoodworking from Merrimack, NH, USA on 07/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Compact and light weight compared to my 24-70 f/2.8 or 70-200 f/2.8. This makes it a nice all around lens for traveling. I took it to Hawaii and got some nice shots. However, there is vignetting and some distortion that need to be corrected in post processing. The bokeh is not as nice as my 70-200VR. I don't believe it is a 300mm lens. Photos taken with my 70-200, at 200mm, look identical to this lens at 300mm. So, if you're looking for a nice 28-200mm lens that's light weight and you don't mind the slow glass, then this is a decent lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens..Everything I expected and much more..

By Long Time Photographer from Undisclosed on 07/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great lens to have in your bag. This one lens does it all, and I mean all.. From wide to telephoto to Macro...I have never been disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great travel lens

By Andean Micky from Quito, Ecuador on 06/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been doing a lot of traveling in the last months, always having my Nikon gear with me. This lens has saved me a lot of effort avoiding to carry a few heavy lenses in my bag. On top the picture quality I get with the 28-200 is very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Indispensable Quality Lens

By TES Photography from Chicago, IL, USA on 06/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When walking around making images, I carry this lens affixed to my D3 with my 17-35/ 2.8 in my bag. These two quality lenses accommodate 99% of my creative vision and capture stunning photographs. The 10x+ zoom range is indispensable in composition. Quality Nikon optics make this lens a must-have for every photographer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All Around Lens

By jmrajaz from Phoenix, AZ, USA on 03/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using Nikon equipment for over 25 years and managed a camera store for some years. I have used and owned several other brands, but have always stuck with Nikon. I use this fine lens on my D7000 with terrific results. While it's not the fastest lens in the world, it is extremely sharp and versatile. I find it useful in quite a variety of situations. It is smooth functioning and reliable. This tends to be the lens I have on my camrea 80% of the time, as I can catch most photos I want with it and only occasionally need to change it out. Very enthusiastically recommend this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens - near and far

By denkb from Denmark on 03/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Mount the 28-300 mm on your cam, and you are ready for almost every situation. I have taken astonishing photos at long distance from the town hall tower, indoor action with the swim team, as well as closeup pictures of flowers. The 300 mm multiplied by 1.5 on my D5000 bring birds and animals extremely close.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent walkaround lens especially for FX camera

By Danny from Chicago, IL, USA on 02/28/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love how this lens can be used as my 1 all-purpose setup. I look forward to taking this lens when I go traveling. The only thing I want to mention is that this lens does produce quite a bit of barrel distortion but it can be easily fixed in post-processing. Here is a pic I took at the 2012 Chicago Auto Show.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powerful Product

By birdiewatcher from Southern Oregon's Rogue Valley on 02/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an exceptional lens that provides optimum performance in any situation. It has a fast focus for sport shots and a wide range focal length to accommodate landscapes. Auto focus is spot-on and fast. It has become my workhorse. Especially appreciate the auto-manual mode. Although some may consider it weighty, I've given up the traditional straps for the Blackrapid sling which provides better stability and carry-ease. Zoom lock is a necessity and does not hinder rapid responses. I use it with the SB-700 speedlight at sport events with great results for close-ups and distance shots. I spent a lot of time researching the many brands and product lines for a 300 mm range lens and ultimately felt you get what you pay for; it was very true for this lens. I use it with my D90, and for the most part, it has replaced my other four lenses. Having used Nikons for 43 years, this was a key buy for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Travel Lens!

By SamS from Orange, CA on 11/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pack light with this great travel lens: Pros: Light weight one lens does it all. Sharp, 300mm zoom, great macro and well built. Cons: Not very fast lens and pretty expensive for a consumer grade lens. Vignetting!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow!

By Tommy from Undisclosed on 11/09/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this lens on my D90 and D7000 cameras, the images just outstanding. I already have 18-200mm VRII, but this lens just give that extra reach. So far it did not disappoint me. Perfect for traveling. This lens including Nikon 35mm f1.8, 17-55mm f2.8 & 10-24mm f3.5-4.5 I'm all set. This lens made in Thailand. Not heavy as I thought. So, I decided to purchase the lens after I borrowed from a friend of mine. I would recommend this to anyone that wants multi purpose or travel lens, works for DX and FX cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brilliant "walk-around" lens

By NikonRuss from Hong Kong on 10/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just purchased this a couple of weeks ago and am thrilled. I've taken just over 300 shots so far using a D700 and am amazed. For photo walks and travel it's a superb "all-in-one" lens. I'm no longer flipping back and forth between my 24-70 and 70-300 often causing the miss of good shots. There is noticeable distortion at the extreme but easily corrected in post-processing. This really is a must have in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding lens

By joelb from Charleston, SC on 10/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can't be happier with this lens. I use it with my FX D700 camera and it saves me from switching lens back and forth and/or missing the shot. I have an 18-200 lens which I used with an older camera but it cannot be used with the FX format camera and still maintain all capabilities of the camera. This 28-300 performs well, has VR which works well and is fast enough for anything i have used it for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mountain View

By Vedauwoo from Cheyenne, Wyoming on 09/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I never spent so much money on a lens before. It took a good cup of coffee and a pleasant disposition to have the strength to hit the enter key of the computer and process the purchase from Nikon. My wife and I wanted a lens to utilize the potential of our new D5100. This turned out to be the right decision. Here are some pictures taken with this lens on our D5100. They are mountain pictures taken at 10,000 feet elevation looking 4.2 miles to the 14,259 foot elevation Longs Peak. The view was to the southeast looking into the sun at mid-morning on Labor Day. The sky was dirty from a forest fire. The camera was set at the action setting featuring fast shutter speeds; the VR was on at Normal. Picture A was at an indicated 50 mm to give a normal perspective. Picture B was at the indicated 300 mm. Picture C is a crop of the image of B showing four people on the summit. Picture B is 16 Mp = 4928 x 3264. (When viewed on my computer, the people are visible on picture B. If you know the place, then you will recognize that they are looking down the 1,000 foot vertical face of the diamond. But of course they must be taking photographs with their Nikon cameras!) I was concerned that the AF motor would run down the camera battery faster. But I did not notice any effect after 200 pictures per day. I use the viewfinder, not Live View. The lens is heavy; a noticeable feature of its quality and not a criticism. This is not my walk around lens. I found a neoprene bottle jacket that holds the lens and fits in the water bottle pouch (safely accessible) on my backpack. I use a tripod with this lens typically. This is my wifes lens of choice. Best Features: Sharp focus. Constant focus through the zoom range. Focal length range. Quality & value. Worse Features: (Checking) Recommended Accessories: Nikons cable release. Nikons coffee tumbler as shown in the Logo Shop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Lens

By Anwen from Duncan, BC, Canada on 08/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a Novice photographer and got this lens with a Nikon D7000. Although the D7000 is a DX format camera, I was unsure as to if I would ever upgrade to an FX format camera. So far, this lens is fantastic. a 1.5 foot minimum focus distance, this functions as both a long range zoom and a close up macro. It is great as I only need the one lens when going on hikes with my family. Have been raving about this to friends and co-workers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Week

By Bill C from Richland Washington on 08/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I have taken about 400 pictures with this lens. I have already had some great results. I thought it may not be light sensitive enough, but I did some shooting in a naturally lit lodge and the results were amazing. I have taken shots at both ends of the range and the pictures are very nice. The lens and camera (D700) combination would probably seem heavy to some, but my F5 strengthended my neck over the past 10 years. This is the perfect lens for my hiking and back packing trips because you can pretty much shoot anything. I heard stories of massive distortion etc on some websites and those accusations have proven to be false. There may be some distortion on the far ends, but it doesn't seem to affect the eye appeal of the picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One size fits all...

By plauer4 from Northern California on 07/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens will do it all and do it well. Yes, it's heavy but then it is built extremely well. Examining shots wide open at all focal lengths is impressive, given the focal range. It is much sharper all around than the 18-200 with little distortion or vignetting. If you can only pack one lens, this is the one to pack.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It fell apart during a ...

By Chuck from Mid Atlantic on 07/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It fell apart during a job and is currently in the repair department.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Walkaround Lens

By Rafterman from Buffalo, NY on 06/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 28-300 is probably the best walkaround lens for Nikon cameras. Its a beast, not as long in length as you would think, but very heavy. The 28-300 covers just about every shooting situation and is sharp at both ends. There is no lens creep as it is rather stiff to turn, but even if there was, there is a lens lock on it. It also offers both normal and "active" (high action) vibration reduction settings. Its a bit tricky to use at the long end on any camera mode but Auto, but if you know what you are doing, it produces great images.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great but fairly heavy do-everything lens

By Clabo from New York, New York on 06/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6 ("28-300", for short) is an all-around excellent lens for probably every possible occasion, despite its relatively heavy weight. This is the reason why you pay for Nikon glass over other brands, and why it's worth it. . First of all, this lens is fairly heavy, and if you walk around with this lens attached to the camera, moreso with the camera's relatively thin neck-strap, you'll feel its weight around your neck, and probably instinctively (as I've done and still do) cradle the lens with one hand to bear some/most of its weight to take some of it off of your neck. The advantage is that this one lens can replace several lenses, and obviate the need to carry any additional lenses, or worse, a second camera-body plus lens, if you do that to not need to hot-swap lenses on-the-fly. In fact, the only likely need for any additional lens would be for ultra-wide shots or specialty uses (extremely fast lens for low-light action shots, etc.). The only other lens I carry in my bag is the feather-light but optically superb 18-55mm kit-lens that came with my D3000, when I want wide landscape shots. . This is a full-frame (FX) lens, so it can be used on any DX/FX body, including film(!), not just DX bodies such as my D3000 or D7000. That 1.5x crop factor makes it effectively a 42-450mm lens on DX bodies. That being said, I can't gauge corner-to-corner sharpness, color-fringes, or vignetting, so I'll leave that to those who have an FX/full-frame camera body to test. But on even DX cameras, optical quality is amazingly crisp and clear. . I have a sample shot of a dragonfly, shown first as-is, simply resized to 800x536 for easy comparison, and second as a 100% crop (also to 800x536) of some extraordinary detail. Both photos are, other than the aforementioned resizing and cropping, respectively, right out of the tin, *ZERO* post-processing. No adjustments, sharpening, *ANYTHING*. Note the detail around the bug's face, the probably 1-pixel-wide "hairs". The (handheld) shot was taken approximately 3' away at full-zoom of 300mm, f/8, ISO-400, 1/400sec, -0.3EV compensation, on my lowly D3000. Graininess at ISO-400 on my D3000 is readily apparent in the 100% crop, but that's due to the 3k's sensor, *not* the lens. With the amazing clarity of this lens, you can take shots and crop-zoom the shot to unheard-of extremes to make, say, a shot of a full moon look as if it were taken at 1000mm or more. . For most peoples' uses, taking photos of friends, kids, dogs, parties, plus the occasional landscapes, close-ups of flowers, etc., the kit-lens which comes with the camera, such as the 18-55mm which comes with the D3000, or 18-105mm which comes with the D7000, will cover the majority of those shots admirably. But I chase birds around, and while I still love the 55-200mm telephoto which I also got with my 3k as an add-on, I just wanted a little more "reach". I considered various lenses, but I was sold on the review of the 28-300 by a rather well-known person, and decided to get one. . Again, aside from those infrequent wide-angle landscape shots I'd want (where the feather-light 18-55 fits in wonderfully), the over 10:1 zoom range of the 28-300, to me unheard of, would and should cover probably all my shooting needs. And I absolutely was not disappointed. In fact, it serves so many shooting types, from fairly wide-angle landscapes, to extreme zooms of distant objects and critters, to all types of pseudo-macro shots of buds and bugs. It became my default carry-with lens at all times, despite the weight. The 18-105 kit-lens of the 7k is so much lighter, even with its nearly 6:1 zoom ratio, but for the sheer utility of the 28-300, I gladly lug around all that extra weight. . VR2 is, in a word, fantastic. I recently took some rather long-distance skyline shots between 100mm and 120mm, and even at 1/4sec handheld shots (!!), was able to get some astoundingly steady shots that looked almost as if taken on a tripod when viewed fullsize, ie, at the pixel-level. Granted, it took a dozen or so shots and cherrypicking the steadiest shots of the lot, but just that it was possible at all was and is amazing. I haven't taken statistical samples of how many stops improvement I gain, but 2-3 full stops is easily achievable. . Action is universally smooth, from zooming from one extreme to the other, to the focussing ring when focussing manually. The 28mm lock does come in rather handy when the lens dangles downward hanging around your neck. With jiggling, it can "zoom in" (ie, extend towards 300mm) on its own from its own weight and become a pendulum, so the lock keeps the lens in-place when fully retracted. It may not be a necessity, but it is a nicety. I've gotten to use it similar to a car's parking-brake, engaging it out of habit, and it becomes second-nature in short order. . Distortion such as barrelling and pincushioning are there, but largely negligible and unnoticeable, at least on a DX camera, even at either extreme of the zoom range. Unless you routinely take photos of picket fences or brick walls, you're unlikely to notice any of either kind of distortion, even if looking for it. . Autofocus speed depends largely on the camera, I imagine. It's acceptable on my 3k, and would sometimes hunt in the wrong direction if the 3k got confused, but is spot-on and scary-fast on my 7k. . All in all, the 28-300 is a fairly heavy lens but well worth the extra weight if you want or need "reach" out to 300mm, and don't want to carry a second lens for wider shots, or v/v if you have your kit-lens but don't want to carry a second lens such as a 70-300 for longer-distance shots. The 18-200 might suit your needs as a do-all single lens solution if you don't need that 300mm reach, but if you do, the 28-300 is perfect as a single daily-carry lens. And if you still need something for those wider shots, the feather-light and optically-superb 18-55 is perfect, else consider a 10-24 or some low-mm prime lens to throw in your pocket. Whatever you'd decide, if you get the 28-300, you'll very soon wonder how you ever got along without it. . The ability to go from a 28mm wide-angle "Wow, what a gorgeous sunset!" shot to a 300mm extreme-zoom "Look at that bird!!" shot with just a split-second flick of the wrist, instead of having to grubble through your bag and then swap lenses -- and more than likely miss the shot completely -- is priceless. . And again, see my sample shots, taken on a "lowly" D3000, high-ISO grain and all from the 3k's sensor notwithstanding, for an example of the kind of crisp shots you can get, even when viewed at the pixel level. Individual hairs on the bug's face are easy to distinguish, barely a pixel-wide each. The more I try to push this lens to its limits, the more impressed with it I become. . Sadly, camera bodies become obsolete or at least obsolescent in just a few years as features improve, but lenses are an investment that will last the better part of a lifetime, and a lens which does as much as this one does and covers such a wide zoom-range (almost 11:1) and has so many uses, and has such incredible optical quality, is well worth that investment to make this a do-all carry-with lens, probably the only lens you'd even need to carry, as long as its extra weight doesn't become an issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is my walkaround lens it covers WA to tele.

By rfnikon from New York, NY on 06/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am using the full frame D700. When I was using the DX DSLR(D100;D200;D300) my favorite lens was the 18-200 VR lens. I kept asking NIKON to come up with a lens that I could use for my new full frame camera D700 and they have!!! This lens is very sharp and remains on my camera whenever I walk around New York City streets. I find this lens is extremely sharp at most apertures. When I set it at f8 and Aperture preferred mode with the ISO at 1600 I am prepared for every occasion. Thanks NIKON.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect Lens

By Bentalon from California on 06/07/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This would be my first VR Lens that i purchased with my D7000 camera. The lens is perfect for my kids sport activities and church events. Pros: No need to keep changing with your other lens. Cons: A little bit heavy to carry around. I love Nikon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good all-in-one lens

By SRSSTVS from Atlanta, GA on 05/23/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have it for couple of weeks now and took it out for the first time to Callaway Garden for test drive. Overall sharpness is pretty good but for closeup shots I got various results from shooting bees on flowers, etc.. I have not switched between active and normal mode and compare the difference, maybe that will improve the macro quality. I usually shoot with 24-85mm AF-S (or Tamron 24-135mm) to get wide angle shots, 70-300mm VR for wildlife and 105mm VR for macro. I don't think 28-300mm picture qualities wise are better than any of those three in their respective range, but for convenience sake it's definitely better than carrying 3 lenses if you want to travel light.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all around lens

By Samurai214 from Warrenton, VA on 05/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens takes crisp clear pictures all day long. I used this on my D7000 for about 6 months. The weight of this lens is great for being 28-300mm. Wish it was a little faster.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lense for multi purposes

By AspiringPro from Undisclosed on 04/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used it on my D7000 at a family celebration in a large restaurant/dining hall which had several differing lighting environments. The lense produced clear immages under tough conditions. Easy to focus and frame in on normally hard-to-get candid shots. Those who received the photos thought I was a hired pro. I'm not. Would recommend this lense for anyone who wants versatility in a single lense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellant lens

By bpicinc from Orange,TX on 04/26/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

With this lens on a D700 it performs very well, making the image very sharp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile and sharp a great combination.

By Noctone from North Bend, OR on 04/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a good lens for capturing the moment, basically if you see it you can take it's picture. Has a bit more wieght than the average zoom, but balances well on the larger frame DSLR. Can easily make an outing a one lens affair.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All-in-One lens

By CasualShooter from Las Vegas, NV on 04/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this lens mounted on my D700. I love the flexibility. It's great for traveling, kid events, hiking, etc., where it's nice to have one compact lens that can shoot wide and zoomed. The lens lock is also nice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great lens

By semi-pro from Winter Park, FL on 04/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. It's sharp, compact, somewhat lightweight, and takes wonderful photos. The only thing I don't like is the lens hood. It is easy to accidently knock it off the camera. Mine has some nicks from hitting the ground. The lens hood on my 70-300mm lens is much better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get it NOW!

By Photoguy from Drums, Pa on 04/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens was bought to replace a 24-120mm and a 70-300mm and cannot be more satisfied! Solid construction, compact, 77mm filter size- same as my prime Nikon lenses. A solid performer though not a fast lens exceeds my expectations. Comes very close to a One Size Fits All!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all around lens.

By Sir K from Houston, Tx on 04/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although I do shoot in studio and on location, my passion is landscape and wildlife photography. That's where I find the greatest challenges. Animals won't hold still, or pose for you. Lighting is constantly changing and challenging a photographer's skills. This new lens lets me have my wide angle and my long telephoto in one lens. It is my first VR lens and I am astounded! My first test of the VR was about 11 pm. I spotted a dimly lit fountain, which had a highway behind it. I chose center weighted metering on my D80 and took as stable a stance as possible held my breath and shot several frames. The water blurred nicely, showing motion, the fountain base was in perfect focus, and in the background there was a 2-3 inch line of light, which was from the headlights of a passing car. Amazing! HAND-HELD! I love it! Can't wait to pair it with my D700. It's a whole new world for this old school film photog. (Nikonian since 1972)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect Walk-a-round lens

By Favoriteflyer from Seattle WA on 04/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had wide angle (12-24) and zooms (70-200 VR) and (18-55) as well as a couple fixed lens. I thought I would try the 28-300 and although not perfect, I am very thrilled with it. Since I bought it, I have not had the 70-200 (my best lens) on my camera. I still opt for the wide angle occasionally. The lens gives up slightly in the area of contrast and shapness especially when extended, but with post processing - one never knows the difference. It has fit the bill perfectly for the alll around lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lenses

By Linda from Central Oregon on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is great, it took the place of three lens I had and I have never been disappointed


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great lens for wildlife photos

By 1geejay from St Helena Island,SC on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is very good for wildlife photo shoots.At the price it is about as good as is gets.I use this lens for all my nature shoots.Whenfully exstended it is zooming almost 500mm.It is mounted on a NikonD90.As is with my 18-200,I only need to carry two lens.I highly recommend it for those on a budjet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This 28-300mm VR is ...

By steper from Garder, Norway on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This 28-300mm VR is Nikon's all-rounder of a lens. It does everything, and it does most of it very, very well. The 28-300mm VR is much better than I expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for serious non-pro

By olddogcop from Coppell, Texas on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens with a D7000 body. I wanted one lens that would fulfill all my needs. It's some what heavy, but eliminates carrying other lens and changing back and forth. The picture quality is very good, as you would expect with Nikon. This lens is loaded with features that justify spending the money. I recommend this lens to those that are serious about photography, but can't afford professional grade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the one!

By walk around from Sacramento, CA on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am on several trips (Amazon, Eastern Europe, etc.) and needed a walk-around lense. This one fits my needs perfectly. I still bring my prime lense and wide angle zoom with me, but this is the first one that I turn to, in part because it works so well to take both video+stills using my D7000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect FX walk-around Lens !!!

By Dr. Coker from Northville, MI, USA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a D-700 and have been looking for a FX lens that i can use as a walk-around combination. The 28-300 mm is a perfect combination of good wide angle and pull from the 300mm range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful glass

By CJ from Oro Valley, AZ on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens with a new D7000 body. It is a beautifully made Nikon Lens. When I first started to shoot with this lens I felt it was a little heavy. After shooting with it for a while I have no problems at all, I don't even think about the weight. The focus is smooth, very fast, and silent. To be able to go effectively from 42mm - 450mm using one lens is amazing. The photographs it produces are stunning, and the vr works flawlessly. I thought the lens would be a little slow, but with the vr I can shoot low light hand held, and telephoto out to 300mm without a tripod, and the results are nothing less than amazing. The Bokeh is beautiful as well. The only other lens I will ever need to carry in my bag is 10-24mm should I ever need a wider field of view. For the last month or so I didn't miss it. if I needed a wider shot I just moved back a little. Fantastic Nikon lens. The sample photo's I have posted are jpegs and the only post processing was reducing the image file size from almost 9mb to 188kb. Even with the dramatic reduction in file size you can see the quality this lens is capable of producing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good all around lens

By vinnyd from Astria, NY on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this lens. It take the place of 2 lens i don't carry around anymore. The one drawback is dark corners on an FX camera not sure how it work on DX camera.. The VR is helpful and focuses fast with color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good all purpose lens for FX or DX.

By NikonFan from Tulsa, OK on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has average optical quality, but if stopped down to about f/5.6 or f/8, the quality improves a lot more. Smooth zoom action and fast auto focus response. VR works well. Some users find the lens heavy, but I do not. If lens is used carefully and properly, it is a very good all purpose lens. Good travel lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Perfect walkaround lens

By Dunc from Calgary, AB on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had this lens on my camera since Sept/2010. Have only changed it out to put on a nifty fifty or super wide angle. I am primarily an outdoor photographer and this lens fits the bill very well. Mounted on a D300, it works flawlessly. Because it is a FX lens, I am shooting down the center of the glass and everything is as sharp as it can be. A bit slow to use indoors, but the D300 allows me to compensate easily to bring in the right exposure every time... Phenomenal lens!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not very sharp. Poor low ...

By tj from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not very sharp. Poor low light performance. Not worth the price I paid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This lens complete my D300.

By Papa Ed from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have found that i have a Excellent Camera,( D-300 ) and with my new 28-300 mm lens I also have an Excellent lens. I now have a complete unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all around lens

By photogal from Virginia on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I typically shoot sports and need faster lenses, but bought this one so I could travel light. It covers all the bases when on vacations and at family gatherings. The locking mechanism prevents lens slide which was annoying with my 18 -200 VR lens. Due to it's size, go with a higher flash than the built in one to prevent lens shadow. It is nice to have a lens that goes inside and out and provides a massive range without compromising picture quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I really prefers to have ...

By Big Z from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really prefers to have 16-300 Nikkor lens. It looks same as 16-85 and 18-200. 16-300 will be so perfect to be used a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This one lens does everything!!

By CamBill from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has been used for more than five thousand images since purchased as soon as available last year. Except for extreme low light situations, it works for almost every "normal" situation, including general photography and near macro work. Adding a super wide zoom or 18/20mm lens completes any reasonable requirements.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for the DX format

By OscarWarner from Santa Cruz, CA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens works great on my D7000. Because of the DX crop factor this lens is equivelent to 42mm - 450 mm lens! Images are sharp and crisp at all focal length.This lens is heavy. It weighs moer than the camera body. Thats ok for what I do (landscapes, wild life), but would not be good for street photography.It focuses faster and more accuratley than my 18-200 mm lens. The wide apeture lets in more light too. I can take better photos in slightly darker conditions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for action shots...

By AK915 from El Paso , TX on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this product like many of you to replace several lenses on Vacations or Business trips..overall Not Bad.. but not very fast for capturing action shots.. That was a problem for me!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for Sports Photography

By PhotoJohn from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Taking pictures of grandkid's sports stops the action with clear, colorful shots.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile and Capable

By NikonRay from Kansas City, MO on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I have an outdoor non-sporting event to shoot this is the lens I take. Used the lens hand held at an MS Charity Walk to capture the energy of the event as well as individuals because of the 28-300 mm VR. The zoom range makes it easy to compose and fill the frame which reduces the need for cropping after the fact. Some sort of post processing lens correction is a must to remove distortion (I use LR3) but colors are true and the images are sharp. The only issue I have is the lens hood which does not have a positive latching design and has come loose.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One lens that will do most of all you need

By BEH from Missouri on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent lens to cover a majority of photo needs without changing lenses. Great for trips. Quality of photos is excellent. Can't ever beat Nikon glass!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The perfect all around lens

By DeltaD from The Piedmont of North Carolina on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is worth every penny I paid for it! Great all around lens. Even does well in low light. Couple it with a D3 and it is a total package. The only thing I do not like about it is the lens hood. Very flimsy and will sometimes even fall off the lens when shooting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All around carry lens

By cool60 from VENICE FLORIDA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens is GREAT. Easy to change focal lengths and now I don't have to carry a number of lens. No switching for close or if something is happening away for I won't miss the shot. Great for sports especially auto racing or any fast moving sport. The only thing that I did have to get used to is the fact the the lens is a little heavy. But after a very short time I adjusted. Takes great pictures. Here is one that I really didn't want to get too close but with the new lens no problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific lens

By bill504 from New Orleans, LA on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is the best I have ever used. I am currently shooting a D7000 but want to move to an FX camera in the future and this is my first FX lens. I am very pleased with the ease of use and the great photos is produces.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

IMPRESSIVE

By Goodspeed from Baltimore, MD on 03/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ive shot with almost every Nikon cam since the D70 up to the D300 and tons of lenses and this is a Remarkable lens. handheld shots with slow shutters are very manageable. Image clarity capabilities give you the ability to shoot a perfect shot without being absolute in every step. THIS GLASS IS WORTH EVERY PENNY !!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens for FX

By Munna from Doha Qatar on 02/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got my lens yesterday and took a couple of photos.. For this price and zoom range, the lens is great...It will be my travel companion for my next holidays....Feel that the zoom ring is a bit tight, but it should be OK..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than 18-200

By Joe from Detroit, MIchigan on 02/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens as a replacement for the Nikon 18-200 which I thought was a little soft on some of the focal lengths. My biggest concern was the weight because I use it more as a walk around type lens. It is heavier but I really do not have a problem. I use this with the Nikon D7000 and between the two I love the combination. I did not think I could hand hold a lens at 300mm plus the quality is much better than the 18-200. If you travel or you want to cut down on the number of lenses to use this one is for you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this lens

By aubiedawg from Chattanooga TN on 01/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens is great and I can tell a big diffrence in the quality over some other lens I have. One drawback though is that it is a heavy lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great FX "walk-around" lens

By dvdgray from San Francisco, CA on 01/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is extremely versatile and is better than I had expected in terms of sharpness. The VR really works: I shot New Years Eve fireworks hand-held at 1/10th of a second @ 45mm and got great results (see below).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent general purpose lens

By mre from Carson City, NV on 12/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I waited a few months until I could find enough reviews to read before I purchased this lens for my own use. The general view appeared to be that it was an OK lens but had a lot of distortion at the short and long ends. Well coming from a 24-120 mm F 3.5 lens, that I was already happy with, and given the reviews of that lens as well, I decided to take the plunge. I'm happy I did. I'm not a professional but I am a meticulous person, and I take a lot of pride in my photography work. For what I do, this lens looks like it is going to be perfect. I've already taken enough shots to know I made the right choice. Best of all, I'm not switching lenses around anywhere nearly as often as I did before I bought this one, and that can only help to keep my D700 sensor clean here in our dusty state of Nevada. I'm delighted with my decision and my purchase! By the way, my lens hood does not seem to "rattle" as reported by some in previous reviews.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far So good

By 36yr Nikon user! from Central Il on 12/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having just received this lens a week ago I will not have any tech feedback but I want to point out one minor and annoying thing..... The supplied lens shade rattles as you move around with the camera . Like I said....minor but worth pointing out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens; does it all and really well!

By D700 Fan from Jensen Beach,FL on 12/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ooops! I goofed in my review when I said "It can't replace my 17-35mm.....". What I meant to say is at the wide end of the zoom range this lens can't replace my 17-35mm f2.8. When I first heard of this lens coming out I thought it was a gimmick, another one size fits all, do everything lens. It's no gimmick; it performs great throughout its zoom range and I'm glad I got my hands on one sooner rather than later.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens; does it all and really well!

By D700 Fan from Jensen Beach, FL on 12/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shot with this lens on my D700 and D2x as soon as I got it and I was thrilled with the pictures; they are sharp. I like it better on the FX camera because the low end range on a DX camera is not as useful at 42mm but you get 450mm at the long end. The AF on my lens is spot on, the zoom is nice and smooth and it holds the focus while you zoom the lens. The lens has good build quality, great appearance and it will close focus down to about 18". It can't replace my 17-35mm f2.8 but Nikon didn't design it to do that. It's a great lens to throw on the camera as you're going out the door and leave the gear bag at home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow!

By DonR from Undisclosed on 12/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just took it out of the box, mounted it, went outside, took some shots, came back in and loaded them into Aperture. I'm dazzled so far


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very sharp, but lots of distortion below 35mm

By _Yogu from IN on 11/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A very useful all pupose lense for travel photography on reasonable price, need not to carry full bag of lenses. it works perfectly on Nikon D-SLR both FX and DX....not useful for dim light sports action....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow, fast and sharp

By ewn from Undisclosed on 11/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First I am not a professional photographer. I never thought I would be able to hand hold a 300m lens and get sharp fast action pictures. this lens makes it possible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW

By mikesrc from Undisclosed on 10/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Over the years I've owned many Nikon products. This may be as good as it gets for a multi purpose lens. A little heavy but very sharp. Plenty fast enough on a D700


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By RandolphSF from San Francisco, CA on 10/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a surprisingly sharp, great walk around lens with excellent color resolution. Works well with my Nikon D700. Only thing lacking is faster speed, then it would cost and weigh twice as much. A good investment to add to ones lens collection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great new lense!

By PV from Leesburg, VA on 10/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this lense as I was looking for the versatility of the 18-200 DX lense along with the reach of the 70-300 full frame lense. This 28-300 is perfect. I use a D300s camera so I still get the wide 42mm and the reach of the 450mm. I also wanted a lense I could use for closeups so I didn't have to crop as much in post processing. This lense works perfect. Check out the pic of the berries- uncropped at f16. I highly recommend this lense if you want the perfect everyday lense with wide angle, close up and telephoto all in one. AMAZING!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Lens

By Razor from Undisclosed on 10/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shot a movie premier and with this lens i was able to get group shots, full length and details of the Actors without having to even use my second D3s with 70-200mm to do so.. the 28-300mm is not a Pro lens but it perform like one. Thanks Nikon...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp, easy to use, only lens needed

By Blue from Oakland, CA on 10/08/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got this yesterday and snapped a few photos in the back yard. Take a look at the amazing color and sharpness.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp, fast autofocus and a keeper

By Chuckles from New York on 10/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is wonderful. Those who wondered how a 10X could remain sharp will be delighted. Though a bit heavy, its worth it. Great travel lens. Perfect for landscapes as well as urban vistas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow! What a Lens!

By TheBlueLens from Denver, CO on 09/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the lens I've been waiting for. I bought this lens this morning to replace another mega-zoom lens from company "T an 18-270mm". I loved that lens but wow, what a difference the Nikon lens makes! I get the wide zoom range AND tack sharp images. I'm going out right now and use it in the "wild"!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A wonderful walk-around full frame lens

By AutoMatters from San Diego, CA on 09/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For years I've been asking Nikon reps. to ask Nikon to make this lens, so that I could replace my old Tamron 28-300mm. lens with Nikon optics. Most recently I'd been heavily using the Tamron lens on my Nikon D3 and D3S. I used it so much over the years that it needed (and received) a rebuild. This new Nikon lens is wonderful. Due to its versatility I have no doubt that I will use it far more than any other lens I own. I've used it quite a bit already and I wholeheartedly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice flexibility but vignettes badly

By MikeC from Detroit, MI on 09/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice all in one lens with fast focusing but every picture needs retouching to remove vignetting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good universal lens

By DeerPhotog from Tinley Park, Illinois on 09/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The lens has girth and weight and feels well balanced on my D3. The zoom ring is somewhat stiff but it displays no "creep" when carried unlocked. It accepts my 77mm filters and close-up lenses. It lacks acute sharpness and speed of focus when photographing dynamic subjects in low light situations but the images are more than acceptable. I purchased this lens to use as my universal urban travel lens and it will serve that purpose nicely. My travel kit in urban areas now consists of this lens, a 50mm (f/1.4), my D3 and soon the D7000 which will serve as an expensive 1.5x TC..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dissapointed so far

By snowman59 from Knoxville, Tennessee on 09/15/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

So far not so good. Thought this lense would perform much better than has so far. took shots under a fairly lit incadescent bulding and never got a good shot. Had to bump isos way up and then got lots of noise on the 300 mm end. took some shots outdoors crisp pics but bokeh rounded on close up. Maybe will have better luck later but seems this lense is not what its cracked up to be


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Single Lens Choice

By OscarDeWolf from Islamabad-Pakistan on 09/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wow I have VRII 18 - 200 mm But I wish I had one 28 - 300 mm for the convenience this offers in multiple and verity of options available in a single lens


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good lens but

By Steve from Orange, CA on 09/09/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Received the lens today. Took few pictures. Good for regular use but not for professional. Also "Made in Thailand," cost reduction?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved